Los Frailes Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Los Frailes reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

El Comendador

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 4, 2014

Tejadillo

4.2 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 19, 2012

Beltran de Santa Cruz

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 29, 2012

Park View

3.5 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 18, 2013

Los Frailes  

Calle Teniente Rey No. 8 e/ Mercaderes y Oficios. Ciudad de La Habana
(Old Havana Maps)

"Perfecto emplazamiento en La Habana Vieja de un Hotel con encanto"
Posted by: paloma garcía on Nov 16, 2012
see all reviews

Los Frailes Reviews
Los Frailes Pictures and Information
Los Frailes Old Havana Cuba

#8
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.5

Based on 24 reviews

Los Frailes Information


Hotel Los Frailes is situated in the former house of the Marquis Pedro Pablo Duquesne. He was a ship's captain in the French Navy, and the fourth holder of this title of nobility. He arrived in Havana in 1763 after the death of King Louis XVI. Once admitted in the Spanish navy, he was assigned to the Havana Naval Station where he contributed toward the shipyard works, of which he later became the director.


Los Frailes official website
http://www.hotellosfrailescuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Los Frailes Reviews

Los Frailes Review: 3.5 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  10
Average
  5
Poor
  0
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (15)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
1 - 10 of 24

"Perfecto emplazamiento en La Habana Vieja de un Hotel con encanto"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  paloma garcía  on Nov 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
113 people found this review helpful

Estuvimos en 2 ocasiones: al llegar a Cuba unos días y luego el último día antes de volver.
La llegada nos mosqueó inicialmente porque nos dijeron que la suit que teníamos reservada estaba sin luz por un problema eléctrico. De hecho el problema lo tenía toda una planta del hotel. Se leen tantas cosas en los foros sobre la falta de seriedad...
Pero a cambio nos habían reservado otra suit (igual categoría) en otro Hotel más caro. En este sentido tuvieron más que seriedad. Lo tenían todo listo para llevarnos al otro hotel que también se encuentra en La Habana vieja.
Al día siguiente ya tenían todo arreglado y nuestra suit lista.
El hotel tiene mucho encanto. De hecho son muchos los turistas que se cuelan simplemente a ver la entrada y el patio. Las suits son amplias y cómodas y disponen de balcones a los que puedes salir para ver cómo hablan las vecinas por las ventanas y casi sentirte una más del barrio.
La limpieza impecable, el personal sumamente amable. A nuestro regreso para la última noche antes del vuelo de vuelta nos estaban esperando como si fuéramos parte de la familia. Para esa noche sólo pudimos reservar inicialmente una habitación estándar, pero les habíamos dicho que si quedaba una suit libre la preferíamos. Y allí estaba nuestra suit esperándonos.
Los mojitos del bar están muy buenos, pero, hay diferencias entre los que prepara cada persona, por lo que depende de quien te lo prepare cada día. Una pista, a más delgadito el camarero, mejores los mojitos.
El desayuno es fuera del hotel en una cafetería que está en la acera de enfrente a no más de 15 metros. No es bufet, pero tiene frutas, zumo, huevos, algo de embutidos, pan y café con leche.

Room Number:
17

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Clean room, friendly staff however pay as you go for services"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kasey Robb  on May 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
198 people found this review helpful

See above

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not recommended - an expensive stay in a gloomy room."

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Zoe Stradling  on Apr 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
180 people found this review helpful

I booked a hotel for the first part of our holiday as I had never been to Cuba, and wasn't sure what to expect. I had thought that it would be best to start the holiday in the comfort of a hotel before travelling around Cuba, staying in Casa Particulars. We stayed 3 nights in Los Frailes which I chose because many of the reviews I read were positive, but although I knew that the rooms have no windows, I wasn't prepared for the dim lighting that went with it. We had difficulty in finding our suitcase in the room, let alone picking out the clothes in it, and I had problems applying my makeup as I could barely see myself in the gloom.Receptionist Tanya was great and really helpful, but I asked another receptionist to confirm our booking at our next stop - Santa Clara, and was presented with a hefty bill as it was an "international" call. Really? None of the places where we subsequently stayed charged for this service at all. I recommend you abandon any thoughts of staying at an hotel and book a Casa Particular instead. Cheaper, cleaner, more friendly, and home cooking if you want it!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not For The Claustrophobic!"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lindsay Denman  on Apr 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
164 people found this review helpful

Do not consider a standard room at this hotel if you have any reservations about sleeping in a cell. I normally don't have a problem with confined spaces but must admit to being uncomfortable in the room I was booked into. Not only are there no windows but the lighting is with eco bulbs so it takes ages to get any decent sort of light in the room (apart from the bathroom). Apart from that the location is good, breakfast is served at a local cafe - the usual, a bit of fruit, omelette and a small selection of breads.

Room Number:
3

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent location in Old Havana, and very friendly staff"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Barry Farrell  on Jan 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
163 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
8

Arrival:
Upon arrival we were informed that the suite we had booked was not available for the first night. This was because a treatment used for cleaning the water in the room had not had time to fully activate due to poor weather that day. The receptionist apologised and gave us two options: either stay in a standard room for the first night, or move to a superior hotel a few blocks away. We chose to stay in a standard room. The whole process was handled very efficiently and professionally, although no mention was made of a refund. However, when I contacted the booking agency, the difference was refunded the next day.

Rooms:
The standard room we stayed in for one night was very nice, and it is true that you really don't immediately realise that there are no windows!
The suite we stayed in for 6 nights was excellent. It had a balcony onto the busy street below which is great for people-watching, but not so great if you want to have an early night as it can be very noisy! The room was spacious and clean and very comfortable, and very nicely decorated.

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast was included in our rate, and although it was the same every morning, it was substantial and tasty. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but the bar is nice and makes decent mojitos.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The hotel's location is perfect for exploring Old Havana. Tours can be arranged at the front desk.

Other Comments:
One of the biggest assets of this hotel is the staff. Every one of them we had contact with was pleasant, friendly, and above all, helpful. Most spoke very good English.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Una gestione poco professionale e truffaldina"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eugenio Tenneriello  on Dec 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Business | Solo
196 people found this review helpful

L'albergo è molto elegante ed ha una collocazione strategica nel centro ristrutturato. Il personale del bar e delle pulizie eccezionale. Carentissimo di professionalità il personale di gestione amministrativa e di ricevimento.
Mi hanno addebitato due notti per un ospite inesistente.
Ho dovuto far testimoniare il portiere di notte che ha confermato la mia versione. Mi hanno detratto una notte, ma la seconda l'ho dovuta pagare perchè l'altro portiere non è stato reperito. Il primo giorno mi hanno fatto soggiornare all'hotel Riviera in altra zona e la mattina mi hanno fatto aspettare due ore circa per mandarmi a prendere dal taxi. Nel cambio euro con moneta cubana prendevano alte commissioni. A mio avviso il responsabile dell'albergo andrebbe rimosso dall'incarico in uno al personale del ricevimento clienti. Non parliamo della colazione, misera e dopo due giorni è mancata la marmellata. Se non viene cambiato il personale di gestione è sconsigliato il soggiorno.

Room Number:
10

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good place!"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Aude Husson  on Oct 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
222 people found this review helpful

It is very beautiful, with character. Rooms are huge, quiet and very clean. People are very nice. The only problem, the breakfast which is too small. I recommand this place.

Room Number:
7

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best hotel in la Habana"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ALEJANDRA RAMOS REYES  on Sep 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Mexico
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
228 people found this review helpful

Los Frailes is the perfect hotel for those who want to stay in the heart of old havana. You can walk to most of the sites. The hotel was clean, safe and friendly. They have internet and a gift shop. The breakfast for me was perfect (scrambled eggs, croissants, juice and coffee), but if you are a buffet lover you'll probably hate it. Go for the suites, are the best and there is no noise.

Room Number:
17

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good and clean, good position"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Fabio Favarin  on Sep 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
218 people found this review helpful

Good hotel, very very nice building, tipical colonial style.
Very nice room, but some of this without windows.
Good position, near to S. Francis, with taxi and bus.
Near to Plaza Vieja, beautiful.

Room Number:
9

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Encantado"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Francis Winston  on Aug 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
247 people found this review helpful

A wonderful place to stay in an amazing part of the city and would love to have stayed much longer. The service was excellent, the photos of the Hostal Los Frailes do not do it justice as you have to see it in person!
Slept very well, although a junior suite (no7) is always recommended as the standard has no windows, which is fine if you don't plan on staying in much.

Would have given 5 stars but the breakfast is somewhat limited. Will definitely return here!

Room Number:
7

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube