Royalton Cayo Santa Maria Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Royalton Cayo Santa Maria reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Santa Maria Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Buenavista

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Playa Cayo Santa María

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 25, 2015

Melia Las Dunas

3.9 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 9, 2015

Melia Cayo Santa Maria

3.6 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 9, 2015

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort

3.4 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 1, 2016

Memories Azul Beach Resort

3.4 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed May 15, 2015

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria  

Cayo Santa Maria, Caibarién, Jardines del Rey, Villa Clara, Cuba

"Great Service, wonderful vacation"
Posted by: Ken  on Feb 20, 2016
see all reviews

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria Reviews
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria Pictures and Information
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

#7
of 10 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria

User rating 3.4

Based on 5 reviews

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria Information


Royalton Cayo Santa Mariaadult-only is the first Royalton hotel located in the Caribbean.

This All Inclusive Luxury Resort enjoys an elegant design, romantic beachside destination, exceptional service, an incredible attention to detail and particularly recommended for couples looking for a truly memorable and unique vacation to create memories that will last a lifetime.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria Reviews

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria Review: 3.4 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  0
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (5)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (2)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 5 of 5

"Great Service, wonderful vacation"

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
User Rating:  Royalton Cayo Santa Maria Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ken  on Feb 20, 2016  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
34 people found this review helpful

Excellent, great staff, nice location. We will definitely consider going back and the Royalton brand.

Room Number:
1004

Room Block:
10

Arrival:
Came with Sunwing, no issues a comfortable pleasant flight. Immigration and customs were fairly quick and we went to the bus and waited nearly an hour for a couple who didn't show. Bus was comfortable, no washroom but they sold beer on the bus. Ride is long nearly 2 hours but lots of countryside to see. Rep on the bus answered questions and pointed out sights. Even stopped for a bathroom break. On arrival staff unloaded bus and we met with our butler who offered us a sparkling wine and a tour and explanation of the resort. Bags sent to the room while we walked around. No bracelets here. Staff is very attentive and friendly.

Rooms:
We had ground floor room in block 10 close to pool and Sunset snack bar. Rooms are large, with king size bed, desk area, two closets, sitting area with sofa, small table and chairs. There was a safe, small bar area with stocked fridge with beer, pop and water. Bathroom is large with shower, toilet cubical, large tub and vessel sink. There were many towels, large bottles of shampoo, body wash and bath salts. Outside there was a patio with two chairs and a table that overlooked and treed area.

Restaurants and Bars:
Three full restaurants, no buffet. Sunset snack bar near the pool, open air with a more simple menu. Eggsellence and Senses are adjoining near the main lobby. They share the dinner menu which changes daily. Eggeselence is more casual, Senses more formal. There is also some food served at the beach where they have a quesidillia grill and a bbq at the main pool, both for lunch. 4 bars, one at each pool, one on the beach and the main 24 hour in the lobby where they offered a lot of high end rums, some better whiskey and vodkas. There is also served fancy coffees at this bar.
The food is good for Cuba but not really 5 star cuisine. Some dishes are great others not so much. Breakfast is mainly eggs same menu at Eggsekkence and Sunet but Eggesellence had a small buffet of breads, fruits, meats and cheeses. There was bacon all days but hashBrowns were never available but if there was no delivery that week.... Lunch was fine, sandwiches, burgers, chicken and fish in Sunset, BBQ chicken and fish by the pool or quesidillia by the beach. Most dishes had rice or fries. Salads were hit and miss.
Dinner was heavily fish based with at least half the menu being fish. Lots of tuna, lobster and talapia prepared differently each day. Not a lot of veggies, probably because most are out of season. There was usually some kind of chicken or pork and some beef stews. One night there was steak. Dishes could be good or be things like 'risotto' which was just undercooked plain rice with herbs. As I said food was okish with some real misses. But I didn't starve.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Best beach have ever been on. Sand soft like powdered sugar. A nice wide beach with gentle slope into the water. Lots of chairs and palapas on beach with at least two staff to bring drinks and food. Water was warm and when not windy great for swimming. You can walk for miles past the other hotels.
Grounds are clean and well kept. Two pools, a two level quiet pool near lobby and larger activity pool at lower level. Both were clean but water was colder. There are chairs and covered beds but the towel game is played starting around 6:30 every morning. Resort is not large. 122 rooms so nothing is a far walk. Pathways are well maintained but the main lobby is up a hill from the rooms and beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There are some daily activities at main pool and music everywhere during the day. At night there is a show, dancers, musicians, water show and a surprisingly good hiphop and Michael Jackson show. There is a market 2 minutes walk away with various vendors, restaurants and nightly shows. We went to a Buena Vista Social Club show at the disco, Very good.

Other Comments:
While the food may not be to everyone's expectations the location, the hotel and especially the staff make it great. Our butler Lionel was always available to meet our needs. Reservations, extra wine, rum, towels in the room, any minor repairs etc. He was always able to help. The bar staff was great and the management staff is always available and speaking to the guests. Everything is clean, washrooms were always clean and stocked. Maids did a good job.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"couldn't pass on on not writing about it"

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
User Rating:  Royalton Cayo Santa Maria Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  yolanda  on Aug 7, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
137 people found this review helpful

I got back from this Royalton hotel and decided to write a review of how amazing this resort was and how people should make it their first choice while in Cayo Santo Maria for vacation or business trip. Just like the name, you will be treated like royalty right from when you arrive until you leave, it was a fantastic stay for me and I really wished I could stay longer than I did but I was here on a business meeting so I stayed for just a short while. Check in at the front desk was fast and as you arrive it doesn’t matter what time, you will be greeted with mimosa. The infinity pool is the best relaxation spot in the hotel and a swim up bar near it. The bar has the nicest set of bar tenders I have met in all my travels to Caribbean resorts. You will even see a nice spot near the pool where BBQ is usually cooked; tell me how any other resort can be better than this? Even for a picky eater, the restaurant provides you enough food selection that you will see what to eat. The good thing about this hotel is that you will always find the managers walking around the resort trying to see if everybody is getting the desired attention and you will always see the staff working and attending to guests. You will be accommodated very well and you won’t find a fault to complain about.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"perfect location and wonderful experience"

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
User Rating:  Royalton Cayo Santa Maria Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  silas  on Jun 18, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
136 people found this review helpful

The best thing I think I loved about this place was the professionalism that the staff displayed, it was terrific, there is nothing as great as when hotel staff members carry out their duties like they actually care about the guests and not all moody, the staff here was always happy to see you, very polite and cheerful with a sense of professionalism. The pool area was very beautiful and clean and so was the beach. The people I met here I won’t forget in a hurry and the experience will last for a while. When I go on vacation, I expect the hotel to provide quality service, I don’t care how much I spend but everything should be top notch and that was exactly what I got here so kudos for that to the hotel management team. Everybody was wonderful here, the service was exceptional. The overall facilities here were great, the beach, the pool and grounds were well taken care of and well maintained. The food was solid, very delicious every meal I ate here. Every staff I met did their part to make sure I had a nice stay and I really appreciate the extra miles. The breakfast at this hotel has varieties with pancakes, eggs, ham, fruits and what not. The beach staff made sure I and other guests there never lacked drinks as he kept asking if we needed more, I took part in the free sailing and it was fun. I will come back here again for another wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Should be rated a 2 star hotel - if you are thinking about booking - Don't” "

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
User Rating:  Royalton Cayo Santa Maria Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob  on Dec 27, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
182 people found this review helpful




I'm reading the reviews and I can't believe these people stayed at the same resort we did. It is no where close to a 4 or 5 star resort. The food, the service, the resort itself were all merely okay. I wouldn't recommend this resort to my worst enemy. The management is the worst I have encountered. Personally, they didn't care if you liked it or not - they should all be fired. They have your money and you are stuck.
I have never written a review - so this is an indicator of how bad this place is.

Room Number:
1705

Arrival:
12/03/2013

Rooms:
O.K on the balcony, on the terrace bugs prowling around the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
terrible

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach is O.K. but there is no toilets, if you want to pee, you do it to the sea!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
bad

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"2 star hotel"

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
User Rating:  Royalton Cayo Santa Maria Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob  on Dec 27, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
166 people found this review helpful

This hotel is a big scam, provide the cheapest table wine, a real acid, no choice, instead of champagne that serve the cheapest fizzy wine.
One word is a hotel for those who did not traveled and can not compare.
Food is like in a two stars hotel!!! not fresh and not hot, one word salmonella on a plate!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube