Saint John's Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Saint John's reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Vedado Hotels with Similar Ranking

Bella Habana

4.0 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 26, 2014

Vedado

3.1 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2014

Paseo Habana

2.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 18, 2012

Saint John's  

Calle O e/ 23 y 25, Vedado. Ciudad de La Habana
(Vedado maps)

"Staff were all very pleasant and accommodating"
Posted by: Daniel  on Nov 13, 2013
see all reviews

Saint John's Reviews
Saint John's Pictures and Information
Saint John's Vedado Cuba

#7
of 12 Hotels in Vedado

User rating 3.4

Based on 7 reviews

Saint John's Information


In the heart of the Vedado district, right in the hustle and bustle of this exciting part of the city. Cinemas, nightlife nearby.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Saint John's Reviews

Saint John's Review: 3.4 of 5 7 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  3
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (5)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Family and Kids
Solo
With Group
1 - 7 of 7

"Staff were all very pleasant and accommodating"

Saint John's
User Rating:  Saint John's Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Daniel  on Nov 13, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Leisure | With friend
53 people found this review helpful

The services were as described on the website. The safe in our room had no electricity and so did not work, but the front desk clerk was quick to move us to another room where the safe worked fine.

The cleaning staff reacted quickly and efficiently after a night of heavy rain which caused water to leak into our room through the window frame.

Other than those two minor incidents, everything went smoothly. No complaints.

The front desk staff all spoke English and Spanish. They were always pleasant and went out of their way to help us.

I would recommend this hotel to other travelers.

Room Number:
1203

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"violent and horrible"

Saint John's
User Rating:  Saint John's Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  tim  on May 23, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) BRITISH INDIAN OCEAN TERRITORY
Visited on: May, 2013 | Business | Solo
102 people found this review helpful

I advise no non-latin person to go to this hotel. I went there on Friday 11th May and was assaulted by the security guards at the reception, I think because I was a Little irritable that I could not get any response from the reception when I asked for a taxi. I was attacked, dragged out in full view of all, and beaten up for two hours in the Street and their car. My money was stolen from my shirt pocket, so that the next day I was thrown out of the hotel by the manager. I could not get more money until the next Monday from a bank.

The next day this was reported to the pólice, some of whom came, but did nothing.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Basic but OK for the price"

Saint John's
User Rating:  Saint John's Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael Gauld  on May 6, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
157 people found this review helpful

The hotel was pretty basic but OK for the the price. It's in a very good location in Vedado just 3min walk from the Hotel Nacional.

On the plus side the front desk staff and bellboys were friendly and helpful and spoke English. The breakfast was adequate (cereal, toast, fruit, eggs) and the room was functional though not much more.

On the downsides the rooftop pool was just that, there was no space to sit or lye in the sun around the pool. I was up on the 10th floor and the noise from the rooftop disco at the weekend is pretty loud till 3am, also the sound from the street is louder than expected - take some earplugs! You may also have to have the odd cold shower as hot water doesn't always work.

The biggest downside was some loose change in a zip compartment in my day bag ($4 CUC) went missing following cleaning of my room by the maid service. I'd have left at least this as a tip after my stay, there is a safe security box provided in the room and the hotel says don't leave any valuables in your room. I just found it a bit of a shock - I had seen some reviews on trip advisor saying something similar prior to my stay, I didn't bother reporting this to reception as it was only 4 pesos and they advise you to keep valuables in the safe.

I wouldn't stay here longer than you need to spend in Vedado which need only be about 3 nights.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bon Sejour"

Saint John's
User Rating:  Saint John's Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maite CHIPI  on Feb 25, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
147 people found this review helpful

J'ai passé une nuit à l'hotel Saint John's. La chambre était très bien, très confortable et propre. Bon accueil à la réception. Mon coffre fort ne marchait pas mais bon je n'ai pas eu de souci de vol cependant (à noter que dans cet hotel l'utilisation du coffre fort présent dans la chambre est payante)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overrated hotel"

Saint John's
User Rating:  Saint John's Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Esther Putman  on Jan 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
171 people found this review helpful

We stayed a single night, which is more than enough. Although the rooms look clean, there were too many little feet on visit in the room. Bathroom really requires some refurbishing.
Luckily, the toilet had paper and a seat. Breakfast was OK

Arrival:
december 31, 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Très bon séjour, personnel accueillant, excellente situation."

Saint John's
User Rating:  Saint John's Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jean-Marie GERARD  on Nov 17, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Business | With friend
193 people found this review helpful

Très bon rapport qualité-prix

Room Number:
1105 & 1103

Arrival:
We do appreciate staff speaking fluent french at reception desk. Everybody very helpful.

Rooms:
Very good housekeeper, very professional.

Restaurants and Bars:
bar ok good coffee and mojito
Breakfast at hotel Vedado very copious and varied.
Very good staff making tortillas.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
not used

Other Comments:
Gate and lift keepers are very attentive.

It was very helpful to find a desk for change at hotel Vedado.

We have allready recommanded this hôtel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't be Deceived"

Saint John's
User Rating:  Saint John's Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  kent  on Nov 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
254 people found this review helpful

I spent 16 days in the Hotel St John's in October. They mention they have internet access in the hotel which is not! In order to get the internet you must walk to another hotel (Habana Libre or National) to get access.In addition what they don't tell you is your currency exchange is only the dollar value and the change is always kept by the hotel. As for hot and cold water good luck! The disco. carries a cover charge for all those wanting to use it, even if you are staying in the hotel. The free breakfast is taken at the sister hotel down the street which is one block away.

Room Number:
916

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube