Los Frailes Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Los Frailes reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

El Comendador

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 4, 2014

Tejadillo

4.2 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 19, 2012

Beltran de Santa Cruz

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 29, 2012

Park View

3.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 27, 2014

Los Frailes  

Calle Teniente Rey No. 8 e/ Mercaderes y Oficios. Ciudad de La Habana
(Old Havana Maps)

"Perfecto emplazamiento en La Habana Vieja de un Hotel con encanto"
Posted by: paloma garcía on Nov 16, 2012
see all reviews

Los Frailes Reviews
Los Frailes Pictures and Information
Los Frailes Old Havana Cuba

#8
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.5

Based on 24 reviews

Los Frailes Information


Hotel Los Frailes is situated in the former house of the Marquis Pedro Pablo Duquesne. He was a ship's captain in the French Navy, and the fourth holder of this title of nobility. He arrived in Havana in 1763 after the death of King Louis XVI. Once admitted in the Spanish navy, he was assigned to the Havana Naval Station where he contributed toward the shipyard works, of which he later became the director.


Los Frailes official website
http://www.hotellosfrailescuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Los Frailes Reviews

Los Frailes Review: 3.5 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  10
Average
  5
Poor
  0
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (15)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
1 - 10 of 24

"Terrible!"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anna  on Aug 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
102 people found this review helpful

Terrible hotel and terrible service, you can't trust them. They seach thru your stuff when you are not in the room, and if they like something, they steal. The stole our money while away from the room.

Room Number:
17

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not For The Claustrophobic!"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lindsay Denman  on Apr 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
170 people found this review helpful

Do not consider a standard room at this hotel if you have any reservations about sleeping in a cell. I normally don't have a problem with confined spaces but must admit to being uncomfortable in the room I was booked into. Not only are there no windows but the lighting is with eco bulbs so it takes ages to get any decent sort of light in the room (apart from the bathroom). Apart from that the location is good, breakfast is served at a local cafe - the usual, a bit of fruit, omelette and a small selection of breads.

Room Number:
3

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not recommended, terrible hotel!!"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Miquel  on Aug 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
108 people found this review helpful

Terrible Hotel, service was awful, and the worst is that the hotel is not safe, it stinks, the food is bad and they rish you for breakfast so they don't feed you. Staff is not trustworthy, they took money from our suitcase. And the owrst is that the management did not help us out.

Room Number:
Suite

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not recommended - an expensive stay in a gloomy room."

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Zoe Stradling  on Apr 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
184 people found this review helpful

I booked a hotel for the first part of our holiday as I had never been to Cuba, and wasn't sure what to expect. I had thought that it would be best to start the holiday in the comfort of a hotel before travelling around Cuba, staying in Casa Particulars. We stayed 3 nights in Los Frailes which I chose because many of the reviews I read were positive, but although I knew that the rooms have no windows, I wasn't prepared for the dim lighting that went with it. We had difficulty in finding our suitcase in the room, let alone picking out the clothes in it, and I had problems applying my makeup as I could barely see myself in the gloom.Receptionist Tanya was great and really helpful, but I asked another receptionist to confirm our booking at our next stop - Santa Clara, and was presented with a hefty bill as it was an "international" call. Really? None of the places where we subsequently stayed charged for this service at all. I recommend you abandon any thoughts of staying at an hotel and book a Casa Particular instead. Cheaper, cleaner, more friendly, and home cooking if you want it!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice place, but bad air/clime"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bastian  on Jun 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
119 people found this review helpful

Good location, nice crew, it appears very elegant, but almost all the rooms have no windows, so that the clime is definitely not the best. It smells like "fungi" :-)

Room Number:
4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Una gestione poco professionale e truffaldina"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eugenio Tenneriello  on Dec 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Business | Solo
203 people found this review helpful

L'albergo è molto elegante ed ha una collocazione strategica nel centro ristrutturato. Il personale del bar e delle pulizie eccezionale. Carentissimo di professionalità il personale di gestione amministrativa e di ricevimento.
Mi hanno addebitato due notti per un ospite inesistente.
Ho dovuto far testimoniare il portiere di notte che ha confermato la mia versione. Mi hanno detratto una notte, ma la seconda l'ho dovuta pagare perchè l'altro portiere non è stato reperito. Il primo giorno mi hanno fatto soggiornare all'hotel Riviera in altra zona e la mattina mi hanno fatto aspettare due ore circa per mandarmi a prendere dal taxi. Nel cambio euro con moneta cubana prendevano alte commissioni. A mio avviso il responsabile dell'albergo andrebbe rimosso dall'incarico in uno al personale del ricevimento clienti. Non parliamo della colazione, misera e dopo due giorni è mancata la marmellata. Se non viene cambiato il personale di gestione è sconsigliato il soggiorno.

Room Number:
10

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Du pour et du contre"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  masnada christophe  on Jan 25, 2008  >  10 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Jan, 2008
557 people found this review helpful

Un hôtel étonnant...Les serveurs en tenus de moine, les chambres sont des anciennes cellules de moines...Donc sans fenêtres et très sombres...Faut aimer ! Petit déjeuner infecte au café taberna à quelques pas.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Decent, and unfortunate."

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Soda Poper  on Mar 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010
610 people found this review helpful

It was a decent hotel, but I probably wouldn't come back. The staff was certainly friendly and did their best to make our stay enjoyable-however the room was nothing special. The air conditioning breaking halfway through didn't help matters much either.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Zimmer"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Yvonne Fernandes  on Mar 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jan, 1998
423 people found this review helpful

hier wird mit keinem Wort erwähnt, dass es sich bei den Standard - Zimmer um 18 Zimmer OHNE Fenster handelt!!! Es gibt lediglich 4 Zimmer mit Fenster (Junior Suiten), für die man dann einen Aufpreis von mindestens CUC 30.00 pro Nacht zahlen darf. Ein Standard Zimmer muss immer ein Fenster haben!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Price/quality very good"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Meijers  on Oct 27, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Oct, 2010
481 people found this review helpful

We stayed one night in los Frailes before going home. Price/quality was very good. Very historical hotel gave feeling of a monasterio. Very special. In the centre of Havana Vieja, a few meters from all important places. Reception very helpfull with aranging things for us. We feel guest there!!! Also a "Thank You" for the crew of Cuba hotel reservation who arranged all our hotels during our trip. We will come back. Jan Meijers Holland

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube