Playa Girón Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Playa Girón reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Girón  

Playa Girón, Matanzas
(Matanzas Maps)

"cheep"
Posted by: teddy bjarne holm on Mar 20, 2012
see all reviews

Playa Girón Reviews
Playa Girón Pictures and Information
Playa Girón Bay of Pigs Cuba

#1
of 3 Hotels in Bay of Pigs

User rating 4.1

Based on 8 reviews

Playa Girón Information


Hotel reopens after extensive renovation works

The hotel is the ideal location for vacationers who love nature, the beach and water sports.


Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Playa Girón Reviews

Playa Girón Review: 4.1 of 5 8 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  0
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 8 of 8

"cheep"

Playa Girón
User Rating:  Playa Girón Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  teddy bjarne holm  on Mar 20, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) DENMARK
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
175 people found this review helpful

allways remember this is a 2 star resort. the service is on a low point, except for the cleaning, which is o.k. half of the resort is ruins from the time of sovjet union.

Arrival:
o.k. tjek in

Rooms:
no door handles, no toilet paper but clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
no good service, feel that you are not welcome. food is generaly not good in cuban resorts with only 3 or 3 stars

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
o.k.

Other Comments:
very peacefull spot, with a litlle museum

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Simple but Clean"

Playa Girón
User Rating:  Playa Girón Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Valérie DOMERCQ  on Nov 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
239 people found this review helpful

Nice place to come to dive.
Not luxury hotel, but clean and well equiped.
Unfortunately noisy if your bungalow is near the swimming pool and the restaurant because of the music.
The diving center and divemasters are all very sympathic.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Totale Begeisterung"

Playa Girón
User Rating:  Playa Girón Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Widmayer  on Jul 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Jul, 2010
572 people found this review helpful

ich habe in Playa Giron meinen schönsten Urlaub verlebt. Ok einiges passte nicht wie z. Bsp. manche kleinen Bungalows. Ihr müßt Euch vorstellen, viele kleine Bungalows an der Stelle, an der '69 die Scheiß Exilkubaner eingefallen sind. Der letzte Hurrican hat zwar vieles zerstört, aber das was noch da... ist, ist wunderschön. Die Hotelangestellten sind furchtbar nett, auch zu behinderten Menschen, es gibt eine Tauchstation mit erfahrenen!!! Tauchern vor Ort, die jedem die Schönheiten der Karibik unter Wasser zeigen. Alles in allem: Playa Giron immer wieder!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"OK for the price but don't expect much"

Playa Girón
User Rating:  Playa Girón Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  L  on Apr 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
324 people found this review helpful

I was there from February 19 - 26 2010

I don't want to be negative about Playa Giron but
Remember this is a 2 star and it's not worth more , but that being said , It is really Ok if you know what to expect.

Don't pay more than $650 / week or $1150 for 2 weeks. I recommend 1 week. I'm guessing 75% of most people would not like this hotel but for the other 25% it can me a nice opportunity.

For a week of sun , this all inclusive hotel at $590 is worth the money as long as you expect "basic" in everything.

I went there to scuba dive and do snorkeling ; for that it is good and I would go back eventually. To scuba dive you are transported in a blue scuba bus to different beaches (the closest is 10 mins , the farthest beach about 50 mins) You swim out about 100 feet in the ocean to a beautiful coral wall which goes many km long and down very deep. Its enough to keep you occupied a long time.

I'd recommend this place mainly for scuba divers and snorkelers or to couples or older folks who wish to relax on the beach in a basic all inclusive but don't expect much service or any luxury at all. Its as basic as you can get. Warning to the younger crowd : This is not a party place ; I promise, you will be bored here.

It takes 1h40 from Cienfuegos airport to Playa Giron its about 100km on not so great roads at times. Some buses have bathrooms ; ours did not and people stopped on the side of the road to go …

I've been told the hotel is at least 30 yrs old and used to be military barracks later converted into a tourist hotel. I spoke with people who had been there a few times before and this hotel has been going downhill ever year …

-Caleta Buena is about 12km left . No longer free , It costs 3CUC to go and come back by bus (9am/16h30). 6 CUC one way by taxis. Negotiate fare before leaving and have the exact change because they try to rip you off. The Resto buffet there is free if you go get a voucher at the hotel lobby. It is pretty here. It's a jagged volcanic rock shore with a small natural pool and a small bay in the ocean where you can swim and snorkel. There are colourful fishes here but because there is fresh water and salt water mixing , it creates a haze in the water which makes it difficult to see. The white sand beach beside our hotel is better in my opinion to see fish.

I wrote this lengthy review to do my share and inform people. I hope I have painted an accurate portrait of Hotel Playa Giron. I tried to be as objective as possible. I encourage you to post your own views of this place regularly because things can change a lot in a few months.

Rooms:

-The rooms are fine. We had Air conditioning and a small fridge. unfortunately only single beds and no mosquito screens on the windows and there are a few mosquitoes.

Restaurants and Bars:
-There is only one buffet and no more resto even though they advertise one.
There is a schedule for the buffet and not much to eat besides that so take note. The food is simple and edible and has very little variety. Its Ok occasionally good , sometimes not so good. There is only milk in the morning so good luck trying to get some for your tea at supper. No other alcohol than white wine at supper.
1 week of this food is enough for me and I'm not very difficult.
-There is a grill place that serve frozen fries and fried plantain (good) and hot dogs in wonder bread type. The problem with this place is it's either not open half the time or out of fries so not very practical.

There are 2 bars very close to each other (none on or close to the beach).
I didn't come here to drink but it is the worst bars I've ever seen.
Only one serves beer. Both only have the cheapest white rum and 3 or 4 liquors like banana, mint, coffee liquor… all alcohol is served in tiny plastic throw away glasses (so bring a thermos). The few drinks they do make aren't very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:

-The pool is nice but there was too much sediment at the bottom and the water wasn't too clear but it was ok ; Not many people used it.

-There are two beaches. There is the beach in back of the hotel in a small ˝ km bay. The bay is fenced in with a grey cement wall sticking out 8 feet out of the ocean. I was told it was to prevent waves. Its not a pretty view and the water is a bit greenish and stagnate in some places. It has beige medium sand probably trucked in because most of this area is jagged volcanic rock shore. The second beach is 10 minutes to your left (facing the ocean) It is part of the hotel. There are many abandoned rooms there. The sand is whitish medium fine sand .Its a pretty enough beach with palm trees.
The problem is you must have sandals or thick water shoes because it is full of 4-6 inches rocks and there are urchins but once in the water about 100 feet out to the left there is a beautiful coral garden with many fish here enough to please the most avid snorkeler.

*** The beach at Elmoro (you have to go with the divers or by taxis) is the nicest for snorkelling and scuba diving.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
virtually non existent ! except snorkeling and Scuba diving ...

Other Comments:
There are 2 tour operators TMR (Tour Mont Royal) and Caribesol. Be warned I've been twice already with Caribesol and have not had a good experience their service is not good. This time it was non existent ! There was simply no Caribesol Rep ! My spouse lost her luggage with Canjet. The Hotel did nothing. "Lydia" the nice Cuban Rep for TMR took care of us even though we were not her customers. She said the Caribesol Rep stays at another Hotel because it pays more ! We never got the suitcase , so always remember to mix clothes in both suitcases. Anything you can't afford to loose bring on your carry on and ALWAYS tag your baggage's with name , phone # , address and add an extra tag with the hotel name and the dates you'll be staying there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Your vacation is what you make of it, we had a great vacation!"

Playa Girón
User Rating:  Playa Girón Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jeff and Adele Worley  on Sep 13, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
680 people found this review helpful

We had a great vacation! Staff are awesome! We are going to return!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"5***** absolutely!!!"

Playa Girón
User Rating:  Playa Girón Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  bela  on Aug 15, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) POLAND
Visited on: Aug, 2009
736 people found this review helpful

hotel Giron is much better than any casas particulates there-for sure. I checked both options and I recommend hotel defenitely!! Double room with all inclusive (3 meal, drinks, snacks, swimming pool, kayak, and ect.) costs - 46 CUC! and you don`t have to worry about anything! And the dive centre - the best one istructor is JOEL!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We came back!"

Playa Girón
User Rating:  Playa Girón Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  William Cumming  on Feb 27, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2009
1485 people found this review helpful

I`ve read some poor reviews on this hotel but in my opinion they are totally unjustified. The staff are all very friendly and do try to accomodate even to the extent of preparing a birthday cake. Food is very fresh, healthy and wholesome. A great place to use as a base to explore the National park, for diving and for Fishing. This is my second visit and will most probably be back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful days at Playa Giron Hotel"

Playa Girón
User Rating:  Playa Girón Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Iganacio Gustavo Perelló  on Feb 6, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Feb, 2008
1819 people found this review helpful

Nice people, services are ok, things on time. I give a rate of 5 because they deserve it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube