Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Memories Flamenco Beach Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Cayo Coco

4.2 based on 50 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 13, 2016

Cubanacan Colonial

3.7 based on 76 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 23, 2015

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila, Cuba

"Cockroaches in rooms"
Posted by: Sonya on Jun 11, 2017
see all reviews

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Reviews
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Pictures and Information
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Cayo Coco Cuba

#7
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 3.1

Based on 20 reviews

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Information


Whether you are looking for a relaxing family vacation, an action packed adventure, or a romantic getaway, the all inclusive Memories Flamenco Beach Resort will enchant you in more ways than one and is sure to become a favorite.


This remarkable 5 star Cayo Coco Hotel rests on a stunning white sand beach that is gently lapped by crystal clear, warm waters.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Reviews

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 3.1 of 5 20 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  4
Average
  1
Poor
  5
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (20)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 20

"Little of or no help from Sunwing Rep"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brian  on Jan 19, 2016  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
156 people found this review helpful

Travelled to Cayo Coco Cuba to Memories Flamenco resort and had problems from day one with no water in room or locking patio door ,with no locking mechanism to lock. Went to Sunwing rep and said I must not know how to lock door and they would fix water problem. No help received or even come to look at. Talked to manager and said we were leaving and new room would be available. Staff were calling us to leave room ,but our room not available yet ,but they needed our room for new guests arriving to put them into our room. Heard about new guests in our room old room with no water and talked to them that we just moved out from there and nothing fixed or no help from Sunwing rep. Upon returning home filed complaint with Sunwing and they looked into problems we had and hotel said they heard of no such problems with water or anything else ! Didn't want to see any pictures, we had of room problems Other guests had problems and ran into the same wall of no help from Sunwing . We will never travel with Sunwing or stay at any associate hotel operated by them again. They got our money and we received a poor holiday trip. With all the problems being reported on tv with Sunwing , I hope customers will read of our problems and others with Sunwing and look else where for a trouble free holiday. They will only be hurt in the pocket if there is no one at their resorts from all the problems they don't correct or help guest with !

Room Block:
6

Arrival:
short trip to resort

Rooms:
Bad with no water for 3 days or locking patio door !

Restaurants and Bars:
ok. drinks appeared to be watered down with little liquor in drinks and no labels on bottles to identify with.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very poor beach with almost no cover from sun or beach front . The grounds around the resort was lacking of a good watering for the plants and there is very little grass .

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
pool table looked like it was un playable, and chess set missing pieces and broken.

Other Comments:
It was very warm the week we were there and the pools were very cloudy many days with poor filtering . The pool areas are raised up ,so to enter the pool area you are going to walk up a lot of stairs to pool floor or you will have to walk to an area that has no stairs to climb ,which could be had for older or guests with walking problem.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Salmonela 6 guest"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  chad  on May 26, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2015 | Wedding | Family and Kids
275 people found this review helpful

Well here it goes! We recently got married at the memories flamenco in cayo coco. We had 35 guest join us for this celebration and everything was booked through Sell-Off Vacations. The country is beautiful be beware and I mean truly beware! we stayed for a week and did not leave the resort not even for a day and the last three days 6 people out of our party got deathly ill. My son on the flight home had to receive an IV at 30,000 ft due to the dehydration from Salmonella poising. He was sick for 3 days we took him to see the doctor and the doctor said that it was heat stroke and he will be fine well sunscreen was applied every day and he had no burn but was still sick. When we questioned the doctor at the resort he got mad and said that it wasn't something he ate it was from the sun. We as a parent you have a gut feeling when something is really wrong with your child. When we got back to Canada we got off the plane and rushed him to the children's hospital emergency at which time they admitted him. after a couple days of test ion the hospital it was determined that he had salmonella poising and it had been contract in sometime in the past 5-6 days. We then heard from 5 other members from our party that they also ended up in the hospital. For the next 3 weeks my son was in and out of the hospital. We complained to sell off vacations and despite the fact that they recommended this hotel and package they said they were sorry but nothing they can do. We complained to sunwing also, who actually owns the airline and resort, who after 2 months gave this reply.

"Mr. , I am very pleased to hear that the wedding that took place at this resort went very smoothly and that you were satisfied with the services provided to you. I have passed on your positive feedback with this regard and thank you for the feedback.

However, we are truly saddened to read that you felt that the quality of the food offered at this resort was not up to your standards and do appreciate your concerns. However, regrettably, while we maintain our star rating on this particular property, we do still caution passengers to bear in mind that most Caribbean destinations have very different standards of living than those we are accustomed to in North America. We wish to kindly advise that we contend that it is a well-known fact that opinions about food will differ greatly in each and every destination. Hotels cater to thousands of guests each week and while it is inevitable that some food served may or may not be handled and prepared in ideal conditions it’s our goal to follow the local food handling guidelines and procedures"

This is their response to the medical documentation we sent confirming salmonella poising of my son and 5 other guess.

Anyway I am not writing this out of anger just out of concern so be careful if you go to this resort as we spent a month after this holiday dealing with a very sick child! If you have any q

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Black Mold in Pool"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Fadi  on Dec 7, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
184 people found this review helpful

This was the first time we take a 2 week trip south .. The frustration starts with labeling this hotel as a 4.5 star resort, in my opinion it is definitely 3 stars or less.
Some points in our ordeal and my opinion about it:
1. Mold in rooms: they gave us a room in building two, we went to the room and the washroom had mold, the biggest mold part was a huge 30 cm by 25 cm in the middle of the wall.
2. Black Mold in the Pool: Pictures attached. The main pool has black mold floating around, can be easily seen on the pool floor. few parts of the pool are actually slimy. The pool looks really nice from far away but if you look, you can easily see the mold in few places on the floor.
3.Spider in Food: Pictures attached, My wife had a strange looking creature in the rice one day, we asked a waitress and she told us this is a spider. There was nothing we can do and no one to talk to.
4.Cockroaches in rooms: Pictures attached, I saw two cockroaches, not small ones in the room. Saw a third cockroach in the building hallways.
4. Flies everywhere in restaurants: I have never seen this amount of flies in a closed restaurant before, it is as if the flies were breeding inside the restaurant. we go for breakfast and we see around 20- 30 flies on the table on everything, the napkins, fork, spoon, glasses, table and chair, everywhere. Flies were everywhere on the salad bar, the fruits and on everything else that gave the smell of food. We had to stop drinking at the restaurant and limit our food intake.
5. Restaurants cleanliness: sometimes they forget to use soap to clean the plates so you put the plate close to your nose and you smell the most stenching smell in your life. In this situation The plates don't have food scraps but they totally smell like sewage.
We wrote a complaint letter 4 long pages, took me 2 hours to write to sun wing representative and hotel management and nothing was done. Memories and sunwing thank you for taking our money and delivering such a horrible experience.

Room Block:
Buildimng 2

Rooms:
Mold in rooms: they gave us a room in building two, we went to the room and the washroom had mold, the biggest mold part was a huge 30 cm by 25 cm in the middle of the wall.
Cockroaches in rooms: Pictures attached, I saw two cockroaches, not small ones in the room. Saw a third cockroach in the building hallways.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants cleanliness: sometimes they forget to use soap to clean the plates so you put the plate close to your nose and you smell the most stenching smell in your life. In this situation The plates don't have food scraps but they totally smell like sewage.
Spider in Food: Pictures attached, My wife had a strange looking creature in the rice one day, we asked a waitress and she told us this is a spider. There was nothing we can do and no one to talk to.
Flies everywhere in restaurants: I have never seen this amount of flies in a closed restaurant before, it is as if the flies were breeding inside the restaurant. we go for breakfast and we see around 20- 30 flies on the table on everything, the napkins, fork, spoon, glasses, table and chair, everywhere. Flies were everywhere on the salad bar, the fruits and on everything else that gave the smell of food. We had to stop drinking at the restaurant and limit our food intake.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Black Mold in the Pool: Pictures attached. The main pool has black mold floating around, can be easily seen on the pool floor. few parts of the pool are actually slimy. The pool looks really nice from far away but if you look, you can easily see the mold in few places on the floor.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"the worst vacation ever"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Heidi  on Dec 1, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
193 people found this review helpful

We booked our trip for 2 weeks in the Memories Flamenco hotel in Cayo Coco, we are a family of 4 (including a 5 month old infant and a 7 year old child), and this is our experience and my expressed opinions:

2

6. Sunwing: Sunwing knew the issues with the hotel, including the mold in the pool, and in the rooms, they knew that because we complained and gave a written complaint but they did not act on it at all, looks like they and the memories hotel belong to the same company or something like that, no escalation whatsoever, and no action was taken on their side at all. All what they wanted is us signing papers saying we will not tell anyone or post any reviews.
When we asked if we can go home early ( after 3 days), they answer came back that we have to pay almost as much as the cost of our flights back in order to send us home, this amount being huge for us, we were stuck there for the rest of the 2 weeks.
7. The GM offered us to come back for another 2 weeks , because of our bad experience that we had during our stay and she gave us an offer to come back. And we thought that if they cleaned the places ( which she said it will be clean and under control in 3 month) we can come back, anyway they did not not honor their offer to us.
8. The infestation of mosquitoes that they do nothing about, we traveled a lot, and went to many hotels, and they usually spray, light candles, do something, just anything, but in the memories they did nothing at all. Having a baby with me, i always went to the room early, because i cannot spray the baby with chemicals, and i will not leave her to be eaten by the mosquitoes.
This was the worst vacation that we have ever been to, we are very thankful that no one got sick and that we reached home safely. It was weird for us and our friends the extreme feeling of happiness and relief when we boarded the bus to leave the hotel and go back home. We are always sad leaving our vacations and going back. We do not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is rated as a 4.5 stars but in my opinion it is at best a 2 to 3 stars.

Room Number:
NA

Room Block:
NA

Arrival:
1. The extremely slow check-in : 1 hour and 25 minutes to get the real keys to our rooms, taking into considerations that the rooms were already assigned to us when we were in the bus.

Rooms:
. The Room :
Our biggest concern was the MOLD, mold in the bathroom (Big patches) you cannot miss it, around the toilet, and on the tub walls too, that was room 2216. Also, Mold was around the air conditioning opening. Staying there for 2 weeks and with little kids including an infant, we had to complain, and when we did, they at first ignored us, but they started talking to us and offered us a suite, as long as we sign papers saying that we will not post this on Trip advisor.
We were extremely upset that we had to sign papers to get into a normal clean room, but anyway we had to do so , since we were extremely concerned about the well being of the kids.
The room cleaning : I was staying in the room with the baby for longer times during the day and watched the staff cleaning the room, and it was shocking to see the staff using the same cloth and same small bucket to clean the toilet seat and the counter around the sink as well as the small bar area in the room. They all get wiped with the same cloth, she does not wear gloves, and she does not wash her hand, before she start touching anything in the room including the sheets.
The sheets: we asked for the sheets to be changed, they did not change it. So i pulled the sheets and put it on the floor, sure enough they picked it up and put it back on the bed ( i can still see the same spot on the sheet, which was the reason why i needed the sheets to be changed in the first place) , at the end i pulled the sheets and put it on the floor and i had to throw some shampoo on it ( blue in color) so i can make sure they get us a fresh set of sheets. By the way this process took 5 days. Oh and by the way, leaving tips did not make any difference.
Cockroaches : yes, there are cockroaches in the rooms, in our room and in our friends room and in the hallway, they live mainly behind the refrigerator. And when we were there we heard they closed a whole building because they had to deal with a cockroaches infestation there.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food:
The open buffet restaurant is a closed restaurant (not open air), very hot inside, you will be eating and sweating, as for some reason the air condition is not strong enough/ is not on at all.
The flies was one of our biggest struggles, you come to have a seat and there is at least 15-25 flies all around your plate, your cutlery, and your glass, so we stopped drinking in the restaurant, and we wiped our forks with hand sanitizer before we ate.
I complained several times, and brought the restaurant manager attention to the fact that sometimes the plates are not washed properly, it sometimes smelled really bad, and are not clean, and he seems to be fine with the flies and the dirty plates, saying that everyone is eating, and everyone is happy, i think that just a little bit of soap in the washing process would have made a huge difference in the smell of the plates. And he also said that we cannot do anything about the flies, not sure how can he accept this as a standard.
I found a spider in my rice in one of the a la carte restaurant
The food quality and quantity is in my opinion similar to a 2-3 stars hotel max, no variety & no seafood (for 2 weeks we didn’t see any shrimps for example) and fish is being grilled with no spices whatsoever (you can have some spices if you give the chef a tip), toast in the morning was a rare thing ( my 7 year old missed having soft bread), flies all over the fruit counter. It was really a challenge to find something to eat at every meal.
We limited the kinds and amounts of food and drinks that we ate , specially for my 7 year old, we did not eat anything fresh/not cooked, just wanted to make sure that not one gets sick.
Drinks: water is one bottle per room, and it is very hard to get another. Soft drinks all tasted different ( no fizz), juices did not look clean ( the fruits were not washed properly, so we did not try any).. my experience is that i did not have a good drink during my stay of 2 weeks.
The a la carte restaurant, was same as the buffet, i did not enjoy a meal during the 2 weeks stay. And the good side of it that we all lost some weight.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
3. The Pool :
Like any family with kids we depend heavily on the pool as part of our day.
We saw black mold in the bottom of the pool and close to the sides of the pool, and we for sure complained, and I personally complained to the assistant GM. I took her for a walk close to the pool and showed her the mold, and opened a website on my phone and showed her what are the health problems that can rise from having growing black mold in pool. She smiled and did nothing. They do not clean the pool enough, and they do not put enough chlorine in the water in order to keep it clean.
The mold is clear from the outside of the pool, you do not need to jump in to see it. And if you are inside the pool you can feel it under your feet and feel how slimy the floor is. Please check the pictures attached for the mold in the pool.
Scared for the well being of the kids and us after seeing that we all stopped used the pool at all.
4. The beach: tons of rocks and there is a lack of shaded areas, even the small food shack on the beach is not shaded enough.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
NA

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cockroaches in rooms"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sonya  on Jun 11, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2017 | Leisure | Family and Kids
29 people found this review helpful

First and last trip to this resort. First room on ground floor in building 4. Noticed by 2nd night that the room was infested with roaches in the sleeping area. Complained and was told nothing could be done until morning as maintence staff have gone for the day to spray. Went to check in desk and depanded another room or I would be sleeping in lobby. Was given another room and still had them but not as bad. Only had to kill a 1-3 a night compared to the other room and they were tiny. I think they live behind the mini fridge as on desk area. Was not pleased with even this but I was trapped. I lived out of my suitcase for the 7 days and so did my daughter. The spraying is the cleaning staff with raid only. Talked to other people and most having same problem. Resort needs to be shut down and sprayed. Overall condition of rooms are not great. My first building was gross and dirty, room was at end of hall and no lights, beside maintence room and you could see the roaches crawling. Walls dirty, furniture not cleaned off, no lock on patio door for ground floor. I could go on and on. Don't go to this resort. Very sad that this was my first time in cuba and it turned out like this.

Room Number:
4120

Room Block:
4 & 1

Arrival:
May 26, 2017

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was okay but by mid week same thing just cooked a different way.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Good but costly.

Other Comments:
Great shows every night but nothing to do after the show.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"***Warning this is not a 4 1/2 star hotel****"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dale  on Feb 4, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2017 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
69 people found this review helpful

To give you and Idea of who we are, we are a fun couple, were one in our 20’s and one in our 40’s. Both busy professionals, 200k+ household and we travel every year at christmas or New Years, usually with Sunwing out of Edmonton. Our last three trips were to Manzanillo (Barcelo), Mazatlan (Rui), and Cabo San Lucas (Riu Palace), all are 4 1/2 and 5 star resorts -all amazing. We paid 2190 per person for this 4 1/2 star resort.


If this was rated as a 3 1/2 star resort and it only cost us 1400.00 , we probably wouldn’t have felt so ripped off. But for 2190.00 per person, this should have been an absolutely perfect resort. No one needed to be treated the way we were specifically in the first two days. You guys sell this as 4 1/2 stars but compare it to what your paying customers know as a actual 4 1/2 star and you will get nothing but complaints. Sorry but we feel as though we’ve been taken. This was absolutely our worst vacation we’ve been on.

So in conclusion. We feel ripped off. We spent 4400.00 on an awful week that could have been avoided. I think if the airlines sell this as such a great resort they should at least do their due diligence and visit these resorts a couple times a year to ensure that us as clients get what they pay for.


We should have taken a resort in Mexico and in hindsight, we kick ourselves for not going there and instead headed to the Memories Flamenco because your website made this resort look amazing.

I hope this never happens again to anyone. Its an awful thing to have the one week that is always the best week of the year and end up wasting our money.

Room Number:
1105

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
Arrival
This was fine to begin with, It was dark so we couldn’t see the resort yet. The check in was quick and they put us in Building 10. They had people taking the bags down to the room on carts but we chose to walk after one of the guests said its not to far. So we walked. Its was about 200 meters to buildings 10 and 8 and half way to the room the the lights on the sidewalk just end and its completely black. Its ridiculous to think any family with kids would walk to and from this building every night, let alone a couple. It wasn’t comforting to know Building 10 is out in the far corner of the resort backed on to the bush either.

Rooms:
Rooms
The room in building 10 had no water pressure at all, toilets wouldn’t flush and the stain on the bed sheets sent us back to change rooms. We changed rooms 3 times that night. Building 10, 8 and 5, none of them we even close to acceptable. The buildings are in need of repair, ceilings falling in, zero water pressure and no lights on most of the way to the rooms. These are not thing you want to deal with after a long flight. 3 room changes ruins the start of a vacation and certainly sets the mood for the next days. We then had to change one last last time, finally got us into building 1 after a fight with the front desk. This room was great, nothing special but a perfectly typical resort room, if we had this room first we would have never known how bad the rest were. Why we didnt get this in the first three is unacceptable. We aren’t fussy people, but the buildings aren’t all in good shape. and the lack of water pressure was terrible. Not what anyone should have to put up with on a vacation.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food
We were always aware the food in Cuba isn’t great so our expectations were low already. The food was actually really good. I was expecting horrible and got much better. The lines are long to get the fresh food cooked in front of you but it was worth it. We were warned by a couple the first night to stay away from the ala carte restaurants and we heard that several times over the course of the week so we just stuck to the Buffet. We enjoyed all of the food and the service in the buffet was excellent!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach
This was awesome, the saving grace of our stay. If the beach wasn’t so perfect, there wouldn’t have been much to look forward to.

Service
The service is definitely sub par. They don’t come around the pool area to serve unless they choose to bring around a tray of beers, other than that you have to get up all the time to get drinks. Same at the beach, very little service. To us, this is not a 4 1/2 star. The front desk people won’t make a decision without an authority figure and they certainly don’t know how to make simple decisions . As you know, The resorts in mexico are on it for service, these guys fall way short. Even the sunwing rep lacks the confidence in any way to address these situations. It was disappointing specifically for the resort rating.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Resort
Its unfortunate that we compare everything to Mexico and the 4 + star hotels we always stay at but you guys set the precedent with these ratings and this resort falls far short of it. The grounds are falling apart. Concrete in places is crumbling, it needs attention. They throw the old beach chairs into the bush down by the beach which looks horrible.
The decoration for the grounds is really bad, its not even bad, its laughable. I will attach photos of video of how cheap looking it is. Do you know how amazing the Mexican resorts string up lights on the trees so perfectly done all the way up the branches? These guys at the Flamenco, had taken a 400ft string of lights and dragged it around a few trees and over top of the bushes. It was ridiculous.

Other Comments:
Stay away from Building 8, 9, 10 for sure!! they are run down !! Building 1 and 2 or stay away.


Its a 3 star resort guys. Go for the wether or beach. Pay no more than 1300.00 its just not good value

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Star 5- Definitely Not"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Garson  on Mar 27, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
250 people found this review helpful

Grounds:

The general upkeep of Memories Flamenco in Cayo Coco is not good. Many ornamental trees are dead or dying. The beach volleyball net is tied to a couple of small trees and droops a foot or two. It is unusable for off-the-net shots. The pool volleyball net is also an eyesore. The lawns are burnt from lack of water and the landscape has large holes and humps throughout the resort, consequently it is mowed with whipper snippers.

Their pool table was missing a pool ball and the cues had no cue tips. Building 4 needs an exterior paint job.

Room Number:
5214

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
Memories Flamenco Resort, Cayo Coco, Cuba Review
March 5-19, 2015

Arrival at the hotel was excellent. Our suitcases were delivered to our room while we checked in.

Orientation:

On our first morning we attended the hotel orientation. Mr. Murphy is knowledgeable but speaks double speed with an accent so we understood almost nothing. It's a pity, because this information is critical to begin enjoying your week.

You are well advised to learn at least a dozen common Spanish words because the Memories Flamenco staff understand very little English. Ola, ...

Rooms:
Room Facilities:

An excellent Combination Lock Safe is provided in the room for your valuables
Coffee Maker & Sometimes coffee in room
Beer in fridge sometimes (catch them if you can)
Bottled Drinking water in room sometimes (Catch them if you can)

Passing Security Guards often talked all through the night keeping us awake. These rooms have poor acoustic design and sound echoes in the hallways for 2 seconds with a clap of the hands. Cuban maids can be heard throughout the day chattering constantly from the other end of these concrete residential buildings.

We opted for no air conditioning with the patio door open instead, but this didn't work the last couple of days because of the poorly fitting, difficult to move screen door. There were quarter inch gaps from poor door design. The mosquitoes were hungry.

The small room fridge was so noisy that we put it out on the balcony for our entire visit. It sounded like a vacuum cleaner switching off and on every 5 minutes so you couldn't hear the TV. The TV programming was above my low expectations. There were several English speaking channels and we sometimes got Canadian news and weather. We had nearly a meter of snow at home in the two weeks we were in Cuba. Did I mention the weather was perfect in Cuba :)

Our balcony view (Building 5) was of bushes and trees with a sliver of Atlantic Ocean at the horizon. Still beautiful when you can walk inside and out without sensing a temperature change. Good beach views are limited in Cayo Coco since the entire island was developed in the last 15 years, after Cuban beachfront environmental laws prohibit removing the beach trees so the shoreline will remain intact.

There are 10 residential buildings, each with 21 rooms per level, or 63 rooms per building. Building 1 sits the highest above sea level and therefore has the best beach view on the ocean side. The resort-side view is also better because of this height advantage but these rooms are near the theater that will produce great noise till late at night. The buildings decrease in height above sea level gradually from building 1 to building 5 and the remaining 5 buildings are located inland.

From Building 5 it is a half kilometer walk gradually uphill to the main lobby and cafeteria but it was a pleasant walk except for reasons mentioned later. Buildings 1-4 are more central, have a better view of the ocean or pools and the ocean side would also be quiet.

The bathroom shower was warm at best (Building 5)if you picked the right time of day. The sink facet barely trickled water at busy times. There was a hair blower (it worked on max only) by the sink and it had a power converter for a 110 Volt razor or cell phone charger. You will need a 220V to 110 Volt power converter for curling irons, etc. Our room had an iron and ironing board (220V).

Restaurants and Bars:
Food:

The Snack Bar is your around the clock place to eat if you miss other venues. I ordered a Club Sandwich and got 2 slices of fat on a burger bun. The Snack Bar is home to dozens of birds that fly onto the tables before and after people eat, gathering up leftovers. They perch on the large light fixture suspended over top of the self-serve food table and these birds don't wear diapers. We went there twice and never went back which meant we were hungry several times but waited for the cafeteria food.

The cafeteria food is fair. Best to make a pre-check of each item with a small sample and go back for what is cooked properly that meal. The beef and pork are often severely overcooked, tough and dry. Try the fish and shellfish at your own risk. We live on fish at home but not in Cuba. Sometimes the fruit was good but they seem to pick their fruit before it ripens? The pineapple was always tough, tastless and completely inedible. The breakfast omelets are made while you wait and are worth waiting for (Ringo makes a good omelette. Get your drinks quickly because the glasses do run out. We each lost 6 pounds on our 2 week trip and we are small people.

The acoustics are also poor in the cafeteria. Humming motors, people talking and live entertainment at supper add up to a rumbling environment. Sit on the sides for less noise.

There are 4 A La Carte restaurants. Be sure to book them all. Their food is excellent. You will need to get to the booking desk early (the one that says "Diamond Club Only" but ignore that misnomer). Three of these excellent restaurants are connected to the cafeteria. The fourth is connected to the Snack Bar. This one has no sign so it took us 2 days to find it.

We were booked to the A La Carte by the Snack Bar for 6 PM but they didn't open till the line-up was long at nearly 6:30 PM. The next day we were 15 minutes late (as per Murphy's apparent joke at orientation about relaxed Cuban time) and we were almost refused service. Be on time to those A La Carte's by the Cafeteria.

Bar Service:

Very poor. After 2 pina colada's with no alcohol, I asked for more alcohol. The bartender sprinkled a tablespoon on the top of the drink and pushed it my way. The 4th time I asked to have an ounce of rum in the glass before adding the mix. He poured half a glass of rum and added (now warm) pina colada mix. Every bartender has his own rules for mixing drinks. If you find a good one, hang onto him. Cerveza was our only recourse.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Safety:

Walking on the walkways to move from place to place was very dangerous here. The service people were constantly zipping by with silent electric vehicles on a walkway that is just a foot or two wider than their vehicles. When one of these electric Honda-Civic-sized vehicles speeds by you unannounced from behind at 15 KMPH it leaves a very unsafe feeling. I spoke to two of the hotel managers about this and many of the vehicles slowed down, but not all.

We walked next door to the Pestana Resort and further over to the Jardines Del Rey Resort and walking on their walkways was wonderful. All their service staff stopped and alerted you that they were going to pass, before proceeding.

Beside Building 5 there is a large gazebo that is hazardous to be around. The boards are rotten and large broken holes are surrounded with rusty protruding nails. There were hundreds of young children that would be at risk if attempting to play on this decayed structure. I suggested to SunWing staff that this should be immediately barricaded and torn down very soon.

Several of the wooden walkway boards going down to the beach were also rotten and the rail was quite loose. Part of it is now barricaded and bypassed near the beach.

Most of the walkway lights were either broken off completely and missing with wires sticking out of the foundation or the lights were just not working. It was very dark at night walking between Buildings 6-10.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Weather:

Perfect with no rain. Every day was 87 F (30 C) with a nice breeze. Cuban weather is absolutely perfect in mid-March. It can be cool in February and too hot starting late April. Our last 2 days saw mosquitoes coming out in the evening. This resort is surrounded by swamp so April is likely a great time for mosquito eating birds when the rainy season starts.


Beach:

The beach in front of the resort has sand next to the trees/bushes but all along the beach there is sharp outcropping coral as you go out into the water for a few dozen feet before sand reappears (like most resorts in Cayo Coco). However, going down to the beach and walking to the left (northwest) about half a KM is very rewarding. Here at low tide, just around the cove point, is the most perfect beach we've ever seen. Fifteen acres of pure white fine coral-based sand that you can walk on to your hearts content. We spent hours walking this beach and there's another 15 acres of knee-deep-in-water area to be explored.

The white fish birds and the pelican type birds are courteous to people as the birds soar and dive to capture numerous small fish from minnow size up to 7 inches. They add another great dimension to the most beautiful beach in the world.

And though we never saw it advertised, there are 7 beautiful catamaran sailboats and several kayaks and paddle boats that are included in your all inclusive package in the Memories Flamenco and the Pestana Resort next door. They are located between the two resorts in a beach enclosure. Here is a great opportunity to sail with or without an instructor with perfect daily breezes on the warm south Atlantic.


Money Exchange:

Some people bought Cuban Convertible Pesos (CUC's) at the airport for a better rate before coming to the hotel. We had no time as our arrival was near midnight and all was a rush. We were charged 40% on CAD and 20% on USD at the Memories Flamenco bank. Strange because the CUC value is locked to the value of the USD. But you are on the island of Cayo Coco. In Veradero several years earlier we got par exchange for USD because independent exchange facilities were near the town of Veradero.
This shouldn't be a major factor unless you wish to spend CUC for excursions. We took the 5 CUC per person (7 CAD) bus ride to the island market. This market is much like a small garage sale but does allow you to see several gateway entrances to other hotels on the island.

Other Comments:
Excursions:

There are several excursions available from the Memories Flamenco (around 75 CUC) but we didn't partake because of their unreasonable exchange rate. Examples-
~Jeep Safari ride into the Florencia Mountains where you can go on a horseback ride or tour a cigar factory.
~Take a trip into Moron, the nearest town and shop.
~Take a large catamaran cruise with open bar and interact with dolphins
~Go fishing
~There were also free scuba diving courses offered at the hotel and then if you were successful at this, you could go on a coral reef excursion.

One of the best excursions in Cayo Coco is not advertised. If you can get 10 people or so together you can rent a minibus and go into the town of Moron (30 Minutes away). Your driver becomes your personal group guide for the day and he will go where you like. This mini-bus will cost about $160 CUC and you will have to buy food while gone.

I saw a tourist driven minibike when at the market but there were no rentals near the Memories Flamenco. The maps of Cayo Coco are very vague so it would be difficult to navigate their wandering roads and Moron is likely close to an hour away via bike. Veradero is much better suited to this type of excursion. Years ago we traveled the entire Veradero peninsula in one day, stopping at several resorts. Then we took a quick trip into the near town of Veradero.

Summary:

I played smart phone Sudoku for entertainment. Their night theater entertainment is good but often too loud. Take some books or games to enjoy your leisure time. Internet service is available but only in a 20 foot circle in the main lobby via wifi. They will neglect to tell you that your 4.5 CUC one hour wifi service does not disconnect when you shut down your phone wifi. You need to manually disconnect your wifi account to halt their wifi one hour timer. I've heard other hotels in Cayo (pronounced Ki-oh) Coco have very slow internet service. The speed is good here if you stay in the circle.

I met a tourist who purchased her internet data card in Canada before leaving. She had great internet service through this data plan and it would be much cheaper if you plan on keeping touch with home a great deal.

Disregard any review that rates this resort at Star 4 or 5 (Totally Ridiculous). There is good and bad at this resort. We had a good time and it was difficult to come home even after 2 weeks. Have a good trip south.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't do it"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jerry  on Mar 21, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2017 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
50 people found this review helpful

The good, the bad and the ugly!

The Good
– The public area of the resort was fantastic. Clean well, cared for and very beautiful. The pools were very nice, the beach one of the nicest that I ever seen. The grounds were very welled looked after. The BBQ for the Diamond club members on the beach was the best food on the resort. I was not a diamond club member, so I had to bribe to get a good meal. Very good Pork BBQ, the hamburgers were hot, the rest of the food was good.

The Bad
– The food was a disaster. I gave up on breakfast on day 3, the lunch menu was no better. Once I discovered the BBQ at the beach I had no worries about lunch. The supper menu was a mess too. It was hard to find something hot. The only things we agreed on was the Pizza station made fresh, in front of you. The pasta station was also very good. The a la carte was just as bad, the worse steak ever! What a farce and this could easily be fixed. The 24 snack shack was gross. When they said that the food would be different in Cuba, I had no idea that it would be this bad. The tipping here is out of control.

The Ugly
– The accommodations. Where to start. We had a 1st floor room, with Two double beds instead of a king. We were cool with that, no big deal, it just means more snuggle time. The patio door did not lock, someone had smashed it off the door long time ago. There was a big gap under the door that let in all kinds of creepy crawly. The 1st day I killed a spider the size of beer can top. The rest of the week was a bug hunt before bed. The shower did not work. By day 4 and a few complaints later, it was fixed. No hot water. It was cold every day until it was time to go home. Hey! we then had hot water. We had to use the tub, but the stopper did not stop the water from running out. There was a dirty plate with some food left on it, in the hallway floor for most of the week. I guess it was the restaurants problem to move it. Gross. AC worked some of the time. The toilet was not bolted to the floor properly. You had to be careful when sitting on it. Here is my last complaint, The bed sheets were not change after the lasted guess had left. The double bed we slept in look like clean sheets, until on night I had too much to drink and was snoring and had to move to the other bed. I pulled the sheets backed and there was fresh blood stains all over the sheets. I went from drunk to sober in a few seconds. What the hell!

Comments: Don’t get me wrong we had a good time we made the best out of a bad situation. We met a lot of great people and had a blast with them. We were up to 2am almost every day. They made this vacation for us. Memories Flamenco did not. This is not a 4 star plus resort. Far from it. To call it a 3 star is pushing it, a 2 star at the most. I hate to see what the travel magazines call a 3 star. Would I recommend it. No! Save your money go somewhere else!

Room Number:
6118

Room Block:
6

Arrival:
Good Fast check in

Rooms:
a Mess

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant - They recycled food from breakfast from the look of it. the Joke on the resort was that the hot dogs were put out each day from the day before. and they were getting smaller.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Fantastic

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worse experience ever"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joanne  on Jan 18, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2017 | Leisure | Family and Kids
70 people found this review helpful

My husband and three kids stayed at memories flamenco and it was not bad at first. The room wasn't the greatest. Our room was infested with cockroaches we noticed it the second day so we decided to sleep with all the lights on every night thinking cockroaches don't really come out with light, ya right out full force. So we were up mostly all nights long killing cockroaches so the 2 days before we had to leave my husband decided to put the cockroaches in a bag and had a whole bunch in there to show the front desk people and kill a whole bunch. I wanted to leave 2 days early so costumer service said they've had complaints a cockroaches but nothing like ours and said they would put us up in a suite at the top floor in the same building. We took it, the room was very nice but we still keep ed the lights on and barely sleeped. Sad part is they said someone went to spray when we showed them the bag with the roaches in it but it's not true cause our things were still in the room and nothing was moved. And now we just got back from our vacation and we risk having roaches in our luggage. Thank god its winter home cause the luggage is staying outside for a week or more so if any roaches got it they'll freeze.311

Room Number:
3112

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
Arrived January 10/17

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No service and room needs repair"

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
User Rating:  Memories Flamenco Beach Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  M  on Apr 23, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
312 people found this review helpful

When arriving at the resort they were totally disorganized. Many people ,including us, were put in rooms that were not what we paid for. This took up to 3 days to correct. I was even told at one point that just because I booked one thing and paid for it ,it doesn't mean I will get that!
Every day it was a phone call to try and get bath towels. People had to use the same towels for up to 3 days. When you made your call for towels you would also have to request toilet paper! It often didn't come either.
Down at the pool the towel situation was much the same. Day after day they didn't have any! While at the pool the waiter would make his way around once maybe twice a day and that was it!
The bars ran out of ice almost every day. They ran out of mint leaves to make drinks! One night they ran out of beer.
Your mini bar may get filled once a week not every day as they say.
They had no selection in their store especially for cigars. No cigars in Cuba? Unreal. To top that off the girls who worked in the store were very rude if you didn't speak the language. I also would close early and open late.
The BBQ at the beach did not keep proper hours either....12-3 was more like 1-2.
This place is a year and a half old and most of the balcony doors didn't lock. The screen doors were broken and they were not fixing them.
And bring Visa cause they charge at least 10% on Canadian money.
This 5 star resort is a 2 star at best! For the service we didn't get and the number of ignorant people we encountered it almost needs to be less than 2 star.
There are a few nice employees there and they stick out because there are so few.

Room Number:
9220

Room Block:
9

Arrival:
good at the airport and the bus ride to the resort.
The resort is disorganized and rude.

Rooms:
If you get into the room you should be in, they are clean however the locks on the balcony are not good and the screens are broken. The bar is rarely stocked. Never enough towels or toilet paper.

Restaurants and Bars:
The a la carts are nice. The main restaurant was good at times but again their service is slow and some time not at all.

The bars are slow and run out of supplies all the time. waiting up to 15 minutes for a drink.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was clean but once again the service was slow if at all. Never any towels. You had to use and reuse towels.

The grounds looked nice however there was always garbage in places from the night before that had not been picked up. This was a 10am.

Other Comments:
I would not suggest this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube