Park View Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Park View reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

El Comendador

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 4, 2014

Tejadillo

4.2 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 19, 2012

Beltran de Santa Cruz

4.0 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 29, 2012

Los Frailes

3.5 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2012

Park View  

Calle Colůn esq. a Morro. Ciudad de La Habana
(Old Havana Maps)

"not fancy but descent"
Posted by: mcguire on Aug 27, 2014
see all reviews

Park View Reviews
Park View Pictures and Information
Park View Old Havana Cuba

#10
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 3.5

Based on 22 reviews

Park View Information


Hotel Park View, built in 1928, was one of the most exclusive hotels of Havana. Characterized by the American style of the period, modernity and economy prices, it was benefited by the periodic arrival of middle-class Americans. Its Cocktail Lounge and Roof Garden were ranked among the cheeriest of the day.

Park View official website
http://www.hotelparkview-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Park View Reviews

Park View Review: 3.5 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  6
Average
  5
Poor
  6
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
1 - 10 of 22

"not fancy but descent"

Park View
User Rating:  Park View Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  mcguire  on Aug 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
3 people found this review helpful

It is not a fancy hotel to start with, it is not bad at all at least they had descent beds to lie on so I will take that as a win situation because basically, you get what you paid for. The place is cheap, not so expensive and yet you will get way better service than some hotels you pay through your nose for. Iím sure most people will assume that because the hotel is called Parkview you expect so high of them, it is not as great as you think. This hotel is close to a lot of places, important places like the central plaza, the revolution museum and many more so that is a 100% for the location, couldnít have been better. The hotel seems old and kind of not in place in my opinion but thatís me. Security was very tight around here, the guards paid extra attention to my rented car outside and it was night, with that I was able to sleep well at night literally. Considering the fact that Havana is a tourist town, getting a good hotel will cost a lot and having such service here, it is definitely good value. Now to the real thing, the room was small and so was the bathroom, even smaller. The lift didnít work while I was there and the food wasnít so great but I wasnít expecting so much from them and I basically ate out most of the time anyway. Itís nice, I may come back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disapointed"

Park View
User Rating:  Park View Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jim  on Nov 18, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Leisure | Solo
51 people found this review helpful

This was my third stay at the Parkview Hotel. While staff wee professional & friendly, my concern was the room. No hot water & not very nice. The floor was dirty. The shower spray faucett was malfunctioning. The location is in a rather sleazy dark area of central Havana. Not sure if I will return.

Room Number:
407

Arrival:
November 05, 2013.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing to say the least"

Park View
User Rating:  Park View Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  bessy  on Jun 5, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
143 people found this review helpful

The staff was very nice, but the restaurant had very bad food. Breakfast was the same every day and fried eggs was the only edible thing. Hotel has good location but the first night the sink leaked so much we had to cover the floor with towels in order not to slip and hurt ourselves. Closet door didn't open. I was told that local phone calls were o.25 cents per minute and was charged 35.00 for 20 minutes...In other words: don't call. don't eat. Lots of nice restaurants in the area. Tourism bureau should have flyers with cultural programs going on in the city and info on the tourist buses. None was available at this hotel. The young woman who took care of the floor was also very nice and tried to take care of complaints right away. the shower was a trickle and hot water was on and off most of the time.

Room Number:
521

Arrival:
May 19, departure May 23, returned May 24 to 29

Rooms:
Room was clean and beds comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food at restaurant was pretty unapetizing inspite of the staff's efforts to make it better after we complained. A few ceiling fans would help.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
None at this hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Late arrival"

Park View
User Rating:  Park View Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  carol foster  on Apr 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Colombia
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
154 people found this review helpful

Great location in Old Havana. 24hr Lobby so we able to check in late as our flight arrived at 12.30 am. The staff were helpful.
Fantasic view of the city from the restuarant. I would be happy to stay here again on my next visit.

Arrival:
Late arrival dealt with quickly and efficiently

Rooms:
Clean and comfortable

Restaurants and Bars:
Great view

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
City center hotel

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very close to revolution Museum. Within walking distance to major sights.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good location ,basic & dingy rooml."

Park View
User Rating:  Park View Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  G  on Apr 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
175 people found this review helpful

The hotel was clean & ok but the room was small and quite dark and dingy which was disappointing although it did have a bath and hot water.

Room Number:
116

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast was included and the food was ok but rather basic. The breakfast room at the top of the building was very nice with good views.It felt open and airy and had some nice colonial touches.

Other Comments:
The staff were friendly enough but did not suggest or offer anything unless asked. They could , for example tell you about the safe key when you are at reception checking in.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good"

Park View
User Rating:  Park View Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  MONICA FERNANDEZ  on Apr 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
145 people found this review helpful

We have two rooms in floor 5. An despite an intense noise during all the night (I believe they were the heating or water), we have a pleasant stage. The breakfast was very poor, but it was at floor 7 and you had great views. The location of the hotel was really good and staff very kind.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Location and friendly staff... disappointing room."

Park View
User Rating:  Park View Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jorgenson Lindsay  on Mar 14, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
152 people found this review helpful

The location of this hotel was great, and the staff were very friendly. The room itself was pretty poor considering the price we paid. I usually stay in inexpensive hostels when I travel (I'm not picky), but thought I would upgrade to a classier joint, as my partner and I were on our honeymoon. I am not one to complain about subpar accommodations, but this hotel was extremely disappointing considering that we paid around $100CDN/night to stay there. To start, our room was very small with one window that looked out onto a wall (when my husband opened the window in the morning he got a face full of diesel fumes). The fan in our bathroom was extremely loud and could not be shut off, and it sounded like there was a waterfall in our bathroom (there was water leaking through the wall into our room). I am not one to complain, but for the price we paid, I was not very satisfied with the accommodations. If you are going to spend this type of money, I would recommend finding a nicer hotel outside of old Havana. The area is very easy to get to by foot or taxi.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good choice for a short stay"

Park View
User Rating:  Park View Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  FATJON UJKANI  on Mar 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
152 people found this review helpful

Situated in the old town near major turist attractions, the hotel is a good choice for a short stay. I would rate this at 2.5 north american stars. Bathroom was not in good condition and room had a strange dust smell. Breakfast was included but quality was bad. Staff was courteous and hotel felt safe.

Room Number:
203

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very nice"

Park View
User Rating:  Park View Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  takata yasuhiro  on Mar 3, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) JAPAN
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
164 people found this review helpful

*Location
It is next to Museo de la revolucion.
We can walk around Old Havana area from the hotel until night.

*hotel
very nice.
Room is clean and neat.
Welcome drink.(cuban cola)
Hot shower is available anytime.
We can watch even CNN in the room.
Hotel receptionist is very kind.
For my case, one big concern was check-out time.Departure flight time was 6AM, and I had to leave hotel at 3AM, but hotel arranged wakeup call, taxi safely.
It was very comfortable stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dirty Sheets and Loud Housekeeping Staff, but Great Location"

Park View
User Rating:  Park View Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nelson  on Feb 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
147 people found this review helpful

My sheets were dirty and contained pubic hairs. My room was also across the hall from the housekeeping closet, where the staff were talking loudly. Luckily I had ear plugs and my own pillowcase.

The location was great (just one block away from the Museo de la Revolucion) and was a short walk to many attractions in Habana Vieja and Centro Habana.

Room Number:
404

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube