Barcelo Dominican Beach Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Dominican Beach reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Barcelo Dominican Beach  

Avenida Alemania, El cortecito, Bavaro. Dominican Republic.

"good hotel with good value"
Posted by: micah on Jul 8, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Dominican Beach Reviews
Barcelo Dominican Beach Pictures and Information
Barcelo Dominican Beach Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#5
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.2

Based on 31 reviews

Barcelo Dominican Beach Information


The Barceló Dominican Beach Hotel is immersed in the green and freshness of tropical palms, blending perfectly with the surrounding environment to create this paradise with 24 hour all-inclusive services. Located in one of the most beautiful white sand beaches of Bavaro-Punta Cana.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Dominican Beach Reviews

Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 3.2 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  15
Average
  4
Poor
  4
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (19)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (5)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 31

"good hotel with good value"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  micah  on Jul 8, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
37 people found this review helpful

This hotel is a good place with good value for what you are paying, you will enjoy your vacation here, and at least I did. When I arrived, the check in process here was quick as I needed to be in my room as quick as possible. The hotel grounds are well maintained and well kept; I really loved how they took care of the place. They have an outstanding beach which I really loved that made my holiday even more awesome and the customer service was amazing starting from the door man to the front desk to the entire hotel staff. They were so comforting, pleasant, polite and professional, they tended to all that I requested for and it was a good feeling. The rooms are great, clean and large, housekeeping was top notch and the housekeeping staff was very polite as well. The buffet was good with varieties to choose from, I liked the Italian and Mexican restaurants, and they were also great. I visited here is February 2014 and stayed for 8 days, I loved the fact that it was located near a beach and when I read reviews about this hotel before visiting, I already had high expectations and they never went below it. Everything was in working condition in the rooms, air condition was working and there was hot water, so glad I chose this place. I will be coming back here again for my next trip, hope you still offer top notch services by then.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sub par"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  jim  on Oct 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
385 people found this review helpful

We were impressed with the campus and the lay out of the trees,pools, and landscape etc. we had previous booked a king size bed room with this trip but when we arrived,they put us in a remote area adjacent to an old deserted hotel. the room had paint peeling, hair was on the floor, no pillow cases,twin beds of which we didnt ask for,toilet leaking when flushed. we asked for another better room from tue. on and our request was granted to 10317.the food was ok and the entertainment was good. overall we rate this hotel a 2 out of 5.we would go back to punta cana but in a different hotel

Room Number:
10317

Arrival:
9-24-12

Rooms:
first room bad

Restaurants and Bars:
ok

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good

Other Comments:
i think the hotel needs to be updated especially the rooms. the picture you see on the internet are the pictures when the place was first opened.?

Photos: http://internet

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good hotel for a reasonable price"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tatyana  on Oct 2, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) RUSSIAN FEDERATION
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
391 people found this review helpful

There is no luxury but this hotel is very good value for money. Basic rooms, nice places around, friendly stuff, good a la carte.

Rooms:
Rooms are very basic but always clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was basic but a la carte restaurants are really great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is not wide but always enough chairs. Great ocean!

Photos: http://www.resorts4u.ru

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best vacations ever.............."

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  chris  on Feb 29, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
661 people found this review helpful

Don't know what some of you expected but did you ever stay at a all-inclusive before and out of the U.S cause you have know idea of what you're saying.I have stayed at the Barcelo Dominican 5 times and each time was better,the staff is fantastic and made many new friends there maybe your attitudes sucked towards them thats why you weren't treated nice.You make the best of it and you will have a great time,be happy and treat the islanders with respect and you will be treat the same way and going back for the 6th time this May and I can't wait.

Room Block:
variety of buildings

Arrival:
early arrival got our bands and went to the beach,front lobby held our bags to the rooms were ready,and other times we got there realy and our rooms were ready,very pleasant experience with front desk emplyees

Rooms:
all of our rooms each time we went were fine,corner rooms are very nice and there roomy,clean

Restaurants and Bars:
can't say anything bad about any of them

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach,pools pool bar and beach bar were great the bartenders are fantastic,very friendly and gracious had alot of fun with allthe staff,the entertainment staff are wonderful too the love to walk around and talk to all the guests whether it be on the beach or by the pools and there is something going on all the time with them plenty of activities all day long

Other Comments:
Great place to vacation if I didn't think so do you really think I would wastse the money and keep going back and recommed this resort to my friends

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible!"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on Aug 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
723 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for a week. I knew we were in trouble when I saw our room. Nothing like the pictures,on the web. In need of a complete remodel. Furniture is old and broken down. Beds are awful and pillows are even worse. It's like pulling teeth to get clean towels and toilet paper. Maids just look at you and say"later". Well later never comes. The pools are at least 85 degrees and need to be repainted. The worst and most dangerous thing about this dump is the food safety. There'd are no precautions taken to prevent birds and insects from crawling all over the food. My husband got extremely sick 2 days before we left. Upon returning home he went to the doctor and was diagnosed(after running several tests) with a parasite. The doctor said it was most likely food born. Well no surprise there! Two weeks, two different antibiotics and five hundred dollars later he is finally recovering. I wish I had paid more attention to the negative reviews of this place. This place is a complete dump with unfriendly staff and dangerous food. Please stay somewhere else!

Room Number:
7122

Room Block:
7

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good resort - 3.75 out of 5"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jay  on Feb 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
817 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
10115

Room Block:
100

Arrival:
Got there around 5, were treated to a rum punch while we waited, shown to our rooms right away.

Rooms:
Bathroom was clean, rooms were clean but old. Beds were fair, old though.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was good, the a la cartes were good. Spanish and Japanese were the best, followed by Brazilian and Mexican. The Italian restaurant was no good. Prompt service at the bars, the only problems we had were:

1 - regardless of the size of the lineup, if someone came to the back of the line and ordered in Spanish the bartender would skip everyone else and serve them

2 - when asked if they spoke Spanish or French, the girls in our group said no. The bartender the looked them up and down, turned to his partner and said something in Spanish and they laughed. Rude.

The servers were all friendly, I found their moods got better if you tried to use Spanish for please and Thank you.

We had a server named Estevinson at the buffet the first night who kept the cuba libres and rum punch coming, we tipped him well and never had to wait for drinks all week.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Everything was clean, there wasn't garbage all over the beach like at Macao. It wouldn't have hurt them to clean up the seaweed, though.Brought our own beach towels so we didn't have to wait for the ones from the hut. All the locals "huts"/shops were at the end of the beach, so there wasn't anybody harassing you to buy things unless you went over there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on the Outback Safari and Sonoa excursions, both of which I would recommend.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best time ever!!"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alvin  on Dec 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
856 people found this review helpful

wow people who write bad reviews are incredibly bitter! seriously what else do people want? it is amazing, people are great, alejandro was the best waiter in the world. no one was ever rude and no one harrased us( we were a group of 16 17 and 18 year olds) in any way. poeple leart quickly your name and were very kind and full of life.
the food was amazing and i never got sick once, and i have a very upseting stomach. the beach was clean i don't know why people said it was dirty.
Don't listen to bad reviews about this hotel, they are not true at all, the service is the best i got to eat pizza at 5 am and sometimes at 3 am.
I really advise people to go and stay there, it's the best!

Room Number:
9633

Room Block:
96

Arrival:
The arrival was pretty quick, we got checked in in about 10 minutes and a very nice employee drove us to our room.

Rooms:
rooms were cool and the mini bars were refilled dayly

Restaurants and Bars:
the people in the bars are amazing and full of life, the restaurants were cool too, the japanese restaurant was the best.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Everything was very clean, pools were amazing spetially the pool with the bar.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
i didnt have time to do any of the activities exept for the snorquel but some of my friends that went to the other ones had blast

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place for a reasonable price"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Dec 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
855 people found this review helpful

First of all let me offer a piece of advise to those who complain about the lack of English with some of the staff. This is a Spanish speaking country! It would not hurt you to learn some of the basics of the Spanish language and you will find that it is appreciated by the staff when you great them, thank them and ask them how they are today in their own language. It also helps if you treat these people with some respect - they are not your slaves and should not be treated or spoken to in that manner. The staff at the resort are friendly, beautiful people and the only person, on staff, that we found that was not friendly was the fellow handing out the beach towels. Magdelana, George and Sandra on the Guest Services desk are very helpful and most accomodating as well as being very friendly.

The food was very good. We ate breakfas tand lunch in the Bahia restaurant besides the beach - great omelets made to order by Juanito and very good hamburgers and fries at lunch time. The supper buffet in the main dining room had lots of variety, and although the pork and beef tended to be tough, on the whole it was very tasty. The Italian and Japanese restaurants had excellent food - especially the filet mignon in the Italian restaurant.

It is understood that you will not get the same food as you would if you were staying in one of the top end resorts nearby but then again you are not paying the amount of money that they cost.

It is a very good idea to leave a couple of US dollars as tip for breakfast and lunch and 3 ot 5 at supper time. This will also get you prompt, friendly service as these people are paid peanuts and they work very long hours - no unions here. We always tipped the bar staff as well as the ladies who work in the bar area in the main lobby.

We stayed in a honemoon suite on the 3rd floor of block 6 while my mother, who is 88, and one of our daughters had a junior suite on the 2nd floor of the same building. Both rooms had a jacuzzi tub as well as a full bathroom with his and her sinks.

The rooms were always clean and the mini bar always stocked with water and sof drinks. We advised the young man that we liked soda water so he made sure it was always stocked with this as well.

It is worth the little extra money for the upgrade and the privileges that go with it. You can have international brand drinks -its not too hard to take to be able to order Chivas Regal at the main bar located in the main administration area.

To summarize, we had a wonderful time and are looking forward to returning next year.

Room Number:
6307

Room Block:
6

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible, bad, really terribly bad."

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jerry  on Dec 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
899 people found this review helpful

Good.. Company that I took with me.

Bad.. Drinks were terribly made by the bartenders. Staff is rude. My friend and I were pulled out of our room by security and were accused of vandalism. We tried to complain to the main desk and ask for a manager but were told to return in the morning, after returning we were told to come back later. The two other friends that traveled with us were on the first floor and their room flooded. When I say flooded I mean it soaked all the clothes they brought. They had to call 5 seperate times before someone came to their room. Once they were at the room all they did was replace the TV in the room, which blew up b/c it was water logged from the roof flooding.

Terrible.. the food. The only meal I enjoyed was at the Japanese steak house, and after I ate there I became incredibly sick for 2+ days. Sanitation in the restaurants is non existant.

Don't ever come to this shit hole.

Restaurants and Bars:
Disgusting.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Terrible.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Certainly not a 4 star"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  karen  on Nov 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
811 people found this review helpful

The best thing about this trip besides the company was the beach...hardly any one speaks English...super frustating !

Arrival:
Total chaos....rep from Nolitour wasn't there upon arrival..we just followed the leader...sat on a bus outside for over 30 minutes...none of the drivers seemed to know what was going on.

Rooms:
The first of our 3 rooms was nice..but on the 3rd floor...no elevator..due to ankle surgery coming up..we asked to be moved as soon as we got in the room.They did move us shortly after...but to a room (while on the ground floor)that smelled very bad of must and mold. You could tell it was probably the oldest part of the resort.Toilet didn't work (which we called them approx 5 times over the next 1 1/2 days)We were not happy as everytime my husband was hit with Montezumas revenge..we had to call someone and all they did was plunge it...they wouldn't even leave the plunger.
Finally someone from Nolitours seemed to care and we got moved to yet another musty , moldy room....but at least the toilet worked!

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants that you have to reserve with were the best...my husband got very sick after eating fish from the buffet. Nothing to write home about..you have to pay extra to enjoy lobster..not like Mexico where everything was included.
Really upset that all we got was the crappiest liquor they had...i am not a big drinker...but...i know how a margarita is supposed to taste...terrible drinks..couldn't even have Baileys in coffee without paying....cheap cheap cheap

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was good depending on which part you went to...but the vendors that harrass you if you try to walk down the beach was unbelievable...they were literally like vultures..and constant ! I was picking up garbage all the time from the beach....

The toilets were one big virus waiting to happen...you are not allowed to put toilet paper in the toilets..at first i thought this was a joke...but nooooo
Sanitation is not the top priority..or the second for that matter.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Spa was a joke..very beautiful inside...looks the way a Spa should...but wait until you lay down ! I paid for a deep muscle massage...she couldn;t speak English and had no idea how to do a deep tissue massage....it was hot in the room and when i asked or indicated why..she indicated the power was off...they do that to concerve power....??? So , it comes time for my eyebrow wax..and she applies a lotion (which is normal)and then brings out a razor blade!!!!!!!!!I just about freaked..she finally communicated that because they had no power, she had to do it this way..but the power was back on by this time???
Don't book tours until you meet with your Tour agent! And don't believe when they say there are no certin items in the store on the grounds until you look for yourself.
The only really good deal was the internet..the room is very hot but you got alot of minutes for a nominal price and they had WI FI in certain parts of the resort.
I don't recommend the tour that takes you on a motor boat to a floating barge to snorkel and swim with the sharks unless you are in pretty good shape..they took us out on a day when the Ocean was soo rough...and you have to swim from cage to cage...some places dont let you take your own pics and will charge you $30 american for a video or you have no pics...

Other Comments:
Would never go back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube