Raquel Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Raquel reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Ambos Mundos

3.8 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2014

Raquel  

Calle Amargura, No. 103 esq. a San Ignacio, Havana Vieja
(Old Havana Maps)

"Beautiful hotel..."
Posted by: Carlos Fernandez on Jul 29, 2012
see all reviews

Raquel Reviews
Raquel Pictures and Information
Raquel Old Havana Cuba

#4
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 4.1

Based on 43 reviews

Raquel Information


Built for offices, a warehouse and textile warehouse, the building occupied by the hotel dates back to 1905. Three years later, it took on its current appearance, and in 1912, it was consolidated as a textile import firm.

Raquel official website
http://www.hotelraquel-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Raquel Reviews

Raquel Review: 4.1 of 5 43 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  12
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (29)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (15)
Solo
1 - 10 of 43

"Nice service but prison room."

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joram Rozewicz  on Mar 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) MONACO
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
185 people found this review helpful

Stayed there 1 night in a room without window and paid for it ! Even prison cells get windows. This is totally unbelievable and inadmissible. At least you should be warned in advance. The place was fully booked, as was all Havana, so no possibility to change for a normal room.

Breakfast is bad too.

But service and people working there are very friendly and nice, like all cuban I met.

Room Number:
210

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Rubbish Place"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  M  on Feb 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
201 people found this review helpful

Architecture, Culture & Ambience should not be confused with poor service, poor facilities & grubbiness which is abundant in this hotel.
Even though we had been advised this was a no frills B&B hotel, we have stayed in better B&B’s in Kenya and Gambia which are definitely third world. Not surprised Hemingway left the place.

Room had no window and no fresh air
Bathroom was grubby, bin dirty, bath yellow, chipped and rusty – see pictures
Fridge that imitated a running moped engine.

Day 2, breakfast was only just passable; we went out for most of the day. Got back 2.30pm and wanted a shower & siesta, couldn’t have either as the room had not been made up although all the towels had been taken!.

Rang reception who said room would be done and towels would be back from laundry in 30 minutes. 30 minutes room was made up – but no towels still 5pm and no spares so no shower!!

went to lobby bar/lounge for a drink while we waited for the room to be done. Bad move, got drinks and went to sit down but 2 work men were cleaning the base of the marble columns with petrol leaving us with loads of fumes and tears, had to move out.

Go to the room, thought we would have a cold drink from the fridge. They were warm as the fridge was not plugged in!, We found out why when we plugged it in, might as well have had a moped in the room it was so noisy, couldn’t sleep with it so had to unplug it.

Day 3 Breakfast inedible, distinct lack of waiters,
no normal tea, had to ask for it which then took over 10 minutes just to get tea bags, so had a coffee while waiting, Luke warm to cold.
No bowls for cereal, when eventually got one the cereal was stale/sour.
Nothing to add to make an omelette with, gave up on the other fried stuff which had no labels and no one to tell you what they might be

Complained to reception & requested to see a manager, was denied to see a manager, had to complain to the girl on the desk who claimed it was her job to take the complaints to the manager.
After 10 minutes of telling her the whole issue of room, towels, food, fume’s etc she then asks me to write it out so she can give it to the manager!!

Told her we expected the room sorted by 2.30 so we could have a shower & siesta when we got back.

Guess what 2.45 pm we got back & absolutely nothing was done and they wondered why we complained again and was again denied access to a manager, Called the rep to report it. Thankfully we were leaving the next day, well tried to. 09.30 we asked for a taxi to be booked for 1.30 to take us to out transfer place.

1.35 asked where is taxi, told they had ordered, asked to chase again, was told it was on its way, finally arrived at 2.05, just as well we had planned it early otherwise we would have missed the transfer. Suggest you book your own from the cars at the top of the road by th

Room Number:
211

Arrival:
Reasonable

Rooms:
Even though we had been advised this was a no frills B&B hotel, we have stayed in better B&B’s in Kenya and Gambia which are definitely third world. Not surprised Hemingway left the place.

Room had no window and no fresh air
Bathroom was grubby, bin dirty, bath yellow, chipped and rusty – see pictures
Fridge that imitated a running moped engine.

No spare towels when they take them from 09.30 till 5pm

Restaurants and Bars:
Restauarant - Really poor, eat out its better chepaer and fresh, lots of places local to eat at.

Bar adequate but overpriced, surprisingly local bars & resterauants are cheaper

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nope - the roof garden was disappointment, view of falling down buldings and gardeners using the place as a resting area

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Dirty hotel, poor breakfast pretend to be a luxury hotel but it is not..."

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Matteo Romani  on Jun 18, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) IRELAND
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
116 people found this review helpful

In the first room we were given, we found out that the sheets were bloody spotted and we asked to have the room changed. once in the new one we realised that the bathtube was full of holes and dirty as well. The breakfast was the worst ever had in Cuba with nothing for Italians who do not eat sausages in the morning! We recommend to spend your money in a different way! the only positive aspect is the good position, just n the center of Havana Vieja.

Room Number:
205

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bien placé, mais pas top"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pierre-Jean Dorlanne  on Feb 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
93 people found this review helpful

En famille. Deux chambres. Une sur rue plus grande et avec fenêtres, l'autre aveugle (sans fenêtre).
Salle de bain vieille, traces dans la baignoire, pomme de douche cassée.
Réception professionnelle, mais pas sympathique.
PDJ copieux et variés pour Cuba. Bel immeuble, mais manque de charme et de chaleur,ce qui est inhabituel à la Havane

Room Number:
204-211

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice environment but simple breakfast"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  AUDUN PEDERSEN  on Mar 2, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
171 people found this review helpful

The house has a perfect location and the building is just so nice. A big plus for the rooftop terazza. On the other hand could the room have been cleaner and the breakfast definately be better. We had far better food at casa particulares.

Room Number:
103

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great hotel;ideally positioned in old Habana;old fashioned"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  jacques gros  on Dec 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
200 people found this review helpful

Placed in the center of old Habana, it is a nice hotel ideal for walking through the old city
a little bit dull : rooms had no windows, some lights did not work and the bath room was deficient.....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A 2 pas de la plaza vieja et d'Obispo, bel établssement complètement impersonnel"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jean-Marie GERARD  on Nov 17, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
73 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
105 & 109

Arrival:
accueil standard

Rooms:
belles prestations, confortable, propre et beaucoup de pression aux robinets
Mal insonorisées
Matériel mal entretenu (fuites d'eau, etc.)

Restaurants and Bars:
Petit déjeuner médiocre et très insuffisant

Other Comments:
Mauvais rapport qualité-prix

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not unforgettable"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pier Luigi Pascucci  on Aug 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
231 people found this review helpful

Good Position in Habana Vieja.
I reserved a Junior Suite at the second floor at the corner, so I think one of the best rooms. But it was great to see from outside, less from inside. Old and not really clean furniture. Bad and Mattress really uncomfortable.

Room Number:
203

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Hotel in Excellent Location"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vincent Flynn  on Jul 7, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) IRELAND
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
237 people found this review helpful

Excellent location and good hotel with very friendly staff. We were very disappointed with the Euro exchange rate (1.27 versus 1.39 official). The official rate was available in other hotels we checked. On one ocassion the receptionist told us in advance but on a previous case they did not - so we 'lost' quite a bit on a Euro100 exchange. This was a major disappointment.

Room Number:
108

Arrival:
Security man needs to advise hotel staff of arrival of guests rather than have them carry their bags up the steps alone.

Rooms:
Beautiful spacious room

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast was a bit poor with coffee or 'hot' water often cold

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sehr ruhige, doch sehr zentrale Lage mit wundervollem Ambiente"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Claus  on Jul 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Business | With friend
239 people found this review helpful

Das Hotel beeindruckt schon beim Betreten durch die aussergewöhnliche Stimmung und Eleganz. Das Personal ist überaus freundlich und hilfsbereit.
Das Hotel ist sehr empfehlenswert.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube