Los Frailes Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Los Frailes reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

El Comendador

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 4, 2014

Tejadillo

4.2 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 19, 2012

Beltran de Santa Cruz

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 29, 2012

Park View

3.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 27, 2014

Los Frailes  

Calle Teniente Rey No. 8 e/ Mercaderes y Oficios. Ciudad de La Habana
(Old Havana Maps)

"Perfecto emplazamiento en La Habana Vieja de un Hotel con encanto"
Posted by: paloma garcía on Nov 16, 2012
see all reviews

Los Frailes Reviews
Los Frailes Pictures and Information
Los Frailes Old Havana Cuba

#8
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.5

Based on 24 reviews

Los Frailes Information


Hotel Los Frailes is situated in the former house of the Marquis Pedro Pablo Duquesne. He was a ship's captain in the French Navy, and the fourth holder of this title of nobility. He arrived in Havana in 1763 after the death of King Louis XVI. Once admitted in the Spanish navy, he was assigned to the Havana Naval Station where he contributed toward the shipyard works, of which he later became the director.


Los Frailes official website
http://www.hotellosfrailescuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Los Frailes Reviews

Los Frailes Review: 3.5 of 5 24 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  10
Average
  5
Poor
  0
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (15)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
1 - 10 of 24

"febbraio 2010"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. patrizia donatelli  on Feb 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) JORDAN
Visited on: Jan, 1998
455 people found this review helpful

hotel centralissimo ma tranquillo, in zona pedonale, piccolo e intimo, austero (vecchio convento), ottimo servizio, camere impeccabili e ben arredate Mi è piaciuto per il suo charme, unico neo, le camere sono senza finestra (danno su patio) ad eccezione delle suites, molto belle, affacciate sulla calle e con terrazzino

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Zimmer"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Yvonne Fernandes  on Mar 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jan, 1998
423 people found this review helpful

hier wird mit keinem Wort erwähnt, dass es sich bei den Standard - Zimmer um 18 Zimmer OHNE Fenster handelt!!! Es gibt lediglich 4 Zimmer mit Fenster (Junior Suiten), für die man dann einen Aufpreis von mindestens CUC 30.00 pro Nacht zahlen darf. Ein Standard Zimmer muss immer ein Fenster haben!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Step Back In time"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda and Clayton Therien  on Feb 6, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2006
3075 people found this review helpful

We just got back from our two week trip to Varadero Cuba. We stayed 3 nights at the Los Frailes in Havana and would absolutely stay there again. Our room did not have a balcony, and no windows. Keep in mind that was a monestary and is around 300 years old (at least that's what I was told). Loads of character. Very clean room and the chambermaid made towel art on your bed every day. The staff were extremely friendly. No restaurant in the hotel but were served breakfast in the restaurant down the street (which was....okay...I guess). You won't regret staying at the Los Frailes.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Du pour et du contre"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  masnada christophe  on Jan 25, 2008  >  10 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Jan, 2008
557 people found this review helpful

Un hôtel étonnant...Les serveurs en tenus de moine, les chambres sont des anciennes cellules de moines...Donc sans fenêtres et très sombres...Faut aimer ! Petit déjeuner infecte au café taberna à quelques pas.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First Rate Hotel"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  GONZALEZ RUBEN DARIO  on Jul 21, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Jul, 2009
2393 people found this review helpful

We were very excited about our vacation given our destination and we weren't let done in the least! Not only the location but also the quality and warmth of the people, along with the confortable rooms, a great hotel. I would go back without the slightest hesitation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Great Hotel"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Samuel Springer  on Aug 20, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Barbados
Visited on: Aug, 2009
1876 people found this review helpful

I stayed here the night before I left Cuba. I had a mini-suite. It was a great room. When you go in the room you are in your own world, the outside is totally shut out. Of course you can open the balcony doors and invite the outside in. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I think I will either go back here for my honeymoon or anniversary. We like the small and personal feel to the hotel. The place is full of whimsy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Decent, and unfortunate."

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Soda Poper  on Mar 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010
610 people found this review helpful

It was a decent hotel, but I probably wouldn't come back. The staff was certainly friendly and did their best to make our stay enjoyable-however the room was nothing special. The air conditioning breaking halfway through didn't help matters much either.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Price/quality very good"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Meijers  on Oct 27, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Oct, 2010
481 people found this review helpful

We stayed one night in los Frailes before going home. Price/quality was very good. Very historical hotel gave feeling of a monasterio. Very special. In the centre of Havana Vieja, a few meters from all important places. Reception very helpfull with aranging things for us. We feel guest there!!! Also a "Thank You" for the crew of Cuba hotel reservation who arranged all our hotels during our trip. We will come back. Jan Meijers Holland

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were very pleased with our stay at Hostal Los Failes."

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Iris Allen  on Mar 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
132 people found this review helpful

Hostal Los Frailles is located in the heart of Old Havana, just a few steps from Plaza de Vieja - so is close to coffee shops, cafes, restaurants and jazz bars. The hotel has an attractive foyer consisting of a small lounge and bar area, with interesting murals depicting the former monastery. The rooms open onto a beautiful atrium filled with hanging vines. The rooms themselves are clean and attractive with newly renovated bathrooms, tv and air conditioning - but are windowless and modest in size. There is internet access for a small fee and a gift shop on the main floor. A hot breakfast is included and is available at the restaurant across the street. I heartily recommend this hotel. IA & GP

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best possible location in Havana Vieja"

Los Frailes
User Rating:  Los Frailes Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Johan Focquet  on May 11, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
123 people found this review helpful

Great location in traffic-free historic city centre, just off the Plaza Vieja. Upgrade to frontside rooms (with windows is advisable).

Room Number:
8

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube