Telegrafo Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Telegrafo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Ambos Mundos

3.8 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2014

Telegrafo  

Prado 408 esq Neptuno, Habana Vieja. Ciudad de La Habana. Cuba.
(Old Havana Maps)

"best for tourists"
Posted by: rugga on Aug 26, 2014
see all reviews

Telegrafo Reviews
Telegrafo Pictures and Information
Telegrafo Old Havana Cuba

#6
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 4.0

Based on 36 reviews

Telegrafo Information


Hotel Telégrafo dates back to 1860. At that time, it was located on Amistad Street. In around 1888, it was moved to its final location on the populated corner of Prado and Neptuno. Completely rebuilt in 1911, it was considered by the press in the day to be the city's most modern hotel in addition to ranking among the eleven best in Latin America.

Telegrafo official website
http://www.hoteltelegrafo-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Telegrafo Reviews

Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5 36 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  13
Average
  6
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (20)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 36

"best for tourists"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  rugga  on Aug 26, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
3 people found this review helpful

This is the best hotel for anyone who is out to enjoy Havana especially tourists who are interested in sightseeing throughout their stay in this city because every attraction spot is of walking distance from this hotel. Also, there are taxis and cabs in front of the building so you don’t have to walk far before getting one to your destination if you need to. I found the room to be satisfactory, clean and standard in comparison to other hotels I have been to. The air condition worked fine, the bed was comfortable to sleep on and I have back pain but this bed didn’t worsen it. The bathroom had a shower that worked perfectly, everything was present in the room but there was no fridge which wasn’t a problem because I spent most of my time outside the hotel anyways. The maids I met at this hotel were all nice, the staff was nice also and helped out in a way they could. The price is good for the hotel value and services rendered although it is not a fancy hotel but it’s great. Internet service here was the problem for me, the only computer they had with internet connection was always busy but was present but like I said, who wants to use the internet when I spend most of my time sightseeing. The breakfast was nice but could be better in my opinion. I will come back here, my experience was very good and I recommend it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great base to explore Old Havana"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vanita  on Nov 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
124 people found this review helpful

We had a room overlooking the inner courtyard so it was a bit gloomy. However, the room was large and comfortable. The hotel is a wonderful mix of old original features and the ultra modern. All the sights of Old Havana are within walking distance as are plenty of bars, cafes & restaurants if you want to eat out. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Central Location!"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  James Jang  on Apr 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
167 people found this review helpful

This small boutique style hotel is lovely and on the edge of old Havana. Easy walking distance to main sites. The rooms are clean and large. Bed was comfortable. The breakfast which was included was basic. Juice,some fruit and egg station. Various breads. The service in the main dining room was non existant. In fact I witnessed the servers ignoring all of the guests to help themselves to juice and leave for the back room to shoot the breeze!!! Also on the first night, there was no hot water - zero. We ran it for over 15 minutes but no luck. We flagged the issue to the front desk, however when my husband called down the person answering didnt speak english and hung up. It required a trip to the front desk to explain and in the morning there was hot water. In spite of the bumps, most of the front desk staff were very helpful and the location was great.

Room Number:
101

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Tired and overpriced"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan Jacobs  on Apr 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
170 people found this review helpful

We just spent 5 nights in Havana at the Telegrafo, and I would not particularly recommend it. We felt that the room rates were far too high for the condition of the hotel. I would have much preferred to have stayed the the Hotel Parque Central or the Saratoga which are both close by. We ended up hanging out in the lobby of the Parque Central quite a bit - it is beautiful and they have wifi. The Telegrafo just has a computer in its rather oddly decorated the lobby, and it always seems to be in use. The outside of the hotel is freshly painted, but inside things are tired. The floor or the elevator is spongy, and the carpets in the hallways are worn and stained.

Room Number:
205

Arrival:
Check in was uneventful, but we were not offered any assistance getting our luggage up to the room.

Rooms:
The room was very clean and in good condition. We booked a room overlooking the interior courtyard because we had read that it could be noisy having a room overlooking the street. While the room WAS quiet, we found it stuffy (the interior courtyard is covered.) Also, during the first few days it seemed like we were getting an exhaust smell in our room. I mentioned it at the front desk, and they must have done something because I didn't notice it after that.

Restaurants and Bars:
We did not enjoy the buffet breakfasts that were included in the room price. Once you check in with the person at the door to give your room number, you are on your own. Noone gives you any orientation or even offers you a cup of coffee - you have to find it yourself. It appeared that the food in the buffet was put out first thing in the morning and never refreshed. Some mornings it was very picked over, and there were flies flying around the fruit. One day we witnessed the man cooking the eggs coughing into his hands and then continuing cooking. A few minutes later he was over at the bread table with his hands on a French loaf slicing off a piece.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Comfortable stay in a very good hotel."

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Paul Barnes  on Mar 21, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
171 people found this review helpful

Stayed at Telegrafo for a week to catch some ballgames in Havana. My hotel room was very comfortable, with higher end furnishings than I expected. Common areas of the hotel were also attractive. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming to this first-time visitor to Cuba. Easy to catch a cab outside as Prado and Neptuno is a pretty busy intersection. Hotel security could perhaps work a bit harder on keeping the jineteros away from the front entryway, as I was approached by one almost every time I returned to the hotel or left to take a walk around Old Havana. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Number:
102

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good hotel"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dostal Vaclav  on Mar 19, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) CZECH REPUBLIC
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
170 people found this review helpful

Excelent location, right next to the Capitolino in HAvana Center. Good reconstruction done. Nice rooms. Problem with toilets was fixed inmediately after our complain.
Food - just breakfest - buffet - sometimes not enought glasses, sometimes not enought plates, so some patiance needed. Food ok.

Room Number:
321

Arrival:
ok,

Rooms:
see above

Restaurants and Bars:
ok

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
NA

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
NA

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Clean yes, don't ask the rest"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wilhelmus Franssen  on Mar 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
193 people found this review helpful

1.The hotel is very central situated.
2.The rooms are very clean.
3.Taking a bath cannot be done, no bath plugs.
4.Shaving is difficult, face hard to see because of bad lighting in the bathroom.
5.The bed sheets are clean, but too small to cover the mantras.
6.Breakfast is Sovjetstyle: Who wants cold spaghetti or left-over beans? Fruit however is okay.
7.Half of staff is not friendly.
A fat cook, who's task it is to fry eggs is too lazy to stand on his feet. He keeps talking to the lady musicians, while guests are waiting.

Room Number:
215 and 315

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very nice stay"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nicholson Heather  on Mar 10, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
199 people found this review helpful

We stayed in a junior suite in the Telegrafo. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and worked very well. The hotel is a great mixture of old and modern and the service from the staff was friendly and helpful. You can have freshly made omelettes for breakfast, which is good as the rest of the breakfast options didn't look so great, but then again, we were down there right at the end of breakfast time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great location, nice room, poor customer service"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gilroyed Brandon  on Mar 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
192 people found this review helpful

We were supposed to stay at the Telegrafo for 3 nights. Upon arrival from the airport we got a story about water problems in the hotel, and were sent to a different hotel a few blocks away for the night. The truth is that the hotel was overbooked and there wasn't a room for us, even though I paid in advance of our arrival. The other hotel was nearby and not too bad, though not of the same quality as the Telegrafo. Once we were checked in at the Telegrafo the room was very nice. Second floor rooms have little balcony's overlooking the square, which was great. Superb location in Old Havana. The windows and doors were solid and the room was very quiet even when the street outside was busy and noisy. Changing money at the front desk was hit or miss. The first time we changed money a guy did it and gave us a horrendous rate. The second time a lady helped us and gave what I discovered was the typical going rate for hotel exchange in Cuba. In general I would recommend changing all your money at the airport- much better rates and much less likely to skim off the top.

Room Block:
second floor

Arrival:
Front desk staff were friendly enough, but not very honest.

Rooms:
Large, well appointed (for Cuba), clean, high ceilings, quiet, comfortable beds.

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast food was decent- better than the other hotel in Havana we stayed at. In general food in Havana is much poorer than you'll find at the beach resorts, but the Telegrafo was decent. The lobby bar was nice, the staff was friendly, and the mojitos were were alright.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great location, quiet, clean, pleasant service."

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ramona Dyck  on Dec 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
228 people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our one night stay at Hotel Telegrafo. We had an excellent corner room with a view of the Prada and the Central Park. It was nice to be able to open the large window and look out over the busy street activity, but when the window was closed the noise was shut out. The room was spacious and clean and we enjoyed pleasant service in the restaurant. Hotel Telegrafo is an excellent spot to sit in the outdoor cafe and watch Old Havana's busy street life.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube