Barcelo Dominican Beach Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Dominican Beach reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Barcelo Dominican Beach  

Avenida Alemania, El cortecito, Bavaro. Dominican Republic.

"good hotel with good value"
Posted by: micah on Jul 8, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Dominican Beach Reviews
Barcelo Dominican Beach Pictures and Information
Barcelo Dominican Beach Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#5
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.2

Based on 31 reviews

Barcelo Dominican Beach Information


The Barceló Dominican Beach Hotel is immersed in the green and freshness of tropical palms, blending perfectly with the surrounding environment to create this paradise with 24 hour all-inclusive services. Located in one of the most beautiful white sand beaches of Bavaro-Punta Cana.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Dominican Beach Reviews

Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 3.2 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  15
Average
  4
Poor
  4
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (19)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (5)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 31

"For the money we paid, it's worth it."

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Inggo  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
278 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 2009
the flight was delayed for 2 hours due to a 'technical problem'. the bus for airport transfer to the resort was waiting for us. it was about 20-25 minutes drive.

Rooms:
i requested for king size bed but was surprised that we were given 2 double beds. we requested to be transferred but was told there's none available and to go to the front desk later. we gave up after requesting twice. the aircon was not that bad but can be a bit quieter. we took the advice from the reviews here to give a $2 tip per day and we've been treated really well. extra bottled waters, beers, and towels. there was a day, not sure if it's standard, the room cleaner left 2 towels on top of the bed 'folded' looking like 2 ducks 'kissing' in a heart shape (not sure if i described it properly) with some santan flowers. the wife appreciated it, even asked to take a pic.

Restaurants and Bars:
the buffet is great. there's always something you'd like. the fresh fruits and fresh juice are worth special mention. don't miss the friday dinner as it is something special. we gave up reserving to the japanese restaurant after 2 attempts. italian restaurant was excellent. we didn't like the food in the spanish restaurant. the pizza from snack bar was excellent as i read in one of the reviews. make sure to at least give it a try. i love the beer, they are always cold and taste really good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach, pools, and grounds are perfect. there are always chairs available whenever we're there as oppose to the 'chair game' they were saying in some reviews. we were able to get some young coconut juice and meat from the guys who were cleaning the grounds. a $1 tip is not necessary but would result a big smile as i learned that the minimum wage is about $6/day for a 10-12 hour shift.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we went to plaza bavaro and plaza punta cana. taxi charged us $12 one-way. the vendors are a bit aggressive as expected but they'd back away when you say 'no gracias' with a smile. always remember that these guys are just ordinary people trying to make a buck or two. prices are better than in the resort as expected. another advice from a review to start bargaining at half the initial price. my wife enjoyed the bargaining game. you'd know you hit the 'right' price when they start bargaining by the dollar.

Other Comments:
for the money we paid ($900 per person including taxes , it's worth it. i'm doing this review to pay back as i learned a lot from reading others' reviews. i totally agree with the other reviewer who said 'if you did not enjoy this place I would say you are fussy!!' i may have said it differently but would mean the same way.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would say that this is not a 4 star resort"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob from Brantford, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
273 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 2009
Flew Skyservice out of Toronto. Delayed due to weather and the fact that they were down to one runway. Flight was smooth until Punta Cana when we had to fly around in circles due to a lack of visibility. Eventually the airport was closed and we had to land in Peurto Plata. After an hour or two we got back on the plane and headed for Punta Cana. Skyservice staff were excellent despite the delay. Arrival and check in were uneventful.

Rooms:
We had a room on the fourth floor of Block 3. The room had two double beds and was clean. It was a bit 'tired' and musty but no bugs. We brought Glad plug-ins for the bathroom and main area. (I would stronly suggest this). On the last day I asked my wife what smelled in the room and she said that she had taken out the plug-ins since we were leaving. The door in the bathroom didn't close properly and neither did the main door. We had to be careful to make sure it was closed but we managed just fine. Other reviews report that there were no bottle openers so we brough our own. Our room did have one attached to the side of the dresser. Our maid service was almost non existent. We too left a couple of dollars each day as well as small gifts for the maid. This resulted in NO beer and sometime no water or soft drinks. I had to call twice to guest services to get beer and water delivered. Some days the towels were not replaced despite leaving them in the tub as directed. As indicated by others, there are no face cloths. We brought our own so it wasn't a big deal.

Restaurants and Bars::
We have been to DR four times and this was by far the least enjoyable resort for food. We were fine at breakfast with the omlettes, toast, yogurt etc. We did have some trouble finding something to eat for the other meals but we did not go hungry. We did eat at the pizza shack a few times and found it to be good. They do let the ingredients sit around for quite a while which concerned me a bit but we just had to overlook it. We ate at the Italian, Mexican and Spanish al la carte restaurants. We enjoyed the Mexican the best but the other two were just fine. Lots of complaints about the wine but we always had the red which was fine. The bars were all good and the staff friendly and service good. The lobby bar was nice in the evening and we always tried the 'drink of the day' which was good. Beer on tap is cold and tasty. The tap indicates that it is Presidente but I have my doubts. They really slam the kegs around in the morning when they are being delivered and the result is foamy beer. There is considerable waste which could be easily eliminated by some care on the handling. (not a concern to travellers but the hotel could certainly be more efficient in this area). Pool swim up bar was nice and wasn't too busy at any time while we were there. The coffee house is excellent! We visited daily sometimes a couple times. The ice coffee drinks are fantastic as were the sweets and other specialty coffee's.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach is fantastic. Raked daily which was great especially since there were a ton of smokers there who treated the beach like a giant ashtray. The pools were well maintained and the staff worked hard to keep them debris free every morning. Grounds are very well maintained but overall the resort is old and tired and it shows. This is in no way a reflection of the staff, just the facts. In previous reviews there were comments about sewage smells. This is in fact true. There are several large green metal boxes here and there around the resort. They appear to be resevoirs for run-off or something. We did notice some foul odours here and there but they were hit and miss. After a good rain the smell is more obvious and lingering. Never had any trouble getting loungers at the pool or the beach. If you walk to the beach and decide to go for a walk to the right (south?) you will encounter people that approach you to show you a new hotel. They will give you a real sob story which may include showing you pictures of their children. They will tell you that they get a commission (to feed their kids) to get people to look at the hotel. The guy we met was very skilled in the art of making one feel completely sorry for his situation. I asked specifically if it was a time share and was told 'absolutely not'. Well, guess what....it was. An hour later and two high pressure sales people later we got out of there. Of course, the original contact wouldn't even look at me when I left the property. Just a heads up if you aren't in the market for a time share presentation. We did walk down to the market in the other direction and the vendors were not that pushy. People have complained about them in other reviews but they are friendly and respond well to 'no gracias'. There were no vendors to speak of on the beach in front of the resort. We were bothered more by the hotel photogrophers than anything, but even they were friendly and having fun. The vendors in Peurto Plata are FAR more aggressive and problematic than here.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We did the half day dune buggy/beach/cave/horseback riding excursion. The equipment is not very well maintained (breaks are a luxury). The guide was pushy and rushed every stop. There were more aggressive vendors at the beach and cave locations. There were vendors right inside the cave! The horseback ride consisted of a walking lap around the pasture (waste of time and money). The animation team at the hotel works hard doing games at the beach and occasionally at the pool. They were fun and not as pushy to get people involved as I have seen at other resorts. The nightly entertainment was good, and again the effort put in by the employees was commendable.

Other Comments::
Overall, I would say that this is not a 4 star resort as it is advertised. The resort is just simply dated and a bit run down. The staff were friendly and they work hard to keep the grounds well kept. We were very unimpressed by the maid service despite the tipping and even a nice note requesting water and beer. (neither of which were left). I met one couple later in the week who indicated that they had not received anything but water in their fridge. They were shocked when I told them that they were supposed to receive 2 beers every day and soft drinks (as per the Barcelo Resorts book in the room). This was a reasonably priced vacation but I would likely not return and would spend the little bit extra to head to a different resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a fairly good time."

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Carol, US  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
251 people found this review helpful

Arrival
The arrival was okay. We were glad to deboard as we had been on the plane for over 7 hours. We sat in the plane at Mlwk Mitchell for over 3 hours as they deiced the plane. Relieved though that this procedure was done. Staff at the airport were very efficient and helpful.

Rooms
Room was in block six and we had a junior tropical suite. Room was very clean and did not smell musty at all. Sometimes the frig would be stocked and sometimes not. I would get 4 bottles of water daily as the housekeeper I believe thought that if we had 2 bottles in the frig at all times, that that was sufficient. Somedays we would not get any beer - 2 a day. We started getting a fruit plate our second week there every day. We did have a great deal of trouble with our key not working - this was frustrating as the guest services would say "no problemo" and I made 5 trips one day just trying to get this fixed so we could get in our room.

Restaurants and Bars
The food was good. Somethings I just wouldn't try as there were so many choices. You could always find something to eat and never go away hungry. Again, everything was very clean.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beautiful and well kept. We got sand fleas and think we got this either from the lounge chairs in the reception area or on the lounge chairs at the beach/pool area. Not sure. Calydryl helped, but I still have 100's of bites and hope they all go away.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We went on the shopping tour and this was okay, but not anything we couldn't have done on our own had we known prior to booking. The hawkers were very agressive and I found this to be quite annoying, but just said no gracias and would try to walk away.

Other Comments
Overall, we had a fairly good time. Escaping the cold Wisconsin winter was a great reprieve. I would say that there front desk and guest services staff need a course on "customer service" and they need to follow through on concerns and problems and not just pass them on with no resolve. I imagine it would very difficult for the staff to communicate with people from so many different countries, but they do need to work on follow through. Would rate this place a 3.5 because of this fact. They would run the sprinklers with I believe sewer water to that smell was quite awful. We met some neat people from Germany and Canada and enjoyed getting to know them. Some of the ****** guests there were very rude, and I wonder how they came up with the phrase "Rude Americans". Being from the Midwest we are more considerate and wait our turn. I thought some of the ****** were very rude, pushy, and impolite. We did meet one couple from France and they were very nice - they sat by us for a drink and we all tried communicating, but difficult.Three times at 10 p.m. a housekeeper would come with towels and we had never requested them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Next time we will try someplace else, maybe even a different country."

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rhoda from Nova Scotia, Canada  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
263 people found this review helpful

Arrival
We stayed at the Barcelo Dominican Beach from Feb 14/09 to Feb 21/09. This was our first trip outside the country for both my husband and I. We flew with Sunwing, out of Halifax. We were one hour delayed, due to runway conditions, but it was nothing serious. The flight could have been better had we had a little more leg room, but I was on my way to the beach, what did I care! Being we were a little late with our scheduled arrival, we had to circle the airport about 4 times before landing. The only good thing about this, was we got a great aireal view of Punta Cana! Upon arrival, we entered the airport where there was a lady holding a Sunwing sign. We were greeted by two beautiful ladies in Dominican dress, and they took our pitcure, which we could later purchase on our exit out of the country...and that we did ($9 us). We proceded through a fast moving line, which was a little hectic for a first timer, you are expected to be well prepared and keep the line moving.

This is where you pay your $10 tourist fee, and present your passport to be stamped. Then it is off to pick-up luggage and find your bus. Which we did, with the help of someone that offered to help. I am thankful that he did. There were alot of busses, and he took us directly to the right one. He appreciated a tip of $5, well worth it to us! We had about a 20 minute drive, and thankfully, we were the first stop...no chance of loosing our luggage! Check-in was uneventful and the drink they offered was nice and refreshing. We checked in about 2pm, and we were told to come back in about an hour to get our key. We had friends waiting for us as they arrived the day prior, so that was no problem. We went to their room to change and we hit the beach until about 5pm.

Rooms:
We stayed in block 98, which is the furthest block from the beach. It would have been nice to have had a room next to our friends(block 64), but they traveled with sunquest, and I think that makes a difference when requesting rooms together. I am not a person to complain, so we took the room without a fuss, and were glad we did. We may have been far from the beach, but we were also far from the noise and people. When it came night time and we wanted to sleep, this was a wonderful feature. So what we had to walk a little! If I didn't have to walk there, I am sure this would have been a part of the resort I would have not gotten to see. We stayed in room 9830, which was on the third floor and I have absolutely no complaints about it. It had 2 double beds, which was fine, as we used one to hold our luggage and things...kept it off the floor. We had a huge double closet, and a nice sized bathroom, with a large vanity, which was great, when it came to holding all of our toiletries. The shower, sink and toilet were very clean, and that is what really mattered. There was a hairdryer that was attached to the wall, a make-up mirror, and a coffee pot. We had a patio door leading to the balcony, which had a clothes dryer and a table with 2 chairs...perfect, there was just the 2 of us. We had a tv, and a remote, but we didn't go there to watch TV, we went there to get away from it. Everything was ceramic tile...even the balcony. There was an iron and a safe in the closet, but we didn't use either. There was a bar fridge, and an air conditioner that always worked. Again, I repeat, we didn't have any complaints with our room. We had to check out of our room at 12 noon, but we were able to make a reservation for a complimentry room to get cleaned up, as our bus wasn't picking us up until 6:30pm. I found that this room was not quite up to my standards, but for the 15 minutes we were there, it was fine.

Restaurants and Bars:
I believe there were 4 a la cartes, and 3 buffets. We only ate at one of the a la catres. The only one you need to make a reservation at is the Japanese, which we heard was awesome, but we weren't able to get reservations. Apparently you should book that on your first day if you really want to attend. We ate at the Italian, and for me, I tried the lasagna, and didn't like it..and I am not a picky eater. The atmosphere was nice, but nothing to get excited about. We mostly ate at the buffets, the small buffet was best for breakfast...and the larger was best for lunch and dinner. The omoletes were awesome, you were sure to have a little wait, but it is worth it. I found the food to be just fine. Again I am not picky. I was game to try anything once. They have a little something for everyone. They have a grill next to the beach where you can have a burger and a 24 hour pizza place where you can enjoy pizza and we even found they had wings and fries one night. If you are looking for snacks, you should pack your own. There isn't any unless you buy it at the little shop and it is very expensive.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is AWESOME!!! The Sand is like powder. I have no complaints about the beach at all. We always found chairs, and we were looking for 4. There is just enough palm trees to offer shade to someone who wants it, and sun for those who don't. They have activities at the beach daily, but we stayed clear of that. Friday nights they hold a Beach Party at 11pm...we retired before the real fun started, so I can't report on that. They have 3 pools, a small one near the beach, and a larger one in the middle of the resort, and one that is in a section tha we beleive is the Italian side of the resort. It is seperate from the others. The larger pool offers a deeper end, and a shallow end. There is a swim up bar, which gets a little crowded around mid afternoon. Again, here we never had trouble getting chairs, and we only reserved them once. We took our chances. The grounds are very nice. Clean, clean, clean. There was a pond that had a bridge/gazebo over it, that didn't have water the whole week we were there, but I am sure they had a reason for it. It was nice to stroll the walkways with the music playing from the rock speakers.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the free shuttle bus to the Palma Real Mall,(5 minutes away) Very expensive little boutiques, but we went there for the Hard Rock Cafe. We spent 2 hours there, and enjoyed every minute. We had awesome food, nachos and wings, and bought souveniers from the gift shop. We got a cab back, for $10...not bad. Apparently there is a cheaper mall close by, but we didn't check it out. We did the Safari Outback Tour, and loved it. Our tourguide was Jose, and our driver was Victor. They were great. Jose speaks very good english, and was very informative. The drive to our destinations was worth the money. We got to see all kinds of things we never though we would. You certainly learn to appreciate the little things in life, that's for sure. We went to a typical home that is sponsored by the safari outback company. We visited a cocoa and coffee bean plantation, saw a crocodile, tried mamajuana(dominican viagara) and went boogie boarding at a local beach. The boogie boarding was the best! It was an 8 hour tour and we all enjoyed it...they serve drinks all day and a meal half way through.

Other Comments:
There is an internet hut on site, you can choose the time you want, $5 for 20 minutes, and it gets billed to your room. They offer massages on the resort too, but you have to pay. The girls go around asking you, they are not pushy, they take no for an answer. Also you can get braids done...no hassles here, as I have short hair. Friday nights they allow vendors on the resort. They do not bother you unless you go to their table. I actually thought it was fun to bargain with them. You can also walk to the left at the beach and visit the vendors. They try their best to get you to visit their shop, but don't really pressure you to purchase. If you are walking along the beach, and prefer not to be bothered, walk in the water, as they do not want to get wet. They will not approach you. Never pay full price...start about 1/2 of what they ask and go fom there. We didn't get approached at all by time share people, and we were told, not to buy cigars and rum on the beach.

The cigars could be made from banana leaves, and the run might just be water. We enjoyed our trip very much. Again this is our first time away, so we don't have anything to compare our trip to, but when you leave happy, that must account for something. We would definetly go back, but next time we will try someplace else, maybe even a different country.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All in all we had a great vacation"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandy from Woodstock, New Brunswick  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
254 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Mar 2 - 16
We were storm stayed in Moncton for a day and half but finally arrived at resort at 2am on the 4th. Booking in would have been easier if clerk had spoken a bit of English and us Spanish but we all had patience and soon were in our room.

Rooms
We were put in Block 2 and were in a perfect spot, close to everything. It was a bit noisy til 11pm, but hey, we were on vacation! The rooms were very clean, fridge filled and had no problems at all. The maids cleaned the rooms every morning ( if you were up or in the afternoon if you slept in)and we had plenty of clean towels and facecloths.

Restaurants and Bars
The food was great and I even managed to put on a few pounds. Yes you had to wait a few minutes for your drinks but we were in no hurry to go anywhere so it didn't matter. The waiters and waitresses were very friendly and courteous especially if you were that way with them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The beach was gorgeous and clean and so were the pools with a lot of chairs for everybody. The grounds were kept immaculate and the keepers even cracked open coconuts for everyone.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Every Friday the vendors came and there were also a group of huts just to the side of the resort where we went quite a few times to shop. (cheapy, cheapy).The small town of el Cortecito is just 10 minutes down the beach and also has some shopping there.

Other Comments
All in all we had a great vacation even though we were really worried from the reviews we had read. Just go with an open mind and a happy attitude. After all you are on vacation so enjoy it!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Family Vacation"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter & family from Toronto  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
266 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Arrived at the airport and had a smooth time getting to the hotel bus. I was going to use a porter but they didn't come chasing after us so we took our own bags. We arrived in pouring rain at the hotel. The rooms weren't ready so we went for lunch. Everyone had to come back at 3PM which was a minor pain.

Rooms
The first rooms (we had 2) were in 3000 block. The rooms were modest, clean and comfortable with a view of the gardens. I seem to recall the bed being soft. The only thing we didn't like was the nightly entertainment started at 10PM (too late for us) and we could hear it clearly in our rooms. The rooms were too close for our liking. We had only two bath towels. Through a connection, we were moved after 2 days to the 6000 block to a terrific room but it was at the edge of the property so it could be noisy at times with construction nearby. We saw someone's room in the 7000 block and it was like our original room but in a quieter location.

Restaurants and Bars
The food was ok, about what I would expect from a 4* as opposed to 5*. The selection was limited compared to our last resort (a 5*) but we found something to eat at every meal. Two of us are vegetarians and we managed. We liked the main buffet for breakfast and the smaller buffet by the tennis courts for lunch. I tried the pizza place and the pizzas were good although at meal time it seems that they were gobbled up as soon as they were taken out of the oven. We tried the rest. by the beach but didn't enjoy it. We tried the Mexican, Italian and Japanese a la carte restaurants. We really enjoyed the Italian and the Japaense was good too. No sign up for any but the Japanese. We went at 6PM to the a la carte's just as they opened and we always got a table but I guess by 6:30 there was a line up. The service in the restaurants was just ok but I think that was largely because most of the service staff spoke very little English and so they couldn't communicate.
I didn't find anyone who served me at the various bars to be a standout and worthy of a decent tip. The favourite place for us was the coffee bar. They made different drinks including great coffee & hot choc. from 10am to midnight. The staff were good even if they didn't speak English.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were lovely and the beach was cleaned every day. No complaints except for the weather. A few rocks in the ocean where the swim area was and bits of seaweed but nothing worse. The water outside the swim area was a 'major' route for the local boats ferrying people to various places so it was not the best place to try wind surfing or sailing. Other than a couple of kayakers, we didn't see anyone at the resort using watersports. The pools were ok, lots of chairs around the pool. It seemed like finding some chairs with good cover/shade at the beach or by the pool was tough if you were not out by 8am.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We played tennis 3 times and the courts were in decent shape for a resort. We brought racquets and balls but they had them at no charge. Still I would bring balls. You could sign up a day in advance. We brought ping pong racquets and balls and they had a couple of tables in various locations. They also had several pool tables that were in good condition. The activities weren't as intrusive as at other resorts. If you wanted to participate you went to the location. Seldom did they try and coax you to participate. Beach volleyball and bocce were popular beach activites.

Other Comments
My only complaint was with the wi-fi/Internet. When we arrived Internet was down. I never bought the wi-fi but from what I could gather it has limited range depending upon the room you were in. As a result we had to use their computers and other than shutting down if you didn't send/receive frequently they worked and weren't too busy. Rates started at US$5 for 15 minutes but they had 50% off specials.
I think this resort was great value for the money. You can see the 'wear' in some areas but overall it was clean. We had modest expectations and so we weren't disappointed. We have 2 girls 12 & 16 and they found enough to keep them busy.
We booked a couple of months in advance and paid about $1K p.p. incl taxes for the week at the end of March break. I would bring lots of US$1's for tips rather than try and get them when you arrive. Not always easy for them to make change. Old clothes and chocolate bars seem to be appreciated by the staff as well as $$$ (not Loonies or Toonies).

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Over all we all liked the Resort"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bob from Center Harbor, NH  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2009
273 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 31 thru April 9
We flew non-stop from Boston on US Air and arrived 20 minutes early! Great way to start. No problems at airport. We were three couples and transfers thru CoCo tours was included. Just went to tour desk and the six of us were taken in van straight to BDB.

Rooms
We had booked Honeymoon suites with ocean view. When we got to check-in we were directed to sit at a desk and wait a minute. Beatrice soon appeared to finish checking us in and informed us we were upgraded to Elite and had some special benefits which included top shelf liquors, romantic dinner on beach, romantic breakfast in room, room service at no charge, 10% off any tours booked with them and 15% off any motorized watersports. All three couples were booked in fantastic third floor rooms in building 6 with AWESOME view of ocean and beach!Large room with King sized bed and Jacuzzi tub with view as well.

Restaurants and Bars
I believe we ate at all the resturants and as stated many times Japenese was great and does require reservations the rest of ala cartes do not. We also liked Mexican. Italian and Spanish was okay..service at both of these was very slow. Main Buffet was good and service here was very good. Ate most lunches at Bahia near beach and the snack bar service was bad and very hit or miss as to whether there was anything there to eat. This was one of our biggest complaints...but not really a big deal.
Bar service was pretty good with some exceptions. Try to speak some basic spanish phrases as it helps. Pool bar stays open pretty late and is a nice place to go have a drink after dinner. Lobby bar is small and can get busy but they move people right along. One thing I want to note about drinks is that we were "lucky" and got upgraded and that included top shelf drinks. If you are not in that classification(gold band)you will need to pay extra for stuff like Stoli's, Tanguray, and Bailey's. I did not know this prior to getting there and would have been dissappointed to find this out had we not been upgraded. But rest assured there is still plenty to drink!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The Beach is IMHO is the best of any Resort we have been to! (We have been to Dreams PC, Bahia Principe, IB Costa Dorda(PP), Gran Ventana(PP)and Costa Caribe(Juan Dolio)) as a comparison. It did not hurt either that our room was right on beach! Because the beach was so great we only used pools twice and they are fine and clean and plenty of chairs. It also was always easy to find chairs on beach and we never found any reason to save chairs. They have a great volleyball court on beach and we played everyday. We also did some of the the games on the beach with the activities guys and became friends with "Jimmy". If you like this kind of thing go join in and have fun or just watch...especially when they have the "Beach Olympics"..Lots of laughs.

One comment about the beach is that there a lot smokers and they use beach for an ashtray....I am not sure how the resort could ever keep up with picking these up. I am not an anti-smoker but just couldn't believe how many people saw no problem with using beach as their personal ashtray! Still an awesome beach however.
Grounds were kept nice with mature vegetation.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We used the kayaks at water sports that you could basically get at anytime. If you want to use catamaran you need to reserve in advance. We went to shows most nights but did not always stay long as we were worn out from our day at the beach. My son and his fiance did make the disco one night and had fun.
We went on Mariarium tour and like it alot. We also did the Adventure Buggies and would not recommend. They rush you at each stop and most stops at are an attempt to sell you something. Highlight was going to Macao..sp. Beach which is gorgeous, but again we were rushed and only there for about 20 minutes.

Other Comments
Over all we all liked the Resort. The beach was the highlight as well as our rooms! Some of our party had off and on "tummy" problems..but we have encountered this at other places as well. Not a 5 star..maybe a 4 star. The extra's that some resorts have such as fruit carvings and huge gorgeous lobbys and such were not here and really not that important to us, but for some that may be a dissapointment. We all said we would go back and espicially if we could get same rooms !!! Go and have fun! Any questions..feel free to email me.

bobroswill@metrocast.net

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would and will definately return"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda from Kitchener, Ontario  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
256 people found this review helpful

Arrival
Our arrival was great, on time and landing was a breeze!

Rooms: Block 92 Villa's
Rooms were great always clean, fridge replenished daily and staff were friendly and efficent.

Restaurants and Bars
Awsome, can't say enough about both, exceptionable!!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Beautiful, clean and breath-taking!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Lots to do, staff went beyond to make everyone happy and entertained.

Other Comments
Don't take the negative rviews to heart, Barcello Dominican Beach Resort is definately a 4+ or better. Can't say enough good about this resort, when you find perfection, you don't mess with it. Would and will definately return. Enjoy!!!

brenda.pike@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would highly recommend this hotel"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dennis Canada  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
259 people found this review helpful

We recently went to Punta Cana stayed at the Barcelo Dominican Beach Resort

We had a Blast to say the least, we were six of us together and we all share the same view

I am glad I did not pay serious attention to some of the views expressed on your website.

The flight Air Canada was excellent!! Not a single bump in the air, we arrived right on time both ways

I highly recommend Air Canada; they have better aircraft than any of the low budget charters you see around

And they always have Direct flights

The food /drinks, entertainment and service at the Barcelo were 5 stars*****, the staff at the hotel was superb and extremely friendly

The room service was great, there were no smells coming from any room or anywhere for that matter

I did not even see one mosquito??

I would highly recommend this hotel in Punta Cana

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were happy and would probably go back if we could get the same price."

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joe from Canaan, NY  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2009
283 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 8-April 18
Arrived at the airport at 12:30pm. Did not use porters. We used Turinter for our transfer to the hotel. I would recommend their service. Check-in was fairly quick. There were four of us travelling together. Only one of our rooms were ready.That was not a problem because it was clearly listed that check-in was not until 3pm. We changed and went to the beach.

Rooms:
We stayed in the 1000 block. THe rooms were dated. The rooms were very clean and roomy. No problems with hot water, a/c. We did leave the maid a tip daily. Great service. No complaints.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at all of the restaurants. Italian nothing to speak of, just ok, Spanish was good, Japanese was good, Mexican was good. The two buffets were fine. Plenty of variety. Service was ok. At the al-a-carts we tipped $5 per meal. Buffets we tipped $2. Bars were fine. Never had to wait. Staff were friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was beautiful. You could walk for miles on the beach. Pools were clean. Spent all of my time on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The hotel offers a free shuttle to the mall. My wife and in-laws went there a few times.

Other Comments:
The casino is small. Service there was spotty. Some dealers friendly others not so much. Dealers count extremely quick. Don't be afraid to slow them down or pull the last hand from the card bin if you have any questions. All in all we felt that this was a good resort for the money. We were happy and would probably go back if we could get the same price. WEATHER WAS FABULOUS!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube