Jagua Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Jagua reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cienfuegos Hotels with Similar Ranking

Casa Verde

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 3, 2014

La Union

4.3 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 20, 2012

Jagua  

Calle 37 No. 1 e/ 0 y 2, Punta Gorda, Cienfuegos
(Cienfuegos Maps)

"Stylish, well-situated, great balcony views, a bit impersonal"
Posted by: Pat on Dec 12, 2011
see all reviews

Jagua Reviews
Jagua Pictures and Information
Jagua Cienfuegos Cuba

#2
of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos

User rating 4.6

Based on 8 reviews

Jagua Information


Located on the very tip of "Punta Gorda", most rooms overlook the bay of Cienfuegos.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Jagua Reviews

Jagua Review: 4.6 of 5 8 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  1
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (1)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 8 of 8

"Stylish, well-situated, great balcony views, a bit impersonal"

Jagua
User Rating:  Jagua Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Dec 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
280 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
My package was a Cubana flight actually operated by a Canadian carrier, Flare Airlines. At the Santa Clara airport I was met by a helpful and attentive tour rep named Midiala. As numbers didn't warrant a bus, we traveled in a van-taxi to Cienfuegos, where check-in at Hotel Jagua was a breeze. I arrived very late at night. I didn't mind hauling my own luggage, but at that hour there didn't seem to be an alternative if anyone did mind.

Rooms:
I was quite happy with my hotel accommodations. The room's size, cleanliness, stylish modern-retro decor,the pool-side ambiance & unusually interesting lobby art were all positives at this hotel. The fact that my balcony door couldn't be locked disturbed me a bit, although four stories up I was not at risk unless someone in another room was inclined to do some dangerous climbing. I heard (unconfirmed/second-hand) that another guest got a room change because her main door couldn't be fully secured & she was not satisfied with the suggestion that hallway security cameras should be enough to put her at ease.

My room was cleaned sufficiently each morning. I am grateful that an item I thought I had lost downtown had actually dropped in the public hall outside my room door, was found & promptly returned by a cleaner without any inquiry on my part.

Restaurants and Bars:
My tour package was not AI, but did include the buffet breakfast. While the food in the breakfast buffet was pleasant (I loved the made-to-order omelets), staff seemed to avoid eye contact with anyone standing around looking confused/inclined to ask a question, and (except for the omelet chef) I never received any greeting or smile in the breakfast room. One day, when few guests were present, glasses and coffee cups disappeared from the juice & coffee stations 15 minutes before the breakfast closed. When finally one of the unoccupied staff standing nearby was acknowledged this, a glass was provided but I had to again separately request a cup in order to have coffee. Although the buffet was advertised until 10am, the door was closed much sooner, after that staff seemed more interested in each other than in guests. I did not eat other meals here so can't comment on dinner. Last year I enjoyed excellent service during one light lunch at the outdoor bar-restaurant. My impression of the breakfast crew is that moral is lacking.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
My favorite aspect of Hotel Jagua was the spectacular view every night from my 4th floor balcony: moonlit ripples on the bay, graceful palms circling the pool, the glow of the city skyline. The long dock & pleasant waterfront seating were great for relaxing, making the absence of a beach no concern to me.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There were many European guests, and tour bus groups. A wide selection of excursions is offered.

Other Comments:
CAUTION: Safe drinking water is NOT assured in this hotel without extra payment. For me, this significantly down-grades the credibility of this hotel as a high-status facility. Guests are 'on-their-own' in recognizing whether they face a health risk, and if they do, the hotel forces them to pay top dollar to avoid it. No bottled water is available in rooms, in from a filter machine. There is no message to visitors to indicate that water from the taps is either filtered for their safety, or might be a health concern. Knowing that in Cienfuegos local citizens boil tap water before drinking, I specifically asked hotel staff about it's water (including a long-time member of the restaurant staff), and appreciated their honesty. When I asked for filtered or bottled water in the restaurant at breakfast, and again at the reception desk, I was directed to go to the bar. A SMALL bottle of water there cost $1.50. Filtered water was not available to me from either the bar or the restaurant. Canadians take free clean water for granted, which is a mistake in some places, but Cuban AI resorts who target this audience typically anticipate this need. An inexperienced traveler, one who expects hotel management to provide health information & solutions, or a guest unwilling to bear hidden costs for water, may want to stay away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The restaurant buffet is better than the rooms"

Jagua
User Rating:  Jagua Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Raoul Goretti  on Aug 23, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
247 people found this review helpful

The room is confortable, but cleanness is not the top.
Very good buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner.

Room Block:
3rd floor

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wow"

Jagua
User Rating:  Jagua Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Penney  on Aug 19, 2008  >  4 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2008
1572 people found this review helpful

What a location! After travelling around Cuba for two weeks this was a fitting climax with fantastic views both from the room's private balcony and the balcony connecting the rooms.
The quietest air conditioning we had experienced
The best mojitos!
The pool was kept open for us
Our waitress smiled her way through our requests and was very warm and friendly
Only downside was the water shortage at 6:30 am - but remedied by 7

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"La Perla del Sur no is great"

Jagua
User Rating:  Jagua Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  juliette  on Apr 23, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Mexico
Visited on: Apr, 2008
794 people found this review helpful

The Hotel Jagua is the emblematic hotel of Cienfuegos, I worked there for a while and their staff is really great. The service is really good and delivered with real human warmth. I from Cienfuegos and I recommend this hotel to everyone who is seeking healthy fun and relaxation. Keep up the good work! Juliette Clark

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Greatings!!"

Jagua
User Rating:  Jagua Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Giampiero y Nilda Malaspina  on Feb 10, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Feb, 2008
3592 people found this review helpful

I only want to say that every time that I have being in this hotel we have felt as if we were in our home, the staff is excellent from the human point of view. I think that you can spent in this hotel a Honeymoon, or holidays alone or with your family. We want to emphatize the patience, friendship and love mainly of three persons that make daily that the name of Jagua Hotel keeps its name so high in the world, Maria Julia (desk), Frank (bar), Miguel Ensenat (chef) and to all the staff of this hotel. Thanks to all of them

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It is wonderful"

Jagua
User Rating:  Jagua Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mildrays  on Dec 11, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Dec, 2007
4276 people found this review helpful

Hotel Jagua is one of the most beautiful hotel that I have visited, I have stay in it more than once and I love the place and the attention that I receive there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Congratulations!!!!!!"

Jagua
User Rating:  Jagua Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Charles Powis  on Jan 14, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2007
5789 people found this review helpful

Many years ago we spent our Honeymoon at this hotel it is wonderful, all is good, the treatment from the workers and the staff of the hotel. "

This review has been submited originally in spanish. Our editorial team have translated it to english, to offer better service to our clients." "

This review has been submited originally in spanish. Our editorial team have translated it to english, to offer better service to our clients."

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"NO LO CONOZCO PERO ME CONTARON"

Jagua
User Rating:  Jagua Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Deborath  on Jun 4, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Venezuela
Visited on: Jun, 2006
1579 people found this review helpful

NUNCA HE IDO A CUBA PERO TENGO UNA PANA ALLA Y ME CONTO DE SU ESTADIA EN EL HOTEL JAGUA, Y PARA QUE ELLA ESTE TAN IMPRESIONADA ESE HOTEL DEBE SER LO MAXIMO, ESPERO PODER IR ALGUN DIA, DESDE VENEZUELA LA FLOR DEL MUNDO. Deborath Sanchez. (Manicuare) EDO-SUCRE.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube