Raquel Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Raquel reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 20, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 35 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 2, 2012

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Ambos Mundos

3.8 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2014

Raquel  

Calle Amargura, No. 103 esq. a San Ignacio, Havana Vieja
(Old Havana Maps)

"Beautiful hotel..."
Posted by: Carlos Fernandez on Jul 29, 2012
see all reviews

Raquel Reviews
Raquel Pictures and Information
Raquel Old Havana Cuba

#4
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 4.1

Based on 43 reviews

Raquel Information


Built for offices, a warehouse and textile warehouse, the building occupied by the hotel dates back to 1905. Three years later, it took on its current appearance, and in 1912, it was consolidated as a textile import firm.

Raquel official website
http://www.hotelraquel-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Raquel Reviews

Raquel Review: 4.1 of 5 43 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  12
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (29)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (15)
Solo
1 - 10 of 43

"Beautiful hotel..."

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carlos Fernandez  on Jul 29, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Puerto Rico
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
130 people found this review helpful

We stay on this hotel for eleven days,and have two rooms, very classy and confortable hotel ,you can walk to the Bodeguita Del Medio, cervecerias, plazas, museums, everything is at a walking distance or you can take a bicitaxi and enjoy the adventure.
Highly recomended you will love the place the location and the people.

Room Number:
103, 204

Arrival:
Very nice and friendly

Rooms:
Beatifull rooms with balcony

Restaurants and Bars:
Good breakfast every morning

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
N/A

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Hotel"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Jun 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
167 people found this review helpful

We found the Raquel in 2010 while wandering thru the Viejo area. Impressed we said next time in Havana that is where we stay. And we did for 4 nights in May. Lucky us we were upgraded to a suite on the 2nd floor with 2 balconies and more space than we counld ever use. The hotel entry is what attracts you first, masive doors opening to a marble stair case going up to the lobby. The roof is an incredible stained glass dome that brings sunlight all the way down to the lobby 4 floors below. The roof top is accessable with nice private lounging/sitting area's, even a private dining room for 4 at the edge of the roof. As "everything" in Cuba is old and eclectic the Raquel fits in perfectly. The neighbourhood is going thru major restoration (as the rest of the city)so it can be a bit noisy during the day. But at night it is quiet. One block from Plaza Viejo and centrally located everything is an easy walk from the front door. If you can not stay, at least visit it and have one of the door men tour you around.

Room Number:
204

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very impressed"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda Moore  on Apr 10, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
180 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
105

Arrival:
upon our arrival we were quickly checked in but told that we were early and would have to wait for our room as the cleaning had not been completed. we were fine with this as we were anxious to see the sights. however a few moments later a room became available and we were able to settle in.
the staff were very pleasant and helpful despite some language barrier.

Rooms:
our room was fairly small but clean and done in what i would consider cuban style with tall ceilings and lovely patterned floor tiles. the bathtub had a bit to be desired as it seemed that some kind of yellow varnish had been poured down the side of it which at first sight made it appear dirty. the rest however was quite nice and provided a hair dryer, in room safe, an antique vanity and a small balcony from which we could watch the comings and goings on the street below.
being from a city we were quite amused by being awoken to the sounds of a rooster crowing the next morning.

Restaurants and Bars:
we ate our breakfast in the restaurant as it was included in our room price. there was lots of variety and good service by the waiters.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
one of our favorite spots at the hotel was the rooftop terrace which provided a lovely spot to enjoy a drink amongst the flowers and plants and see the rooftops of the city.

Other Comments:
some of the lobby furniture was a bit worn but it certainly didn't detract from the amazing architecture of the building.

i would definitely recommend the hotel raquel or stay there again if i'm lucky enough to revisit havana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely but a bit noisy"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rachel Williams  on Apr 9, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
158 people found this review helpful

Hotel Raquel is in the old part of Havana, neatly positioned for exploring Havana Viejo, getting the ferry to Casablanca and jumping on either a horse and cart or the hop-on, hop-off bus. It's a beautiful old building with one of those gorgeous metal lifts of old, marble stairs (one flight is a bit steep and scary), an awe-inspiring stained glass roof and a very pretty roof garden. The breakfast was okay - enough choice to get by although black teabags were not always available (the strange 'flower' ones that don't taste of anything are in abundance...). The downside to the hotel is the noise - because of the atrium style with all bedrooms coming off the middle, you hear all the clattering of breakfast crockery from 7am onwards, people coming back at night and other bangs and bumps in the night. The reception staff were also variable, one or two were friendly, but one or two couldn't care much for service.
Overall though I thought it was a good hotel and great base for exploring Havana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very classic hotel"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wayne McClelland  on Mar 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
177 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Hotel Raquel and found it to be a charming, classic architecture hotel. Our room was a "junior suite" on the roof floor, very large, and quite nice.

Negatives: cleanliness only fair; breakfast not good at all

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice service but prison room."

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joram Rozewicz  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) MONACO
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
183 people found this review helpful

Stayed there 1 night in a room without window and paid for it ! Even prison cells get windows. This is totally unbelievable and inadmissible. At least you should be warned in advance. The place was fully booked, as was all Havana, so no possibility to change for a normal room.

Breakfast is bad too.

But service and people working there are very friendly and nice, like all cuban I met.

Room Number:
210

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice environment but simple breakfast"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  AUDUN PEDERSEN  on Mar 2, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
166 people found this review helpful

The house has a perfect location and the building is just so nice. A big plus for the rooftop terazza. On the other hand could the room have been cleaner and the breakfast definately be better. We had far better food at casa particulares.

Room Number:
103

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Rubbish Place"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  M  on Feb 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
197 people found this review helpful

Architecture, Culture & Ambience should not be confused with poor service, poor facilities & grubbiness which is abundant in this hotel.
Even though we had been advised this was a no frills B&B hotel, we have stayed in better B&B’s in Kenya and Gambia which are definitely third world. Not surprised Hemingway left the place.

Room had no window and no fresh air
Bathroom was grubby, bin dirty, bath yellow, chipped and rusty – see pictures
Fridge that imitated a running moped engine.

Day 2, breakfast was only just passable; we went out for most of the day. Got back 2.30pm and wanted a shower & siesta, couldn’t have either as the room had not been made up although all the towels had been taken!.

Rang reception who said room would be done and towels would be back from laundry in 30 minutes. 30 minutes room was made up – but no towels still 5pm and no spares so no shower!!

went to lobby bar/lounge for a drink while we waited for the room to be done. Bad move, got drinks and went to sit down but 2 work men were cleaning the base of the marble columns with petrol leaving us with loads of fumes and tears, had to move out.

Go to the room, thought we would have a cold drink from the fridge. They were warm as the fridge was not plugged in!, We found out why when we plugged it in, might as well have had a moped in the room it was so noisy, couldn’t sleep with it so had to unplug it.

Day 3 Breakfast inedible, distinct lack of waiters,
no normal tea, had to ask for it which then took over 10 minutes just to get tea bags, so had a coffee while waiting, Luke warm to cold.
No bowls for cereal, when eventually got one the cereal was stale/sour.
Nothing to add to make an omelette with, gave up on the other fried stuff which had no labels and no one to tell you what they might be

Complained to reception & requested to see a manager, was denied to see a manager, had to complain to the girl on the desk who claimed it was her job to take the complaints to the manager.
After 10 minutes of telling her the whole issue of room, towels, food, fume’s etc she then asks me to write it out so she can give it to the manager!!

Told her we expected the room sorted by 2.30 so we could have a shower & siesta when we got back.

Guess what 2.45 pm we got back & absolutely nothing was done and they wondered why we complained again and was again denied access to a manager, Called the rep to report it. Thankfully we were leaving the next day, well tried to. 09.30 we asked for a taxi to be booked for 1.30 to take us to out transfer place.

1.35 asked where is taxi, told they had ordered, asked to chase again, was told it was on its way, finally arrived at 2.05, just as well we had planned it early otherwise we would have missed the transfer. Suggest you book your own from the cars at the top of the road by th

Room Number:
211

Arrival:
Reasonable

Rooms:
Even though we had been advised this was a no frills B&B hotel, we have stayed in better B&B’s in Kenya and Gambia which are definitely third world. Not surprised Hemingway left the place.

Room had no window and no fresh air
Bathroom was grubby, bin dirty, bath yellow, chipped and rusty – see pictures
Fridge that imitated a running moped engine.

No spare towels when they take them from 09.30 till 5pm

Restaurants and Bars:
Restauarant - Really poor, eat out its better chepaer and fresh, lots of places local to eat at.

Bar adequate but overpriced, surprisingly local bars & resterauants are cheaper

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nope - the roof garden was disappointment, view of falling down buldings and gardeners using the place as a resting area

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful stay"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Heike Gensmueller  on Jan 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
166 people found this review helpful

We (a couple of 46/51 years) stood in January 2012 for 6 days in Hotel Raquel. Everything was like we expected it. The room was spacy, absolutely beautiful, clean. only in the earla morning it was not very quiet, but we knew about this before. It was very close in the centre of the old town, we could reach everything by foot. The stuff was kind and helpful but you should not count on them, if you have a problem which is not so usual (we tried to organise by ourselve the transport to Cayo Guillermo and this was a big problem, we were in the end sucessful via Internet).
Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay in this hotel very much and i think we will return ond day!

Room Number:
rubén

Arrival:
no problem

Rooms:
clean, spacy, beautiful

Restaurants and Bars:
well

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
-

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
-

Other Comments:
look above

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great hotel;ideally positioned in old Habana;old fashioned"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  jacques gros  on Dec 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
197 people found this review helpful

Placed in the center of old Habana, it is a nice hotel ideal for walking through the old city
a little bit dull : rooms had no windows, some lights did not work and the bath room was deficient.....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube