Nacional de Cuba Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Nacional de Cuba reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Vedado Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Cohiba

4.8 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2014

Tryp Habana Libre

3.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed May 13, 2012

Nacional de Cuba  

Calle 0 esq. 21, Vedado. Ciudad de La Habana. Cuba.
(Vedado maps)

"Muchas cosas buenas y muchisimas malas en el hotel Nacional"
Posted by: antonio on Jul 25, 2012
see all reviews

Nacional de Cuba Reviews
Nacional de Cuba Pictures and Information
Nacional de Cuba Vedado Cuba

#2
of 12 Hotels in Vedado

User rating 4.6

Based on 60 reviews

Nacional de Cuba Information


Enjoying a location as privileged as its guest-list, this restored, distinguished 427-room hotel is a confluence of class, comfort and history, a window to the life of the city, both present and past.

Nacional de Cuba official website
http://www.hotelnacional-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Nacional de Cuba Reviews

Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.6 of 5 60 reviews
Excellent
  49
Very good
  7
Average
  3
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (4)
Leisure (18)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (7)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
1 - 10 of 60

"Hotel Nacional - Havana - An Abject Experience"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Benjamin Singh  on Jul 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
157 people found this review helpful

We spent the last night of our 10 day stay in Cuba at the Hotel Nacional, which is supposedly one of the best, if not the best, hotel in the capital. I am sad to say that like most other "5 Star" hotels in Cuba, the Nacional fell way short of our expectations on all levels, particularly service levels and the quality of the dining.

Upon check-in, I was utterly dismayed to learn that we would have to pay CUC3 for the use of the safety deposit box. It is a complete anathema to me that a 5 star hotel can contemplate charging its clients for the provision of such a basic service. I was also told that I would have to pay an additional CUC3 for the use of an adapter, again, a service which should be complimentary. Not a great start to the stay!

A bell boy showed us to our room, which at GBP80 a night, was perfectly decent. The bell boy in question did nothing more than his job in showing us around the room, yet he lingered at the door an embarassingly long time expecting a tip. Whilst I appreciate that wages in Cuba are very low and that tipping provides badly needed uplifts on this front, the Cuban tourist industry needs a brutal reality check - staff are tipped for oustanding service and going beyond their ordinary job description, they are not tipped for simply meeting their responsibilities!

We left the room to dine at the traditional Cuban restaurant within the hotel, the mojitos were excellent and the food was rather bland, your typical fare of morros and christianos accompanied by dry pork.

Breakfast the next day in the main restaurant was appalling. A poor selection of badly cooked food, dirty, unprepared tables lacking cutlery and coffee mugs, surly, unhelpful staff abounding.

The Nacional, like many of its 5 star counterparts, relies on its architecture and history to hold itself out as an outstanding hotel. The reality is that it is, at best, a 3 star hotel, and it has a very long way to go before it can claim to be an international class 5 star hotel.

All in all, a complete disappointment, but you will not be able to find much better in Havana. We stayed in the Sevilla and the Telegrapho in Havana and those hotels were appalling on all counts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Reservations mean nothing?"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Phil Esworthy  on Mar 30, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
166 people found this review helpful

Booked our reservation in January for late March. Arrived to be told they didn't have a room for us. They did move us to another hotel, the Havana Libre, 3 blocks away, which was quite nice, except that there was only hot water for the shower, no cold, which made for interesting showers. Very pissed and disappointed, as we would have stayed in old Havana if we were going to be denied the experience of staying at the classic Hotel National.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"If only had better Customer Service..."

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Juan  on Dec 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
355 people found this review helpful

A good friend and I just recently traveled from Boston to Havana during the International Film Festival and the Hotel Nacional was where most of the Festival's collateral events were taking place so we chose to stay there.
The Hotel looks mostly clean and in an old-fashioned-way-elegant. You can tell this is a historical building and still has its magic and charm but it is showing the need of maintenance. Rooms were ok, better than expected for such an old building, finding your room though could be a huge challenge! Breakfast, Bars and activities were great and fun thanks in part to such a big event.
However, the most annoying experience we had everyday was having the security guard stopping us every single minute we tried to go to our room. they would watch us walk through the Lobby to the elevators and once the door opened they would run all accross the lobby to stop the elevator doors and ask for identification, no matter if the elevator was full of other guests. It got to the point of being really offensive and upsetting and I ended up speaking to the Manager in three different ocassions and days to not avail or any response but just a sarcastic smile. (Both my friend and I look have Cuban features. We were born in Cuba but have lived abroad since we were teenagers. we are both movie aficionados and were looking forward to participating in this event)It did not happen to everyone, only those that had some Cuban features!
This is a Hotel that claims 5 stars so maybe they should come up with a more customer friendly system to identify guests without making it an embarrassing situation...maybe bracelets, a pin or just a little memory training to learn recognize hotel guests in a better way... While in Havana, We had the chance to watch an unfinished version of the film 7 Days in Havana and I laughed so much to see that my two major complains (finding your room and being frequently id'd) were accurately depicted in two of the shorts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"desajustado precio /calidad"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  eduardo marcuello albalat  on Jun 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Jun, 2010
869 people found this review helpful

hotel que no cumplio con la publicidad que se muestra, no hay caja de seguridad gartuita como anuncian, cobran 3 cuc por dia, de la invitacion al parisien, ni saben que esxiste, en la piscina hay que pagar opor el alquiler de las toallas( si no las bajas de la habitacion), la habitacion normal, la bañea con desconchones, el aire funciona cuando quiere, etc, esta bien, pero no es la joya de la corona, no pienso volver

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not too bad"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shaowei Wang  on Mar 23, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) CHINA
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
162 people found this review helpful

It's definitely not an international standard 5 star hotel. I got a standard room, and it's tiny. The sheets and pillows gave my an insanitary feeling as they smelled unclean. Staff were not too friendly. But overall, not too bad. To my great surprise, they offered me a 24-hour Internet pass for 20 cuc, which was nice as the other hotels that I stayed in Cuba all asked for 6-8 cuc per hour. The Internet speed was not decent at all though. I however do not recommend to stay in Vedado. The benefit of staying at a hotel in Old Havana is that you can enjoy the night life without the pain of night transportation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Estupendo exterior, mejorable interior"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sr. Juan Prego  on Jul 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Jul, 2010
819 people found this review helpful

Las habitaciones estandar del Hotel dejan bastante que desear en relación a otros de la misma categoría aunque no en limpieza y atención del personal. Ésto es de lo mejor que hay en La Habana. Los exteriores y la situación del hotel son incomparables y ninguno otro de la ciudad puede competir con éste. Yo pasé mis vacaciones en este Hotel en el año 2008, el 2009 preferí pasarlas en el Habana Libre y la experiencia fue muy desagradable, incluso me robaron ropa, cinturones y calzado. Me pasé unos doce días de mis vacaciones, dos veces al día, hablando con la señorita de Atención al cliente pero no me hicieron ni caso. Por el contrario, en el Hotel Nacional todo fueron atenciones y un trato estupendo de todo el personal tanto con los huéspedes como con las amistades cubanas que entraban con nosotros. La piscina estupenda y los helados que sirven en su Bar, riquísimos. Sin embargo, el interior necesita una buena reforma para adaptarlo a este siglo.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful stay at the Nacional"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anne-Sophie Plisson  on Aug 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
163 people found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights at The Nacional, the first night the hotel upgraded us to the executive floor. we had a beautiful room with a view on the water. our second stay, 3 days later, we didn't like our rooms so they gave us nicer rooms.
the breakfast is amazing the best we ever had in Cuba !
the gardens of the hotel are beautiful and very relaxing o have a drink or just read in the afternoon.
the pool is very nice.
it is not located in the old Havana, but the ride in a cab is 5mn and even one day we walked from the Prado I would recommend this hotel.

Anne-Sophie

Room Number:
447, 638 (executive floor)

Other Comments:
one afternoon there was no hot water but this happens a lot in cuba !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"may day celebrations,"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  jim kendall  on Jun 28, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2008
2551 people found this review helpful

Our party stayed in the National for 7 nights. The staff were most helpful but above all made you feel welcome.The breakfast was really enjoyable and the food served outside/inside restautrants was edible not great but against other restaurants in Havna OK. I would recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Value for money only a bit far from the city centre"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ondrej Chaloupecky  on May 11, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) CZECH REPUBLIC
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
158 people found this review helpful

We spent there two nights and must say that rooms are large and well equiped and comfortable and breakfast generous, nice sea view from several rooms. Of course for old Havana tours a cab or rented car is necessary. And slighly strange is that there are separate desks for check in and check out but I never saw operating both at the same moment.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"una buona scelta"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  renato vaia  on Sep 1, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
155 people found this review helpful

una buona scelta, anche se un pò lontana dal centro di havana vieja, tuttavia vicino a "la rampa", camere forse un pò datate (in particolare il bagno) ma comunque tutto l'hotel trasuda storia.... fantastico il patio e la colazione davvero principesca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube