Habana Riviera Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Habana Riviera reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Vedado Hotels with Similar Ranking

Presidente

4.0 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed May 27, 2012

Victoria

3.9 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 11, 2012

Habana Riviera  

Paseo y Malecón, Vedado. Ciudad de La Habana. Cuba.
(Vedado maps)

"Virtually intolerable"
Posted by: c  on Jun 13, 2013
see all reviews

Habana Riviera Reviews
Habana Riviera Pictures and Information
Habana Riviera Vedado Cuba

#1
of 12 Hotels in Vedado

User rating 4.1

Based on 62 reviews

Habana Riviera Information



Habana Riviera, charming in its nostalgic preservation of 50s style and glamour, the Habana Riviera is a comfortable and well-located option in one of the more beautiful parts of Vedado.

Habana Riviera official website
http://www.hotelhavanariviera.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Habana Riviera Reviews

Habana Riviera Review: 4.1 of 5 62 reviews
Excellent
  30
Very good
  17
Average
  7
Poor
  4
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (9)
Leisure (9)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (5)
With friend (4)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
1 - 10 of 62

"Scary hotel from hell. Stay away!"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Casals Jorge  on May 31, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
141 people found this review helpful

The Riviera hotel knew better days, perhaps in the 50s when it was built but it is now dated, filthy and creepy to say the least. How can this possibly be a 4 star hotel? I was given room 1701 but since the air conditioning was not working I had to request a room change. The front desk was giving a constant busy signal so I had to take the elevator down and ask for a room change. After waiting for more than ½ an hour I was given a room from hell on the 16th floor. That was the worst hotel room I have ever stayed at. The lamp shades were soiled, the carpet was dirty, and the curtains were torn with some strange white stains, the baseboard was slashed and the bathtub was extremely dirty. The bathroom had a rotten and leaky ceiling to the point that I though it would cave in while I was asleep. Stay away from this place as it is an absolute nightmare.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Horrible"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jesus  on Nov 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Panama
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
184 people found this review helpful

The hotel is not quite clean, the elevator went out of order for one and a half day, the recepcionist seems more interested in her talk with the bell boy than in our problems (i.e. the elevator), the carpet was so dirty that I got alergy. This is one of the worst hotels I have ever been. On the positive side there is a very nice view from the bedrooms and the old 50's enviroment is quite nice.

Room Number:
1611

Arrival:
Ok

Rooms:
The pillows were extremely small.

Restaurants and Bars:
Ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bad"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maria del Mar Gonzalez Nogueras  on Mar 12, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
150 people found this review helpful

Roaches in the room, poor service, stains in the bathtub, no hot water in the mornings. The whole hotel needs maintenance unrgently but it seems it has been left to deteriorate since the 50's. Only good for nostalgics. Poor internet service. Very poor breakfast. And they charge as if they were a 5 star hotel!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"no me gusto"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sr. Diana Sterling  on Mar 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Colombia
Visited on: Mar, 2010
881 people found this review helpful

La verdad no se en que tiempo, escribieron los anteriores comentarios, pork acabo de llegar de Cuba y me ospede en este Hotel y la atencion fue bastante regular, las habitaciones y estructuras estan muy deterioradas, nada de lo que esperaba realmente, con lo unico que me senti a gusto fue con la Camarera muyy atenta y muy organizada, pero en cuanto al servicio de restaurante y recepcion muy pesimo

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The hotel needs to some specific modifications!"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alireza  on Mar 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) BRAZIL
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Business | Solo
171 people found this review helpful

The hotel has a number of good employees! You need to pay everything! The rooms have not lamps, it´s absurd!

Room Number:
1417

Rooms:
very bad!

Restaurants and Bars:
good!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
so so!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Virtually intolerable"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  c  on Jun 13, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Business | With Group
76 people found this review helpful

With the caveat that I had low expectations...
ROOM: Mold throughout ventilation system and carpets; drapes torn and coming down; bathroom leaks soaked floors after each shower and further soaked carpet; balcony door fell off hinges; no chairs on balcony; personal items stolen ...
PUBLIC AREAS: Dim to no lighting; Lobby bathrooms were a joke - falling apart, no tp. So, so in desperate need of TLC.
POOL: Wouldn't dare.
STAFF: Expect for being ripped off by certain housekeeper, staff was polite although seldom helpful.
CURRENCY EXCHANGE: U.S. to CUC expect to pay 13% at Riviera. You'd do better at the airport or across the street at neighbor Melia hotel.
All this said ...I still tipped generously and hope this hotel gets the renovation and restoration it needs.



Room Number:
1712

Arrival:
June 1, 2013

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Some great points and some bad"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Douglas Emond  on Mar 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
170 people found this review helpful

First, the good: The hotel staff were generally friendly and helpful.The waitress at the rooftop restaurant was adorable - friendly, efficient, charming. The room on an upper floor had a super view and was clean and comfortable.
The location on the Malecon was fine and there's a Tourist Bus stop right in front, a grocery store across the street. The 2 pools at the hotel next door (the Riviera pool is closed) were large and enjoyable and there's wifi as well at the hotel next door for a fee.
The buffet breakfast was good and had many hot and cold choices.
There's a taxi rank in front of the hotel. It's not close to the city centre but it's possible to reach quickly by city bus or taxi.
The major downside was that the smell of mould in our room required that we leave the windows open. We just about expired from the fumes when we opened a drawer and so kept our clothes in our suit cases. By the second day, I had a dull head ache and by the end of our week stay I was suffering a cold.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"mantenimiento"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sr. Leonardo Castillo  on Apr 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Apr, 2010
971 people found this review helpful

No se si he estado en el mismo hotel que reflejan la mayoria de los comentarios que he leido de este hotel.He estado alojado 3 dias este mes de marzo de 2010,y mi opinion es que lo unico bueno del hotel es el personal que trabaja en el,las vistas y el hall.Todo lo demas sobre todo el mantenimiento de las instalaciones(INESISTENTE)me ha parecido lamentable.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Serious security problem at this Hotel"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  BERNARD REID  on Jul 13, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
201 people found this review helpful

Our stay was badly affected by the theft of cash from within our safety deposit boxes within our bedrooms. We stayed for 4 nights and at around 6PM on our last day my pal knocked on my door to tell me to check the contents of my safe as he had cash taken from his. I checked my wallet, which had been left in the safe, and discovered that 3 x 20 GBP notes were missing. I had counted my cash before going out that day. My Cuban pesos were untouched. The keycard for the room door also opens the safe. We spoke to the Hotel security manager who investigated. He produced print-outs showing each time the room door was opened and also which times the safe was opened. The only entry other than my own was the cleaner during the afternoon. Her key card has a different code. No safe entry was shown. Someone at the hotel has found a way around the system. Two of us had been robbed the same day. I have no complaint against the way the hotel conducted their investigation - though as we were leaving ealy next morning I don't know the results of the interview with the cleaner - and they have not sent me an e-mail as promised with their findings.

Room Number:
1723/1721

Arrival:
Check-in was fine. Only one lift working, slowly, which was a bit frustrating. I think they were working on the others so maybe this problem will be sorted soon.

Rooms:
Very bright and clean. Mattress was brand new and I suffered a bit as a result - gave me a bit of backache - but I'm sure beds will be more comfortable when they get a bit more usage and become more flexible.

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast very good - very good staff working in restaurant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Plenty of brand new, good quality sun beds. Nice pool with good diving boards. Pool bar does the job.

Other Comments:
Had it not been for the safe incident I would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent location but indifferent service and challenging infrastructure"

Habana Riviera
User Rating:  Habana Riviera Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melania Domene  on Nov 14, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
205 people found this review helpful

Hello
The hotel Riviera is perfect for lovers of 50ies architecture, it has been my second stay there and many fine details can be discovered.
The location directly on Malecon but in quiet Vedado is absolutely gorgeous, book a suite looking onto the sea!

However, the service staff are bored and indifferent and service quality is low. Besides, during our 3 day stay, there was no hot water ever and the elevators did not function for 2 of the 3 days (if staying on 17th floor, it is complicated to use the service elevators located at the back of the building, reachable through underground tunnels....)
This is not an appropriate standard for a hotel of this quality and pricing.


Room Block:
17th floor junior suite

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube