Inglaterra Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Inglaterra reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Inglaterra  

Paseo del Prado, No. 416 esq. San Rafael, La Habana.
(Old Havana Maps)

"highly recommended"
Posted by: roland on Aug 25, 2014
see all reviews

Inglaterra Reviews
Inglaterra Pictures and Information
Inglaterra Old Havana Cuba

#5
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.7

Based on 38 reviews

Inglaterra Information


Landmark hotel in the heart of Havana's historical center, most rooms overlook "Parque Central".

Inglaterra official website
http://www.hotelinglaterra-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Inglaterra Reviews

Inglaterra Review: 3.7 of 5 38 reviews
Excellent
  10
Very good
  15
Average
  6
Poor
  5
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (25)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (10)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
With Group
11 - 20 of 38

"Location was great but that was all..."

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  ima Akbari  on Jan 6, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
268 people found this review helpful

Location for this hotel is fantastic and from outside it looks like a great spot, lobby, etc.
The rooms were not very clean, there was hair in the bath tub...very dark room, no window..very run down.

Very average service for the price. We do not recommend staying at this hotel specially for the price!
Ima

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Solo por su ubicación y la buena gente."

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  RICARDO  on Dec 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
228 people found this review helpful

Muy buena atención por parte de la gente, mala calidad de alimentos en el desayuno, habitaciones muy viejas, olor a humedad, falta mantenimiento.buena ubicación. Para pasar dos o tres días y visitar la habana esta bien, no mas...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel Inglaterra was a good comfortable place to stay"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  John Cole  on Nov 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
168 people found this review helpful

Our four days in Havana at Inglaterra were quite comfortable and all of the amenities needed were provided. The room was nice and large with lots of hanging/drawer space. The bathroom was huge and all of the plumbing worked nicely (unlike another hotel in Havana we stayed in on our last night through before flying out). Breakfast was included, and like most Cuban food, was quite different for us North Americaners. But the breakfast buffet was well stocked. I would definitely recommend staying there. It is very centrally located and in the hub of all of the fun action of Old/Central Havana. Lots of action on the street below our balcony, but it didn't hinder our sleep (the room's balcony doors kept out the noise). If you want a real outsiders view of the hustle and bustle of this lovely busy city, then this is the place to stay.

Room Number:
314

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Romantic but old"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Denise Furter  on Oct 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
203 people found this review helpful

A romantic hotel where one can enjoy music and cocktails on the porch every night. But expect that it is very old (1875) and street-side rooms are noisy and there is not much room for anything in the bathroom. There is no WiFi or connection points.

Room Number:
305

Arrival:
10Oct2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overall Good stay, decent food, unlucky to get a bad mattress."

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lorna  on Oct 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
193 people found this review helpful

Nice hotel, looks untouched, as if you stepped back in time- was very pleasant stay, workers were lovely, bands that played outside restaurant area was fantastic! a great vibe.
Food was good and cheap in both restaurants, buffet breakfast had variety of fruits cereals juices hot foods etc...
only thing i was unlucky with was getting a Terrible mattress. there was a sharp spring pushing right in the middle of my back, so had to put a towel there so it wouldnt hurt me- i left sheet open for housekeeping to see- but they just made over it!

My other 2 travel companions had no problem. I did not report it until I got back from my trip, but they were nice about it.

Restaurants and Bars:
nice food, tasty and average servings (USA servings were way too big!)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great stay in havana"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  BOB SHOCKLEY  on Aug 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Costa Rica
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
213 people found this review helpful

Enjoyed our room....nice view and a wonderful aircondition comfort..room was clean and refreshed each day...room was large and nice furnishing...very comfortable after a hot day of walking to so many beautiful sites..

Room Number:
304

Arrival:
everything was ready...no problem with reservations..

Restaurants and Bars:
only had the breakfest...which was somewhat lacking in quality during the weekend and the available of plates and cups was a problem...but weekday the service was much better..

the dinner room appeared to be empty or very few customer ...we choose to go else where...

the drinks at the outside bar were nice but exspensive compared to other places..the views were nice enjoyable sitting...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Havana experience"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mcavoy Pamela  on Jul 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
211 people found this review helpful

Room adequate I always say that I do not go on holiday to stay in a hotel room The room was pleasant to sleep, shower and change. the location was wonderful. The dining room was so authentic Cuba. Breakfast was not good and there were many smart staff that did nothing. Snacks were adequate but Havana was brilliant and the location made up for everything. Roof terrace needs updating and stocking with equipment to make cocktails.

Room Number:
310

Arrival:
Pleasant reception staff. efficient book in even though we were early booking in.

Rooms:
pleasant not luxurious but quite dark.

Restaurants and Bars:
Beautiful

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Roof terrace needs modernising

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Location fab really in the centre. would recommend it for this reason.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place to stay, but a bit old :)"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Momi Yamashita  on Jul 9, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) JAPAN
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Business | Solo
218 people found this review helpful

Well, my first impression was dirty and old. I was a little bit insecure at first, but I got used to it right away. It's not dirty, it's just too old... They have salsa music playing all day all night everyday, and everybody is so friendly I felt at home. I would love to stay here again, even if it wasn't the best hotel I stayed. If you like luxurious hotel, then this hotel may not be the one, but if you want to experience Cuba, then this is one of the best hotel you can stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Let's wash Hotel Inglaterra!!!!!!!!!!!"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mirella Paula  on Jun 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BRAZIL
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
234 people found this review helpful

I stayed at Hotel Inglaterra from 21 may to 25- 2011. In spite of his beauty and history, the Hotel was very very dirty! The rooms are a completely disaster! In the first room I stayed at the second floor, the flush was broken. The curtains were completely dirty and had a bad smell. To complete the scene, the bathroom's lamp were so week that remembered me an oil lamp, creating a gloomy and sad atmosphere.The second room, at the first floor, the curtains situation are the same. The bathroom had those nasty bathroom flyes on the walls, a lot of them, made me sick. Here in that room, the lugubriousness darkness were our company. The breakfast was awful too. The food was not good and the glasses and the table ware were dirty, and I had to wash my hands every time after breakfast. Seem to me that they never cleaned the Hotel since its inauguration on 1875!! BAD CHOICE!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great atmosphere and very helpful and friendly staff"

Inglaterra
User Rating:  Inglaterra Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Vicki Roach  on May 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
202 people found this review helpful

This hotel is a beautiful building and located smack in the centre of old Havanna overlooking cenral park.

If you just want to sit outside the front of the hotel and people watch then this is the hotel in which to do it. There is live music being played throughout the day and evening and it is a great atmosphere. It seems that where ever your hotel is in Havana, you will probably find yourself sitting outside the Hotel Inglaterra at some point enjoying a drink or ligh meal and listening to the wonderful music being played.

The staff without exception are friendly and helpful. The rooms are great value for money.

Room Number:
311

Arrival:
2nd May

Rooms:
Ours was large and spacious with a balcony overlooking central park. It was cleaned daily and beds made and clean towels provided.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was very good value for money. We especially loved the fried chicken and home made chips.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There is a bus that leaves for the beach 20 kms away every half an hour throughout the day for a cost of 3 pesos each. The beach is superb and food and drinks can be bought there. You can catch this bus everyday outside the hotel.

Other Comments:
In my opinion the place to stay if you want to sample Havana, although 2 or 3 days is probably all you would need.

I also noticed many guests with disabilities at the hotel and they seemed to be well catered for.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube