Habana Riviera Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Habana Riviera reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Vedado Hotels with Similar Ranking

Presidente

4.0 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed May 27, 2012

Victoria

3.9 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 11, 2012

Habana Riviera  

Paseo y Malecón, Vedado. Ciudad de La Habana. Cuba.
(Vedado maps)

"Virtually intolerable"
Posted by: c  on Jun 13, 2013
see all reviews

Habana Riviera Reviews
Habana Riviera Pictures and Information
Habana Riviera Vedado Cuba

#1
of 12 Hotels in Vedado

User rating 4.1

Based on 62 reviews

Habana Riviera Information



Habana Riviera, charming in its nostalgic preservation of 50s style and glamour, the Habana Riviera is a comfortable and well-located option in one of the more beautiful parts of Vedado.

Habana Riviera official website
http://www.hotelhavanariviera.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Habana Riviera Reviews

Habana Riviera Review: 4.1 of 5 62 reviews
Excellent
  30
Very good
  17
Average
  7
Poor
  4
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (9)
Leisure (9)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (4)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
1 - 10 of 62

"Virtually intolerable"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  c  on Jun 13, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Business | With Group
71 people found this review helpful

With the caveat that I had low expectations...
ROOM: Mold throughout ventilation system and carpets; drapes torn and coming down; bathroom leaks soaked floors after each shower and further soaked carpet; balcony door fell off hinges; no chairs on balcony; personal items stolen ...
PUBLIC AREAS: Dim to no lighting; Lobby bathrooms were a joke - falling apart, no tp. So, so in desperate need of TLC.
POOL: Wouldn't dare.
STAFF: Expect for being ripped off by certain housekeeper, staff was polite although seldom helpful.
CURRENCY EXCHANGE: U.S. to CUC expect to pay 13% at Riviera. You'd do better at the airport or across the street at neighbor Melia hotel.
All this said ...I still tipped generously and hope this hotel gets the renovation and restoration it needs.



Room Number:
1712

Arrival:
June 1, 2013

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The hotel needs to some specific modifications!"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alireza  on Mar 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) BRAZIL
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Business | Solo
165 people found this review helpful

The hotel has a number of good employees! You need to pay everything! The rooms have not lamps, it´s absurd!

Room Number:
1417

Rooms:
very bad!

Restaurants and Bars:
good!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
so so!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bad"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maria del Mar Gonzalez Nogueras  on Mar 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
145 people found this review helpful

Roaches in the room, poor service, stains in the bathtub, no hot water in the mornings. The whole hotel needs maintenance unrgently but it seems it has been left to deteriorate since the 50's. Only good for nostalgics. Poor internet service. Very poor breakfast. And they charge as if they were a 5 star hotel!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Some great points and some bad"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Douglas Emond  on Mar 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
164 people found this review helpful

First, the good: The hotel staff were generally friendly and helpful.The waitress at the rooftop restaurant was adorable - friendly, efficient, charming. The room on an upper floor had a super view and was clean and comfortable.
The location on the Malecon was fine and there's a Tourist Bus stop right in front, a grocery store across the street. The 2 pools at the hotel next door (the Riviera pool is closed) were large and enjoyable and there's wifi as well at the hotel next door for a fee.
The buffet breakfast was good and had many hot and cold choices.
There's a taxi rank in front of the hotel. It's not close to the city centre but it's possible to reach quickly by city bus or taxi.
The major downside was that the smell of mould in our room required that we leave the windows open. We just about expired from the fumes when we opened a drawer and so kept our clothes in our suit cases. By the second day, I had a dull head ache and by the end of our week stay I was suffering a cold.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent location but indifferent service and challenging infrastructure"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melania Domene  on Nov 14, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
199 people found this review helpful

Hello
The hotel Riviera is perfect for lovers of 50ies architecture, it has been my second stay there and many fine details can be discovered.
The location directly on Malecon but in quiet Vedado is absolutely gorgeous, book a suite looking onto the sea!

However, the service staff are bored and indifferent and service quality is low. Besides, during our 3 day stay, there was no hot water ever and the elevators did not function for 2 of the 3 days (if staying on 17th floor, it is complicated to use the service elevators located at the back of the building, reachable through underground tunnels....)
This is not an appropriate standard for a hotel of this quality and pricing.


Room Block:
17th floor junior suite

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jesus  on Nov 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Panama
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
178 people found this review helpful

The hotel is not quite clean, the elevator went out of order for one and a half day, the recepcionist seems more interested in her talk with the bell boy than in our problems (i.e. the elevator), the carpet was so dirty that I got alergy. This is one of the worst hotels I have ever been. On the positive side there is a very nice view from the bedrooms and the old 50's enviroment is quite nice.

Room Number:
1611

Arrival:
Ok

Rooms:
The pillows were extremely small.

Restaurants and Bars:
Ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Personal muy amable."

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  GERMAN NAVARRO ACEVEDO  on Nov 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Colombia
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
172 people found this review helpful

En terminos generales el hotel es aceptable, merece una calificacion de 3.5 sobre 5.
A pesar que esta en proceso de remodelacion las habitaciones son comodas, amplias, con muy buena vista sobre el malecom, la recepcion es amplia, con buenos espacios para descansar. El desayuno esta bien, con gran variedad de frutas y alternativas de comidas. Lo mas destacado fue la atencion del personal, en todas las areas del hotel .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel riviera un lugar que volveriamos a visitar y muy pronto"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  natacha manresa  on Oct 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
180 people found this review helpful

Somos una familia de 7 personas que viajamos desde new york y miami nacidos en cuba y con mas de 25 anos fuera.mis padres adoran el tradicional riviera que ya con mucha diferencia de hace algunos anos sigue en pies y siendo
Un bello hotel con maravillosa vista, actualmente algunos pisos en reparacion , las habitaciones muy amplias y limpias algo antiguas pero con el bano amplio y moderno,tuvimos problemas porque no hay 120 v en las habitaciones y creo en pocas partes del hotel, el bar de la piscina donde pase maravillosos momentos no tiene sillas altas para sentarse aunque si mesitas con sillas, no se pueden hacer llamadas telefonicas locales desde la habitacion si no se depositan minimo 20 doll no se para que si es local, pero el personal es maravilloso la atencion de primera en especial dalia en recepcion y la mulata hermosa que la acompana la telefonista muy agradable el supervisor exelente y que decir del restaurant el desayuno muy variado en ello incluyo el cocinero amable que cada dia me guardaba mis vegetales con hongos para que no me quedara sin comerlos, jugos huevos al gusto, jamon frutas en fin una amplia variedad, en el bar de la piscina los muchachos amables alex,juan carlos (el papi) tito que me preparaba unos tragos ricos, raysa hay en fin no quiero mencionar mas porque realmente se me quedarian fuera algunos y no quiero ,,,fuimos un grupo de 7 y salimos muy satisfechos con la atencion recivida al final todas las pequenas inconveniencias fueron opacadas por el agradable personal

Room Number:
1815,1816,1818

Room Block:
VISTA AL MALECON Y AL POOL

Arrival:
FROM USA NY AND MIAMI DAY OCT-8 TO 11

Rooms:
GOOD AND CLEAN BUT W/OLD FURNITURE

Restaurants and Bars:
VERY GOOD

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
POOL EXCELENT

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic .......something everyone has to experience for themselves."

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Toinette  on Sep 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Bahamas
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
198 people found this review helpful

My experience was awesome...I loved the spa. Everyone was exceptionally nice...maybe because I was mistaken for a native on numerous occassions. The staff made every effort to understand my English and provide whatever was required.

Room Number:
1722 & 1718

Arrival:
The welcome was warm and friendly.

Rooms:
The rooms were spacious and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants and bars all beautiful.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Unfortunately I did not get a chance to dive in the pool but I did spend a short time at the poolside bar enjoying the fresh air.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fifties lovers"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Didier Garré  on Sep 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
217 people found this review helpful

This hotel is a dream for fifties lovers: the building itself, the lounge, the swimming pool, the restaurant, the beautiful Copa Room... Only negative point is that the rooms have very thin walls, which inevitably means that if you have noisy neighbours you won't get much sleep. Toilets in the lobby are like too many toilets in Cuba: no toilet paper, no locks on the doors, smelly... Too bad also that bar l'Elegante, which used to be an elegant and quiet place, is now very loud with videoclips on all the time. Food very average. Very agreeable personnel. All in all a good experience, though much room for improvement.

Room Number:
1912

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube