Mercure Sevilla Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Mercure Sevilla reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Ambos Mundos

3.7 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

Mercure Sevilla  

Trocadero No 55, Old Havana, Cuba.
(Old Havana Maps)

"location is the first good thing"
Posted by: rugga on Aug 25, 2014
see all reviews

Mercure Sevilla Reviews
Mercure Sevilla Pictures and Information
Mercure Sevilla Old Havana Cuba

#7
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 4.4

Based on 32 reviews

Mercure Sevilla Information


A privileged location and lively scene make this history-rich establishment one of the better options in Old Havana.

Mercure Sevilla official website
http://www.hotelsevilla-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Mercure Sevilla Reviews

Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.4 of 5 32 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  14
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (22)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (4)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
1 - 10 of 32

"Hotel in havana"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Aloke De  on Dec 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
456 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
straightforward
no problems

Rooms:
comfortable bed, air conditioner was quiet, pleasant staff
no problems here
slightly outdated furniture but this is to be expected
lots of construction and renovation going on when we were there so hopfully things will look better in the next few months

Restaurants and Bars:
breakfast was not good
top floor restaurant was under considerable repairs, despite the hotel staff telling us it was open we found it to be a construction zone. went to eat elsewhere
had mainly bread and juice for breakfast
could not identify some of the other foods

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
did not go

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Needs proper investment to reach its true potential"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Craig  on Mar 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
220 people found this review helpful

This hotel could be magnificent if management invested and grabbed it by the scruff of the neck. In other countries, it's unique history (famous and infamous)would be used as a marketing tool. This is the hotel featured in Graham Greene's novel!
Its main benefit is the location. Ideal for Old and Downtown Havana. The lobby area is understated beautiful in a neo-moorish design... but the hotel deteriorates away from the lobby. Rooms are clean but are now tired in the wings, hot water is sporadic from the shower, internet was not available for a week, the restaurant is poorly staffed and the food is less than mediocre and grossly over-priced. Beach all-inclusives deliver better quality food and the Sevilla misses an opportunity to retain guest's custom with reasonably priced and good quality food. If better resourced, the roof restaurant could be the very best place to eat or drink in Havanna. The gym is from the 1970's and pool food is poor and extremely expensive. If one charges in excess of London prices, one expects international standards... I felt this could be such a beautiful and classy hotel - but by the end, felt I was being ripped off... particularly through the food/drink. I realise Cuba is crippled through trades sanctions and am realistic about the situation. I am just conscious this hotel could be so stylish and very cool if properly managed/invested in.

Importantly, most of the staff were courteous and kind.

Room Number:
220

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not the best or the worst hotel i have been to."

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  tina Davis  on Feb 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
213 people found this review helpful

as soon as i booked the hotel i found i could have booked it cheaper directly so that was annoying, the first room i was given was tiny and dark but i changed it after 2 days to a lovely room overlooking the Prada. The ceiling in the bathroom did leak sometimes and the fridge did not work but that did not bother me. my phone also didn't work but i changed it straight away.

I would say this place needs a fair bit of work done on it and a facelift but it is still a pleasant place to stay, the staff are very friendly and the breakfast would have been fine if i was not Vegetarian.

The pool is a big plus and the location is perfect.

Room Number:
518

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great start and end to Cuba tour"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alex  on May 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
344 people found this review helpful

The location of this hotel is its major selling point - it really is slap-bang in the middle of Old Havana; meaning one must walk for no more than five minutes before reaching any of the capital's major attractions (the Capitolio's in one direction, the Museo d'Reveloucion in the other and the Obispo shopping street in another.

All our group's rooms seemed well furnished and maintained, with great views in all directions from the rooms' balconies/windows. The architecture of the hotel is also of significance - after a 24 hour travel from North Yorkshire the massive colonial lobby didn't fail to impress!

Downsides: The staff in the ground/first floor restaurant weren't particularly proficient: especially on the first evening where there was an a'la Carte menu (we were the only ones in the restaurant and yet had to wait about and hour before ordering and the first of our tables getting their starters, after which it took an other 45 mins for the other tables to get their starters (all of which were mere salads). That said, given they didn't have to do a great deal during the buffet on the other two nights, we only had to communicate with the cold restaurant staff once.
There was also a problem with some of our rooms' toilets - I don't know whether it was overuse but the somewhat "unique" flushing system seemed to have left some rooms' bathroom floors swimming in a layer of dubious water... We also had to ask 3 times at reception for assistance, but when it eventually helped the cleaner was more than happy to be of assistance

Room Number:
809 and 712

Room Block:
Floors 8 & 7

Arrival:
Our school's group arrived on Tuesday 12th May after a 24 hour journey from North Yorkshire, England. We stayed for two nights in Havana at the start of our 9 day Cuba tour before spending out last night in the Sevilla prior to our departure via San Jose Airport

Rooms:
Personally I stayed in two rooms; one on the 8th and one on the 7th floor. All rooms that I saw seemed quite similar in terms of size, being well-maintained and their furnishings, but there seemed significantly more noise to the front of the hotel than at the back, which looks onto the pool, I suppose this was to be expected...

Restaurants and Bars:
As mentioned in the main review, the restaurant staff on the first night weren't majorly helpful or proficient, but the food (when it arrived) was on the whole of high quality (even if the a'la Carte desserts were a bit of a dissappointment)

The buffet-style evening meals on the two other nights we stayed, along with the buffet-style breakfasts, were quite impressive - there was a large range of foods to suit all tastes.

The lobby bar seemed a bit over-priced compared to the offerings of the surrounding bars, but it was nonetheless enjoyable to enjoy a drink in the lobby/terrace compared to the 30 C+ heat of the streets.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was used every night - no complaints here. Apparently there was a gym but we didn't get a chance to search this out...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice hotel"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Daniela Jahnen  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
457 people found this review helpful

City hotel with a rich history, nicely furnished. We would go back there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice short vacation"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gaston Aubre  on Oct 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
506 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Sevilla only for the week-end. I would name ti the soul hotel: quiet, old, clean, and what a colonial spirit ! We ate two nights at the roof garden. Wonderful view and we ate very well. All this for a reasonable price.

Room Number:
716

Arrival:
A bit cold for the customer service.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"una agradable estancia"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  maría teresa  on Jun 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
369 people found this review helpful

El Hotel está muy bien situado, el exterior es muy bonito y el interior tiene mucho encanto. El patio andaluz está genial porque tiene mucha corriente de aire que se agradece. Las actuaciones musicales geniales y el personal del bar muy agradable. Los bocadillos muy buenos y los precios como en todo el pais; muy caros para lo que ofrecen.

Las habitaciones espaciosas y limpias; y con buenas vistas. El baño un poco estropeado y la ducha difícil de manejar el agua que sale por dos sitios, a favor la presión de agua que es una maravilla. Las toallas mullidas y agradables pero las sábanas de algodón, al menos las de mi habitación, con bollos que molestan al contacto con la piel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good location, nice hotel"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rudy Van Daele  on Jun 12, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
333 people found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights in hotel Sevilla, 2 nights at the beginning of our vacation and one night before returning home. Both rooms were very large and well equipped. The beds were good and the room was clean. Due to the central air conditioning the rooms are a bit mould smelly but that was all.
The cafe downstairs is nice, a cool wind blows thru the hotel which makes it very pleasant to sit. The menu is limited to some sandwiches and pizza's. The restaurant upstairs is good, the location is very nice and gives you a great view over the city. I would stay in this hotel again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Welcoming introduction to Cuba"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sharman  on Feb 12, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
441 people found this review helpful

The hotel was well situated, although we only intended to stay one night before moving on. Beautiful entrance, friendly reception staff, but somehow a little large and impersonal. We were travelling independently, but for tour groups would be a great base.
Our room was large and well appointed. The hot water did fluctuate in the shower, but generally worked satisfactorily.

We used the downstairs bar for a light meal, which was tasty.

We thought the breakfast was a little disappointing. Although there was a choice, nothing seemed that appetising! Coffee was not as hot as I would have liked!

Room Block:
7th floor

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A comfortable and characterful hotel in a great location"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Trudi Johnson  on Aug 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
515 people found this review helpful

I was very happy with my stay at The Mercure Sevilla in Havana. The facilities were good and the location excellent. You would walk everywhere on foot, minutes to Havana Vieja and equally close to other neighbourhoods. Havana was a very beautiful and unusual country but I found it a little hard travelling as a single woman. Unfortunately I got mugged by an unofficial taxi driver and his assistance immediately on leaving the airport which left me with reduced confidence. However, Havana is a very beautiful, friendly and colourful city and it really was an amazing experience. Just be careful to make sure you take an official taxi from the airport and not go with someone who approaches you inside the airport.

Rooms:
A very large and confortable single.

Restaurants and Bars:
Great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
A sizeable and attractive outdoor pool on the ground floor.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube