Memories Azul Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Memories Azul Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Santa Maria Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Buenavista

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Playa Cayo Santa María

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 5, 2014

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort

4.2 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 5, 2014

Melia Las Dunas

3.9 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 4, 2014

Melia Cayo Santa Maria

3.9 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 28, 2013

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)

3.3 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2014

Memories Azul Beach Resort  

Cayo Santa Maria, Caibarien, Villa Clara

"Give this place a try "
Posted by: Wayne  on May 1, 2013
see all reviews

Memories Azul Beach Resort Reviews
Memories Azul Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Memories Azul Beach Resort Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

#5
of 9 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria

User rating 3.8

Based on 8 reviews

Memories Azul Beach Resort Information


Memories Azul Beach Resort was inspired by the city of Santiago de Cuba, second largest in the country throughout our history, recreation venues in this as the fortress of El Morro of Santiago Bay and the classic Enramada (Arbor) street, uses elements of both colonial architecture in its structure and interior decoration, displays images in the city and some of its illustrious sons.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Azul Beach Resort Reviews

Memories Azul Beach Resort Review: 3.8 of 5 8 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  2
Average
  3
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (8)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
1 - 9 of 8

"Disappointed that the five star rating did not live up to expectations. Should be a 4.5 star."

Memories Azul Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Azul Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eric  on Mar 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
225 people found this review helpful

I think the resort was originally a 5 star resort but it has been let go over time. In particular, the walkway to the beach is terrible. It should be completely done over similar to the other walkways.

Room Number:
5306

Arrival:
March 16, 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful and Amazing"

Memories Azul Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Azul Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gaby  on Mar 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
220 people found this review helpful

Hello to everybody!
It was our first trip to Cuba. We would recommend to everybody. Excellent for family, couples and friends.
Everyone has their own opinion... It was wonderful and amazing vacation for us!:)
It is very quiet and relaxing place!

Video from our trip:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBR2E8z9bRg&context=C459861dADvjVQa1PpcFMBax-t-3ziMMJFrSQoOp-Aqd_ijNv_xFk=

Have a great time!

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QBR2E8z9bRg&context=C459861dADvjVQa1PpcFMBax-t-3ziMMJFrSQoOp-Aqd_ijNv_xFk=

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If you like house flys and poor food and service"

Memories Azul Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Azul Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Derrick  on Apr 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
224 people found this review helpful

This resort was promoted by our travel agent as being the best we paid extra for diamond club which we feel if a total rip off we did get a quick check in and to eat at the steak house (see below for that experiance)premium drinks if we could get them lol,
To begin the room was dirty and remained dirty the entire week towels were picked up off the floor and hung to dry (not changed till we complained) the the food was disgusting, cold, never knew what it was, bread was stale, and proberly the must disgusting of all were the house flys you had to eat with one hand and swat flys with the other there were thousands of them in the resturants where ever there was cold tables like the deserts the flys were all over the food I nearly starved for a week ( I would like to see the owners of this resort forced to eat there with the fly I bet they would'nt.
the staff are poorly trained and need to have a little more respect for the patrons,there seemed to be no distinction between management and workers they were to close, The manager strutted around like he was a god, they will not move to let you pass on the walkways you have to step off to let them pass. Tipping if you did'nt tip they pretty much ignored you I don't mind tipping for good service but not there. If I could have come home early I would have.
i will give the beach a good review but not the diamond side not enough beach shelter for the amount of patrons and the butler service which they advertised was non existant. I am now thrying to find who actually owns this resort to write to them also

Room Number:
5553

Room Block:
55

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Vacation"

Memories Azul Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Azul Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  FRED  on Sep 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
131 people found this review helpful

Overall i would rate this resort 3-31/2,was not terrible but did not live up to description on line,the food was about what you expect for cuba but was mostly cold like there warmers where not working!we also had a ground floor room and had lots of ants in bathroom,i complained and they did a cleaning but not very good i ended up cleaning myself,which is not what i went on vacation for!the beach was one of the nicest ive ever seen and ive seen quite a few,good snorkeling.nice pools and you have access to parisio resort,you are on an island so your not really near anything.

Room Number:
1157

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Some parts 5*, some 4*, some 3*"

Memories Azul Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Azul Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jane  on Apr 9, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
239 people found this review helpful

The resort is massive, huge buildings, huge stairs.,tons of tourists. Buildings are all up a huge hill from the Reception area. They do have electric carts that shuttle people up the hill. The bedrooms are lovely, spotlessly clean, very comfortable beds & pillows, sitting area, mini fridge stocked daily including a large bottle of water. The buffet has lots of fresh food, great breads, rolls, butter, ice-cream, freshly squeezed OJ, desserts. For any of the grilled eggs, omelets, steak, chicken, fish, stir fry you have at least a 20min. wait in a line up. Their way of doing this is very slow & frustrating!
The pools are fantastic & the beach is ideal. For both you have to up & out by 6am to save/reserve the chairs you want.
The lobby bar serves the best cappacino in the mornings. Delicious! also their drinks are very good in the evenings accompanied by music...pianist or flutist...lovely!

Room Number:
5444

Room Block:
54

Arrival:
We arrived at midnight on March 30th dead tired. We got off the bus to" no luggage". We'd only had one stop on the way to our resort so it had to be at that resort BECAUSE we had put it on the bus ourselves. We tried to explain to Reception no avail. We went to our room & crashed, by this time it was 2am. The next day we explained to the SunWing Rep. to no avail. At noon we met two other SunWing Reps and we sat until they listened to us, phoned the other resort and YES it was there & they made arrangements to have it delivered. We got our luggage at 2pm on our first day in Cuba. HURRAH!!!!! Moral of this story: If your bus makes any stops.... get off & make sure your luggage does not get off at the wrong resort. Also remember your bus driver's name, bus guide's name & bus number as these were the first questions we were asked.

Other Comments:
The terrain is hilly. Not good for people with walking problems. The way to the beach is down huge ceramic stairs then an uneven stone walkway, then bridge....not good for problem walkers.
The first level of all buildings is up huge ceramic stairs....it is not on the ground like most other resorts.
The a la carte restaurants are excellent! You need to reserve ASAP.
The resort map is difficult to understand/read. The resort is so big it takes days to comprehend how to find your way around.
1.5 hrs. bus ride to the resort with no bathroom. The bus driver will stop for the men but nothing for the women!
The resort staff do not speak English well so communication is very difficult.
The buffet staff are very friendly and take good care of you.
The golf cart drivers are always willing and able to take you to your building or wherever you need to go.
The grill at the top of the hill is excellent. Mid-day food + Breakfast there at 9a.m. is great...no big line up for omelets!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pack your bags and go!!"

Memories Azul Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Azul Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  justine  on Aug 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Business | With friend
192 people found this review helpful


Let me start off by saying - PLEASE do listen to the bad reviews. I really don't know what these people are talking about. Sure nothing is perfect, but then . .. are WE?

First off - I have been to many parts of Cuba over the years - first time in Santa Maria. Yes, the beach is FANTASTIC.... no I didn't see any garbage on there - to be honest, I barely saw seaweed. We walked for miles and miles. Leave Azul in the morning and the tide is in - yes some sections are less wide than others (is there a beach in your backyard?). Walk back to the hotel in the afternoon and the tide is out and it's like a whole new breathtaking beach. You will love it.

For starters - you booked your trip KNOWING there was a 1 1/2 bus ride to the hotel. .. why complain about it. If you arrive in the evening, yes it will be dark and no you wont see anything. However the commentator has some very useful things to say. .so sit back, relax and listen. On the way home you will do the same drive and you will see everything you didn't see on the way in. Free excursion my friends, enjoy.

At the hotel - you can go straight to your room, the bar, the beach, the pool where ever as soon as you arrive as you have received your room key and info package on the bus. Explore, enjoy, ask questions and relax.
The Room - we were in Building 55 facing the ocean. Third floor. Fantastic, clean, great cleaning staff, always had bottled water. No, the rooms are not the Ritz, but did you pay for the Ritz? They are clean and comfortable with the AC and water always working. No complaints.

The Resort - clean, wonderful colorful flowers, friendly faces, everyone says Hola. Did I mention clean. And for you smokers - lots of ashtrays around. Easy layout and nice walkways.

The Food - well, IMO, the food was fantastic.. Not "Cuban fantastic". Just regular North American fantastic. No, you may not like everything YOU ordered, but it's the same possibility at home. The wait staff work hard, long hours. They always had a smile on their face and happy to oblige. We went to all the A La Cartes except Tex Mex. I don't have a favorite as they were all exceptional. We always went to the Grill for breakfast and lunch. Excellent.

The Staff - EXCELLENT. Everyone was always helpful, friendly and wanting to please you. I can't say enough about them. Just ask, and you will receive.

Evening Shows - we went to most of the shows. Some were better than others but they all had something to offer. You will like them or you wont. It doesn't mean they are "bad". It means they are or are not to your liking. The theatre was big and comfortable.

Overall - I would recommend Memories in a heartbeat. Everything about it was fantastic. Please don't "listen" to all the negatives. This hotel is wonderful. A vacation is what you make of it. If you are looking to get away from the phones, computer, boss, daily stress and

Room Number:
5582

Room Block:
55

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not good 'Memories Azul' experience"

Memories Azul Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Azul Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Nov 24, 2012  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
119 people found this review helpful

At the suggestion of our travel agent we chose Memories Azul in Cayo Santa Maria Cuba for our 2012 get away... .in retrospect, this was a bad choice. This resort is an hour and a half away from the airport and not worth the extra travel time.

Room Number:
5212

Room Block:
52

Arrival:
After approximately 10 hours of travel (from home to final airport) which included a stop-over at another airport in Cuba for 45 minutes, then onto Santa Maria where we were subjected to an additional 50 minute wait on the tarmac in the aircraft before we could de-plane as another plane was late in leaving. Added to this, a 90 minute bus ride to the resort... This was just too much travel time for the eventual destination which turned out to be a huge disappointment. Check in was quick as we were given our keys before boarding the bus....however we did have to fill out one document upon arrival at the hotel. We then all went in search of the 24 hour grill as we were all starving at this point... the food at that time of the evening was both cold and dried out as it had probably been set out for hours.

Rooms:
The rooms 'seemed' clean, however we never got the adjoining rooms as requested and confirmed in e-mails to us (one in our party has mobility problems and needs to be situated next to us for assistance). Our disabled party member was situated in 'another building'.... It took us three visits to the front desk the next day before she was moved to the same building with us. As it turns out... THERE WERE BED BUGS... by the first morning I started waking up with little bites on the exposed parts of my body (head, neck, hands and legs)... I complained but this continued all week. We were given clean towels everyday however I don't think our sheets or pillow slips were changed all week.

Restaurants and Bars:
I can honestly say of my twelve visits to Cuba, this was the best selection and quality of food we have ever had... Because of this we elected to have all of our meals out of the main buffet... we didn't book any Ah La Cartes. Added to this, based on the size of the resort, there were always long line-ups to book anything.... The bars were your normal Cuban stocked bars... nothing special. The many restaurants and bars were well placed so you never had to venture too far to get food or drink

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Because of the size of this resort the beach area is inadequate, as a result everyone is literally sitting on each others back. Most people seem to congregate in the mid-section where most of the service and activity is located... there are a few other areas on the beach, but like I said... this beach is way too small for the size of the resort which at capacity welcomes over 2,000 people...there were 1,300 when we were there and I felt crowded as there were line-up for EVERYTHING (food and drink) even the people who elected to buy the 'Diamond Club' option was caught up in these massive line-ups... that option was a total waste of money for those who purchased it. There are pools conveniently situated in thee sections of the resort all clean and well maintained (but cold). The grounds are tidy, well kept and well maintained.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
This resort offers the usual pool / beach activity, in addition there are a number of private areas and courts set up for the various small games and sports. They also offer a full array of off-resort tours,.... just keep in mind that this resort is 90 minutes away from anything... add your tour time to that and it makes for a long trip to and from. I personally found most tours expensive.

Other Comments:
This resort is by no means a 5 star or even a 4 1/2 star as posted... I found it way too big and hugely understaffed for the volume of guests they host... as a result service is lacking UNLESS YOU TIP OFTEN AND GENEROUSLY... the good tippers are quickly recognized and they get the service... things like a second cup of coffee at breakfast is not forthcoming most days.

I WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO THIS RESORT.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"PARADISE"

Memories Azul Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Azul Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  mari  on Apr 3, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
85 people found this review helpful

Hi,

To anyone who is thinking about travelling to Memories paraiso resort.........THIS PLACE WAS BEAUTIFUL! I have been to Cuba 5 TIMES. Until this year, Holguin was my fav part . Cayo Santa Maria is fantastic! Most beautiful beach I have EVER seen and I have travelled to the Caribbean extensively. Memories paraiso and its "sister" resort at "Azul" is paradise. The staff were very friendly, food was really good ( for Cuban standards).The rooms were spacious and very clean. The shows at night were pretty good, I have seen much more "amateuristic".We went on a half day excursion by speed boat to the marina where we drove our own small speedboat ( following 6 other boats and a leader boat) around the cove. We then got on a larger boat that took us all to a coral reef where we snorkeled. It was AMAZING! it was like being dropped into a tropical aquarium!I will definitely go back to this part of the island and to this resort.

Room Number:
3704

Room Block:
37

Arrival:
march 24

Restaurants and Bars:
good food. The Italian and Caribbean al la cartes were great!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Give this place a try "

Memories Azul Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Azul Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wayne  on May 1, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
82 people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Memories Azul April 14-21.This was our 4th time to Cayo Santa Maria and it is hands down one of the most fantastic beach in the world. We decided to try the Memories Azul as the price was good and stayed at the Barcelo Beaches part,2 years ago.We went to relax and that is just what we got and more . Had a Ocean view room king size bed ,the bed was a little too hard but still managed a good sleep room was always cleaned mini bar stocked dailey.Had a full size coffee maker nice touch .Every thing worked in the room .
The food could use a lot of improvement,selection was low and always the same some times cold but always found some thing to eat.Ala cartes okay stay away from the Cuban food one .Italian was the best.
The things that makes this resort are the beach clear water very clean soft white sand,shortage of shaded areas,the staff very nice save your money on the Diamond club really means nothing but a comfy chair in the small Diamond section at the beach .Very big resort so if you have mobility problems pick the 51 or 52 block buildings close to every thing.
If we were the type of traveler that went back to the same resort it would be here ,heads up the bus ride from the Santa Clara airport to the resort is hour and a half but a very nice drive ,got our room key and bracelets on the bus saved the check in ,Sunwing owns part of this resort and it looks like they are trying to clear up the mess that Barcelo management put this resort in enjoy your vacation and try not to find things that are wrong but how much fun you have like any resort it has a few problems but name one that does not

Room Number:
5879

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube