Moka Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Moka reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Moka  

Km 51 Autopista a Pinar del Río,Comunidad Las Terrazas, Candelaria, Pinar del Río.
(Las Terrazas Maps)

"Amazing Location - Shame about the staff"
Posted by: Stevenson Graham on Apr 12, 2012
see all reviews

Moka Reviews
Moka Pictures and Information
Moka Las Terrazas Cuba

#1
of 1 Hotels in Las Terrazas

User rating 4.4

Based on 14 reviews

Moka Information


Located just forty-nine miles west of Havana in the Sierra del Rosario Biosphere Reserve, Hotel Moka is one of the most unique hotels of Cuba. Set amid the forested hills of Las Terrazas, it's difficult to say where the 4-star hotel stops and the forest starts. In short, the Moka is romantic, intimate, and fully deserving of your time.

Moka official website
http://www.hotelmoka-lasterrazas.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Moka Reviews

Moka Review: 4.4 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  6
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (7)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 14

"Amazing Location - Shame about the staff"

Moka
User Rating:  Moka Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Stevenson Graham  on Apr 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
172 people found this review helpful

Hotel Moka is in an amazing location. The view from all parts of the hotel and all the rooms is of unspoilt lucious greenery and the only noise is from the birds, the occasional bit of traffic to the hotel and from the zipwire which crosses Las Terrazas.
The bedrooms are a great size and of a good standard with a large balcony. The bathrooms too are big, but are a bit scruffy; ours had some mould on the walls and looked like it could do with a re-paint, although this was more than compensated for by the stunning view from the clear glass bathroom window. Having a shower so exposed is a great experience!
The only real let down at the hotel are the staff. Our arrival was met with something akin to annoyance from the man on reception who seemed more interested in anything other than checking us in. This lazy and frustrating attitude continued with all other interactions we had with reception, where your enquiry would be stopped midway to answer a phone, talk to another member of staff in Spanish or on one occasion to check in a large group of tourists that had arrived midway through our conversation!
Breakfast at the hotel was disappointing too - after eating in Casa's for the rest of our trip we had grown used to good food, alas the food here was not up to the same standard.
Perhaps my biggest gripe with the hotel was trying to book a taxi to leave. After finally booking one, the taxi itself showed up over an hour after the time it was booked for. Whilst this was no fault of the hotel, they showed zero interest in trying to assist us and just said that it would arrive when it arrived.
Overall, I'd stay here again simply because of the amazing views and activities around the hotel. But if there was a choice of places to stay in Las Terrazas, I wouldn't be coming back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful setting"

Moka
User Rating:  Moka Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sharman  on Feb 12, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
206 people found this review helpful

The hotel had a fabulous setting on the hillside overlooking the village of Las Terrazas. The reception area was amazing with the tree growing up through the middle, and the plants and fountains making a stunning impact.
Our spacious well appointed room was lovely, we could not fault it.! The shower and bath were especially luxurious! We also had a balcony overlooking the village. The whole hotel was spotless.

There are lovely grounds around the hotel, and although we did not use it, the pool looked very nice, with an excellent tennis court near it.

We got used to trekking up and down the outside steps to the village, but felt that there needed to be more lighting and a handrail, as my husband, who uses a walking stick, had to take great care.

There were activities organised by the hotel, and we enjoyed the early morning bird walk. However, as many activities were early, arrangements need to be put in place to either provide a packed breakfast, or keep the breakfast room open for when you return. Having said that, the reception kindly got the kitchen to make us something to take with us when we requested that.

The food served in the hotel was a little disappointing. On the mornings when we went to the breakfast room, often there was very little to be had, and the staff did not seem in a hurry to replenish stocks. Other guests were also dissatisfied with this.

We ate in the restaurant twice in the evenings, because there was a lack of restaurants in the village. Adequate, but nothing to write home about!

Las Terrazas was a very different experience to other places we visited in Cuba. We may have got more out of it if we had hired a car. We stayed three nights, and that was long enough to do the things we wanted.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good and very beautyfull place"

Moka
User Rating:  Moka Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laurence Blanchard  on Feb 5, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
141 people found this review helpful

A very good place. Confort, service, activities. Very well for the Canopy Trip.

Room Number:
33

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great hotel!"

Moka
User Rating:  Moka Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anastasia Nazarova  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
201 people found this review helpful

Amazing, one of a kind eco hotel in the mountain!

Restaurants and Bars:
Vegetarian restaurant is the best!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good"

Moka
User Rating:  Moka Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Emma Neukom  on Dec 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
183 people found this review helpful

Pleasantly surprised by this hotel - lovely clean hotel with amazing views. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We only had breakfast at the hotel which was very good.

Arrival:
Very friendly and helpful staff

Rooms:
Good clean room but shower didnt work

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Lovely grounds, very nice pool area

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Definitely worth a visit

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice room with good view"

Moka
User Rating:  Moka Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  sander van ginkel  on Nov 21, 2011  >  5 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
188 people found this review helpful

Nice big rooms with the bathroom and balcony overlooking the valley. The rooms are slightly damp because the hotel block is situated in the forest but the nice views and balconies make up for it. Very nice swimming pool and good food in the restaurants. Go for a guided hike in the beautiful nature.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect town and location, need to improve customer service"

Moka
User Rating:  Moka Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jacqueline Hislop  on Jun 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
252 people found this review helpful

You can't fault the location of this hotel. The town is amazing, and the views from the room are sensational. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The bathrooms could be updated. The main letdown was the (lack of) customer service. It felt like we had interrupted the staff's resting time when we arrived at 3pm to check in. We also booked a hike (which was amazing) but again, the service was very poor. We weren't told of the hotel services i.e. whether guests could use the pool, details of the restaurant, breakfast times etc. While we loved the sleepiness of the town, we didn't expect lazy service at the hotel.

Room Number:
17

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"how you can sleep at the top of the trees in la sierra del rosario"

Moka
User Rating:  Moka Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Agnès TIRARD  on May 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Party | With Spouse/Partner
238 people found this review helpful

It has been a really wonderfull stay,in a confortable bedroom with a nice view on the lake, and we felt we were leaving at the top of big trees among orchids and singing birds.
i think it is the best hotel, i have ever been in the world.

Room Number:
23

Arrival:
20/04/2011

Rooms:
Quite good.

Restaurants and Bars:
It is the only bad point :The menu of the restaurant could be better.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Quite good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel Moka, one of Cuba’s finest."

Moka
User Rating:  Moka Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie  on Mar 1, 2010  >  34 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2010
327 people found this review helpful

It took us about one hour to drive from the heart of the city of Havana to hotel Moka located in and overlooking the community of las Terrazas. The hotel is literally built around a huge living tree which is just one of the outstanding features of this eco-friendly hotel.

Our room offers all the comfort you might expect from a 4 star hotel like good firm beds, a safety-deposit box, a mini fridge filled with (moderately priced) alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages and a hairdryer. What makes hotel Moka truly unique becomes clear the moment we open our balcony doors. Through the treetops we look upon the las Terrazas community and her surroundings. The blue sky, tree covered hills, lush vegetation, manmade lake and winding pathways that connect the white houses and apartments with red stone tile roofs, are all captured in one real life view featuring an exaggerated sense of perspective. This is about the same view that you will enjoy while taking a shower or bath since the entire bathroom wall is made of glass. Fantastic! It is like taking a shower in a tree house.

We passed by the swimming pool and tennis court. Though we did not make use of these facilities, both looked fine. Our original plan was to find a guide who could accompany us on an afternoon walk tough no one was available. We decided to find our own path and climbed yet another hill following sporadic yellow arrows, which apart from suggesting a direction, did not offer us any clue to where we were heading. Our parents age 75 and 80 just followed while enjoying the trees, minding their steps and fending off the viciously biting flying insects. After hiking for about two hours we arrived at a sign with 4 yellow arrows pointing at all possible directions, prompting us to trace back our steps rather than taking further changes. After “sweating it” for a while, we were glad to see the village again. Next time I will probably avoid this “go with the flow” approach, having said that, my parents really liked the adventure.

For dinner we decided going to Fonda de Mercedes, down the (long) stairs from the hotel into the community, where we enjoyed straightforward yet extra tasty Cuban food and a bottle of red wine.
The small hotel bar was a big surprise too! We were entertained by a group of outstanding musicians while the genuine fun, appreciative and participative audience perfected an already fantastic atmosphere. The mojito’s and margaritas, prepared by the professional and friendly bartender, were not cheap but excellent. We all went to sleep happy!

The next day a satisfying breakfast was served in the restaurant of the hotel. We met up with friends and visited the former house of Polo Montañez, one of Cuba’s most celebrated musicians whose music and sudden rise from poverty into stardom captivated the hearts and imagination of many Cubans. He died in a car accident back in 2002. The house now functions as a museum and Polo’s brother is curator.

Before returning to the capital we enjoyed an elaborate lunch at the renowned vegetarian restaurant El Romero, a must for vegetarians and a culinary discovery for those of us who are not.

Our 30-hour stay in las Terrazas and hotel Moka was an all-round 5 star experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Special!"

Moka
User Rating:  Moka Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Marie-Marthe Schmidt  on Feb 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jan, 1998
1085 people found this review helpful

Very Special!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube