Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Memories Paraíso Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Santa Maria Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Buenavista

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Playa Cayo Santa María

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 25, 2015

Melia Las Dunas

3.9 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 9, 2015

Melia Cayo Santa Maria

3.6 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 9, 2015

Memories Azul Beach Resort

3.4 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed May 15, 2015

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)

3.3 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2014

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort  

Cayo Santa Maria, Caibarien, Villa Clara

"A trip I'd like to quickly forget"
Posted by: Dan  on Feb 1, 2016
see all reviews

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Reviews
Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

#6
of 9 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria

User rating 3.4

Based on 8 reviews

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Information


Memories Paraíso Beach Resort was inspired by the colonial town of Remedios (The oldest city founded by the Spanish in the province of Villa Clara), the decoration of the place used construction elements of Cuban architecture typical of the era, such as stained glass, furniture floats and the use of wood precious and imitation of the classic clay roofs and photographic atmosphere of this city.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Reviews

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Review: 3.4 of 5 8 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  2
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (7)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With Group
1 - 8 of 8

"A trip I'd like to quickly forget"

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dan  on Feb 1, 2016  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2016 | Leisure | Family and Kids
6 people found this review helpful

There're enough reviews out there praising the beaches and the resort upkeep (both good btw) so I'll get straight to the point of why this was a vacation miss: the food services and the atmosphere in the resort.

Starting with food services. We've read many reviews from people complaining about stomach issues etc and we brushed over these. After all there were many bad food reviews in the past at Dominican resorts where we've had a great time, so we thought these comments were in the same category thus we ignored them. I'll take time here to explain why these reviews at Memories are not the picky_eater type we thought it was...

By reading the reviews we set low expectations on food thinking that we'll find something to eat and that food is not the whole reason we went there. Well, let me say the reality we found was much lower than our lowest expectations. First and foremost the sanitary conditions at the food establishments would make any food inspector in Canada close this resort: plates are greasy and with traces of fingerprints and towel wipes, no exceptions. Same are the cutlery and the glasses on the tables. Often we'd find traces of food on all these from previous users.

Restaurants and Bars:
I've read many reviews from people worshiping organic cuban produce. I question whether these folks ever had a farmer's chicken or beef at their table or they're more inclined to make romantic stories about healthy foods from faraway lands. Organic food tastes great folks. The Cuban chicken I ate at Memories tastes like a pile of grease. No offence. The list is long, I'll only mention the watery coffee they serve at breakfast, the spoiled green bananas (why would they pick these before they ripe in a country growing bananas is beyond my understanding), the cow milk powder made "piña colada", various juices at the bar reassembling a vague fruit aroma and sweetness with a lot of water added, the recycled cold cuts fried on the grill pretending we have burgers, the soya made hotdogs with red food coloring (yeah, found unmixed red coloring inside, that's how I can tell), and best of all the spaghetti tasting like expired margarine (this last one none of us could swallow). Oh, and boiled cabbage and beans at breakfast...

The only eatable food is at the cooking stations, and that brings us to the stress factor. Forget about vacationing, you'd have to make a plan and stick to it if you want to eat something better. That includes waking up at 7am before the breakfast rush hour. There are 2 (sometimes 3) stations in a restaurant, and unless you are among the first 20 people that enter the door and rush in line you're looking at 20-30 minutes of waiting. Omelette is great, make sure you ask the guy to cook it well or risk salmonella. Same goes for pork and trichinosis. Beef is ok rare if you have the denture to chew on it.

Other Comments:
Atmosphere at the resort feels more like being on the job of having a vacation rather that genuine relaxation. Resort is crowded even when filled at half capacity (btw Sunwing makes a good job at filling this resort compared to other scarcely populated ones in the zone). Although the bungalows are distributed on a large area with pools etc. the main restaurants and bars are in the center. That makes everyone crowd there and sometimes there are long waiting lines outside at dinner. Fact is the table sitting capacity is way lower than the number of guests the resort could accommodate and this adds a factor of stress when it comes to finding an empty table at the bar or at the restaurant. We felt more like being on the resort’s clock and making ideas on the spot about what to do next was a luxury we could not attempt. Finding a seat in the shade at the beach is another one that comes to mind…

Staff zooming in their golf carts on the same path with guests is Memories special. Other resorts have utility roads on the outskirts just so guests don't have to contemplate the garbage truck going back and forth. Certainly not the case at Memories. The winner in the class is the verminator. Picture yourself walking around on the resort's alleys gazing at flowers and trees when all of a sudden you hear a sound like a plane's gonna land on your head. You look behind in disbelief and instead you see a golf cart running at high speed with a big white cloud behind it. On the platform the verminator and the source of the noise: a sweep blower device spraying clouds of insecticide on unsuspecting guests. Now if you think I'm exaggerating check-in at Memories to find out.

I read in other reviews Cubans are nice and friendly. Most Canadians going to Cuban resorts are unaware of the fact that all Cuban employees working there have a file with Dirección de Inteligencia. That means everyone needs to meet a list of conditions that makes them suitable to work in proximity of foreigners. I laugh at Canadians claiming they made great Cuban friends at the resorts and I'd like to challenge them to ask their friends about their dealings with DI or status in PCC apparatus. Many employees at the resort collect paystubs from DI either as rank officers or simple informers. You can tell them by their high fly attitude; they can afford to act friendly with resort guests, while others I've met are uneasy or afraid to communicate. I'm sure there're good people among Cubans but I doubt DI undercover officers can make good friends.

I realise I went beyond what travelers normally post about likes and dislikes, but I believe us Canadians intentionally ignore the political situation in Cuba in exchange for a cheaper ticket South. While I agree communism in Cuba is not our business to fix, the regime in the country has a strong influence on the atmosphere you'd experience and in ways you might not be aware of.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort and beach but food was terrible so would not return"

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bj  on Dec 13, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
86 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
31

Room Block:
51

Arrival:
Arrived Dec 5/14. Long bus ride to hotel...nearly 2 hours as we had to stop along side of road to let some passengers go to the washroom. There is no washroom on the bus. Arrived at resort around midnight. Check in was smooth with a short wait in line. Found our room no problem as it was next to pool/lobby area.

Rooms:
We were in 5131 and our friends were down the hall. Rooms were spacious and clean. They are starting to show some wear in the bathrooms. Our safe lock quit functioning and it took several calls and visit to customer service to get it fixed that night. Beds were okay. The entertainment at night is very loud and goes until 11 or midnight and our building was close to the theatre so we heard it every night. Housekeeping staff were friendly and even left us thank you notes for gifts/tips we gave them each day. They were very grateful.

The air conditioner didn't go on/off automatically so we froze the first night. We shut it off and never used it after that.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurant service and food were our biggest problem. It was hard to get a clean table and cutlery, dishes, etc. The buffet hot food was not hot. Apparently the electrical was not working so the food was cold. And the food that was supposed to be cold was not. On the second day I went to the customer service and the sunwing rep to complain about this. I know it is a health hazard if food are not kept at proper temperatures. Some people in our party got diarrhea for several days ad did other guests we talked to. We also returned some glasses off the table and asked for clean ones. We watched them take them to the dirty fish stand and just wipe it out with a rag and then try to give it back to us. Gross!!!

They did get the electrical going again but the good was still not good. They gave us extra a la Cartes for the week. The Mexican was terrible, seafood restaurant was okay. The Mediterranean and the Italian were good.

The best food options were the ones that were made to order as they were hot and cooked! Unfortunately you had to wait in long, slow lines.

I would not return to this resort because of the food issues.

The lobby bars were good, wait staff very friendly and the coffee with hot milk was best at he lobby bar!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is excellent. We had a waiter deliver us drinks on the beach one day. There were also staff delivering delicious chocolate chip cookies and ice cream bars on the beach!!

There were 3 pool areas and the pools were clean and amazing!

The grounds are very well maintained and beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
At the sports pools there was entertainment in the afternoons. There were also game areas--basketball, ping pong, pool table, badminton, chess, etc.

There is a market area with some shops and a spa at the end of the resort. It is about a ten minute walk or you can hop on the free train shuttle.

Apparently there was a dolphin outing nearby but we didn't go. Other trips were a distance to get to so we didn't want to do them.

Other Comments:
The resort is very big with lots of people. The line ups in the dining rooms were too long and slow for me. The side trip options are a long drive away and the options are not great anyway. I found the resort fairly noisy overall.

Although the beach and grounds are beautiful, I will not be returning to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"beautiful place but not very accomadating"

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  cory  on Oct 25, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
97 people found this review helpful

Well we arrived at night but of what we could see it was gorgeous we went to are room nice then in the morning waking up me my 2 brothers and dad had red bits all over are body so we dint think much of it till it happens the next 2 nights so we told the front desk they did not move us but sprayed the room but that still didn't help we were still getting bit another thing was my brother and dad are handicapped they walk with canes well we were on the top floor we tried to get a bottom room and they refused not just that but other travelers had the nits on them too... and we went to go eat at la grill at night and there was a cat on the table eating the cold cuts and we told the guy and he came over and hit the table and the cat ran and he just left the meat even those the cat was eating it I couldn't believe it and the day we left are room card got shut off at 1 and we weren't leaving till 5 a lot of things were not great but food was good and it was very beautiful plus the beach were awesome crystal clear water

Room Number:
5475 &5477

Room Block:
54

Arrival:
Tuesday September 23rd 9.45pm we didn't get to the resort till Wednesday September 24th at 12:10am

Rooms:
Building 54 rooms 5475 & 5477

Very nice but bedbugs

Restaurants and Bars:
Good food

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach nice pools and very well kept grounds

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Don't know

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"expect everything good"

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  camino  on Aug 5, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Business | Solo
103 people found this review helpful

It is a good hotel where you should expect all the good things of life, I am not even exaggerating. I have not seen a better hotel in Cuba than this and I can gladly say that this will not be my last visit. I checked in at the front desk on arrival, everything was done quickly. A bell boy was shown to me who carried my luggage and that of other guests that were there as at the time I entered the place. The bellboy put everything in other in the room as soon as we got in The room was very clean and very spacious, the room is huge and you need to see it, there was a king size bed and clean sheets to go with it. He put on everything that was supposed to be on and went on his merry way after a little tip from me. The staff was smiling throughout my stay, they were kind and genuine and I love their guest approach, it was soothing. I love the pina coladas served at this hotel and the grill also had nice things to offer. The food cooked in this hotel is excellent and they have cold drinks to go with the snacks and foods as well. They have an amazing buffet which I use for breakfast and lunch. I had a nice stay at this hotel and hope to come back again if given the opportunity as I was here on a business trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"lovely place"

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ballad  on Jul 6, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
110 people found this review helpful

It is not the first time of me and my family to visit this beautiful and magical island Cayo Santa Maria so it was not hard for us to find a beautiful hotel that will accommodate us with good service. The staffs at this hotel were very courteous, helpful and made sure I and my family had the best time of our lives at this hotel during our holiday. When we arrived in the evening, the staff was there to welcome us and gave us drinks to welcome us to the hotel and it was a great move because we were already tired from the trip to this place. Immediately, check in began and it didn’t even take time and before you know it, we were already in our rooms and it was so impressive of them. The rooms we had been close to most of the hotel facilities and stuff so it was great. The grounds of the hotel looked well cared for, it was neat and everything was in the right place. The rooms didn’t smell of moulds or anything like that, it smelled nice and it was clean and was cleaned daily. Breakfast here was the deal, they serve the nicest coffee I have taken in a while and the food was also fresh and delicious. The beach staff was nice, the beach itself was gorgeous and it was clean and relaxing. There was chairs at the beach to sit all the time as the beach guys made sure of that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would no go back."

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  sarah  on Feb 16, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
146 people found this review helpful

Large noisy resort. Dining room, bar always crowded - often difficult to find seat. Theater sound system dreadful. Deafening volume.

Lovely shaded outdoor bars with excellent service.

If you like crowds and noise this is the resort for you.

Room Number:
74

Room Block:
53

Arrival:
Confusing as told on bus not to leave luggage unattended. At hotel told to leave it and it would be delivered.

No welcome cocktail.

Check in speedy as all done in advance. No need to line up.

Rooms:
Cleaning (by a male -first time) haphazard. Floors wiped with the dirtiest cloth I've ever seen. No bathmat for 3 days. Towels not replaced; face cloths on and off. Spills on counter top remained for the entire stay.
Extra pillows dirty - we were told no cases available that day.
Air conditioning sporadic, TV died second day but guest services reacted promptly.
Had ocean view but this was no suite - just an average sized room.

Water, beer, pop replaced regularly.

Restaurants and Bars:
Noisiest restaurant we've ever encountered. Dreaded going there. Set up poor - people looking for seats had to walk in and around buffet area.
Lots of food of varying quality.
Fruit and veggies disappointing.
Good omelets and fried eggs made to order.
Fish restaurant dreadful; Italian wonderful;

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent beach -one of the best we've seen. Lots of lounges,etc.
Pool very shallow everywhere - probably because the resort catered to families.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nice spa in market area with terrific massages.
Souvenirs the usual Cuban stuff.
12-hour excursion to Trinidad and Sancti Spiritus -not worth the effort.

Other Comments:
Would not go there again. However, families seemed to enjoy it very much.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fun in The Sun"

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joe  on Apr 18, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
216 people found this review helpful

My wife and I just got back from our 1 week trip to this resort and I must say it was a great vacation.

Room Number:
3846

Room Block:
38

Arrival:
The flight down was very good no problems, when we arrived at the airport the check through customs was no problems and fast, we then boarded a bus to go to the resort which is a long 1 hour and half drive, which was not fun when we then had to stop on the side of the road and wait for a couple and thier kids because customs had retained them at the Airport. The tour operator on the bus tried explaining somethings but he must have been tired because we had a difficult time understanding anything he said. When we finally arrived at the Resort we had been give our key's on the bus and resort information our package had no map which made it very difficult to find our room, we also where told leave the luggage it would be deliverd to our room in 5 min. it finally arrive 2 hours later.

Rooms:
The room was very nice, very clean, lots of hot water, only problem was our Toilet didn't flush we had to keep calling front desk to fix it, finally on the 4th day they got it fixed.

Restaurants and Bars:
We enjoyed the food we had no problem with any restaurant we ate at, only thing we found was that they ran out of food, if you went a hour later from when they opened you would walk around and everything was empty (trays) even the bread was gone, I don't know if they didn't expect that many people or they just simply couldn't keep up, but when this would happen we would simply go t another restaurant and find food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There is no doubt this a a Beautiful Beach the best I have ever seen, my wife and I would walk for ever it seemed and never run out of beach, we could walk out about 100 feet in the water and it was still just up to our necks, If beach is what you want most of all this is the one.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We have been to Cuba before so we did no activities as we have done all of them before.

Other Comments:
This is a Resort that for the price we paid I would go back no problem, the grounds are beautiful, clean, beach amazing, there was a small Market close by which was nice to walk through, all in all I defanetly reccomend this Resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous Memories !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Paraíso Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Richard  on Apr 21, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
481 people found this review helpful

Seasoned cuban traveller. Over 100 times in cuba since 1979. This is a luxurious cuban 5 star resort and along with the Azul side a huge place.I found the price verses quality ratio excellent.Well worth a visit!!! No major negative issues. Beautiful rooms,grounds,pools and a fantastic world class beach.Well maintained grounds with lots of landscaped scenery,flowers and lush foliage. About 90 minutes from the airport but transportation was fast,professional and seamless.Remember this is Cuba and PLEASE do not compare to other prime caribbean destinations. There is a U.S. embargo and food production is not up to international standards found in other five star resort buffets and a la cartes. That being said we found the food variety and quality excellent for cuba and would return to this resort.

Room Number:
3834

Room Block:
31

Arrival:
Seamless,rapid clearance at Santa Clara airport. great transportation bus and good guide enroute. The 90 minute drive allows you to see the 'true' cuba countryside including several small towns. Once at the resort you are greeted warmly with musicians and great glass of champagne. Our experience at the lobby was great check in and service. No delays.Room keys given quickly. Tip:
Mostly you do not need to wait for a bellhop to deliver your luggage since most buildings are up to 6-8 minute walk away.

Rooms:
Really nice modern new cuban junior suites with plenty of storage,a separate sink and vanity area,large deep soaking tub with plenty of hot water. Everything for us worked great. water hot and pressure good. Room very clean.excellent maid service. Pop,beer and water restocked daily but usually not before 5PM.Great 27" television with more channels via satellite then I have ever seen in cuba. Approximately 45 channels with several movie channels,disney channel and more. Excellent electronic air conditioning either moderately or super cool.Once a day we did average a brief early evening power outage but no more than 5 minutes long.beds firm but for use provided good sleep quality.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots of restuarants and variety. 2 big buffets with lots of salads,excellent cheese trays,delicious pizza,turkey,chicken. Plenty of indivdual prepared foods and some great fresh made to order food stations for fried stirfry rice,chicken steak ( order medium rare) fish,calamari shrimps and even lobster once a week. I cannot say enough about the good quality dessert section with lots of tasty treats and flambe of pineapples,bananas or pears with lots of toppings.Some great a la carte restuarants. especially Italian,mediterreanen,caribean and gourmet with lobster.Also two beach restuarants/buffets,excellent hamburger,chicken panini press on the beach.
great pizza oven also on azul beach side.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Two beautiful lagoon pools on both sides. A centre baby/kid's lagoon pool with a great kid's club.Firsyt time I have seen playstation3 and X-box consules in a baby club in cuba.Magnificent grounds and foliage.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Must try snorkelling in 600 Foot patch of grass 100 feet off beach a far end of azul side of beach. Water shallow and 5 varieties of fish up to 25,000 fish
in amazing concentration. Be careful of the 2 to 6 foot monster barracudas circling these fish. Up to 100 on certain afternoons.

Catamaran and snorkel tour with interactive dolphinarium visit great.

Other Comments:
A winner for cuba !!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube