Tropicoco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Tropicoco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Tropicoco  

Ave. Sur y Las Terrazas, Playa Santa María del Mar. Ciudad de La Habana
(East Havana Beaches)

"A review ased on my stay at the Tropicoco Playa Santa Maria del Mar in 1988"
Posted by: Freda on Feb 18, 2016
see all reviews

Tropicoco Reviews
Tropicoco Pictures and Information
Tropicoco East Havana Beaches Cuba

#2
of 4 Hotels in East Havana Beaches

User rating 2.9

Based on 14 reviews

Tropicoco Information


Hotel Tropicoco** is located on the impressive Playas del Este
in Playa de Santa Maria del Mar, just 20 km from Havana and 40
km from the international airport.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Tropicoco Reviews

Tropicoco Review: 2.9 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  3
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (9)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
1 - 10 of 14

"A review ased on my stay at the Tropicoco Playa Santa Maria del Mar in 1988"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Freda  on Feb 18, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2016 | Leisure | With friend
43 people found this review helpful

When I stayed at the Tropicoco in March of 1988 it was a very nice hotel, the food was fine back then, the dining room, bedrooms, lounge, grounds and beach were all clean and well kept and the staff were very friendly, the waiters in the dining room were very friendly and helpful as well. I have vacationed in Cuba several times over the years, Tropicoco (Eastern Havana),Veradero x4, Cienfuegos x2, Holguin x2, Mantanzas x2 and was considering to vacation at the Tropicoco in the next couple of months.

It saddens me to read the reviews of how unhappy people are these days staying at the Tropicoco. It does not matter if you stay in a 5 star or a 2 star hotel in Cuba the food and hotels are the same after all Cuba is a third world country and very poor so what does that tell you from the beginning (do not get your hopes up too high no matter where you stay in Cuba). You may get better service at a 5 star but the food and the hotels are the same right across the board.

Arrival:
March 1988

Rooms:
in 1988 the room I stayed in was very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
in 1988 the Restaurant (dining room) waiters were very helpful, professional and friendly

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
in 1988 the Beach was groomed daily, Pools and Grounds were very clean and well kept

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Excursion into Havana was very nice

Other Comments:
Overall based on my 1988 stay at the Tropicoco I would have rated it as a 4 star hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Zero rated hotel, never again even with SUNWING."

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gurudatta  on Jan 14, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2016 | Leisure | Solo
60 people found this review helpful

They say it is two star but it is not even zero star, never again in this hotel, as per past reviews requested room at 6th floor but all the rooms on 6th floor became swimming pools due to rain. Reception staff is rude and not at all helpful. NO wifi, NO free shuttle service to Havana till Feb or may be till march or April. two bars are horrible, only nice coffee you get and rum without coke or orange, low quality stuff in the bar so do not expect any thing like fancy even standard havana rum or good quality beer. Sometimes you will not get towels also for the beach across so carry your own beach towels if you want to stay in this hotel. City transport bus service is unpredictable, if there are 2 buses on this route then every hr, three then 40 mins and 4 then its every half hr. and don't waste your time for internet, speed is horrible, so this the first and list time to this hotel and with SUNWING.

Room Number:
604

Arrival:
Pickup from Veradaro airport was excellent but 6th floor room was not available so had to wait for couple of hrs.

Rooms:
Dirty, horrible, no hot water and had to request towels couple of times and sometimes those are out of stock so reuse the same towel, if it rains then 6th floor and even heard 5th floor rooms become swimming pools. Checkout time is 12 so hang around int he lobby is your pickup time is 4 pm or 5 pm, which is ridiculous, there is NO washroom in the main lobby and one at downstairs is too DIRTY, you will not enter in the same and its UNISEXUAL, yes only one washroom for Ladies and Gents.

Restaurants and Bars:
Not good service, always out of stock, never seen standard Havana club rum in both the bars. you get fantastic coffee at bar, even espresso but rum without coke or orange. Food is not up to standard, choice is bad if you go late then everything is over so just try to be early. Taste is horrible, cheap fruits like papaya, orange and banana. Breakfast is nice so do not miss the break fast.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Towels are always out of stock, beach bar also same either rum without coke or orange juice so adjust with what ever cheap drinks are available. Saw the rum price which they serve is very cheap and NO havana club rum at any of the bar.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Salsa teacher is nice, night show is ok, not that spactacular but can be missed if you are visiting to havana.

Other Comments:
Don't expect too much for the price you gave, not good drinks, good service, good rooms, NO hot water in bathrooms, No courteous staff... so never again either with TROPICOCO or SUNWING. Since there is no washroom in the lobby and one which is at downstairs is too dirty so make some friends those who are staying more days so that you can use their rooms for PP if your pickup is later in the evening to the Veradaro Airport since check out time is NOON and late checkout will cost you 15 CUC.

You will tagged with band in your hand so you can not get any other guest in you room and if you want to get any guest from outside to your room then you have to pay 60 CUC (95 CAD) to the reception to get your friend in room and to 25 CUC just hang around in the Lobby and use free bar or Restaurants which are anyways horrible.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hello, after all this is a two star hotel"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Dec 8, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
141 people found this review helpful

It is funny reading the reviews below were people talk about no room service. This is a true good two star hotel, please but please do not compare this to a high end hotel. If you are cheap enough because you can t afford a five star don not spoil it for us complaining about a hotel like this. This place a great for the price you pay, the beach is wonderful, the city is amazing and the staff are all five stars, trust me and just go!

Room Number:
506

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"don't risk it"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  moses  on Aug 29, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
154 people found this review helpful

This hotel displayed everything that could possibly go wrong in a vacation; I was horrified and will never make the mistake of coming back here again. This was an awkward trip for me and I wish I had better information before embarking on this trip. The whole trip just annoyed me and to crown it all, it was my first time in Cuba. The staff actually tried to make the whole thing better by giving a warm welcome but that’s about the only good thing I encountered at the hotel. The elevators are not working and have probably been like that for a long time. It was horrifying because I thought this was an all inclusive package and had I known, I would have probably just gone to a bed and breakfast where I know I would have gotten better care because I wanted this holiday to be magnificent for me. Room service was a no and zero percent plus I feel like the only members of the staff that was nice were those at the reception. The room smelled like it hasn’t been aired and the sheets smelled funny too. In as much as Cuba is a great city, this was a terrible choice for a hotel and I am not trying to give bad reviews to this hotel but I am saying exactly how it happened. It’s kind of dirty, poor room and customer service overall, food was bad and tasteless with poor options, I’m not going to risk it again,

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"HORRIBLE/HORRIBLE"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  lazaro revuelta  on Sep 30, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
242 people found this review helpful

NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL/STAY 4 NIGHTS,HORRIBEL SERVICE,EMPLOYEES GIVE U ACTITUD AND BAD ANSEWER IF U ASK,HORRIBEL FOOD AND CAME BACK TO US WITH INFECTION AND WAS ADMITED IN A HOSPITAL FOR 4 DAYS WITH FEVER AND INFECTION

Rooms:
BAD CLEANING IN THE ROOM

Restaurants and Bars:
HORRIBEL

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
HORRIBEL

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Buena"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  dagoberto  on Jul 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
320 people found this review helpful

Todo mui bien solo que como sugerencia al rededor del hotel existen innumerables matas de cocos y como bien dice el nombre del hotel el coco frio no debe faltar en el hotel pongan un quiosco fuera y cobrenlo seria mui agradable para los vicitantes

Room Number:
518

Arrival:
bien

Rooms:
acectables

Restaurants and Bars:
tremenda atencion

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beware! never again!"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carlos Fernandez  on Jul 7, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Puerto Rico
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
315 people found this review helpful

"Im not a natural born complainer"
But this place must be demolish, the elevators are death traps, the rooms looks like any shelter for homeless, the air conditioner didnt work, the bathroom and the room have a lot mildew on the walls, halls are dirty, the food sucks. First time in cuba and almost ruin our vacation.
My family and I were suposed to stay in there for 12 days, but we didnt stay not even one, cancel the same day and move to another nicer hotel in old Habana.
Beware! dont get caught on this hotel like we did.

Room Number:
311

Arrival:
front desk, Smile needs to be more frendly!
fix the elevators they are death traps

Rooms:
Clean, paint, new furniture and beds

Restaurants and Bars:
better food presentation

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
change the gardens, they look old and ugly

Other Comments:
the hotel are well located, but not well mantained

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be wary of the 'natural born complainers'"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Luc LeBlanc  on Apr 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
359 people found this review helpful

I read reviews prior to going to the resort, and some may have had a bad day. I've been to many Cuban resorts, and found this one to be just fine. For the price, this is a good value other than distance to the city.

Arrival:
No problems signing in, but got to my room myself. ie. the bellman was not to be seen.

Rooms:
Not great, but clean as best can be expected.

Restaurants and Bars:
Adequate. Some small businesses around the resort are gems.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Adequate. The beach is for Cubans, and not so much tourists. Nothing like Varadero (not clean), but decent enough.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Low key, but the nightly show at the club downstairs was better than I would have imagined.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excelente"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Luis Alejandro Alberto Contreras Parker  on Sep 2, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) El Salvador
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
408 people found this review helpful

Definitivamente volvería. La comida estaba deliciosa, el lugar era bonito, excelente ubicación.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Decent enough hotel"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marshall Beggs  on Apr 26, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
445 people found this review helpful

Nothing flashy, but solid. Much like the kind of hotels you find all over Cuba that usually go for half the price. My one complaint, therefore is that the price is too high in relation to other hotels, but then, you're basically in Havana, so that tends to happen.

Food was not spectacular, but it was possible to select a decent enough meal from the offerings at all three eating times.

I've read a lot of reviews from tourists whining about the food, the rooms and the old men and their jiniteras. So if you're a crybaby and find yourself at the front desk sobbing about things like stains on your rug, then stay away. If you're a normal person who knows what to expect in Cuba, then it's not a bad place at all... just not worth much more than 40 dollars.

Room Number:
230

Arrival:
April 19

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube