Nacional de Cuba Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Nacional de Cuba reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Vedado Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Cohiba

4.9 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

Tryp Habana Libre

3.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed May 13, 2012

Nacional de Cuba  

Calle 0 esq. 21, Vedado. Ciudad de La Habana. Cuba.
(Vedado maps)

"Muchas cosas buenas y muchisimas malas en el hotel Nacional"
Posted by: antonio on Jul 25, 2012
see all reviews

Nacional de Cuba Reviews
Nacional de Cuba Pictures and Information
Nacional de Cuba Vedado Cuba

#2
of 12 Hotels in Vedado

User rating 4.6

Based on 60 reviews

Nacional de Cuba Information


Enjoying a location as privileged as its guest-list, this restored, distinguished 427-room hotel is a confluence of class, comfort and history, a window to the life of the city, both present and past.

Nacional de Cuba official website
http://www.hotelnacional-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Nacional de Cuba Reviews

Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.6 of 5 60 reviews
Excellent
  49
Very good
  7
Average
  3
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (4)
Leisure (18)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (7)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
1 - 10 of 60

"Muchas cosas buenas y muchisimas malas en el hotel Nacional"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  antonio  on Jul 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Puerto Rico
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Business | Solo
186 people found this review helpful

El Hotel es Bello por lo tradicional pero al igual que muchas cosas en Cuba hay q hacerle mantenimiento. Me cai porque la silla de la habitacion tenia una pata partida, la puerta de la nevera tambien estaba partida. Por ser hispano pasaba por Cubano y me senti discriminado. Desde que llegue a el Hotel tuve q subir yo mismo la maleta... nadie salio a atenderme. Los empleados del hotel eran bien descorteses ni los buenos dias me daban. Es tristes que solo sean amables con los turistas Rubios ojos azules... si tienes fasciones de hispanos mejor ves a otro hotel. Las Damas que trabajan en el hotel si son muy amables.. Sera que es un Machismo o envidia del Varon Cubano?...

Room Number:
309

Room Block:
309

Arrival:
le entrada a el hotel desastroza... ni la maleta me cojieron a el llegar...

Rooms:
linda pero lefalta mantenimiento la silla con la pata partida..la puerta de la nevera rota..

Restaurants and Bars:
no hay cucharas pequenas en el restaurante y si la pides los meseros vrones te ponen mala cara.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
nice

Other Comments:
mantenimiento a el hotel... pero si es bellisimo

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"History and comfort in a good mix."

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  AUDUN PEDERSEN  on Mar 5, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
373 people found this review helpful

We had 4 days at the end of a two weeks Cuba tour. We loved the environment and the service from the staff. The swimming pool and the park area is a huge plus. If someone like to relax on the hotel area and explore the city the rest - this hotel offers the perfect combination.

Room Number:
752

Arrival:
Lot of people and crowdy around 1200.

Rooms:
Nice and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good food and nice service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very attractive area. Always available beds and good poolbar. The 2 cuc for towels the last day when we had checked out could have been dropped. Slow Internet line - but that is maybe nothing the hotel can do with.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excelente Hotel"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maria de los Angeles  on Feb 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
360 people found this review helpful

Muy buen hotel, lleno de historia. Personal sumamente atento, amables. Muy recomendable.

Room Number:
508

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An historic hotel"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  jean-baptiste metmer  on Jan 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
376 people found this review helpful

An historic hotel located at beautiful place.
An amazing view from the garden on the Malecon.

Rooms are cosy even if the bathroom and more precisely the tub would be renovated.

The breakfast is pretty good but the coffee would be better with some training.

Room Number:
517

Arrival:
Horrible check in
People at reception don't speak very well in english.
Lots of papers to fill in before getting keys room.

Rooms:
Cosy room but bathroom to renovate

Restaurants and Bars:
Good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Superb swimming pool and gardens

Fitness room work in progress but we don't know : "how time does it get ?"

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
nothing
Some concerts at the bar in the gardens

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Historic Nacional"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian Phillips  on Dec 27, 2011  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
347 people found this review helpful

Rooms:
we had 2 nights at the Nacional -the first in a lovely suite on the 4th floor with a sitting room and sea view. after missing our planned flight to Cayo Coco we had to return for another night and were grateful for a room on the 7th floor with city views
the bathroom supplies are wonderful! lots of towels - the suite had a bath and a separate shower!

Restaurants and Bars:
we loved the 24 hour Cine restaurant - the seafood spaghetti was great and the fried chicken amazing! staff was numerous and very attentive. the incuded breakfast buffet was terrific too - incredible number of choices! the mojitos at the bars are well -praised - the best we have ever had!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
we used the larger pool - very pleasant - never saw the other older one used- loved the grounds - the cannons, the underground memorials to the Bay of Pigs, the views of the Malecon

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
this is a very special historic hotel - well kept for 80 years old - numerous staff and all helpful and pleasant
there are shows in the hotel but we did not attend -house band in one bar was excellent

Other Comments:
i would recommend this hotel to anyone - an experience not to be missed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If only had better Customer Service..."

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Juan  on Dec 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
355 people found this review helpful

A good friend and I just recently traveled from Boston to Havana during the International Film Festival and the Hotel Nacional was where most of the Festival's collateral events were taking place so we chose to stay there.
The Hotel looks mostly clean and in an old-fashioned-way-elegant. You can tell this is a historical building and still has its magic and charm but it is showing the need of maintenance. Rooms were ok, better than expected for such an old building, finding your room though could be a huge challenge! Breakfast, Bars and activities were great and fun thanks in part to such a big event.
However, the most annoying experience we had everyday was having the security guard stopping us every single minute we tried to go to our room. they would watch us walk through the Lobby to the elevators and once the door opened they would run all accross the lobby to stop the elevator doors and ask for identification, no matter if the elevator was full of other guests. It got to the point of being really offensive and upsetting and I ended up speaking to the Manager in three different ocassions and days to not avail or any response but just a sarcastic smile. (Both my friend and I look have Cuban features. We were born in Cuba but have lived abroad since we were teenagers. we are both movie aficionados and were looking forward to participating in this event)It did not happen to everyone, only those that had some Cuban features!
This is a Hotel that claims 5 stars so maybe they should come up with a more customer friendly system to identify guests without making it an embarrassing situation...maybe bracelets, a pin or just a little memory training to learn recognize hotel guests in a better way... While in Havana, We had the chance to watch an unfinished version of the film 7 Days in Havana and I laughed so much to see that my two major complains (finding your room and being frequently id'd) were accurately depicted in two of the shorts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful stay"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  daichi morioka  on Dec 9, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) JAPAN
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
482 people found this review helpful

i stayed at this hotel for 4 days. the room was clean and had a nice view. i was really impressed with massive range of breakfast. only disappointing thing was coffee. the automatic server was half broken. i had bad milk coffee every morning.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My stay was excellent"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Milva Kalt  on Nov 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Business | Solo
323 people found this review helpful

I stayed in one of the renovated rooms (403). The room was very nice, big and clean. The breakfast buffett had a big choice as well as dinner.
I really enjoyed my stay in the Hotel National and whenever I have to go back to Havana on business, I will stay in this hotel.

Room Number:
403

Room Block:
no idea

Arrival:
I arrived very late in the night, so check in was done quickly

Rooms:
nice, big and clean

Restaurants and Bars:
the breakfast and dinner buffet was excellent. I dont recall what the name of the restaurant was.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I did not go there, as I travelled on business

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
did not use them

Other Comments:
I will be back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A duty to visitors in Cuba"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ele0nora wolnerman  on Oct 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ISRAEL
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
389 people found this review helpful

It's not just a hotel, it includes restaurants, bars, pool,
Amazing view - a complete experience

Room Number:
435

Arrival:
23-25/10/11

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Comfortable, friendly and nice"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Julio Miranda  on Oct 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
361 people found this review helpful

Without following the parameters of a 5-star room in the U.S., the hotel is comfortable, clean, spacious, beautiful in the fashion of the 30's, with all the comforts of today. Bars, restaurants and cafes are clean and excellent service, like service throughout the hotel (frontdesk, housekeeping, porters, bartenders, etc.) that is friendly and helpful. Special mention to show Cabaret Parisien, truly spectacular, we recommend to all visitors ..............

Room Number:
519

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube