Raquel Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Raquel reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Ambos Mundos

3.8 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2014

Raquel  

Calle Amargura, No. 103 esq. a San Ignacio, Havana Vieja
(Old Havana Maps)

"Beautiful hotel..."
Posted by: Carlos Fernandez on Jul 29, 2012
see all reviews

Raquel Reviews
Raquel Pictures and Information
Raquel Old Havana Cuba

#4
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 4.1

Based on 43 reviews

Raquel Information


Built for offices, a warehouse and textile warehouse, the building occupied by the hotel dates back to 1905. Three years later, it took on its current appearance, and in 1912, it was consolidated as a textile import firm.

Raquel official website
http://www.hotelraquel-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Raquel Reviews

Raquel Review: 4.1 of 5 43 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  12
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (29)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (6)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (15)
Solo
21 - 30 of 43

"Dirty hotel, poor breakfast pretend to be a luxury hotel but it is not..."

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Matteo Romani  on Jun 18, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) IRELAND
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
116 people found this review helpful

In the first room we were given, we found out that the sheets were bloody spotted and we asked to have the room changed. once in the new one we realised that the bathtube was full of holes and dirty as well. The breakfast was the worst ever had in Cuba with nothing for Italians who do not eat sausages in the morning! We recommend to spend your money in a different way! the only positive aspect is the good position, just n the center of Havana Vieja.

Room Number:
205

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutely stunning hotel, brilliant staff."

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Larissa Gerritsen  on May 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
116 people found this review helpful

Hotel Raquel in Vieja Havana was a recommendation in my Lonely Planet guide book and everything it said is true. It was the very best place to start experiencing the magic of Havana which I fell in love with in an instant.

I even arrived at 3am without a room book until the following night and they were kind enough to assist finding a place to sleep for the night then checked me into my room early the next day.

When it is not too hot, be sure to go up to the rooftop garden and befriend the staff, once you make the first move they are open and friendly.

Room Number:
Rebeca (cannot remember number)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Enjoyable stay at Hotel Raquel"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pieter Leijte  on May 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
104 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Hotel Raquel for 4 nights early May 2011. Overall I very much enjoyed the stay.

Pros:
-good location in the oldtown, about 2 minutes from Calle Obispo
-room was nice, bathroom in good condition, good shower
-friendly and helpful staff

Cons:
-At times a bit noisy (I was on the first floor)
-Breakfast was not great

Room Number:
102

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great room, nice location"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Adrian Hyde  on Apr 21, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
113 people found this review helpful

We got moved to this hotel after our other hotel had water problems.

After being a but daunted as we drove to the hotel (which was down some of the smaller roads) instead of being on the main stretch in Old Havana we actually found the hotel to be in a top location (other than the side road which smelt a bit) for the bars and restaurants.

The room was really nice (301) but we may have been upgraded from our standard room to a Junior Suite (which would explain the size and quality).

There is a lovely reception area with a bar that is open 24 hours and a roof terrace which is particularly if you have a few hours to kill after checking out and waiting to go to the airport.r

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved Our Stay"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob  on Apr 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
97 people found this review helpful

Stayed 3 nights in the hotel Raquel in March 2011. Room 104 is spacious comfortable, with floor to ceiling windows and 2 balconies overlooking the narrow streets of old Havana. There is some street noise during the day and evening which quiets down at night.

The hotel includes a full breakfast, and has a bar, restaurant and comfortable lounge/lobby area. Facilities are limited to those mentioned plus a small gift shop. Those looking for a nightclub, pool or evening entertainment will be disappointed. For a hotel one block off the Plaza Vieja, perfect for exploring the sights of old Havana, the Raquel is perfect. This hotel is very old but upgraded throughout, clean and well maintained.


I recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to experience old world charm in the center of old Havana.

Room Number:
104

Photos: http://www.hotelraquel-cuba.com/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful hotel, rooms big, clean and comfortable with good breakfast and very good staff!"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
97 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
108

Room Block:
1st floor

Arrival:
Handled very efficiently by staff who spoke very good english, bags taken to rooms and operation of safe shown by porter. Money exchanged at reception at 1.34 CUC to 1GBP although rate at money exchange in Obispo better at 1.46.

Rooms:
Big, clean and comfortable. Bathroom the same with clean towels every day. We had a room with small balcony overlooking San Ignacio and the school which meant we didn't need an alarm clock as the children woke us on week days at 7.00am. Air conditioning made for a very comfortable stay.

Restaurants and Bars:
We were out every day and night and therefore only ate breakfast in the restaurant which was much better than I expected, and set us up for the rigours of central Havana. Bar well stocked (although ran out of gin) with great staff, great mojitos although very few guests seemed to use the bar. There was live music Monday, Wednesday and Friday from a classical duo from around 7.00pm until 10.00pm

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An extraordinary hotel experience"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lawrence Solomon  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
96 people found this review helpful

Hotel Raquel, located in the former Jewish quarter of Old Havana, is delightfully Jewish-themed with excellent Jewish food and Jewish art, all set in an elegant building that was once the Chamber of Commerce. Not to be missed: the live music (much of it Jewish, of course) from a soprano with a soaring voice and an accomplished violinist.

Room Number:
107

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good hotel in the center of old Havana"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dmitry Kirilenko  on Mar 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
87 people found this review helpful

Nice restored modern-style building from early XX
Very friendly and ready to help staff
Good bar with real cocktailes

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An excellent introduction to Havana"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Samantha Crisp  on Mar 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
86 people found this review helpful

Hi. Great to see you. How's the family? Samantha and I stayed in the charming Hotel Raquel for two nights in early March 2011.

We arrived in the cab, a striking black Chevrolet, of Sr Miguel, from Havana airport, and settled into our room at around 11pm with the help of our hotel porter who took our luggage upstairs in the fully functioning old-fashioned lift, showed us the minibar, safe locker, tv and air conditioning and quickly left us to our own devices.

We slept well and the next day had a quick look at the quiet and reclusive roof terrace. The interior of the hotel is amazing: an entirely stained glass ceiling, restored tiles and colonial metalwork (is that even something people say?).

The breakfast was limited, especially for vegetarians, although there was ample opportunity to fill up on pastries, fruit juice and coffee. The staff, who were frank but not rude, were also willing to cook extra items, such as omelettes, on request.

The traditional Jewish foods on offer for the evening to come tantalised and delighted us.

We had a truly memorable experience of Havana, having been accosted and accompanied on our way by various locals, and returned to the hotel to rest and sleep. The shower was good.

On our last morning, we drank coffee and smoked cigarettes in the beautiful lobby. When we needed advice re travel to Vinales, one of the hotel staff obliged, accurately, and we set off in a taxi to the Viazul terminal from nearby St Francisco plaza.

Stay here. And, if you sample the superb-looking Jewish cuisine, please do let me know.

Peace and salad.

Room Number:
210

Arrival:
11pm Thursday eve.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bien placé, mais pas top"

Raquel
User Rating:  Raquel Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pierre-Jean Dorlanne  on Feb 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
93 people found this review helpful

En famille. Deux chambres. Une sur rue plus grande et avec fenêtres, l'autre aveugle (sans fenêtre).
Salle de bain vieille, traces dans la baignoire, pomme de douche cassée.
Réception professionnelle, mais pas sympathique.
PDJ copieux et variés pour Cuba. Bel immeuble, mais manque de charme et de chaleur,ce qui est inhabituel à la Havane

Room Number:
204-211

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube