Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center  

Península de Guanahacabibes, Sandino, Pinar del Rio.
(Maria la Gorda Maps)

"Hola Beautiful Maria La Gorda"
Posted by: Merrill  on Dec 22, 2012
see all reviews

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Reviews
Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Pictures and Information
Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Maria La Gorda Cuba

#1
of 1 Hotels in Maria La Gorda

User rating 4.0

Based on 16 reviews

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Information


María la Gorda’s International Diving Center is located on the far West of Cuba; the Peninsula Guanahacabibes (declared Biosphere Reserve by UNESCO in 1987), in the province Pinar del Río.

Although María la Gorda is glorified by divers, it is also a magnificent option for eco-tourism.

Maria la Gorda has 55 comfortable cabins, some of them directly at the beach, others landward surrounded by varied vegetation.

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center official website
http://www.hotelmarialagorda-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Reviews

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Review: 4.0 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  4
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (6)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
1 - 10 of 16

"Hola Beautiful Maria La Gorda"

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center
User Rating:  Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Merrill  on Dec 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) NEW ZEALAND
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
132 people found this review helpful

Beautiful place beyond words- Heaven on earth- will return

Room Number:
318

Room Block:
Dont remember

Arrival:
It was bliss to arrive at this paradise on the 11th December stayed through till midday 13th, only regret is I didn't get to wave bye to Pablo the amazing bar staff member who was such a gentlemen. :-)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Schade, schade, schade!"

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center
User Rating:  Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rolf Boesch  on Apr 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
184 people found this review helpful

Schade!
Ein toller Ort, das Hotel eine Baustelle. Viel Baulärm! Die anlage wird erweitert. Erstaunlich, gibt es doch jetzt schon keinen einzigen ganzen Liegestuhl.
Das Essen ist sehr mässig.
Vom Schnorcheln waren wir enttäuscht. Tauchen soll schön sein. Der strand ist wunderschön, aber er gefällt auch den Sandflöhen. Auch nach vier Wochen Cuba ist unser Lörper noch total übersäht von den Spuren der Bisse. Mehr als hundert, nicht übertrieben. Zum Glück beissen sie nur die erste Woche.
Wir haben drei Nächte gebucht, sind aber nur zwei geblieben.
Schade, schade, es wäre ein so schöner Ort!

Room Number:
Weiss ich nicht mehr

Room Block:
Seeblick

Arrival:
28.03.2012

Rooms:
Einfach, aber in Ordnung.

Restaurants and Bars:
Wir haben nur am Büffet gegessen. Der Vorteil ist, man wird auch satt wenn nur ein bis zwei Speisen gut sind.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Kein ganzer Liegestuhl. Sandflöhe zu Tausenden.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Ausfahrt mit dem Cataraman war schön. Beim Schnorcheln haben wir nicht viel gesehen.

Other Comments:
Wirklich schade für den tollen Ort am Ende der Welt!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Essential, quality improvable with a little, avoid self-service restaurant, good for 2-3 days or more if diving"

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center
User Rating:  Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  nicola cascino  on Mar 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
192 people found this review helpful

We had front sea room, single floor. Big room with enough silent a/c device but two single big beds to join together instead of one double bed. Good mattresses. Bathroom ok but flooded floor after shower (no problem with 30° C). Room clean service good. Poor breakfast compared with "casa particulares". Self-service restaurant is rather dirt, food is not good and fresh for 12 CUC. "Menu" restaurant is better therefore always crowded and service is slow (normally wait food 30-50 min). Sit get a Mojito and at the same time order your meal. Lobster is expensive, other courses with drink approx. 12-18 CUC.
Beautiful bay, snorkeling close to the shore is good but I suppose wonderful offshore (we didn't).
A lot of noise during the day due to working machine for building new rooms (horrible) at 70 m from the beach.
Pay attention to: mosquitos at sunrise and sunset for 1-1/2 hour and crabs on the road close to La Bajada (injure your tires) especially late afternoon.
Kind staff.

(The review considers the quality level found in other places visited at Cuba)

Room Number:
27

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Diving Center Maria La Gorda"

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center
User Rating:  Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Aud Torsøy TVEITE  on Mar 14, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
201 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
2+5

Room Block:
Seawiew

Arrival:
Nice and helpful people in the reseption. We upgraded to seawiew. I think it was well spendt money. Then we stayed at the nice beach close to the divingcenter and breakfastbuilding.

Rooms:
We had two rooms. Nr. 2 was nice enough, but seemed a bit tired. The shower was running all the time, I think it had been running for a long time. I asked, but they didnt fix it. Because of a sense of smell and sound of the rapidly tapping water we had to keep the door to bathroom close all the time.The beds was good, and we enjoyed sitting outside.
Nr. 5 was upstairs. This room was in good conditions, I recomend.

Restaurants and Bars:
We used the al a carte restaurant, it was all right. We ate a lot of sea food.
God athmosphere. We tryed the eveningbuffet once, but went back to the al a carte.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice beach. A lot of space for everyone. God snorkeling, my husband saw a turtle for 5 minutes the first day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
My husband and son were diving 1-2 dives a day for four days. They were satisfied with the equipment and the divingmaster. One of the best divingspots they had expirienced.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cat urine in abundance"

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center
User Rating:  Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Parent Sylvie  on Mar 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Party | With friend
222 people found this review helpful

The landscape is beautiful, clear water, fine sand, the sun now though. Otherwise, the food, service and jovial staff are inadequate and very poor. But the worst is that male cats urinating everywhere (including on my luggage), jumping on tables, eating our plates. The smell is disgusting. I've never seen that. Has a totally discouraged as long as the problem is corrected.

Room Number:
30

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Remote Cuba"

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center
User Rating:  Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jean Dexters  on Feb 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
236 people found this review helpful

Excellent location, wild and beautifull

Room Block:
Log Cabin

Arrival:
Perfect and fast

Rooms:
Quite too basic. Fridge was out of order. Bed and bedsheet could be improved

Restaurants and Bars:
Bar excellent. Restaurant: good but slow service

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Exceptional location on the beach

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice cabins in the Mangrove, very good restaurant (for Cuba)"

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center
User Rating:  Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tom Giesen  on Aug 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
260 people found this review helpful

You have to calculate a very though ride to Maria del Gordo. Absolutely the worst road of the whole Cuba trip (Maria Del Gordo till Santa Clara).
But then it is exquisit. Nice beach, good snorkeling, good food, small hotel so quite tranquil. (they are building new rooms so next year it will be a litlle less tranquil.
Very nice staff. And lots of hummingbirds, crabs, and other small animals.

Arrival:
27 july 2011

Rooms:
spacious, good beds, large bathroom, nice outside deck.

Restaurants and Bars:
good cook!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful location, poor services"

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center
User Rating:  Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rodriguez Del Rio  on Aug 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
275 people found this review helpful

The setting is great, with a nice beach, cristal clear waters and wonderful sea bottoms right in front of the beach. Rich marine life even for snorkeling from the beach. Amazing locations for diving.

However, most issues depending on the Hotel organization are quite disappointing. Checkout at 12.00 and checkin at 16.00, but rooms may not be ready by that time. Friendly but inefficient staff, both at the reception desk and at the bar, restaurant and buffet. Chaotic organization regarding meals, as after paying the buffet at the reception desk you may arrive at the buffet room to find out that nearly all the food is finished. And so on...

However, if you are not too demanding with service, huts in the woods are nice and the place is great for diving and snorkeling.

Tip: do not forget to take strong insect repellent with you, as sandflies are terrible in the morning and evening!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Diving paradise"

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center
User Rating:  Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Jelena Cvejic  on Oct 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) YUGOSLAVIA
Visited on: Oct, 2010
499 people found this review helpful

Very nice hotel at the great beach with cristal clear water, white sand and palm trees! Perfect place for divers! Great stuff in hotel and diving club!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Tolle Unterwasserwelt, gutes Abendbuffet"

Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center
User Rating:  Maria La Gorda - International Diving Center Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Rita Schmidt  on Apr 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Apr, 2010
765 people found this review helpful

Schön dort, wirklich tolle Unterwasserwelt und ein super Abendbuffet wie ich es sonst nicht in Kuba gefunden habe. Allerdings könnten die Taucheranzüge mal generalüberholt werden.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube