Telegrafo Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Telegrafo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Old Havana Hotels with Similar Ranking

Mercure Sevilla

4.4 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 25, 2014

Raquel

4.1 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2012

San Miguel

4.1 based on 14 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 9, 2013

Palacio O´Farrill

4.0 based on 45 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2013

Conde de Villanueva

3.9 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 24, 2012

Ambos Mundos

3.8 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2014

Telegrafo  

Prado 408 esq Neptuno, Habana Vieja. Ciudad de La Habana. Cuba.
(Old Havana Maps)

"best for tourists"
Posted by: rugga on Aug 26, 2014
see all reviews

Telegrafo Reviews
Telegrafo Pictures and Information
Telegrafo Old Havana Cuba

#6
of 24 Hotels in Old Havana

User rating 4.0

Based on 36 reviews

Telegrafo Information


Hotel Telégrafo dates back to 1860. At that time, it was located on Amistad Street. In around 1888, it was moved to its final location on the populated corner of Prado and Neptuno. Completely rebuilt in 1911, it was considered by the press in the day to be the city's most modern hotel in addition to ranking among the eleven best in Latin America.

Telegrafo official website
http://www.hoteltelegrafo-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Telegrafo Reviews

Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5 36 reviews
Excellent
  15
Very good
  13
Average
  6
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (20)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (11)
Solo
With Group
11 - 20 of 36

"The most enjoyable experience."

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Milan Tomanek  on Nov 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) CZECH REPUBLIC
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
206 people found this review helpful

Comfortable, clean and friendly hotel; its location in the very heart of Havanna makes the stay the most enjoyable experience. We were fully satisfied with our selection based on Trip Advisor. Also a reservation made over the web was a pleasant experience, I would not expect in the country where the use of internet is not that developed. Nicely rebuilt historical building offers clean and well furnished rooms. All in all - good value for money which I can recommend.

Room Number:
115

Arrival:
22 November 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good hotel in the city-center"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alisa Zatonskikh  on Nov 19, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
118 people found this review helpful

This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Havana, with easy and quick walk distance to all major attractions of the old town, waterfront, shops and restaurants. Beautiful rooms, excellent service, attentive friendly staff. The only disadvantage for those who love peace and quiet - as the hotel is centrally located on a large busy intersection, you may be bothered with the noise from cars and street barkers. For me and my husband it was a plus - the opportunity to see the Cuban capital's vibrant life in a non-stop mode.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

" Overall our stay there was very disappointing!"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Hazel  on Nov 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
90 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1213

Arrival:
We were a group of four with quite a few pieces of luggage, there were no porters to assist as we were told that he was on a break. The receptionist looked bored and very unwelcoming

Rooms:
The rooms were quite spacious but unfortunately very musty smelling. The shower curtain was falling off the rail, was old and dirty.

Restaurants and Bars:


Thankfully we were on a bed and breakfast basis as the restaurant did not appear to cater for for those who did not eat red meat /pork. We struggled to get hot water for our tea. The selection was very limited

Beach/Pools/Grounds:


There was none

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fortement mecontente"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  romain puig  on Nov 3, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
81 people found this review helpful

arrivée a 11h du soir crevées à cause d'un retard d'avion, nous avons été trés mal reçu et on nous a informé que note chambre n'était pas disponible car en travaux et les autres prises; l'hotel étant déjà payé d'avance nous avons été envoyé dnas un hotel de centre ville de moindre qualité moins de service et pas du tout le meme type de chambres,et impossible de fermé l'oeil de la nuit car bar musical sous notre chambre non insonorisée.
Un scandale ou on ne peut rien dire car ils s'en foutent un peu du moment ou nous avons eu un chambre

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Tolles Hotel in absoluter Bestlage mit tollen Zimmern!"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Katharina  on Oct 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
90 people found this review helpful

Wir waren 11 Tage im Hotel Telegrafó untergebracht. Die zentrale Lage, die geräumigen Zimmer und das ausgesprochen freundliche Personal haben uns sehr gut gefallen.

Wir würden das Hotel zu 100% weiter empfehlen und freuen uns darauf, im nächsten Jahr wieder Gast im Hotel Telegrafó zu sein.

Ein wunderbares Hotel in einer der interessantesten Städte der Welt.

Mit den besten Grüßen aus Deutschland,

Katharina

Room Number:
212

Room Block:
second floor

Rooms:
Die Zimmer sind sehr geräumig und sauber. Die Handtücher werden auf Wunsch täglich gewechselt, alle Zimmer verfügen über eine Klimaanlage. Die Zimmer zum Parc Central sind sehr gut isoliert.

Restaurants and Bars:
Das Frühstück war sehr reichhaltig, ein Koch brät jeden Morgen frische Omelettes. Wurst, Käse, Obst, frisches Brot, Würstchen und vieles mehr sind zahlreich vorhanden.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice hotel good location"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wilco  on Sep 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
93 people found this review helpful

It was a plesent suprise. The hotel had a nice looking reception. Only the staff was not really there for you... Bored people on the reception. The rooms were nice, big and clean.

Room Number:
201

Room Block:
second floor

Arrival:
In the night. A lot of light and people on the streets its a safe neighboorhood

Rooms:
clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Breakfast was good for cuban cuisine.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
-

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
-

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Comfortable hotel but terrible experience at reception"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  fabio ferrara  on Aug 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
120 people found this review helpful

The hotel is very confortable, clean and well located for visiting the city but. Attention!!! At the reception in the night between august 24/25 there was a bad person, my visa was locked (American company) and she suggested us to sell our valuable objects in the street to pay room's phone bill. She didn't give us any reasonable solution, no called embassy, no called tourist representation, she didn't accept any gages! She only menaced to call immigration police!!! Luckily two tourists helped us paying our bill.
UNFORGETTABLE!!!!!

Room Number:
214

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Location, great room, loved the balcony :-)"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Nyaundi Anna  on Jun 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Cayman Islands
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
132 people found this review helpful

We chose this hotel last minute but it turned out to be the best spot for our little weekend getaway.

The hotel was clean and the balconies we had were super.

Going back for round two in July and we cant wait!

The breakfast wasn't good but everything else was spot on.

Room Number:
117

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great location, great hotel "

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Adeliya Khasyanova  on May 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
132 people found this review helpful

The hotel was perfectly situated on the main square in Old Havana. Close to all the walking tours and famous bars.

The staff were friendly and helpful. And despite all that we were told before going, the food was also at a very good standard. The only thing that needs improvement (which applies to ALL of Cuba) - is their coffee.

Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Moved to another hotel"

Telegrafo
User Rating:  Telegrafo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Adrian Hyde  on Apr 21, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
131 people found this review helpful

Having read reviews about hotels in Cuba I had some concern that we would be moved to another hotel as apparently this practice isn't uncommon. I actually went into the hotel 2 weeks earlier (upon my arrival to Havana) to check my booking was in place with them for my last night in Cuba.

From the outside and reception the hotel looks lovely but alas that is all I got to see. Upon trying to check in I was informed that the hotel has no water and may have to close the next day. This wouldn't have seemed suspicion had I not already had previous concerns about being moved to another hotel.

To be fair the hotel did offer to provide us with a taxi to take us to the other hotel (which wasn't necessary as we had a car) and although slightly inferior (in booking price) was pleasant enough.

There may have been a genuine water problem but none the less it is slightly frustrating not getting the hotel you have carefully chosen and confirmed well in advance.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube