Nacional de Cuba Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Nacional de Cuba reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Vedado Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Cohiba

4.8 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2014

Tryp Habana Libre

3.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed May 13, 2012

Nacional de Cuba  

Calle 0 esq. 21, Vedado. Ciudad de La Habana. Cuba.
(Vedado maps)

"Muchas cosas buenas y muchisimas malas en el hotel Nacional"
Posted by: antonio on Jul 25, 2012
see all reviews

Nacional de Cuba Reviews
Nacional de Cuba Pictures and Information
Nacional de Cuba Vedado Cuba

#2
of 12 Hotels in Vedado

User rating 4.6

Based on 60 reviews

Nacional de Cuba Information


Enjoying a location as privileged as its guest-list, this restored, distinguished 427-room hotel is a confluence of class, comfort and history, a window to the life of the city, both present and past.

Nacional de Cuba official website
http://www.hotelnacional-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Nacional de Cuba Reviews

Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.6 of 5 60 reviews
Excellent
  49
Very good
  7
Average
  3
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (4)
Leisure (18)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (7)
With friend (2)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
11 - 20 of 60

"A great historical place to stay"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan Dixon-Carter  on Oct 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
277 people found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights at the Hotel National and I really enjoyed it here. Even though it is a little bit dated and any refurbishments are not great, I enjoyed the facilities available and every one knows where the Hotel National is.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Un excelente hotel, buen servicio, y para las circunstancias cubanas superó mis expectativas"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sergio Acosta  on Sep 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Business | Solo
112 people found this review helpful

Personal muy amable, hotel para sus condiciones en muy estado, servicio serio y respetuoso, en fin volvería siempre...

Room Number:
825

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"una buona scelta"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  renato vaia  on Sep 1, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
158 people found this review helpful

una buona scelta, anche se un pò lontana dal centro di havana vieja, tuttavia vicino a "la rampa", camere forse un pò datate (in particolare il bagno) ma comunque tutto l'hotel trasuda storia.... fantastico il patio e la colazione davvero principesca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful stay at the Nacional"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anne-Sophie Plisson  on Aug 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
164 people found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights at The Nacional, the first night the hotel upgraded us to the executive floor. we had a beautiful room with a view on the water. our second stay, 3 days later, we didn't like our rooms so they gave us nicer rooms.
the breakfast is amazing the best we ever had in Cuba !
the gardens of the hotel are beautiful and very relaxing o have a drink or just read in the afternoon.
the pool is very nice.
it is not located in the old Havana, but the ride in a cab is 5mn and even one day we walked from the Prado I would recommend this hotel.

Anne-Sophie

Room Number:
447, 638 (executive floor)

Other Comments:
one afternoon there was no hot water but this happens a lot in cuba !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was a history itself but very romantic."

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  HAE YEONG JEON  on Jul 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) KOREA, REPUBLIC OF
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
159 people found this review helpful

If you want to experience cuba's modern history and be in a romantic mood?
Then don't hesitate where to stay.
Hotel Nacional de Cuba is the right place to satisfy you.

Although swimming pool is a little bit satisfied, it wasn't botheres me.
I enjoyed its historical building. being relax, and fun at night.
Especially hotel's terrace is terrific enough to feel exotic atmosphere with cuban cultural activities. It was so amazing.

Plz keep in mind check-in time is important when you make a reservation.
They don't allow early check-in before your prospective check-in time in online booking. But it is possible to change it in advance.

Room Number:
318

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Swimming pool only. It is a typical pool. So so.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Cuban bands and dance were amazing. You don't have to pay a lot.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel Nacional - Havana - An Abject Experience"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Benjamin Singh  on Jul 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
158 people found this review helpful

We spent the last night of our 10 day stay in Cuba at the Hotel Nacional, which is supposedly one of the best, if not the best, hotel in the capital. I am sad to say that like most other "5 Star" hotels in Cuba, the Nacional fell way short of our expectations on all levels, particularly service levels and the quality of the dining.

Upon check-in, I was utterly dismayed to learn that we would have to pay CUC3 for the use of the safety deposit box. It is a complete anathema to me that a 5 star hotel can contemplate charging its clients for the provision of such a basic service. I was also told that I would have to pay an additional CUC3 for the use of an adapter, again, a service which should be complimentary. Not a great start to the stay!

A bell boy showed us to our room, which at GBP80 a night, was perfectly decent. The bell boy in question did nothing more than his job in showing us around the room, yet he lingered at the door an embarassingly long time expecting a tip. Whilst I appreciate that wages in Cuba are very low and that tipping provides badly needed uplifts on this front, the Cuban tourist industry needs a brutal reality check - staff are tipped for oustanding service and going beyond their ordinary job description, they are not tipped for simply meeting their responsibilities!

We left the room to dine at the traditional Cuban restaurant within the hotel, the mojitos were excellent and the food was rather bland, your typical fare of morros and christianos accompanied by dry pork.

Breakfast the next day in the main restaurant was appalling. A poor selection of badly cooked food, dirty, unprepared tables lacking cutlery and coffee mugs, surly, unhelpful staff abounding.

The Nacional, like many of its 5 star counterparts, relies on its architecture and history to hold itself out as an outstanding hotel. The reality is that it is, at best, a 3 star hotel, and it has a very long way to go before it can claim to be an international class 5 star hotel.

All in all, a complete disappointment, but you will not be able to find much better in Havana. We stayed in the Sevilla and the Telegrapho in Havana and those hotels were appalling on all counts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An unforgettable experience"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  clara caso  on Jun 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Wedding | Family and Kids
160 people found this review helpful

My time at The Hotel Nacional de Cuba was unsurpassable, the quality of service always the best, prompt to be of assistance. The Buffet Breakfast was fit for a King. My overall experience was unforgettable and with out a doubt I strongly recommend this beautiful full of history Hotel Nacional de Cuba a "Jewel" on this island. If you wish to preserve a good memory of your visit, please stay at this hotel you will not regret your decision, hope I can return again.

Room Number:
236

Arrival:
I arrived May 24, 2011

Rooms:
Room was beautiful, great view, clean at alll times, confortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was great at all times optimal service, courteous and diligent. there is nothing left to chance. All in good taste.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
What to say about the beautiful grounds and pools, is so enjoyable that you do not wish to leave, and continue in paradise.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
All amenities in and off the Hotel were great.

Other Comments:
With no hesitation I recommend The Hotel Nacional de Cuba, it is beautifull, you can almost taste history in evry corner, the service superb, and the food always of the best quality, also entertainments at all levels from Casino Parisien to Swimming Pools were great. If I return this will be my Hotel of choice. Thanks to all for helping to make my stay so enjoyable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Value for money only a bit far from the city centre"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ondrej Chaloupecky  on May 11, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) CZECH REPUBLIC
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
158 people found this review helpful

We spent there two nights and must say that rooms are large and well equiped and comfortable and breakfast generous, nice sea view from several rooms. Of course for old Havana tours a cab or rented car is necessary. And slighly strange is that there are separate desks for check in and check out but I never saw operating both at the same moment.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Entertaining adventure trip"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jules Opoku  on Apr 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
166 people found this review helpful

After 3 weeks touring around Cuba - start and end in Havanna - and mainly staying at casas, it was a splendid idea to spend our last night in Cuba at this hotel.lucky enough we had the view on the sea. so it was a relaxed stay. I was only a bit disapointed, as i had expected a more comfortable bar inside for a good night drink. But is you are in Cuba, you should at least spend 1-2 nights at this historic place.

Room Number:
510

Room Block:
right

Arrival:
late afternoon coming by plane from baracoa.nice welcome.

Rooms:
big enough for us

Restaurants and Bars:
the bar outside is great, but the one inside has no flair. Pity!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
great pool behind. had the time to jump in once!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Reservations mean nothing?"

Nacional de Cuba
User Rating:  Nacional de Cuba Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Phil Esworthy  on Mar 30, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
167 people found this review helpful

Booked our reservation in January for late March. Arrived to be told they didn't have a room for us. They did move us to another hotel, the Havana Libre, 3 blocks away, which was quite nice, except that there was only hot water for the shower, no cold, which made for interesting showers. Very pissed and disappointed, as we would have stayed in old Havana if we were going to be denied the experience of staying at the classic Hotel National.

Restaurants and Bars:
Good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube