Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Memories Flamenco Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Cayo Coco

4.2 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 28, 2014

Cubanacan Colonial

3.7 based on 76 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 23, 2015

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba

"Star 5- Definitely Not"
Posted by: Garson on Mar 27, 2015
see all reviews

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Reviews
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Cayo Coco Cuba

#8
of 10 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 4.1

Based on 9 reviews

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Information


Whether you are looking for a relaxing family vacation, an action packed adventure, or a romantic getaway, the all inclusive Memories Flamenco Beach Resort will enchant you in more ways than one and is sure to become a favorite.


This remarkable 5 star Cayo Coco Hotel rests on a stunning white sand beach that is gently lapped by crystal clear, warm waters.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Reviews

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 4.1 of 5 9 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (9)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 9 of 9

"Star 5- Definitely Not"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Garson  on Mar 27, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
2 people found this review helpful

Grounds:

The general upkeep of Memories Flamenco in Cayo Coco is not good. Many ornamental trees are dead or dying. The beach volleyball net is tied to a couple of small trees and droops a foot or two. It is unusable for off-the-net shots. The pool volleyball net is also an eyesore. The lawns are burnt from lack of water and the landscape has large holes and humps throughout the resort, consequently it is mowed with whipper snippers.

Their pool table was missing a pool ball and the cues had no cue tips. Building 4 needs an exterior paint job.

Room Number:
5214

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
Memories Flamenco Resort, Cayo Coco, Cuba Review
March 5-19, 2015

Arrival at the hotel was excellent. Our suitcases were delivered to our room while we checked in.

Orientation:

On our first morning we attended the hotel orientation. Mr. Murphy is knowledgeable but speaks double speed with an accent so we understood almost nothing. It's a pity, because this information is critical to begin enjoying your week.

You are well advised to learn at least a dozen common Spanish words because the Memories Flamenco staff understand very little English. Ola, ...

Rooms:
Room Facilities:

An excellent Combination Lock Safe is provided in the room for your valuables
Coffee Maker & Sometimes coffee in room
Beer in fridge sometimes (catch them if you can)
Bottled Drinking water in room sometimes (Catch them if you can)

Passing Security Guards often talked all through the night keeping us awake. These rooms have poor acoustic design and sound echoes in the hallways for 2 seconds with a clap of the hands. Cuban maids can be heard throughout the day chattering constantly from the other end of these concrete residential buildings.

We opted for no air conditioning with the patio door open instead, but this didn't work the last couple of days because of the poorly fitting, difficult to move screen door. There were quarter inch gaps from poor door design. The mosquitoes were hungry.

The small room fridge was so noisy that we put it out on the balcony for our entire visit. It sounded like a vacuum cleaner switching off and on every 5 minutes so you couldn't hear the TV. The TV programming was above my low expectations. There were several English speaking channels and we sometimes got Canadian news and weather. We had nearly a meter of snow at home in the two weeks we were in Cuba. Did I mention the weather was perfect in Cuba :)

Our balcony view (Building 5) was of bushes and trees with a sliver of Atlantic Ocean at the horizon. Still beautiful when you can walk inside and out without sensing a temperature change. Good beach views are limited in Cayo Coco since the entire island was developed in the last 15 years, after Cuban beachfront environmental laws prohibit removing the beach trees so the shoreline will remain intact.

There are 10 residential buildings, each with 21 rooms per level, or 63 rooms per building. Building 1 sits the highest above sea level and therefore has the best beach view on the ocean side. The resort-side view is also better because of this height advantage but these rooms are near the theater that will produce great noise till late at night. The buildings decrease in height above sea level gradually from building 1 to building 5 and the remaining 5 buildings are located inland.

From Building 5 it is a half kilometer walk gradually uphill to the main lobby and cafeteria but it was a pleasant walk except for reasons mentioned later. Buildings 1-4 are more central, have a better view of the ocean or pools and the ocean side would also be quiet.

The bathroom shower was warm at best (Building 5)if you picked the right time of day. The sink facet barely trickled water at busy times. There was a hair blower (it worked on max only) by the sink and it had a power converter for a 110 Volt razor or cell phone charger. You will need a 220V to 110 Volt power converter for curling irons, etc. Our room had an iron and ironing board (220V).

Restaurants and Bars:
Food:

The Snack Bar is your around the clock place to eat if you miss other venues. I ordered a Club Sandwich and got 2 slices of fat on a burger bun. The Snack Bar is home to dozens of birds that fly onto the tables before and after people eat, gathering up leftovers. They perch on the large light fixture suspended over top of the self-serve food table and these birds don't wear diapers. We went there twice and never went back which meant we were hungry several times but waited for the cafeteria food.

The cafeteria food is fair. Best to make a pre-check of each item with a small sample and go back for what is cooked properly that meal. The beef and pork are often severely overcooked, tough and dry. Try the fish and shellfish at your own risk. We live on fish at home but not in Cuba. Sometimes the fruit was good but they seem to pick their fruit before it ripens? The pineapple was always tough, tastless and completely inedible. The breakfast omelets are made while you wait and are worth waiting for (Ringo makes a good omelette. Get your drinks quickly because the glasses do run out. We each lost 6 pounds on our 2 week trip and we are small people.

The acoustics are also poor in the cafeteria. Humming motors, people talking and live entertainment at supper add up to a rumbling environment. Sit on the sides for less noise.

There are 4 A La Carte restaurants. Be sure to book them all. Their food is excellent. You will need to get to the booking desk early (the one that says "Diamond Club Only" but ignore that misnomer). Three of these excellent restaurants are connected to the cafeteria. The fourth is connected to the Snack Bar. This one has no sign so it took us 2 days to find it.

We were booked to the A La Carte by the Snack Bar for 6 PM but they didn't open till the line-up was long at nearly 6:30 PM. The next day we were 15 minutes late (as per Murphy's apparent joke at orientation about relaxed Cuban time) and we were almost refused service. Be on time to those A La Carte's by the Cafeteria.

Bar Service:

Very poor. After 2 pina colada's with no alcohol, I asked for more alcohol. The bartender sprinkled a tablespoon on the top of the drink and pushed it my way. The 4th time I asked to have an ounce of rum in the glass before adding the mix. He poured half a glass of rum and added (now warm) pina colada mix. Every bartender has his own rules for mixing drinks. If you find a good one, hang onto him. Cerveza was our only recourse.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Safety:

Walking on the walkways to move from place to place was very dangerous here. The service people were constantly zipping by with silent electric vehicles on a walkway that is just a foot or two wider than their vehicles. When one of these electric Honda-Civic-sized vehicles speeds by you unannounced from behind at 15 KMPH it leaves a very unsafe feeling. I spoke to two of the hotel managers about this and many of the vehicles slowed down, but not all.

We walked next door to the Pestana Resort and further over to the Jardines Del Rey Resort and walking on their walkways was wonderful. All their service staff stopped and alerted you that they were going to pass, before proceeding.

Beside Building 5 there is a large gazebo that is hazardous to be around. The boards are rotten and large broken holes are surrounded with rusty protruding nails. There were hundreds of young children that would be at risk if attempting to play on this decayed structure. I suggested to SunWing staff that this should be immediately barricaded and torn down very soon.

Several of the wooden walkway boards going down to the beach were also rotten and the rail was quite loose. Part of it is now barricaded and bypassed near the beach.

Most of the walkway lights were either broken off completely and missing with wires sticking out of the foundation or the lights were just not working. It was very dark at night walking between Buildings 6-10.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Weather:

Perfect with no rain. Every day was 87 F (30 C) with a nice breeze. Cuban weather is absolutely perfect in mid-March. It can be cool in February and too hot starting late April. Our last 2 days saw mosquitoes coming out in the evening. This resort is surrounded by swamp so April is likely a great time for mosquito eating birds when the rainy season starts.


Beach:

The beach in front of the resort has sand next to the trees/bushes but all along the beach there is sharp outcropping coral as you go out into the water for a few dozen feet before sand reappears (like most resorts in Cayo Coco). However, going down to the beach and walking to the left (northwest) about half a KM is very rewarding. Here at low tide, just around the cove point, is the most perfect beach we've ever seen. Fifteen acres of pure white fine coral-based sand that you can walk on to your hearts content. We spent hours walking this beach and there's another 15 acres of knee-deep-in-water area to be explored.

The white fish birds and the pelican type birds are courteous to people as the birds soar and dive to capture numerous small fish from minnow size up to 7 inches. They add another great dimension to the most beautiful beach in the world.

And though we never saw it advertised, there are 7 beautiful catamaran sailboats and several kayaks and paddle boats that are included in your all inclusive package in the Memories Flamenco and the Pestana Resort next door. They are located between the two resorts in a beach enclosure. Here is a great opportunity to sail with or without an instructor with perfect daily breezes on the warm south Atlantic.


Money Exchange:

Some people bought Cuban Convertible Pesos (CUC's) at the airport for a better rate before coming to the hotel. We had no time as our arrival was near midnight and all was a rush. We were charged 40% on CAD and 20% on USD at the Memories Flamenco bank. Strange because the CUC value is locked to the value of the USD. But you are on the island of Cayo Coco. In Veradero several years earlier we got par exchange for USD because independent exchange facilities were near the town of Veradero.
This shouldn't be a major factor unless you wish to spend CUC for excursions. We took the 5 CUC per person (7 CAD) bus ride to the island market. This market is much like a small garage sale but does allow you to see several gateway entrances to other hotels on the island.

Other Comments:
Excursions:

There are several excursions available from the Memories Flamenco (around 75 CUC) but we didn't partake because of their unreasonable exchange rate. Examples-
~Jeep Safari ride into the Florencia Mountains where you can go on a horseback ride or tour a cigar factory.
~Take a trip into Moron, the nearest town and shop.
~Take a large catamaran cruise with open bar and interact with dolphins
~Go fishing
~There were also free scuba diving courses offered at the hotel and then if you were successful at this, you could go on a coral reef excursion.

One of the best excursions in Cayo Coco is not advertised. If you can get 10 people or so together you can rent a minibus and go into the town of Moron (30 Minutes away). Your driver becomes your personal group guide for the day and he will go where you like. This mini-bus will cost about $160 CUC and you will have to buy food while gone.

I saw a tourist driven minibike when at the market but there were no rentals near the Memories Flamenco. The maps of Cayo Coco are very vague so it would be difficult to navigate their wandering roads and Moron is likely close to an hour away via bike. Veradero is much better suited to this type of excursion. Years ago we traveled the entire Veradero peninsula in one day, stopping at several resorts. Then we took a quick trip into the near town of Veradero.

Summary:

I played smart phone Sudoku for entertainment. Their night theater entertainment is good but often too loud. Take some books or games to enjoy your leisure time. Internet service is available but only in a 20 foot circle in the main lobby via wifi. They will neglect to tell you that your 4.5 CUC one hour wifi service does not disconnect when you shut down your phone wifi. You need to manually disconnect your wifi account to halt their wifi one hour timer. I've heard other hotels in Cayo (pronounced Ki-oh) Coco have very slow internet service. The speed is good here if you stay in the circle.

I met a tourist who purchased her internet data card in Canada before leaving. She had great internet service through this data plan and it would be much cheaper if you plan on keeping touch with home a great deal.

Disregard any review that rates this resort at Star 4 or 5 (Totally Ridiculous). There is good and bad at this resort. We had a good time and it was difficult to come home even after 2 weeks. Have a good trip south.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"fantastic resort"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  nancy  on Mar 20, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
4 people found this review helpful

this resort is one of best resorts Ive satyed in from the moment I got there I was treated like a queen from the management to the gardeners the staff is great, not pushy but very concerned about my stay and welcomed me like I was a queen I met some wonderful people that work there and that is the main reason Im going back

Room Number:
2106

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
seamless and brought to room upon arrival

Rooms:
buliding2 close to everything this trip Ive asked for a ground floor as stairs are a issue with me

Restaurants and Bars:
good food always well presented, they did run out of some things but-the variety is so good that you don't miss things

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
pool very clean the beach they were grinding away the coral so its better now but it was still acceptable after all the ocean is nature in its glory

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
all the shows were excellent and well done. The caterman trip is a must do also swimming with dolphins both are 110 cuc but worth every penny

Other Comments:
all in all the resort is fantastic so much so Im returning April 2nd 2015 12 sleeps away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great vacation"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  J.  on Feb 21, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
10 people found this review helpful

I have to say that the staff at Memories Flamenco were awesome. Special complements to Deivey who did a wonderful job cleaning in the #7 building and cleaning our room. The "chair guy" on the beach was a sweetie and always looked after our needs if we wanted something. The staff didn't bother you if you weren't interested in any help. They asked once then left you alone if you didn't need anything. The beach was beautiful. For my teenagers I wish there were more "toys" on the beach like snorkel and masks. These were very hard to get. There was a lack of water sports for them. Jet skis would be awesome!
Resort is really close to the airport only a 20 minute drive!

Room Number:
7109, 7101

Room Block:
7

Arrival:
Feb 13

Rooms:
very clean. bathrooms were clean

Restaurants and Bars:
nice

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not Much to do on the beach. Very expensive to rent sail boats, etc and diving masks were unavailable most days

Other Comments:
NO Upset stomach! We had no stomach problems and there was always either bottled water or water refills available at the 24 hr restaurant.
the coffee was surprisingly not so good.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Home away from home"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  C  on Aug 1, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
42 people found this review helpful

I have stayed at Memories Flamenco twice and I am going back again in Sept 2014 and Feb 2015. I travel both with family and solo. The Memories is such a warm, friendly, beautiful resort. Food is very good to excellent, service at all restaurants,bbq and beverage areas excellent. Entertainment is exceptional - the profession animation staff great! Management are always checking to see that you are taken care of and any problems (I never experienced any) are taken care of quickly. The beach wonderful - there is some coral but they are removing it. There is a short walkway over the coral to the sandy pristine ocean. I recommend diamond club especially for bungalow location (I always pick ocean view), al a carte lunches and late checkout. Memories Flamenco has become a home away from home.

Room Number:
2218

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
Smooth - room keys handed to you on bus

Rooms:
If mobility issues Bldg 1 or 2 closest to amenities. Ocean view level 2 or higher.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Awesome - especially the large upper pool

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"staff available all the time"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  peskey  on Jul 29, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
45 people found this review helpful

I travelled with my husband to this fantastic resort and we at that moment decided that we will be coming back here again when net we visit this part of town. It is safe to say that we both came to the conclusion that this is the best resort we have been to. The hotel was everything we wanted it to be and even more, there is a lot of good things to say about the hotel management and itís staff, they are part of the reason this holiday was a blast for us. You could tell that the guests present were their priority because staff was always available; you will always find someone to attend to you. They seemed very accountable and encouraged the guests to come to them for help. That was just the selling point. The entertainment staff in our opinion was the best staff team because they made sure we had fun. The shows are all great and they put up very talented people on stage to entertain the guests, there was never a boring moment during our stay at the resort. I have always heard of how terrible food is in Cuba but this was the opposite, I had foods that were as tasty if not more as the ones I have in Canada. The restaurant has a wide selection of meals and all of them that we ate were incredible. The building looks good and clean, the rooms look well maintained and everything inside worked, shout out to the management.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"nice spot to spend your anniversary"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  star  on Jul 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
48 people found this review helpful

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for our wedding anniversary and it was such as splendid stay and so you all know, I am writing this on behalf of myself and my husband and we both honestly recommend this place to you if you want comfort, best service and good location hotel for your vacation or our business trip. We requested for the ocean view suite and waking up to such view for the amount of days we stayed there was an amazing experience for us. The place was clean and well taken care of, the daily maid service worked well and so did all the staff we came in contact with, they are the nicest we have met in all our trips to Cuba. The hotel management and entire staff made sure to provide all that we asked and went a long way to make sure we were not inconvenienced in any way and that was very thoughtful. Chef Fabio made sure that the buffet restaurant was worth visiting as there were varieties of different selection delicious meals to consume. The a la carte restaurants were never disappointing in that aspect as they always came through for us. The 3 pools at the hotel were all clean and on the large size and is rarely crowded. The pool bar is a nice place to hang out and meet the nice bartender who is good at what he does and never lets your cup go empty, nice one buddy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No service and room needs repair"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  M  on Apr 23, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
134 people found this review helpful

When arriving at the resort they were totally disorganized. Many people ,including us, were put in rooms that were not what we paid for. This took up to 3 days to correct. I was even told at one point that just because I booked one thing and paid for it ,it doesn't mean I will get that!
Every day it was a phone call to try and get bath towels. People had to use the same towels for up to 3 days. When you made your call for towels you would also have to request toilet paper! It often didn't come either.
Down at the pool the towel situation was much the same. Day after day they didn't have any! While at the pool the waiter would make his way around once maybe twice a day and that was it!
The bars ran out of ice almost every day. They ran out of mint leaves to make drinks! One night they ran out of beer.
Your mini bar may get filled once a week not every day as they say.
They had no selection in their store especially for cigars. No cigars in Cuba? Unreal. To top that off the girls who worked in the store were very rude if you didn't speak the language. I also would close early and open late.
The BBQ at the beach did not keep proper hours either....12-3 was more like 1-2.
This place is a year and a half old and most of the balcony doors didn't lock. The screen doors were broken and they were not fixing them.
And bring Visa cause they charge at least 10% on Canadian money.
This 5 star resort is a 2 star at best! For the service we didn't get and the number of ignorant people we encountered it almost needs to be less than 2 star.
There are a few nice employees there and they stick out because there are so few.

Room Number:
9220

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
good at the airport and the bus ride to the resort.
The resort is disorganized and rude.

Rooms:
If you get into the room you should be in, they are clean however the locks on the balcony are not good and the screens are broken. The bar is rarely stocked. Never enough towels or toilet paper.

Restaurants and Bars:
The a la carts are nice. The main restaurant was good at times but again their service is slow and some time not at all.

The bars are slow and run out of supplies all the time. waiting up to 15 minutes for a drink.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was clean but once again the service was slow if at all. Never any towels. You had to use and reuse towels.

The grounds looked nice however there was always garbage in places from the night before that had not been picked up. This was a 10am.

Other Comments:
I would not suggest this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not quite a 5 star resort"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lori  on Mar 31, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
128 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1205

Room Block:
Building 1

Arrival:
Arrival with Sunwing went very smoothly. Elite Plus well worth the extra. Very impressed with check in at the airport. Upon arrival we were given an envelope with our room keys, a map of the resort, guest registration card( to be filled out and given to rep on the bus)and the time of our welcome meeting the following morning. Our luggage was tagged with our room number for delivery by the bellmen at the hotel. No waiting in line at the reception desk!
After a short bus ride to the hotel, we had to find our way to our own room to wait for the bellman to bring our luggage. Not a very long wait at all. Buildings are hard to distinguish at night, but we found an employee in the lobby who pointed us in the right direction.

Rooms:
Our room was as requested. Oceanview with a balcony, but as in other places there is not a clear view of the water due to a row of trees. Room was clean with a stocked mini fridge( bottle of water, 2 beer, 2 pop). We found if we left a small tip and a note for the person stocking the fridge we got what we wanted. Coffee maker( no coffee, 1 tea bag), if you want coffee in your room I suggest bring instant with some Coffeemate. Small flat screen TV with good selection of channels. Bathroom stocked with amenities such as, body wash, shampoo, shower cap, sewing kit, kleenex, soap, faceclothes(we had 2 everyday, some people said they had none), 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels, hair dryer. Had no problem with power in the room, used a straightening iron and charged cell phone and camera batteries, didn't need a converter.

Restaurants and Bars:
We visited 2 ala carte resturants the Asian and The Florencia. Wouldn't recommend the Asian, but the chicken was good. The Florencia was very good and the service was excellent. Our ala cartes were prebooked for us which was a nice touch, but inconvenient when our whole party of 8 were not on the same reservation. We basically all showed up to see if they would accommodate us and they did.
The main buffet had a good selection, but as usual just not hot enough unless you visited the prep stations. Found there was just not enough staff for the people at the hotel.
Snack bar was OK, they had a buffet until 3 PM and then you could order, sandwiches, fries, hamburgers. Pizza was available until 3 PM in the pizzeria.
Bar service was slow, not sure what they would do if full to capacity. The wine was not the best, but the white was drinkable,must have been the most preferred because they ran out every night. All inclusive....maybe they should stock more. If you like the fruity drinks Miami Vice is quite tasty.
If you have Diamond Club, there are a select few top shelf drinks such as Malibu, Baileys, DisArrono, Canadian Club etc.
If you want Havana Club rum, you might have to beg for it, most of the drinks are white rum of another brand name.
I have been to several all inclusives and this is the first resort I have found to be quite frugal with their drinks. Most places free pour or at least that has been my experience, but not here.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is very rocky bring water shoes! Once you get out past the rock it is nice soft sand and beautiful crystal clear water. If you like to snorkel, there is a reef not to far out. There are 2 sections of beach, on each side of a boardwalk. One is for Diamond Club, but each side is used by all.There was always lots of chairs no matter the time of day. We had beach towels in our room upon arrival and we could exchange with the maid daily.(Diamond Club)
I would recommend bringing insect repellent, sand fleas are a problem if you are allergic like myself. Ended up looking like I had the measles from the knees down. They tried to tell me they were mosquitoes...but I wasn't bitten anywhere else. Bring some Gold Bond or hydrocortisone in case you need it.

Other Comments:
Not sure if Diamond Club inclusions were worth the price, we did have beach towels in our room, butler service on the beach,safe in room, late check out, but not much more.Pretty sure anyone who sat in the Diamond Club section of beach had butler service as well.
It is a nice resort, but needs some work to call themselves a 5 star. Have been to several lower star resorts than a 5 and have had a much better experience. Vacation is what you make it, don't sweat the small stuff...it's Cuba!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Communication amongst managers and guests"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andrew  on Aug 10, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
201 people found this review helpful

Our stay (myself, husband and 9 yr. old son) was enjoyable.Food was very good and lots of variety for all. Rooms (clean, pretty towel art).Entertainment -poolside and shows were fun and interactive,although disappointed by lack of communication skills between managers and guests-at minimum info. board with daily postings of events, and excursions offered. Most importantly no First Aid provided whats so ever! Guests with injuries were asked to take local taxi to other resorts at own cost to seek treatment.Beach was lovely but caution must be used because of rocky areas.Overall staff was friendly and polite.

Room Number:
3306

Room Block:
bungalow 3

Arrival:
friendly greeting ,quick check-in

Rooms:
clean, towel art fun!
recommend using safe for valuables.

Restaurants and Bars:
good food selection -fresh daily

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
fun for allAndrew

Other Comments:
First Aid must be provided

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube