Tropicoco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Tropicoco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Tropicoco  

Ave. Sur y Las Terrazas, Playa Santa MarŪa del Mar. Ciudad de La Habana
(East Havana Beaches)

"A review ased on my stay at the Tropicoco Playa Santa Maria del Mar in 1988"
Posted by: Freda on Feb 18, 2016
see all reviews

Tropicoco Reviews
Tropicoco Pictures and Information
Tropicoco East Havana Beaches Cuba

#2
of 4 Hotels in East Havana Beaches

User rating 2.9

Based on 14 reviews

Tropicoco Information


Hotel Tropicoco** is located on the impressive Playas del Este
in Playa de Santa Maria del Mar, just 20 km from Havana and 40
km from the international airport.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Tropicoco Reviews

Tropicoco Review: 2.9 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  3
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (9)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
1 - 10 of 14

"Beware! never again!"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carlos Fernandez  on Jul 7, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Puerto Rico
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
315 people found this review helpful

"Im not a natural born complainer"
But this place must be demolish, the elevators are death traps, the rooms looks like any shelter for homeless, the air conditioner didnt work, the bathroom and the room have a lot mildew on the walls, halls are dirty, the food sucks. First time in cuba and almost ruin our vacation.
My family and I were suposed to stay in there for 12 days, but we didnt stay not even one, cancel the same day and move to another nicer hotel in old Habana.
Beware! dont get caught on this hotel like we did.

Room Number:
311

Arrival:
front desk, Smile needs to be more frendly!
fix the elevators they are death traps

Rooms:
Clean, paint, new furniture and beds

Restaurants and Bars:
better food presentation

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
change the gardens, they look old and ugly

Other Comments:
the hotel are well located, but not well mantained

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Zero rated hotel, never again even with SUNWING."

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gurudatta  on Jan 14, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2016 | Leisure | Solo
60 people found this review helpful

They say it is two star but it is not even zero star, never again in this hotel, as per past reviews requested room at 6th floor but all the rooms on 6th floor became swimming pools due to rain. Reception staff is rude and not at all helpful. NO wifi, NO free shuttle service to Havana till Feb or may be till march or April. two bars are horrible, only nice coffee you get and rum without coke or orange, low quality stuff in the bar so do not expect any thing like fancy even standard havana rum or good quality beer. Sometimes you will not get towels also for the beach across so carry your own beach towels if you want to stay in this hotel. City transport bus service is unpredictable, if there are 2 buses on this route then every hr, three then 40 mins and 4 then its every half hr. and don't waste your time for internet, speed is horrible, so this the first and list time to this hotel and with SUNWING.

Room Number:
604

Arrival:
Pickup from Veradaro airport was excellent but 6th floor room was not available so had to wait for couple of hrs.

Rooms:
Dirty, horrible, no hot water and had to request towels couple of times and sometimes those are out of stock so reuse the same towel, if it rains then 6th floor and even heard 5th floor rooms become swimming pools. Checkout time is 12 so hang around int he lobby is your pickup time is 4 pm or 5 pm, which is ridiculous, there is NO washroom in the main lobby and one at downstairs is too DIRTY, you will not enter in the same and its UNISEXUAL, yes only one washroom for Ladies and Gents.

Restaurants and Bars:
Not good service, always out of stock, never seen standard Havana club rum in both the bars. you get fantastic coffee at bar, even espresso but rum without coke or orange. Food is not up to standard, choice is bad if you go late then everything is over so just try to be early. Taste is horrible, cheap fruits like papaya, orange and banana. Breakfast is nice so do not miss the break fast.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Towels are always out of stock, beach bar also same either rum without coke or orange juice so adjust with what ever cheap drinks are available. Saw the rum price which they serve is very cheap and NO havana club rum at any of the bar.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Salsa teacher is nice, night show is ok, not that spactacular but can be missed if you are visiting to havana.

Other Comments:
Don't expect too much for the price you gave, not good drinks, good service, good rooms, NO hot water in bathrooms, No courteous staff... so never again either with TROPICOCO or SUNWING. Since there is no washroom in the lobby and one which is at downstairs is too dirty so make some friends those who are staying more days so that you can use their rooms for PP if your pickup is later in the evening to the Veradaro Airport since check out time is NOON and late checkout will cost you 15 CUC.

You will tagged with band in your hand so you can not get any other guest in you room and if you want to get any guest from outside to your room then you have to pay 60 CUC (95 CAD) to the reception to get your friend in room and to 25 CUC just hang around in the Lobby and use free bar or Restaurants which are anyways horrible.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"HORRIBLE/HORRIBLE"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  lazaro revuelta  on Sep 30, 2013  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
243 people found this review helpful

NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL/STAY 4 NIGHTS,HORRIBEL SERVICE,EMPLOYEES GIVE U ACTITUD AND BAD ANSEWER IF U ASK,HORRIBEL FOOD AND CAME BACK TO US WITH INFECTION AND WAS ADMITED IN A HOSPITAL FOR 4 DAYS WITH FEVER AND INFECTION

Rooms:
BAD CLEANING IN THE ROOM

Restaurants and Bars:
HORRIBEL

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
HORRIBEL

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"don't risk it"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  moses  on Aug 29, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
154 people found this review helpful

This hotel displayed everything that could possibly go wrong in a vacation; I was horrified and will never make the mistake of coming back here again. This was an awkward trip for me and I wish I had better information before embarking on this trip. The whole trip just annoyed me and to crown it all, it was my first time in Cuba. The staff actually tried to make the whole thing better by giving a warm welcome but thatís about the only good thing I encountered at the hotel. The elevators are not working and have probably been like that for a long time. It was horrifying because I thought this was an all inclusive package and had I known, I would have probably just gone to a bed and breakfast where I know I would have gotten better care because I wanted this holiday to be magnificent for me. Room service was a no and zero percent plus I feel like the only members of the staff that was nice were those at the reception. The room smelled like it hasnít been aired and the sheets smelled funny too. In as much as Cuba is a great city, this was a terrible choice for a hotel and I am not trying to give bad reviews to this hotel but I am saying exactly how it happened. Itís kind of dirty, poor room and customer service overall, food was bad and tasteless with poor options, Iím not going to risk it again,

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not for me."

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jamie MacKeigan  on Feb 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
425 people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent one week at this hotel/resort, and went to Havana for four of the seven. If you love the beach, this might be your kind of place. If your a single man/woman,then this might be your kind of place. Most of the staff are great. With the exception being the front-desk/reception girls.
The food leaves much to be desired. There are way too many prostitutes there at any given time. Very,very little entertainment. And we were charged 40% more than we should have been. Which kept friends from joining us. Thank God they showed the Super Bowl or i'd have gone to Havana 5/7 days there.
The rooms were clean and well kept. As mentioned, most staff were great. But it was primarily single, middle-aged men with young locals. Which embarrassed us ofter awhile because most were from Canada. There is good security on the beaches, which means you can bring kids. And gifts,etc. can be found at the hotel or besides it. As I said,it just isn't the kind of place we, or friends would stay at.

Arrival:
Well received.

Rooms:
Clean and well kept.

Restaurants and Bars:
Great service at the bars. Only ate once in both resturants. Told the Al' a Carte boss we were served raw pork,which isn't funny. It went no further.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds are clean. Security(policia) at beaches and main street. Always nice to see.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not enough and held at the hotel's hottest possible spot. No air and crazy hot there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Buena"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  dagoberto  on Jul 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
320 people found this review helpful

Todo mui bien solo que como sugerencia al rededor del hotel existen innumerables matas de cocos y como bien dice el nombre del hotel el coco frio no debe faltar en el hotel pongan un quiosco fuera y cobrenlo seria mui agradable para los vicitantes

Room Number:
518

Arrival:
bien

Rooms:
acectables

Restaurants and Bars:
tremenda atencion

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"normale buono"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  giorgio chisci  on Oct 6, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Oct, 2010
803 people found this review helpful

Mi sono trovato molto bene, in alcuni momenti bisogna adattarsi , il personale gentile e accogliente compreso quello dell'animazione, Ť la terza volta che io vado in questo hotel e mi sono fatto molte amicizie. Ringrazio il gerente per la sua gentilezza e tutto il personale in particolare quello della cucina. Consiglio questo hotel per vacanse familiari. a presto ciao a tutti. Chsici Giorgio

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Decent enough hotel"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marshall Beggs  on Apr 26, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
446 people found this review helpful

Nothing flashy, but solid. Much like the kind of hotels you find all over Cuba that usually go for half the price. My one complaint, therefore is that the price is too high in relation to other hotels, but then, you're basically in Havana, so that tends to happen.

Food was not spectacular, but it was possible to select a decent enough meal from the offerings at all three eating times.

I've read a lot of reviews from tourists whining about the food, the rooms and the old men and their jiniteras. So if you're a crybaby and find yourself at the front desk sobbing about things like stains on your rug, then stay away. If you're a normal person who knows what to expect in Cuba, then it's not a bad place at all... just not worth much more than 40 dollars.

Room Number:
230

Arrival:
April 19

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"al tropicoco come a casa"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Giancarlo Nardi  on May 18, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: May, 2010
792 people found this review helpful

Ho giŗ riprenotato un soggiorno di 3 settimane dal 5-giugno al 20 -quest'anno e la 4 volta che ci vado devo essere sincero mi ci trovo come a casa molto bene , con la direzione e il personale si Ť instaurato un rapporto di amicizia problemi ? qualcuno ma tendono sempre a risolverli velocemente ricordate sempre che si spende come mangiare da noi 2 pizze e siete in all inclusiv e ai caraibi con un mare stupendo ve lo consiglio di cuore chiaro non Ť un 5 stelle ma con un po di spirito di adattamento la vacanza sarŗ ok ! ps: un saluto a tutti i dipendenti e direzione a prestisssimo.G.Carlo:

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"come mi trovo all'hotel tropicoco Ť la 3 volta che ci vado"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Giancarlo Nardi  on Feb 20, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Jan, 1998
569 people found this review helpful

Hotel buono situato in posizione fantastica a 50 mt da un mare bellissimo i dipendenti sono gentili la cucina abbastanza variata senza pretese ma buona e costa veramente poco ottimo per chi vuole risparmiare:

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube