Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Memories Flamenco Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Cayo Coco

4.2 based on 50 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2016

Cubanacan Colonial

3.7 based on 76 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 23, 2015

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba

"Don't do it"
Posted by: Jerry on Mar 21, 2017
see all reviews

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Reviews
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Cayo Coco Cuba

#7
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.2

Based on 19 reviews

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Information


Whether you are looking for a relaxing family vacation, an action packed adventure, or a romantic getaway, the all inclusive Memories Flamenco Beach Resort will enchant you in more ways than one and is sure to become a favorite.


This remarkable 5 star Cayo Coco Hotel rests on a stunning white sand beach that is gently lapped by crystal clear, warm waters.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Reviews

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 3.2 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  4
Average
  1
Poor
  5
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (19)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 19

"Don't do it"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jerry  on Mar 21, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2017 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
13 people found this review helpful

The good, the bad and the ugly!

The Good
Ė The public area of the resort was fantastic. Clean well, cared for and very beautiful. The pools were very nice, the beach one of the nicest that I ever seen. The grounds were very welled looked after. The BBQ for the Diamond club members on the beach was the best food on the resort. I was not a diamond club member, so I had to bribe to get a good meal. Very good Pork BBQ, the hamburgers were hot, the rest of the food was good.

The Bad
Ė The food was a disaster. I gave up on breakfast on day 3, the lunch menu was no better. Once I discovered the BBQ at the beach I had no worries about lunch. The supper menu was a mess too. It was hard to find something hot. The only things we agreed on was the Pizza station made fresh, in front of you. The pasta station was also very good. The a la carte was just as bad, the worse steak ever! What a farce and this could easily be fixed. The 24 snack shack was gross. When they said that the food would be different in Cuba, I had no idea that it would be this bad. The tipping here is out of control.

The Ugly
Ė The accommodations. Where to start. We had a 1st floor room, with Two double beds instead of a king. We were cool with that, no big deal, it just means more snuggle time. The patio door did not lock, someone had smashed it off the door long time ago. There was a big gap under the door that let in all kinds of creepy crawly. The 1st day I killed a spider the size of beer can top. The rest of the week was a bug hunt before bed. The shower did not work. By day 4 and a few complaints later, it was fixed. No hot water. It was cold every day until it was time to go home. Hey! we then had hot water. We had to use the tub, but the stopper did not stop the water from running out. There was a dirty plate with some food left on it, in the hallway floor for most of the week. I guess it was the restaurants problem to move it. Gross. AC worked some of the time. The toilet was not bolted to the floor properly. You had to be careful when sitting on it. Here is my last complaint, The bed sheets were not change after the lasted guess had left. The double bed we slept in look like clean sheets, until on night I had too much to drink and was snoring and had to move to the other bed. I pulled the sheets backed and there was fresh blood stains all over the sheets. I went from drunk to sober in a few seconds. What the hell!

Comments: Donít get me wrong we had a good time we made the best out of a bad situation. We met a lot of great people and had a blast with them. We were up to 2am almost every day. They made this vacation for us. Memories Flamenco did not. This is not a 4 star plus resort. Far from it. To call it a 3 star is pushing it, a 2 star at the most. I hate to see what the travel magazines call a 3 star. Would I recommend it. No! Save your money go somewhere else!

Room Number:
6118

Room Block:
6

Arrival:
Good Fast check in

Rooms:
a Mess

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant - They recycled food from breakfast from the look of it. the Joke on the resort was that the hot dogs were put out each day from the day before. and they were getting smaller.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Fantastic

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"***Warning this is not a 4 1/2 star hotel****"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dale  on Feb 4, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2017 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
31 people found this review helpful

To give you and Idea of who we are, we are a fun couple, were one in our 20ís and one in our 40ís. Both busy professionals, 200k+ household and we travel every year at christmas or New Years, usually with Sunwing out of Edmonton. Our last three trips were to Manzanillo (Barcelo), Mazatlan (Rui), and Cabo San Lucas (Riu Palace), all are 4 1/2 and 5 star resorts -all amazing. We paid 2190 per person for this 4 1/2 star resort.


If this was rated as a 3 1/2 star resort and it only cost us 1400.00 , we probably wouldnít have felt so ripped off. But for 2190.00 per person, this should have been an absolutely perfect resort. No one needed to be treated the way we were specifically in the first two days. You guys sell this as 4 1/2 stars but compare it to what your paying customers know as a actual 4 1/2 star and you will get nothing but complaints. Sorry but we feel as though weíve been taken. This was absolutely our worst vacation weíve been on.

So in conclusion. We feel ripped off. We spent 4400.00 on an awful week that could have been avoided. I think if the airlines sell this as such a great resort they should at least do their due diligence and visit these resorts a couple times a year to ensure that us as clients get what they pay for.


We should have taken a resort in Mexico and in hindsight, we kick ourselves for not going there and instead headed to the Memories Flamenco because your website made this resort look amazing.

I hope this never happens again to anyone. Its an awful thing to have the one week that is always the best week of the year and end up wasting our money.

Room Number:
1105

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
Arrival
This was fine to begin with, It was dark so we couldnít see the resort yet. The check in was quick and they put us in Building 10. They had people taking the bags down to the room on carts but we chose to walk after one of the guests said its not to far. So we walked. Its was about 200 meters to buildings 10 and 8 and half way to the room the the lights on the sidewalk just end and its completely black. Its ridiculous to think any family with kids would walk to and from this building every night, let alone a couple. It wasnít comforting to know Building 10 is out in the far corner of the resort backed on to the bush either.

Rooms:
Rooms
The room in building 10 had no water pressure at all, toilets wouldnít flush and the stain on the bed sheets sent us back to change rooms. We changed rooms 3 times that night. Building 10, 8 and 5, none of them we even close to acceptable. The buildings are in need of repair, ceilings falling in, zero water pressure and no lights on most of the way to the rooms. These are not thing you want to deal with after a long flight. 3 room changes ruins the start of a vacation and certainly sets the mood for the next days. We then had to change one last last time, finally got us into building 1 after a fight with the front desk. This room was great, nothing special but a perfectly typical resort room, if we had this room first we would have never known how bad the rest were. Why we didnt get this in the first three is unacceptable. We arenít fussy people, but the buildings arenít all in good shape. and the lack of water pressure was terrible. Not what anyone should have to put up with on a vacation.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food
We were always aware the food in Cuba isnít great so our expectations were low already. The food was actually really good. I was expecting horrible and got much better. The lines are long to get the fresh food cooked in front of you but it was worth it. We were warned by a couple the first night to stay away from the ala carte restaurants and we heard that several times over the course of the week so we just stuck to the Buffet. We enjoyed all of the food and the service in the buffet was excellent!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach
This was awesome, the saving grace of our stay. If the beach wasnít so perfect, there wouldnít have been much to look forward to.

Service
The service is definitely sub par. They donít come around the pool area to serve unless they choose to bring around a tray of beers, other than that you have to get up all the time to get drinks. Same at the beach, very little service. To us, this is not a 4 1/2 star. The front desk people wonít make a decision without an authority figure and they certainly donít know how to make simple decisions . As you know, The resorts in mexico are on it for service, these guys fall way short. Even the sunwing rep lacks the confidence in any way to address these situations. It was disappointing specifically for the resort rating.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Resort
Its unfortunate that we compare everything to Mexico and the 4 + star hotels we always stay at but you guys set the precedent with these ratings and this resort falls far short of it. The grounds are falling apart. Concrete in places is crumbling, it needs attention. They throw the old beach chairs into the bush down by the beach which looks horrible.
The decoration for the grounds is really bad, its not even bad, its laughable. I will attach photos of video of how cheap looking it is. Do you know how amazing the Mexican resorts string up lights on the trees so perfectly done all the way up the branches? These guys at the Flamenco, had taken a 400ft string of lights and dragged it around a few trees and over top of the bushes. It was ridiculous.

Other Comments:
Stay away from Building 8, 9, 10 for sure!! they are run down !! Building 1 and 2 or stay away.


Its a 3 star resort guys. Go for the wether or beach. Pay no more than 1300.00 its just not good value

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worse experience ever"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joanne  on Jan 18, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2017 | Leisure | Family and Kids
33 people found this review helpful

My husband and three kids stayed at memories flamenco and it was not bad at first. The room wasn't the greatest. Our room was infested with cockroaches we noticed it the second day so we decided to sleep with all the lights on every night thinking cockroaches don't really come out with light, ya right out full force. So we were up mostly all nights long killing cockroaches so the 2 days before we had to leave my husband decided to put the cockroaches in a bag and had a whole bunch in there to show the front desk people and kill a whole bunch. I wanted to leave 2 days early so costumer service said they've had complaints a cockroaches but nothing like ours and said they would put us up in a suite at the top floor in the same building. We took it, the room was very nice but we still keep ed the lights on and barely sleeped. Sad part is they said someone went to spray when we showed them the bag with the roaches in it but it's not true cause our things were still in the room and nothing was moved. And now we just got back from our vacation and we risk having roaches in our luggage. Thank god its winter home cause the luggage is staying outside for a week or more so if any roaches got it they'll freeze.311

Room Number:
3112

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
Arrived January 10/17

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Location and Staff- they should be proud "

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Danny  on Mar 6, 2016  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
119 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
4114

Room Block:
Block 4

Arrival:
GREETINGS: Traveled to Cayo Coco Hotel Memories Flamenco via Sunwing. Late both ways, leaving and arrivals- out of the last 20 times I've used SunWing - been on time twice. Near froze leaving as a Jetway was not used even though clearly available, I really pitied those waiting in wheel chairs. Yay SunWing- keep up the good work. We- the saps, pay for service and get a 300 yard walk in the Maritime weather to the plane to start and finish a Vacation. Nice,. Flights themselves- smooth and uneventful. Used Elite services for leg room, typical cardboard meal served. Check in at Airport, upon arrival was reasonably smooth and luggage collected quickly- likely due late arrival and it being near midnight. A rather quick 25 minute drive to Hotel and an informative narration from the Bus Guide and 1 stop prior at another Hotel. Check in painless- no arm bands needed though I did see some with colors being applied, likely those using VIP or return Guests.

HOTEL OVERVIEW: I had booked this trip 6 Months in advance, followed TripAdvisor prior to this and almost daily after booking. I have been to Cuba many times, my first to Cayo Coco other than a stop off to drop and pick up passengers. I have to say- I have never read write ups with so much diversity- either the best or worst trip ever. No middle ground. Concerning the negative- I experienced none of this, made me wonder if I had indeed been staying at the same location. There is a small money exchange on location open daily- Sign says passport needed- it is not asked for. Maybe in greater denominations or something. The following, I surely hope- will help in understanding what was just said.

Rooms:
ACCOMMODATIONS: Hotel is only 4 years old, in places showing need of fatigued Caribbean weathered attention, nothing drastic, but small items that are in need of attention. Difficult task in a 365 full capacity operation I am aware. Buildings 1 through 5 are basically on the beach. I had building 4 ground floor facing the water. I would call this a Family location, loads of kids and Families. Hotel consists of 624 rooms and 10 main buildings for Guests and centrally laid out for ease of travel to and from the needed spots.
Electric golf carts available for ease of those in need of assistance such as the Obese, Invalid and just plain lazy. So far, luckily, I do not fall in those categories, thought here were those there that surely did. I had emailed about a Month prior requesting certain things and a follow up email a couple of days prior to leaving. My wishes were granted- thought I was forewarned that this would be due or not, capacity of the Hotel's capacity at the time. Had a king bed, mini fridge, even umbrellas if needed, ironing board- full bath, outer deck and chairs. Maria- our Maid tended or room daily. There was no mini coffee maker - that I did miss. Location of our building from most everything - was superb. Weather was I would guess between 24/26 daily and quite windy, 2 last days I would guess closer to 30 and little wind.

There are several things on location that I was nowhere near. Towel exchange, Gym, Spa, 24 hour Nurses station, lots of extras.

Restaurants and Bars:
FOOD: This one is a bit.....personal. I am a bit of a food critic- I love to cook and can be a bit critical due this. I am quite pleased to say the food here is fantastic. I have no idea- where the negative reports on the food at this location come from. There are I believe 3 a la Cartes, 1 Main Buffet restaurant, another by the 24 hour snack bar, a BBQ station at the Beach near the dock deck (easily my favorite), and the 24 hours snack bar. If you've a problem finding good food at these locations- see your Doctor, there is something wrong with you. Generally daily we would eat at the Main Buffet for Breakfast the Dinner. Breakfast included loads of crepes, sausages, cheeses, bacon, juices, 2 omelet stations, fresh breads etc. Dinner would often have a pasta station, 2 grilling stations for local fish, pork, beef and chicken- yum.
I chose either the 24 hour snack bar or the Beach grille for lunches. I had the best pork I have ever eaten- anywhere- at the beach grille 2 days in a row. The Cook there is outstanding. 180 degree 4 hour roast. The pork crackling or skin "chicheron" locally- is candy for the palette. Served with a kind of Cuban creole. Fresh fish or Chicken- be early- when it's gone it's gone. Small location.
24 hour snack bar- I heard many complaints about this location being "out of food and hit and miss". This is an Island- supplied fresh daily, looking for shrimp at 3 a/m would be a challenge anywhere, I found these complaints- completely unfounded. I had great meals there from this location, fries chicken, burgers, hot dogs. and a superb fish and chips. Again- you may need to see your Doctor. Not all realize at these Tourist destinations, all eggs, Chicken and most Pork- are from Canada. The way they are prepared makes them different and in my opinion, superior. The Cheeses done locally are unprocessed cheeses unlike Canada- Quebec excluded- which gives that wicked ham and cheese sandwich, made from Cows and Goats. Their bread is far superior and so I am told their potatoes, though I am not a great fan. The Ice Cream also puts ours to shame.

Due a short 6 full day visit we on did 1 a la carte. The Cuban themed restaurant. I had a prior tip that this was the best, I cannot speak for the other a la cartes, however this was excellent. I had a shrimp cocktail and a filleted chicken breast with honey and pineapple sauces. Fantastic. Wife chose a simple salad and a shredded beef (marinated) over a whipped potato- very good. I purposely asked for an 8:30 reservation as I wanted to avoid a crowd. We were immediately served in a 1/2 full location. Good choice. Staff was very attentive and quite polite. They only honor a booking (done daily in lobby) for 15 minutes, to avoid the consistently late guests. Tip here- they require long pants for the Men at this or any a la carte, this is not enforced, please don't be the idiot showing up wearing swim trunks or shorts, making all of Canada look like disrespectful idiots.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches are good- crystal clear water- water shoes suggested, about the first 50 feet is rocky. Cannot speak for the Pools, who in their right mind visits Cuba and uses a chlorinated pool?.

Would not allow post in correct spot- to "long"

ANIMATION: From a morning stretch on the beach to Cuban Music, to things for the kids to do- loads going on. Nightly at 20:00 there is a kids show. Cute watch. At 21:00 the Adults show. I must mention the buzz was not to miss the Michael Jackson show. I will admit I am not a fan and never really was, however -this tip was quite true. The choreography, dress and overall show is outstanding. DO NOT, miss this. Be there early- the days change- ask. It was Wednesday night during our visit. The seating holds about 250 and you would want a good spot for this show. Be well early. A couple of nights a Kerroce followed the Night show- it is amazing how liquid courage can effect those with zero talent. There was a Woman that sang a few tunes that vocally reminded me of what a Tasmanian devil in heat must sound like. There were 2 individuals however- that were outstandingly talented. Bravo.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
PETTY ANNOYANCES: I have seen these things, most unfortunately before, and they are most unnecessary. I did see some general rudeness from butting in lines to taunting Staff from our Quebec counterparts, please- do not be one of these idiots. General manners er needed here. The Staff is first rate, there to help in every need- not to be as slave for your personal abuse. I saw a couple on the Beach, laying on a lounger, another bare lounger beside them, yet another lounger on top of the bare one laying sideways to block the wind. Translation - 2 morons tying up 6 loungers for 2 people. Unreal. People and families strolling up and down the Beach looking for a seat. If you claim a chair or lounger by placing your towel on it- use the chair or lounger. I saw loungers on the Beach, claimed, and not used all day. Again, you cannot fix stupid.

Other Comments:
OVERVIEW: Great location, Hotel and Staff. Would I visit again?- Surely. Hotel is rated (Cuban Rating) at a 5 Starr- is it?. No. I would give this location a solid 4 plus rating. The plus going to the Staff. I was presently surprised by the knowledge of English based on other locations that In have visited, for the most part it is quite good, going well past the general ordering for example.
Prior to our visit in email conversations "Lucia" - Hotel Manager, she had mentioned for me to look her up upon arrival. I did this and was quite impressed at her hands on approach. She could be seen daily doing her rounds weather it be on the Beach, Lobby bar or at a Restaurant. The local Maids tending to our general filth, be it at the washroom locations or sweeping the floors- is vastly underrated by us. They are pleasant and deserve our respect. I had heard of the necessity of bug dope, I did bring some and it was not needed. I did see a couple of people with peppered legs bite. Strange. Perhaps some just attract them. I saw maybe a few mosquitoes around dusk in 6 days. I saw at least 3 Beach wedding on our stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Little of or no help from Sunwing Rep"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian  on Jan 19, 2016  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
122 people found this review helpful

Travelled to Cayo Coco Cuba to Memories Flamenco resort and had problems from day one with no water in room or locking patio door ,with no locking mechanism to lock. Went to Sunwing rep and said I must not know how to lock door and they would fix water problem. No help received or even come to look at. Talked to manager and said we were leaving and new room would be available. Staff were calling us to leave room ,but our room not available yet ,but they needed our room for new guests arriving to put them into our room. Heard about new guests in our room old room with no water and talked to them that we just moved out from there and nothing fixed or no help from Sunwing rep. Upon returning home filed complaint with Sunwing and they looked into problems we had and hotel said they heard of no such problems with water or anything else ! Didn't want to see any pictures, we had of room problems Other guests had problems and ran into the same wall of no help from Sunwing . We will never travel with Sunwing or stay at any associate hotel operated by them again. They got our money and we received a poor holiday trip. With all the problems being reported on tv with Sunwing , I hope customers will read of our problems and others with Sunwing and look else where for a trouble free holiday. They will only be hurt in the pocket if there is no one at their resorts from all the problems they don't correct or help guest with !

Room Block:
6

Arrival:
short trip to resort

Rooms:
Bad with no water for 3 days or locking patio door !

Restaurants and Bars:
ok. drinks appeared to be watered down with little liquor in drinks and no labels on bottles to identify with.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very poor beach with almost no cover from sun or beach front . The grounds around the resort was lacking of a good watering for the plants and there is very little grass .

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
pool table looked like it was un playable, and chess set missing pieces and broken.

Other Comments:
It was very warm the week we were there and the pools were very cloudy many days with poor filtering . The pool areas are raised up ,so to enter the pool area you are going to walk up a lot of stairs to pool floor or you will have to walk to an area that has no stairs to climb ,which could be had for older or guests with walking problem.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent vacation! Great food! Awesome employees Ē 5 Star"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alain  on Dec 14, 2015  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2015 | Leisure | With Group
155 people found this review helpful

Our stay was wonderful. All the staff have excellent people skills and super polite.

Our room was very comfortable. Maid service was excellent and she always made sure the refrigerator was restocked (especially for Jim and Darlene ;). The decorations with towels and blankets were amazing.

The resort was very clean, the service was excellent at all levels and we thought the food was delicious at all times including the buffet which had cooks preparing fresh pasta / pizza/ meat / seafood every night. The a la cartes were amazing too. Highly recommend the Asian and Mediterranean. (chicken cordon bleu Yummy)

Memories Flamenco is an excellent place to stay in Cayo Coco being repeat visitors to Cayo Coco for the 7th time in 15 years, we highly recommend it. This one actually had the best service of all.

We would just like to add that this is one of the only resort that we have stayed where you see the General Manager (Noelia) and her team (Lucy, Marie and David) walk around on a daily basis to say hello to guests to make sure they are comfortable and all is well. We have never seen this at any other resort in Cuba / Mexico/ DR. We are totally impressed with this customer service appreciation

Thank you Memories Flamenco for an awesome holiday. See you in April for Josee and Jamie's wedding

Room Block:
2

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Black Mold in Pool"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fadi  on Dec 7, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
153 people found this review helpful

This was the first time we take a 2 week trip south .. The frustration starts with labeling this hotel as a 4.5 star resort, in my opinion it is definitely 3 stars or less.
Some points in our ordeal and my opinion about it:
1. Mold in rooms: they gave us a room in building two, we went to the room and the washroom had mold, the biggest mold part was a huge 30 cm by 25 cm in the middle of the wall.
2. Black Mold in the Pool: Pictures attached. The main pool has black mold floating around, can be easily seen on the pool floor. few parts of the pool are actually slimy. The pool looks really nice from far away but if you look, you can easily see the mold in few places on the floor.
3.Spider in Food: Pictures attached, My wife had a strange looking creature in the rice one day, we asked a waitress and she told us this is a spider. There was nothing we can do and no one to talk to.
4.Cockroaches in rooms: Pictures attached, I saw two cockroaches, not small ones in the room. Saw a third cockroach in the building hallways.
4. Flies everywhere in restaurants: I have never seen this amount of flies in a closed restaurant before, it is as if the flies were breeding inside the restaurant. we go for breakfast and we see around 20- 30 flies on the table on everything, the napkins, fork, spoon, glasses, table and chair, everywhere. Flies were everywhere on the salad bar, the fruits and on everything else that gave the smell of food. We had to stop drinking at the restaurant and limit our food intake.
5. Restaurants cleanliness: sometimes they forget to use soap to clean the plates so you put the plate close to your nose and you smell the most stenching smell in your life. In this situation The plates don't have food scraps but they totally smell like sewage.
We wrote a complaint letter 4 long pages, took me 2 hours to write to sun wing representative and hotel management and nothing was done. Memories and sunwing thank you for taking our money and delivering such a horrible experience.

Room Block:
Buildimng 2

Rooms:
Mold in rooms: they gave us a room in building two, we went to the room and the washroom had mold, the biggest mold part was a huge 30 cm by 25 cm in the middle of the wall.
Cockroaches in rooms: Pictures attached, I saw two cockroaches, not small ones in the room. Saw a third cockroach in the building hallways.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants cleanliness: sometimes they forget to use soap to clean the plates so you put the plate close to your nose and you smell the most stenching smell in your life. In this situation The plates don't have food scraps but they totally smell like sewage.
Spider in Food: Pictures attached, My wife had a strange looking creature in the rice one day, we asked a waitress and she told us this is a spider. There was nothing we can do and no one to talk to.
Flies everywhere in restaurants: I have never seen this amount of flies in a closed restaurant before, it is as if the flies were breeding inside the restaurant. we go for breakfast and we see around 20- 30 flies on the table on everything, the napkins, fork, spoon, glasses, table and chair, everywhere. Flies were everywhere on the salad bar, the fruits and on everything else that gave the smell of food. We had to stop drinking at the restaurant and limit our food intake.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Black Mold in the Pool: Pictures attached. The main pool has black mold floating around, can be easily seen on the pool floor. few parts of the pool are actually slimy. The pool looks really nice from far away but if you look, you can easily see the mold in few places on the floor.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"the worst vacation ever"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Heidi  on Dec 1, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
158 people found this review helpful

We booked our trip for 2 weeks in the Memories Flamenco hotel in Cayo Coco, we are a family of 4 (including a 5 month old infant and a 7 year old child), and this is our experience and my expressed opinions:

2

6. Sunwing: Sunwing knew the issues with the hotel, including the mold in the pool, and in the rooms, they knew that because we complained and gave a written complaint but they did not act on it at all, looks like they and the memories hotel belong to the same company or something like that, no escalation whatsoever, and no action was taken on their side at all. All what they wanted is us signing papers saying we will not tell anyone or post any reviews.
When we asked if we can go home early ( after 3 days), they answer came back that we have to pay almost as much as the cost of our flights back in order to send us home, this amount being huge for us, we were stuck there for the rest of the 2 weeks.
7. The GM offered us to come back for another 2 weeks , because of our bad experience that we had during our stay and she gave us an offer to come back. And we thought that if they cleaned the places ( which she said it will be clean and under control in 3 month) we can come back, anyway they did not not honor their offer to us.
8. The infestation of mosquitoes that they do nothing about, we traveled a lot, and went to many hotels, and they usually spray, light candles, do something, just anything, but in the memories they did nothing at all. Having a baby with me, i always went to the room early, because i cannot spray the baby with chemicals, and i will not leave her to be eaten by the mosquitoes.
This was the worst vacation that we have ever been to, we are very thankful that no one got sick and that we reached home safely. It was weird for us and our friends the extreme feeling of happiness and relief when we boarded the bus to leave the hotel and go back home. We are always sad leaving our vacations and going back. We do not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is rated as a 4.5 stars but in my opinion it is at best a 2 to 3 stars.

Room Number:
NA

Room Block:
NA

Arrival:
1. The extremely slow check-in : 1 hour and 25 minutes to get the real keys to our rooms, taking into considerations that the rooms were already assigned to us when we were in the bus.

Rooms:
. The Room :
Our biggest concern was the MOLD, mold in the bathroom (Big patches) you cannot miss it, around the toilet, and on the tub walls too, that was room 2216. Also, Mold was around the air conditioning opening. Staying there for 2 weeks and with little kids including an infant, we had to complain, and when we did, they at first ignored us, but they started talking to us and offered us a suite, as long as we sign papers saying that we will not post this on Trip advisor.
We were extremely upset that we had to sign papers to get into a normal clean room, but anyway we had to do so , since we were extremely concerned about the well being of the kids.
The room cleaning : I was staying in the room with the baby for longer times during the day and watched the staff cleaning the room, and it was shocking to see the staff using the same cloth and same small bucket to clean the toilet seat and the counter around the sink as well as the small bar area in the room. They all get wiped with the same cloth, she does not wear gloves, and she does not wash her hand, before she start touching anything in the room including the sheets.
The sheets: we asked for the sheets to be changed, they did not change it. So i pulled the sheets and put it on the floor, sure enough they picked it up and put it back on the bed ( i can still see the same spot on the sheet, which was the reason why i needed the sheets to be changed in the first place) , at the end i pulled the sheets and put it on the floor and i had to throw some shampoo on it ( blue in color) so i can make sure they get us a fresh set of sheets. By the way this process took 5 days. Oh and by the way, leaving tips did not make any difference.
Cockroaches : yes, there are cockroaches in the rooms, in our room and in our friends room and in the hallway, they live mainly behind the refrigerator. And when we were there we heard they closed a whole building because they had to deal with a cockroaches infestation there.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food:
The open buffet restaurant is a closed restaurant (not open air), very hot inside, you will be eating and sweating, as for some reason the air condition is not strong enough/ is not on at all.
The flies was one of our biggest struggles, you come to have a seat and there is at least 15-25 flies all around your plate, your cutlery, and your glass, so we stopped drinking in the restaurant, and we wiped our forks with hand sanitizer before we ate.
I complained several times, and brought the restaurant manager attention to the fact that sometimes the plates are not washed properly, it sometimes smelled really bad, and are not clean, and he seems to be fine with the flies and the dirty plates, saying that everyone is eating, and everyone is happy, i think that just a little bit of soap in the washing process would have made a huge difference in the smell of the plates. And he also said that we cannot do anything about the flies, not sure how can he accept this as a standard.
I found a spider in my rice in one of the a la carte restaurant
The food quality and quantity is in my opinion similar to a 2-3 stars hotel max, no variety & no seafood (for 2 weeks we didnít see any shrimps for example) and fish is being grilled with no spices whatsoever (you can have some spices if you give the chef a tip), toast in the morning was a rare thing ( my 7 year old missed having soft bread), flies all over the fruit counter. It was really a challenge to find something to eat at every meal.
We limited the kinds and amounts of food and drinks that we ate , specially for my 7 year old, we did not eat anything fresh/not cooked, just wanted to make sure that not one gets sick.
Drinks: water is one bottle per room, and it is very hard to get another. Soft drinks all tasted different ( no fizz), juices did not look clean ( the fruits were not washed properly, so we did not try any).. my experience is that i did not have a good drink during my stay of 2 weeks.
The a la carte restaurant, was same as the buffet, i did not enjoy a meal during the 2 weeks stay. And the good side of it that we all lost some weight.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
3. The Pool :
Like any family with kids we depend heavily on the pool as part of our day.
We saw black mold in the bottom of the pool and close to the sides of the pool, and we for sure complained, and I personally complained to the assistant GM. I took her for a walk close to the pool and showed her the mold, and opened a website on my phone and showed her what are the health problems that can rise from having growing black mold in pool. She smiled and did nothing. They do not clean the pool enough, and they do not put enough chlorine in the water in order to keep it clean.
The mold is clear from the outside of the pool, you do not need to jump in to see it. And if you are inside the pool you can feel it under your feet and feel how slimy the floor is. Please check the pictures attached for the mold in the pool.
Scared for the well being of the kids and us after seeing that we all stopped used the pool at all.
4. The beach: tons of rocks and there is a lack of shaded areas, even the small food shack on the beach is not shaded enough.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
NA

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Family Reunion "

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fe  on Jul 31, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
202 people found this review helpful

We just got back from Family reunion of 25 people and we stayed in this beautiful huge resort. We were all pleased to have experienced an excellent treatment from the Staff who were all very friendly. Everybody enjoyed their holidays in this beautiful resort.

Room Number:
1203

Arrival:
The check in process did not take long as I was expecting, we just got our room keys and proceeded right away to our rooms to freshen up for our first dinner buffet. Very organized!

Rooms:
The rooms wasn't that bad at all. They supplied us all that we needed for the whole week like toilet tissues, soap, towels, bottled water, 2 cans of beer and some pop everyday. Room 1203 is in building 1 so we had a beautiful ocean view. Can't complain, it was good.

Restaurants and Bars:
There were variety of food to select and choose from. The dining hall was huge and not crowded. The food was great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were huge and not crowded, very clean and well maintained. We had so much fun swimming in the pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainments were all great especially the 80's night which my family enjoyed most.
The band was cool and awesome! We enjoyed all their music especially "Guantanamera"

Other Comments:
I just wanted to share the negative of our stay here in this resort. Three of us were hit by what we thought " stomach flue " that happens sometimes when you go from cold weather to hot and humid. So were all vomiting and having severe diarrhea associated with excruciating stomach pain. It was very weird and horrible! I was very very scared because this was the first time we've all experienced such illness. I remember what my son said " I just hope that no one else in the group would be hit by this illness esp the kids, I can not imagine how a little body can handle the severe pain".So anyways, one my us had her pain injection which cost her 42.00 CUC, but for me and my son we survived by the medicines that my cousins brought from home. Two of us were sick for almost 2 days and I was ill for 3 days, thank God it only lasted that long and did not take the whole week of our stay there.
So we all thought that that was just a stomach flu until I read an earlier review with the same experience. Severe vomiting, diarrhea, excruciating stomach pain, fever and chills I believe are the symptoms of " salmonella poisoning ".
Just be aware....If you are planning to visit this resort, take all preventive measures, drink bottled water, be cautious or better yet talk to your Doctor first and see if there's any preventive medications for any stomach or digestive issues.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Salmonela 6 guest"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  chad  on May 26, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2015 | Wedding | Family and Kids
253 people found this review helpful

Well here it goes! We recently got married at the memories flamenco in cayo coco. We had 35 guest join us for this celebration and everything was booked through Sell-Off Vacations. The country is beautiful be beware and I mean truly beware! we stayed for a week and did not leave the resort not even for a day and the last three days 6 people out of our party got deathly ill. My son on the flight home had to receive an IV at 30,000 ft due to the dehydration from Salmonella poising. He was sick for 3 days we took him to see the doctor and the doctor said that it was heat stroke and he will be fine well sunscreen was applied every day and he had no burn but was still sick. When we questioned the doctor at the resort he got mad and said that it wasn't something he ate it was from the sun. We as a parent you have a gut feeling when something is really wrong with your child. When we got back to Canada we got off the plane and rushed him to the children's hospital emergency at which time they admitted him. after a couple days of test ion the hospital it was determined that he had salmonella poising and it had been contract in sometime in the past 5-6 days. We then heard from 5 other members from our party that they also ended up in the hospital. For the next 3 weeks my son was in and out of the hospital. We complained to sell off vacations and despite the fact that they recommended this hotel and package they said they were sorry but nothing they can do. We complained to sunwing also, who actually owns the airline and resort, who after 2 months gave this reply.

"Mr. , I am very pleased to hear that the wedding that took place at this resort went very smoothly and that you were satisfied with the services provided to you. I have passed on your positive feedback with this regard and thank you for the feedback.

However, we are truly saddened to read that you felt that the quality of the food offered at this resort was not up to your standards and do appreciate your concerns. However, regrettably, while we maintain our star rating on this particular property, we do still caution passengers to bear in mind that most Caribbean destinations have very different standards of living than those we are accustomed to in North America. We wish to kindly advise that we contend that it is a well-known fact that opinions about food will differ greatly in each and every destination. Hotels cater to thousands of guests each week and while it is inevitable that some food served may or may not be handled and prepared in ideal conditions itís our goal to follow the local food handling guidelines and procedures"

This is their response to the medical documentation we sent confirming salmonella poising of my son and 5 other guess.

Anyway I am not writing this out of anger just out of concern so be careful if you go to this resort as we spent a month after this holiday dealing with a very sick child! If you have any q

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube