Inglaterra Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Inglaterra reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Inglaterra  

Paseo del Prado, No. 416 esq. San Rafael, La Habana.
(Old Havana Maps)

"highly recommended"
Posted by: roland on Aug 25, 2014
see all reviews

Inglaterra Reviews
Inglaterra Pictures and Information
Inglaterra Old Havana Cuba

#5
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.7

Based on 38 reviews

Inglaterra Information


Landmark hotel in the heart of Havana's historical center, most rooms overlook "Parque Central".

Inglaterra official website
http://www.hotelinglaterra-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Inglaterra Reviews

Inglaterra Review: 3.7 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  15
Average
  6
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (25)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (10)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 38

"Let's wash Hotel Inglaterra!!!!!!!!!!!"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mirella Paula  on Jun 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BRAZIL
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
234 people found this review helpful

I stayed at Hotel Inglaterra from 21 may to 25- 2011. In spite of his beauty and history, the Hotel was very very dirty! The rooms are a completely disaster! In the first room I stayed at the second floor, the flush was broken. The curtains were completely dirty and had a bad smell. To complete the scene, the bathroom's lamp were so week that remembered me an oil lamp, creating a gloomy and sad atmosphere.The second room, at the first floor, the curtains situation are the same. The bathroom had those nasty bathroom flyes on the walls, a lot of them, made me sick. Here in that room, the lugubriousness darkness were our company. The breakfast was awful too. The food was not good and the glasses and the table ware were dirty, and I had to wash my hands every time after breakfast. Seem to me that they never cleaned the Hotel since its inauguration on 1875!! BAD CHOICE!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible rooms"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Zuzana Buzgovicova  on May 6, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) CZECH REPUBLIC
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
206 people found this review helpful

Hotel hall was very nice, bar and restaurant as well. Rooms horrified.

Room Number:
242

Arrival:
27.4.2011- Reception stuff not very polite.

Rooms:
Terrible rooms- no window, was so dark there, that we couldn´t see without the lamp is on. Bathroom was dirty- was a hair in a shower. Looks everything devastating and neglected.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant and bar was very nice, stuff was polite and nice, drinks and food was fine.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
In Havana are many places to see. Is interesting city, but man has to be carefull because there are many people try to rob you and they found interesting way to do it.

Other Comments:
In Havana,there are many people try to rob you and they found interesting way to do it- there are many pairs on the street try to take you to the local bar, where they ask 5CUC for a drink and sell cigars not as cheap as they present.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dark rooms and bad service"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ann Charlotte Christensen  on Mar 4, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) DENMARK
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
177 people found this review helpful

We booked the rooms in advance via the internet and I don´t know if that is the explanation for getting the most lousy rooms, small and without windows. Furthermore it appeared that the bedlinen hadn´t been changed in one of the rooms even though they didn´t admit it when I asked them to change it (I only got an angry look from oneof the maids). The service in the reception was almost non existing - they weren´t helpful at all and we had to pay extra for the safe deposit in the room and for leaving our luggage on the second day. The only friendly person we met was the man who helped us store our luggage the day of check out.
So the only positive thing I have to say about this hotel is that the location is optimal and that the terrace on the roof is very nice.

Arrival:
Receptionists not friendly

Rooms:
Poor

Restaurants and Bars:
Boring breakfast

Other Comments:
Overprized

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Location was great but that was all..."

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  ima Akbari  on Jan 6, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
268 people found this review helpful

Location for this hotel is fantastic and from outside it looks like a great spot, lobby, etc.
The rooms were not very clean, there was hair in the bath tub...very dark room, no window..very run down.

Very average service for the price. We do not recommend staying at this hotel specially for the price!
Ima

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"National Monument, from the outside"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Louis Guimont  on Apr 27, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
183 people found this review helpful

We stayed initially in Vieja Habana for 4 days then move on to Hotel Inglaterra in Centro Habana. I'm sad to say that the exterior facade and roof-top terrase are this hotel's only two positive points. The room we were in (102) was very small, had no windows and had a shutter in the bathroom which was always opened by which we could hear way too many outside noise. The breakfast was decent but nothing more. Service overall was weak, from front desk to waiters, however service on the roof-top terrasse was excellent.

The front terrasse was awkward: sometimes good service, but mostly not.
If you can afford it, I would recommend Hotel Parque Central or NH Parque Central which are both a few hundred feet away.

For the area: the hotel is very well situated for the Capitolio, Parque Central, Paseo del Prado and many other attractions.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Poor Standard"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Markus  on Jan 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SWEDEN
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
372 people found this review helpful

They deported us to a room without any windows. The smell was terrible neither the showers. Breakfast was low and the guy from Cubacar who was sitting in the lobby renting out cars wanted to have 5 CUC more for his own pocket a day. Better to stay in Casa particular. Never again in this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Solo por su ubicación y la buena gente."

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  RICARDO  on Dec 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
228 people found this review helpful

Muy buena atención por parte de la gente, mala calidad de alimentos en el desayuno, habitaciones muy viejas, olor a humedad, falta mantenimiento.buena ubicación. Para pasar dos o tres días y visitar la habana esta bien, no mas...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great location and a certain charm"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Angela Ribezzo  on Oct 26, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2006
3869 people found this review helpful

I stayed here because of the history and it's fantastic location and wasn't disappointed. Booked a single but when I got to the room it was a spacious double bedded twin on the first floor - went onto the balcony, the view was excellent: Parque Central in all its glory as well as a good clear view of the Art Museums straight ahead. The flag was right outside my window for the first two nights and then it disappeared - no idea why, I certainly wasn't complaining.....I even took a photo of it!

The bathroom was massive and cool but a bit dated, sink was a little wobbly and the shower could do with a bit of tough stain remover but all round it was fine - water power was pretty good.

General points:
1) housekeeping is good and unobtrusive, somehow they always know if you're in or not - maybe they hold a glass to the door or something because there were no signs to hang on the door! (changing towels dumped and keeping those on rails, also constantly updating the toiletries)and they leave swan towels on your bed which I thought was really sweet - must be a general Cuban thing though as another hotel I stayed at in a national park did the same!
2) Take plenty of GBP or Euros with you as most other currencies seem to cause a few issues - USD are also ok, but beware, the mark-up/commission rate is huge (between 12 and 18%)
3) Don't eat at the Cafe de Louvre downstairs, the food is bland at best and you can't always get what you want (I went at about 10pm and was told I could only choose from the sandwiches and omelettes - it was hot so I said I just fancied a salad, but the head chef said it was only possible to order hot light meals!) The drinks are fine though and the band is pretty cool, playing a variety of tunes.

All in all, quite sweet - the staff are generally fine and as helpful as they can be given the language barrier, only had one lady at reception who was aloof and that was 11pm on a Sunday night when I checked in! I would certainly stay here again; this is Havana - I'm not expecting 5* quality for these prices and besides, you spend very little time in the hotel anyway as it is such a vibrant and party-loving city!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" Great from the outside, tired on the inside "

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gareth Jones  on Apr 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
180 people found this review helpful

Unfortunately the title says it all. The Hotel is in a fantastic location for exploring Old Havana. The Hotel looks Grand and has an excellent street cafe at the front with constant latin beats on offer from a variety of talented bands.
However once inside the Hotel is in desperate need of a refurb. The rooms are very basic, but do have air conditioning and the maid service is very good. The beds had plastic sheetinbg under the bottom sheet which made for a very sweaty nights sleep. The the tiles in the shower room and on the bedroom floor were cracked and the shower produced little more than a trickle.The food was OK but lacked variety and imagination.
However I don`t think many would go to Havana to spend their time in a Hotel room so it didn`t spoil our stay. The Hotel like many buildings in the City has fantastic potential, but definitely needs some TLC.

Room Number:
312

Arrival:
Good pleasant staff check in was very easy.

Rooms:
See review

Restaurants and Bars:
Nice room food only average. excellent street cafe with good staff. reasonable prices for a hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A nice place"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on Jul 30, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Jul, 2009
1348 people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my boyfriend in 2009...it is a very preety place...and very Cuban. The restaurant has a very varied menu, delicious and affordable. The breakfast isnt that great. I have unforgettab;e memories of all the art that covers this place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube