Mercure Sevilla Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Mercure Sevilla reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Telegrafo

4.0 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 26, 2014

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Ambos Mundos

3.7 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

Mercure Sevilla  

Trocadero No 55, Old Havana, Cuba.
(Old Havana Maps)

"location is the first good thing"
Posted by: rugga on Aug 25, 2014
see all reviews

Mercure Sevilla Reviews
Mercure Sevilla Pictures and Information
Mercure Sevilla Old Havana Cuba

#7
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 4.4

Based on 32 reviews

Mercure Sevilla Information


A privileged location and lively scene make this history-rich establishment one of the better options in Old Havana.

Mercure Sevilla official website
http://www.hotelsevilla-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Mercure Sevilla Reviews

Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.4 of 5 32 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  14
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (22)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (4)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
11 - 20 of 32

"A comfortable and characterful hotel in a great location"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Trudi Johnson  on Aug 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
515 people found this review helpful

I was very happy with my stay at The Mercure Sevilla in Havana. The facilities were good and the location excellent. You would walk everywhere on foot, minutes to Havana Vieja and equally close to other neighbourhoods. Havana was a very beautiful and unusual country but I found it a little hard travelling as a single woman. Unfortunately I got mugged by an unofficial taxi driver and his assistance immediately on leaving the airport which left me with reduced confidence. However, Havana is a very beautiful, friendly and colourful city and it really was an amazing experience. Just be careful to make sure you take an official taxi from the airport and not go with someone who approaches you inside the airport.

Rooms:
A very large and confortable single.

Restaurants and Bars:
Great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
A sizeable and attractive outdoor pool on the ground floor.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"una agradable estancia"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  maría teresa  on Jun 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
369 people found this review helpful

El Hotel está muy bien situado, el exterior es muy bonito y el interior tiene mucho encanto. El patio andaluz está genial porque tiene mucha corriente de aire que se agradece. Las actuaciones musicales geniales y el personal del bar muy agradable. Los bocadillos muy buenos y los precios como en todo el pais; muy caros para lo que ofrecen.

Las habitaciones espaciosas y limpias; y con buenas vistas. El baño un poco estropeado y la ducha difícil de manejar el agua que sale por dos sitios, a favor la presión de agua que es una maravilla. Las toallas mullidas y agradables pero las sábanas de algodón, al menos las de mi habitación, con bollos que molestan al contacto con la piel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good location, nice hotel"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rudy Van Daele  on Jun 12, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
333 people found this review helpful

We stayed 3 nights in hotel Sevilla, 2 nights at the beginning of our vacation and one night before returning home. Both rooms were very large and well equipped. The beds were good and the room was clean. Due to the central air conditioning the rooms are a bit mould smelly but that was all.
The cafe downstairs is nice, a cool wind blows thru the hotel which makes it very pleasant to sit. The menu is limited to some sandwiches and pizza's. The restaurant upstairs is good, the location is very nice and gives you a great view over the city. I would stay in this hotel again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great start and end to Cuba tour"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alex  on May 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
344 people found this review helpful

The location of this hotel is its major selling point - it really is slap-bang in the middle of Old Havana; meaning one must walk for no more than five minutes before reaching any of the capital's major attractions (the Capitolio's in one direction, the Museo d'Reveloucion in the other and the Obispo shopping street in another.

All our group's rooms seemed well furnished and maintained, with great views in all directions from the rooms' balconies/windows. The architecture of the hotel is also of significance - after a 24 hour travel from North Yorkshire the massive colonial lobby didn't fail to impress!

Downsides: The staff in the ground/first floor restaurant weren't particularly proficient: especially on the first evening where there was an a'la Carte menu (we were the only ones in the restaurant and yet had to wait about and hour before ordering and the first of our tables getting their starters, after which it took an other 45 mins for the other tables to get their starters (all of which were mere salads). That said, given they didn't have to do a great deal during the buffet on the other two nights, we only had to communicate with the cold restaurant staff once.
There was also a problem with some of our rooms' toilets - I don't know whether it was overuse but the somewhat "unique" flushing system seemed to have left some rooms' bathroom floors swimming in a layer of dubious water... We also had to ask 3 times at reception for assistance, but when it eventually helped the cleaner was more than happy to be of assistance

Room Number:
809 and 712

Room Block:
Floors 8 & 7

Arrival:
Our school's group arrived on Tuesday 12th May after a 24 hour journey from North Yorkshire, England. We stayed for two nights in Havana at the start of our 9 day Cuba tour before spending out last night in the Sevilla prior to our departure via San Jose Airport

Rooms:
Personally I stayed in two rooms; one on the 8th and one on the 7th floor. All rooms that I saw seemed quite similar in terms of size, being well-maintained and their furnishings, but there seemed significantly more noise to the front of the hotel than at the back, which looks onto the pool, I suppose this was to be expected...

Restaurants and Bars:
As mentioned in the main review, the restaurant staff on the first night weren't majorly helpful or proficient, but the food (when it arrived) was on the whole of high quality (even if the a'la Carte desserts were a bit of a dissappointment)

The buffet-style evening meals on the two other nights we stayed, along with the buffet-style breakfasts, were quite impressive - there was a large range of foods to suit all tastes.

The lobby bar seemed a bit over-priced compared to the offerings of the surrounding bars, but it was nonetheless enjoyable to enjoy a drink in the lobby/terrace compared to the 30 C+ heat of the streets.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was used every night - no complaints here. Apparently there was a gym but we didn't get a chance to search this out...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best hotel in Cuba... Never change a thing... Please!"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Burney  on May 29, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
349 people found this review helpful

I spent the best time of my life in this hotel. Flew from London to Varadero...( not much going on there).The only hotel in he whole of Cuba to open it's doors to Josephine Baker on her arrival to Cuba after being refused everywhere else......Everyone must see the black and white photograph of her that this hotel kept of her during her stay...it's beautiful...a piece of Cuban history. Nice to see the old man still rolling cigars for people to see. The beautiful old American cars pulling up outside is just part of the magic of thes hotel. The staff were friendly and brilliant..if anything, very accomodating. The music fantastic and the salsa lessons in the halll brilliant, everyone must have a go. Food fantastic, beautiful surroundings and the rooms fantastic too, hopefully they won't change anything and spoil the atmosphere...this is truly a wonderful place in the world that needs to remail affordable, and unchanged....A little place in paradise where you can have piece, music, history, dancing or just total relaxation....wonderfull....definately should be 5*.Bravo La Saville

Room Number:
532

Arrival:
Welcomming, friendly, efficient, excelent...Like the cuban rum cocktail on arrival...you know you have arrived with that welcome

Rooms:
Fanatastic, clean,spotless

Restaurants and Bars:
Upstairs restaurant...too pricey, bar pricey too however if prices were lowered this would encourage more people to spend and bring other friends in from other establishements to drink and dine

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds,,,limited due to placement of building

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"50th Birthday In Havana"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Francis Litzinger  on Apr 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
230 people found this review helpful

This spring I spent a delightful time in Havana, Cuba for my 50th birthday. As part of that special day I wanted to stay in a central location in old Havana and as a result chose the Sevilla Hotel. It's a delightful hotel full of old-world charm and offers a setting that is hard to beat. They have a delightful courtyard that is constantly being visited by talented musicians. When we got there our rooms weren't ready, but the staff had already made arrangements for us to stay in another hotel until things got sorted out which they did the next day. You can find more modern hotels in downtown Havana, and I've been in them, but none of them have the vibe and ambience of this grand-old lady of Havana. I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A nearly 5 star hotel at a lower price"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Paul Ilie  on Apr 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
220 people found this review helpful

A nearly 5 star hotel at a lower price, with all the amenities, comfort, and location that can be desired. Located on the border between Old Havana and the central city, it's an 8 to 10 minute walk to the heart of the old city.

Arrival:
We were greeted at the curb where luggage was taken from the taxi and brought courteously to the room. The reception desk was very courteous.

Rooms:
We asked for separate beds, which were very comfortable in a cheerful decor with a flat screen tv that offered multi-lingual channels. The air conditioning worked, and plenty of hot water. The view on the sixth floor overlooked the swimming pool and beyond. The room and bathroom were clean, and were kept neat and clean for the 2 nights of our stay. The maids were available and helpful when needed.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurant served a breakfast that was abundant, with a wide variety of meat and cheese
dishes, both hot and cold, including juices, fruit, and granola. The cook was available to make omelettes, and you can have 4 yolkless eggs scrambled if you are watching your cholesterol.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The excercise room was a disappointment. It closes at 6 pm, so be sure to ask for a towel on arrival because the attendant refused to give me one after my workout at 6. The treadmill is positioned facing a window where the afternoon sun pours in directly in your eyes. A small tv in the corner is not visible to any of the equipment.

The pool is officially open until 7 pm, towels are available until then.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was always a musical group in bar in the late afternoon and before dinner, playing typical Cuban music.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Needs proper investment to reach its true potential"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Craig  on Mar 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
220 people found this review helpful

This hotel could be magnificent if management invested and grabbed it by the scruff of the neck. In other countries, it's unique history (famous and infamous)would be used as a marketing tool. This is the hotel featured in Graham Greene's novel!
Its main benefit is the location. Ideal for Old and Downtown Havana. The lobby area is understated beautiful in a neo-moorish design... but the hotel deteriorates away from the lobby. Rooms are clean but are now tired in the wings, hot water is sporadic from the shower, internet was not available for a week, the restaurant is poorly staffed and the food is less than mediocre and grossly over-priced. Beach all-inclusives deliver better quality food and the Sevilla misses an opportunity to retain guest's custom with reasonably priced and good quality food. If better resourced, the roof restaurant could be the very best place to eat or drink in Havanna. The gym is from the 1970's and pool food is poor and extremely expensive. If one charges in excess of London prices, one expects international standards... I felt this could be such a beautiful and classy hotel - but by the end, felt I was being ripped off... particularly through the food/drink. I realise Cuba is crippled through trades sanctions and am realistic about the situation. I am just conscious this hotel could be so stylish and very cool if properly managed/invested in.

Importantly, most of the staff were courteous and kind.

Room Number:
220

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent hotel"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Peter Fotiadis  on Mar 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
204 people found this review helpful

We were a little worried about the quality of hotels in Havana but found Sevilla to be very good, especially given the rates in comparison to Parque Central and Saratoga. Room was large, clean (high ceilings) and the onsite restaurant, buffet breakfast, and bar was good. Live music in the foyer every night was a nice touch also (can enjoy over a drink with friends).

Has a huge pool, which I didn't use, but looked great if you feel like a swim.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Gracias to Hotel Sevilla"

Mercure Sevilla
User Rating:  Mercure Sevilla Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rod  on Mar 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
217 people found this review helpful

Thank You to the staff of Hotel Sevilla for a wonderful stay, especially Anabel at the "Public relations" desk in the lobby.
Check in and out was fast and efficient, the room had two huge windows with wonderful views of Havana and the ocean. Some problem with the commode but this was attended to quickly, it was sort of quirky and once you figured it out, no further problems. I had heard that food in Cuban hotels was bland, but we had a very good meal of Grouper and Lobster on the ninth floor dining room and it was quite good. The best dining in Havana though is at Casas Particulares (privately run restaurants with home style Cuban cooking.) The view from the dining room is breath taking. The Lobby bar has good mojitas and a variety of live Cuban combos coming and going all day/night. It is a nuisance though, when in between sets they try to sell you CD's and hit you up for tips. The hotel pool is very nice.

The hotel is located on Trocadero at the Prada, which is a great avenue for strolling and people watching. Easy walk to all of Old Havana including the shopping street Obispo, and the Malecon. Also we enjoyed the National Art Gallery which is just next door to the hotel. The Ballet theatre is only about 2 blocks down the Prada.

Room Number:
801

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube