Palacio O´Farrill Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Palacio O´Farrill reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Ambos Mundos

3.7 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill  

Calle Cuba 102-108 entre Chacón y Tejadillo, Habana Vieja, Cuba.
(Old Havana Maps)

"Best location"
Posted by: Robert on Feb 28, 2013
see all reviews

Palacio O´Farrill Reviews
Palacio O´Farrill Pictures and Information
Palacio O´Farrill Old Havana Cuba

#3
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 4.0

Based on 45 reviews

Palacio O´Farrill Information


Perhaps one of the main charms of Hotel Palacio O'Farrill is the neoclassical beauty of what was the residence of don José Ricardo O'Farrill y O'Daly, a wealthy merchant from the Irish county of Longford. O'Farrill was involved in the slave trade and owner of sugar mills and arrived in Havana in 1715 and founded one of the wealthiest families of the colonial era.

Palacio O´Farrill official website
http://www.hotelofarrill.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Palacio O´Farrill Reviews

Palacio O´Farrill Review: 4.0 of 5 45 reviews
Excellent
  17
Very good
  15
Average
  10
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (25)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (13)
Solo
21 - 30 of 45

"Location, location, location"

Palacio O´Farrill
User Rating:  Palacio O´Farrill Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dwight Zakus  on Jul 21, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
193 people found this review helpful

A great hotel well located in Old Havana. Easy access to the main tourist sites, the Malecon, and life of the city. Located in an old mansion, it has lots of old world charm with good amenities. Breakfast included was very good as were the services of all the staff. A good place to locate your stay in Havana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very pleasant stay among people who did their job well."

Palacio O´Farrill
User Rating:  Palacio O´Farrill Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  DAVID JORDAN  on Jul 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Trinidad and Tobago
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
207 people found this review helpful

I was a bit surprised after the taxi dropped off my wife and I at 1:00am to walk into this amazing resting spot that was completely transformed on the inside behind these huge doors. Even at that hour of the morning, the reception was welcoming. Our room was well prepared and after a good restful night, a hearty breakfast was enough to set us right for our journey ahead. Twelve days later we felt comfortable in returning to where we started out in Havana, at the Palacio o'Farrill, a place we will consider on our next return to Havana. Every member of staff did their job well and made us feel welcomed. Our room was tastefully decorated and very spacious, something you can't always find at hotels. Maybe the surroundings were a bit noisy at times on the outside but who could complain when everything else on the inside works in your favor. What was exceptionally great was having the reception desk tell us that breakfast will be served in time for us to leave at 5:30am to catch an early flight even though the sign read breakfast served daily between 7:00 to 10:00. Now that's good service without a doubt.

David and Susan from Trinidad

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A breathtakingly beautiful mansion with a friendly and exceptionally helpful staff"

Palacio O´Farrill
User Rating:  Palacio O´Farrill Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Denise Ryan  on Jun 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
199 people found this review helpful

A magnificent colonial building which is a haven of peace on one of Habana Vieja's busy streets, Palacio O'Farrill was an absolute delight. The English- speaking staff were always friendly and efficient, our air-conditioned room was sparklingly clean and beautifully maintained and breakfast in the splendid central courtyard proved to be the perfect way to start each day. Access to the internet, which cost $6.00 for one hour, was a plus as was the glass of wine at the end of the day. We'd love to go back again!
Denise

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful place, great people"

Palacio O´Farrill
User Rating:  Palacio O´Farrill Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  gerald gill  on May 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Antigua and Barbuda
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
205 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed one night in the Palacio O'Farrill and we are sorry that we couldn't stay longer. It is a gorgeous place beautiful doors and architecture, etc...took so many pictures...the breakfast was fantastic, good staff.
I recommend that place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A good choice"

Palacio O´Farrill
User Rating:  Palacio O´Farrill Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  annette o brien  on Apr 3, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
203 people found this review helpful

Hotel was lovely rooms very clean and bright, music in the lobby excellent, we bought the CD !!! The reception staff were very helpfull as was the bell boy. Location of the hotel was fantastic.

The only downside was the service at breakfast was very slow and the breakfast was awful, but hey it is Cuba...........

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mitigé"

Palacio O´Farrill
User Rating:  Palacio O´Farrill Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joël VINCENT  on Mar 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
246 people found this review helpful

un bel hôtel bien situé.de bons petits déjeuners.
pas d'eau chaude, un bruit de ventilation incessant(toute clim fermée) pas de fenêtre, pour un prix conséquent.

Room Number:
317

Arrival:
25/02/2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Da raccomandare"

Palacio O´Farrill
User Rating:  Palacio O´Farrill Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mss. nina  on Dec 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Dec, 2010
470 people found this review helpful

L'albergo è centralissimo e molto pulito. Le camere sono molto belle, alte e molto grandi, in perfetto stile coloniale. Il personale è stato molto disponibile e accogliente. Anche sulla colazione, non si può dire niente di negativo. Raccomando questo albergo e spero di tornarci io stessa molto presto.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"When is a non-smoking room a non-smoking room?"

Palacio O´Farrill
User Rating:  Palacio O´Farrill Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lorne  on Dec 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
224 people found this review helpful

Booked 1 night at this hotel as part of a week at Breezes Jibacoa. Did extensive research to find a hotel offering non-smoking rooms as we both have asthma. Hotel is in one of the rougher sections of Old Havana. Very nice architecturally, but the minute you walk in the entrance the smell of stale smoke hits you. Room was quite large with 3 single beds and 3 ashtrays. When I questioned the bellman, was told "this is Havana, everyone smokes." They tried to move us to a room with no windows, but by this time the lungs were starting to rebel. Decided to return to Jibacoa. When I went back to the front desk to cancel the reservation, they offered to upgrade us to the 5 star Hotel Saratoga at no additional cost, plus arrange for the transfer by cab at their expense. While they have not yet mastered the art of truth-in-advertising, you have to give them full marks for customer service.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Price/quality the best in Havana"

Palacio O´Farrill
User Rating:  Palacio O´Farrill Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Meijers  on Oct 27, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Oct, 2010
541 people found this review helpful

O'Farrill was the beginning of our 10e tour in Cuba. I can say is was one of the best and the price/quality was the best. In the middle of the centre a beautiful/good hotel with historical feelings in and around the hotel. The staff was really good and good service was normal for them. We where with 10 persons and everybody had the feeling;"We come back next time". Thank you O'Farril. Thanks to Cuba Hoel reservation for all the service bij making reservation for all our hotels during this trip; Gave very good advice. Jan Meijers Holland

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Style et beauté"

Palacio O´Farrill
User Rating:  Palacio O´Farrill Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bernard Frémaux  on Aug 5, 2010  >  5 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Aug, 2010
882 people found this review helpful

De toute beauté, une architecture d'époque très bien conservée, une atmosphère familiale, un personnel dévoué et attentif, le passage dans cet hôtel est et restera un bon souvenir. C'est un hôtel au nombre de chambres limitée, ce qui peut être un atout. Nous n'avons pas été ennuyés par les bruits de la rue voisine.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube