Santa Isabel Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Santa Isabel reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Parque Central

4.7 based on 75 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 8, 2012

Saratoga

4.5 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 19, 2014

Parque Central Torre

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 28, 2014

Palacio del Marqués de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal

4.3 based on 12 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 30, 2013

Santa Isabel  

Baratillo St. number 9 between Obispo and Narciso Lopez Sts., Arm Square. Old Havana
(Old Havana Maps)

"Very nice hotel with view on Plaza de Armas"
Posted by: Chris Schwagermann on Mar 7, 2012
see all reviews

Santa Isabel Reviews
Santa Isabel Pictures and Information
Santa Isabel Old Havana Cuba

#12
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 4.0

Based on 19 reviews

Santa Isabel Information


Famous visitors to the city like the American Samuel Hazard, who came to Havana in the 1860s, were aware of the Santa Isabel's qualities. In his work Cuba with Pen and Pencil, he exclaimed that this was a true first-class American hotel with large and airy rooms, good food and service from bilingual maids who served the ladies. This was also a novelty on the island at that time.

Santa Isabel official website
http://www.hotelsantaisabel.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Santa Isabel Reviews

Santa Isabel Review: 4.0 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  6
Average
  2
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
1 - 10 of 19

"Very nice hotel with view on Plaza de Armas"

Santa Isabel
User Rating:  Santa Isabel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Chris Schwagermann  on Mar 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
158 people found this review helpful

We arranged the booking online prior to our visit and this was our only reservation in Cuba as we wanted the first few nights to be comfortable and without any hassle. Unfortunatly upon our late arrival (due to flight delay) there seemed to be a problem with the hotel keys (only for the new arrivals) and we had to move to a hotel 30mins out of town. This hotel did not match the quality of Santa Isabel and there was a loud disco till 2am.
Even though we had a unpleasant experience the hotel is very nice, we stayed in the room on the 3rd floor which has a big terras (which is unusual for Havana), luckily we could enjoy that the next evening. When we returned from our round trip, we stayed in this hotel again. The sales manager of the hotel has helped us out a lot by compensating us for the trouble we had on the first night.

Room Number:
309

Room Block:
3rd floor

Arrival:
see above

Rooms:
very clean and spacious. Great terras.

Restaurants and Bars:
The breakfast is recommended. We did not have dinner in this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Expected much more for the price"

Santa Isabel
User Rating:  Santa Isabel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  LEE FERRIER  on Feb 13, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
216 people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in a junior suite, while we explored Havana. The hotel is charming, well located and comfortable.
The staff was friendly, and was helpful except for the person who should have been the most helpful -- the person on the information desk. We got very little help concerning what was "on" in Havana, and actually got wrong information concerning relevant Havana tour buses.
The hotel charged 14% to convert dollars to pesos-- 4% at the bank.
Our room had a TV which did not work -- a simple coaxial cable repair would have fixed it.There was no soap in our room on arrival.
The elevator was not in service for our entire stay, which discouraged us from dining at the roof-top restaurant.
Finally, the breakfasts were very ordinary and inconsistent. Things on the menu were unavailable. The breakfast breads and buns etc. were of s decidedly inferior quality compared to what we ate elsewhere in the city.
Some days fruit was plentiful, other days sparse and poor quality.
The orange juice tasted like watered down concentrate. There were no choices for juice.

The building is so nice, but I cannot recommend this hotel at the price we paid. ( approx $320 CAD )

Lee
Toronto

Room Number:
208

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Reservation cancelled without notice, would give it a zero if the website had the option."

Santa Isabel
User Rating:  Santa Isabel Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kristina  on Feb 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
154 people found this review helpful

The hotel looks beautiful, too bad we actually didn't stay there. I made reservations two months in advance and paid for the room in full, only to arrive and have the manager tell me we couldn't have our room because government officials had filled the rooms. We were told we could not have a refund and were put up in a very basic hotel with a room having two single beds and no windows! Only after getting very upset and argument did they provide us with other concessions but we never had the option of getting our money back! Buyer beware,booking through the travel website gives you no guarantees.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Enttäuschung"

Santa Isabel
User Rating:  Santa Isabel Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mergen  on Jan 16, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Party | Family and Kids
181 people found this review helpful

Die Silvesterparty war ein Reinfall und für die minderwertige Darbietung zu teuer.
Eine 4 Mann Kapelle spielte genau 1 Stunde sond lief Musik vom CD-Player.
Meine Frau, Ich und andere Gäste ware ebenfallf sehr enttäuscht.
Viele Grüße Manfred mergen aus Köln

Room Number:
-

Room Block:
-

Arrival:
-

Rooms:
-

Restaurants and Bars:
-

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
-

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very good hotel but poor quality breakfast "

Santa Isabel
User Rating:  Santa Isabel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sylvie Da Cunha  on Jan 1, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
176 people found this review helpful

The hotel is very well located and very nice. People in the hotel are usually very welcoming and warm with children too.The room was very charming. We had a nice view on Plaza de Armas.The restaurant on the top of the hotel offers a very nice view on the city. The only point to improve is the breakfast. Pastries, breads, butter, jam... are not very tasty.

Rooms:
Rooms on the second floor offers a very terrace

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful place and lovely staff"

Santa Isabel
User Rating:  Santa Isabel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melania Domene  on Nov 14, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
283 people found this review helpful

It was our first stay at this hotel - the location is phantastic, both the rooms, the overall hotel, patio, roof terrace and restaurant/bar as well as lobby hall. Staff was lovely and very attentive. For example, it was no problem at all to get a special breakfast prepared at 5 am in the morning. Views from the roof terrace are spectactular, food delicious, even if choices are not large. The furniture is well chosen and antique, it was a very pleasant stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This hotel made our stay that much more enjoyable"

Santa Isabel
User Rating:  Santa Isabel Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shea Robert  on Oct 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
200 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Hotel Santa Isabel for 5 nights, our first visit to Cuba, and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, your staff were friendly, took care of us, were interesting and easy to be with, and the location, comfort and cleanliness of the hotel far exceeded our expectations. We highly recommmend your hotel and thank you for the quality of service.
The notes from the housekeepers made our day!

Room Number:
210

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Pulse of Havana "

Santa Isabel
User Rating:  Santa Isabel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Steve De Launey  on Oct 13, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Saint Lucia
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
196 people found this review helpful

This was an amazing experience. More a journey to see and to 'feel' Cuba. The Santa Isabel was perfect for my stay. It is central to the heartbeat of the City. The staff are ... genuine and professional.... that is a rarity in the Tourism sector. I truly enjoyed this Classic Hotel and its fine staff. Four Stars....

Restaurants and Bars:
Fabulous food.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great hotel and very friendly staff."

Santa Isabel
User Rating:  Santa Isabel Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Victoria  on Aug 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
366 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Santa Isabel for a week on our honeymoon. We found the hotel room to be clean, tidy and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was ideally situated within walking distance of all the major attractions in Old Havana.

The breakfast selection was great and the service was good. The views from the rooftop bar/resturant were fantastic, and the cocktails were very tasty. in addition the courtyard bar was very pleasant.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a trip to Havanna.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very pleasant stay in old-world hotel"

Santa Isabel
User Rating:  Santa Isabel Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Margaret  on Jul 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
357 people found this review helpful

We recently had a 5 night stay at Santa Isabel.
The rooms were large, with very high ceilings and were very clean, even though some of the fittings in the bathroom needed updating.
The view from the common, shared, balcony over Plaza de Armas was very nice.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, although their English was a little limited.
Our one down-side was that when we booked a trip to Varadero with the tour operator in the hotel, we were given an incorrect pick-up time ( 06.30 instead of the 07.30 that we were told.) and we weren't informed to take our passports with us as we needed to check into another hotel for the day to be able to take advantage of food and drink services while we were at the beach.
The food at the roof restaurant was nothing special, but the food at a lot of other restaurants outside wasn't much to write home about either.
Breakfast was adequate to get us going for the day.
Occasionally, the old-fashioned elevator did not work, but that was probably due to the previous user not closing the door properly when they got out at the other floors. Walking up a couple of floors isn't too much of an imposition!

Room Number:
306

Room Block:
Front of hotel overlooking Plaza de Armas

Arrival:
Room was ready on arrival, and reception staff helpful. Our porter was efficient and was the first of many people, both in the hotel and on the streets of Havanna, to ask us if we wanted to buy any cigars!

Rooms:
Rooms were spacious, high ceilings with charming colonial furniture.
Some fittings in the bathroom were a bit dated and needing upgrading.

Restaurants and Bars:
Standard of food in rooftop restaurant was fairly basic, however there was plenty of it. Service was adequate.
Breakfast was included in room price and was adequate with a selection of 4 'different'menus.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very pleasant having a drink in the downstairs bar area and the barman was very helpful (with good English)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube