Deauville Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Deauville reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Deauville  

Calle Galiano y Malecón. Centro Habana. Ciudad de La Habana
(Old Havana Maps)

"View & Pool"
Posted by: greg  on Sep 15, 2013
see all reviews

Deauville Reviews
Deauville Pictures and Information
Deauville Centro Habana Cuba

#1
of 5 Hotels in Centro Habana

User rating 3.4

Based on 34 reviews

Deauville Information


Excellent budget hotel, located on the Malecon. Great as a base to explore both Old Havana and the Vedado district.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Deauville Reviews

Deauville Review: 3.4 of 5 34 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  8
Average
  12
Poor
  4
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (4)
Leisure (19)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (11)
With friend (6)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
11 - 20 of 34

"Very pleasant experience, would consider returning."

Deauville
User Rating:  Deauville Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Miguel Hoyos  on Jan 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
143 people found this review helpful

The hotel is obviously old and not too impressive. However the staff is pleasant, the view is phenomenal, and amenities aren't bad. Their breakfast buffet was not as diverse as other hotels, but fair enough. The balconies are precious and the view of the Malecon, Morro Castle, and the Capitolio are priceless.

Room Number:
506

Room Block:
2 nights

Arrival:
26/12/12

Rooms:
1 room

Restaurants and Bars:
Nice

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice.

Other Comments:
The staff was respectful and pleasant.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Budget hotel well situated"

Deauville
User Rating:  Deauville Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  tanja grzetic romcevic  on Dec 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) SLOVENIA
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
151 people found this review helpful

I was in this hotel when the prices were very convinent.
the hotel is very clean , and the food is good.Hotel is well situated near old
havana. In spite of this, this is not surroundings , to go out one sole women.
It is better accomodation for friends and groups.
The staff on reception desk are generally friendly.

Room Number:
406

Arrival:
At arrivel on reception very one very friend young lady ( I do not her name).
In spite of telephone inconvience( telefon did not work in hotel(, she tried to resolve my problems with the touristic agency

Rooms:
is very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
good personal, good food and drinks

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
it was raining all the day of my staying there ( so I did not use pool)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Convenient, good for the price"

Deauville
User Rating:  Deauville Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nancy Urekar  on Dec 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
94 people found this review helpful

We had a great time here. I would stay there again. Don't go if you need luxury, but good value. Bar is friendly & safe, staff is good, pool is nice, money exchange is right there, breakfast is good, bathrooms are decent and clean, room is adequate. Door to balcony didn't lock.

Room Number:
707

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"awful hotel"

Deauville
User Rating:  Deauville Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Son Hai Nguyen  on Dec 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) VIET NAM
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
188 people found this review helpful

The hotel is quite well located by the coastal street Malecon with easy access to most part of Havana though access to the hotel is currently blocked by construction (Nov 2011). The hotel facilities are very old. Staff are not friendly except when receiving tips. Breakfast is dull, Wifi is not available anywhere like in most hotel in Cuba.

Room Number:
1402

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A good mid range option in Havana"

Deauville
User Rating:  Deauville Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bronson Wayne Smith  on Dec 2, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
199 people found this review helpful

The rooms are very basic and things don't always work (phones,, water for a short while) but the overall utility of this hotel for a low cost Havana option cannot be underestimated. There are lots of travelers here and the pool provides a lovely respite with a nice view of the ocean and centro Habana. It's probably the only hotel in this price range where you'll get a pool. The immediate feel is of an old, utilitarian building but once settled in it feels fine. Ask for a room with a balcony, and ocean view. That certainly adds to the pleasure. The breakfast buffet is fine, though the cloths on the tables aren't always clean. Construction around the hotel now doesn't add to the atmosphere, but that should be completed sometime soon. I would stay again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"very disapointed...."

Deauville
User Rating:  Deauville Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  ANTHONY LONG  on Oct 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
90 people found this review helpful

hotel is located with view of harbour,but there's nothing to look at just open sea,outside hotel all the roads have been ripped up for major roadworks,this hotel was just full of prostitutes and scamsters and hustlers,i was very disapointed with this hotel sercurity just let anyone in to hotel,when i and other guests were sitting at the bar,hustlers would come in to hotel and hang around,they would sit next to you at the bar start conversation then hustle you,i was personley scammed out of 170 cuc £100 english on my first day by someone who hangs around the hotel claiming to be sercurity there,i went to reception and asked for the police to be called nothing was done,the hotel has a nightclub downstairs which is full of prostitutes,security at this hotel take bribes for customers to bring hookers up to their rooms,the bar area where they served food was over run with cochroaches,staff who worked at the bar were very rude,and would ignore you when u wanted a drink,the only good thing about this hotel was the pool on the 6th floor,which was full of old men with young cuban girls....i was very upset by the way i was treated by staff at this hotel,talking to other guests at the hotel it seems that everyone was having the same problems as me,the women on the money exchange on the 1st floor would not tell you the exchange rate but would just change your money and hand it to you,she was one of the rudest people ive ever met,she had a computer showing all the different exchange rates but when you exchanged your money you would not get the advertised rate...

Room Block:
next to swimming pool

Arrival:
no bell boy u have to find your own room

Rooms:
rooms were clean but need upgrading bed needed changing springs were gone

Restaurants and Bars:
restaurants at hotel sell very limited menu

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good pool on 6th floor

Other Comments:
be aware havana is full of men trying to get you to change your cuc pesos into cuban pesos which have no value....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware of "andy" the door man"

Deauville
User Rating:  Deauville Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maday Bu Arencibia  on Oct 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
106 people found this review helpful

Terrible staff members.... my privacy was invated by Juan Andy a/k/a Andy the door man who walked into my room without asking for permission at 1:30am....

Room Number:
1302, 1202

Arrival:

Rooms:
Bed bugs on the sheets, woke up all red red and itchy in the morning.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Precio aceptable y bien localizado"

Deauville
User Rating:  Deauville Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pedro Francisco González  on Aug 20, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) PORTUGAL
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
129 people found this review helpful

En general bastante bueno. Lo que vale es la localización

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Ok"

Deauville
User Rating:  Deauville Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alexis  on Aug 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Business | Solo
123 people found this review helpful

First. I think when you pay for a room it should be a nice room that won't make you think about the posiblilities of mises or cucarachas.The wood frames in the bathroom were all deteriorated and black, the shower courtine was all with yellow spots, seams derty. The toilet was cracked. Otherwise the breakfast was good and the everyday cleaning was good. At least my room diden't have a Phone to make locals phonecalls and did not have a little fridge to coll the water I keet for my self for the middle of the night. The staff is very nice, but need more training. When I arrive the gave me my room but never explain to me the aminities the hotel offer. I new the hotel has a pool, beacause I lived around the area many years ago, plus everything I read in the internet. I know is Cuba, pero no aprieten!

Room Number:
606

Rooms:
I got pictures, but I won't put them in the internet. I hope everything get better with this hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not too bad"

Deauville
User Rating:  Deauville Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Herbert Schwendinger  on Jun 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
265 people found this review helpful

The hotel is acceptable if you don't expect special services. One of the two elevators broke down on the first day of our stay which made the following 4 days awkward since the staff had to use it too. Breakfast buffet was adequate but the dinner had to be taken at the swimming pool cafeteria. Limited choice but good. Main problem: nearly no shade at the pool. Location very good. Overall the hotel can be recommended for budget travelers.

Room Number:
1407

Arrival:
Fast check in, no problems. very friendly receptionists

Rooms:
basic furniture, bathroom clean and always hot water

Restaurants and Bars:
Bar had sufficient choice of drinks, barmen/woman quite helpful

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool nearly no shade otherwise fine.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No special activities in the hotel and outside of it you create your own activities-no problem in Havana

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube