Tropicoco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Havana > Havana Hotel index > Tropicoco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Tropicoco  

Ave. Sur y Las Terrazas, Playa Santa María del Mar. Ciudad de La Habana
(East Havana Beaches)

"A review ased on my stay at the Tropicoco Playa Santa Maria del Mar in 1988"
Posted by: Freda on Feb 18, 2016
see all reviews

Tropicoco Reviews
Tropicoco Pictures and Information
Tropicoco East Havana Beaches Cuba

#2
of 4 Hotels in East Havana Beaches

User rating 2.9

Based on 14 reviews

Tropicoco Information


Hotel Tropicoco** is located on the impressive Playas del Este
in Playa de Santa Maria del Mar, just 20 km from Havana and 40
km from the international airport.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Tropicoco Reviews

Tropicoco Review: 2.9 of 5 14 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  3
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (9)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (3)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
1 - 10 of 14

"I love Tropicoco"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michaela  on Oct 7, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Oct, 2006
1781 people found this review helpful

Thank you for so many nice days. I visited the Hotel 3 times. I love it !! Kisses from Germany

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hello, after all this is a two star hotel"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mike  on Dec 8, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
619 people found this review helpful

It is funny reading the reviews below were people talk about no room service. This is a true good two star hotel, please but please do not compare this to a high end hotel. If you are cheap enough because you can t afford a five star don not spoil it for us complaining about a hotel like this. This place a great for the price you pay, the beach is wonderful, the city is amazing and the staff are all five stars, trust me and just go!

Room Number:
506

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A review ased on my stay at the Tropicoco Playa Santa Maria del Mar in 1988"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Freda  on Feb 18, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2016 | Leisure | With friend
551 people found this review helpful

When I stayed at the Tropicoco in March of 1988 it was a very nice hotel, the food was fine back then, the dining room, bedrooms, lounge, grounds and beach were all clean and well kept and the staff were very friendly, the waiters in the dining room were very friendly and helpful as well. I have vacationed in Cuba several times over the years, Tropicoco (Eastern Havana),Veradero x4, Cienfuegos x2, Holguin x2, Mantanzas x2 and was considering to vacation at the Tropicoco in the next couple of months.

It saddens me to read the reviews of how unhappy people are these days staying at the Tropicoco. It does not matter if you stay in a 5 star or a 2 star hotel in Cuba the food and hotels are the same after all Cuba is a third world country and very poor so what does that tell you from the beginning (do not get your hopes up too high no matter where you stay in Cuba). You may get better service at a 5 star but the food and the hotels are the same right across the board.

Arrival:
March 1988

Rooms:
in 1988 the room I stayed in was very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
in 1988 the Restaurant (dining room) waiters were very helpful, professional and friendly

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
in 1988 the Beach was groomed daily, Pools and Grounds were very clean and well kept

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Excursion into Havana was very nice

Other Comments:
Overall based on my 1988 stay at the Tropicoco I would have rated it as a 4 star hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be wary of the 'natural born complainers'"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Luc LeBlanc  on Apr 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
845 people found this review helpful

I read reviews prior to going to the resort, and some may have had a bad day. I've been to many Cuban resorts, and found this one to be just fine. For the price, this is a good value other than distance to the city.

Arrival:
No problems signing in, but got to my room myself. ie. the bellman was not to be seen.

Rooms:
Not great, but clean as best can be expected.

Restaurants and Bars:
Adequate. Some small businesses around the resort are gems.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Adequate. The beach is for Cubans, and not so much tourists. Nothing like Varadero (not clean), but decent enough.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Low key, but the nightly show at the club downstairs was better than I would have imagined.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excelente"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Luis Alejandro Alberto Contreras Parker  on Sep 2, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) El Salvador
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
961 people found this review helpful

Definitivamente volvería. La comida estaba deliciosa, el lugar era bonito, excelente ubicación.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Buena"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  dagoberto  on Jul 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2012 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
808 people found this review helpful

Todo mui bien solo que como sugerencia al rededor del hotel existen innumerables matas de cocos y como bien dice el nombre del hotel el coco frio no debe faltar en el hotel pongan un quiosco fuera y cobrenlo seria mui agradable para los vicitantes

Room Number:
518

Arrival:
bien

Rooms:
acectables

Restaurants and Bars:
tremenda atencion

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"normale buono"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  giorgio chisci  on Oct 6, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Oct, 2010
1014 people found this review helpful

Mi sono trovato molto bene, in alcuni momenti bisogna adattarsi , il personale gentile e accogliente compreso quello dell'animazione, è la terza volta che io vado in questo hotel e mi sono fatto molte amicizie. Ringrazio il gerente per la sua gentilezza e tutto il personale in particolare quello della cucina. Consiglio questo hotel per vacanse familiari. a presto ciao a tutti. Chsici Giorgio

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Decent enough hotel"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marshall Beggs  on Apr 26, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
937 people found this review helpful

Nothing flashy, but solid. Much like the kind of hotels you find all over Cuba that usually go for half the price. My one complaint, therefore is that the price is too high in relation to other hotels, but then, you're basically in Havana, so that tends to happen.

Food was not spectacular, but it was possible to select a decent enough meal from the offerings at all three eating times.

I've read a lot of reviews from tourists whining about the food, the rooms and the old men and their jiniteras. So if you're a crybaby and find yourself at the front desk sobbing about things like stains on your rug, then stay away. If you're a normal person who knows what to expect in Cuba, then it's not a bad place at all... just not worth much more than 40 dollars.

Room Number:
230

Arrival:
April 19

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"al tropicoco come a casa"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Giancarlo Nardi  on May 18, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: May, 2010
994 people found this review helpful

Ho già riprenotato un soggiorno di 3 settimane dal 5-giugno al 20 -quest'anno e la 4 volta che ci vado devo essere sincero mi ci trovo come a casa molto bene , con la direzione e il personale si è instaurato un rapporto di amicizia problemi ? qualcuno ma tendono sempre a risolverli velocemente ricordate sempre che si spende come mangiare da noi 2 pizze e siete in all inclusiv e ai caraibi con un mare stupendo ve lo consiglio di cuore chiaro non è un 5 stelle ma con un po di spirito di adattamento la vacanza sarà ok ! ps: un saluto a tutti i dipendenti e direzione a prestisssimo.G.Carlo:

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"come mi trovo all'hotel tropicoco è la 3 volta che ci vado"

Tropicoco
User Rating:  Tropicoco Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Giancarlo Nardi  on Feb 20, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Jan, 1998
788 people found this review helpful

Hotel buono situato in posizione fantastica a 50 mt da un mare bellissimo i dipendenti sono gentili la cucina abbastanza variata senza pretese ma buona e costa veramente poco ottimo per chi vuole risparmiare:

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube