Barcelo Dominican Beach Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Dominican Beach reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Barcelo Dominican Beach  

Avenida Alemania, El cortecito, Bavaro. Dominican Republic.

"good hotel with good value"
Posted by: micah on Jul 8, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Dominican Beach Reviews
Barcelo Dominican Beach Pictures and Information
Barcelo Dominican Beach Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#5
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.2

Based on 31 reviews

Barcelo Dominican Beach Information


The Barceló Dominican Beach Hotel is immersed in the green and freshness of tropical palms, blending perfectly with the surrounding environment to create this paradise with 24 hour all-inclusive services. Located in one of the most beautiful white sand beaches of Bavaro-Punta Cana.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Dominican Beach Reviews

Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 3.2 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  15
Average
  4
Poor
  4
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (19)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (5)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
1 - 10 of 31

"Do not waste your money .....Terrible service etc."

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  BRENDA  on Jul 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
311 people found this review helpful

My sister and I travel to Punta Cana to visit friends regularly. We usually stay at the Occidental, which is wonderful, clean and freindly. This time we decided to try somewhere new. What a mistake! Everything was terrible. There were always people at the service desk complaining about one thing or another! The whole week we were there the sheets on our bed were NEVER changed, the soaps were never replenished, we had to track down maids for bathroom towels everyday! They only have two bars and the one closes at 6pm. The other is in the lobby and you have to wait in line to get served! They never seemed to have vodka, orange juice or water. If you ask for a drink and they don't have the mix they make up their own drink and don't even tell you. The service (bar tenders) were not friendly at all! The management never took anything seriously, when you complain they have a grin on their face and nothing is ever done. They had no control over the teenagers staying there. They could do anything they wanted, evern streak and rip each other's bikini tops off, at the family pool. Oh ya they never seemed to have beach towels at the beach when you asked for one. The food was very bland and not much selection. The flies and birds were landing on the food in the restaurant! No wonder people were getting sick! It was terrible!!!

Your Arrival:
At arrival they wanted so much ID even though I had my reservation number and everything. They were not friendly by any means. When one of our keys stopped working I went back down to the front desk and they said....what happened to it? What did you do, why isn't it working? Not friendly. I said I don't know it's just not working. It seemed that everything you tried to do or accomplish was a bother to them! I hated it!

Rooms:
The air conditioning was constently running, thermasta didn't work. You either had to have it freezing in the room or hot! The tv remote didn't include batteries so we couldn't use it. The bathrooms never got cleaned properly, soaps and towels never replenished. The fridge never restocked with water etc unless you took it off the maids cart, in the hallway yourself!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was terrible. Very bland. Everything tasted the same. Not much selection. When I wasn't feeling well I wanted to take my breakfast to my room. They told me I couldn't take the food out unless I went and waited in line at the service desk in the lobby and got a ticket! So stupid!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were not cleaned regularly. They allowed the teenage girls to strip in the pool and tear each others tops off. They had underage kids drunk in the pool everyday! Absoluely no control over this place!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The disco was swarmed with underage drunk teenagers! Felt like we were at a Frat Party!

Other Comments:
PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AT THIS RESORT. GO TO THE OCCIDENTAL!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bad place to stay"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dr. Joseph  on Nov 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Puerto Rico
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
873 people found this review helpful

I'm staying here with my wife. Were do I start... As soon as we got to our room the first thing I see is a roach on top o my mini fridge, it horrified my wife. We tries to forget about that and went the pool while asking for towels I could here one of the staff saying something vulgar sexual in nature about my wife( this staff member likely dosent know that I speak and understand Spanish. And lastly the adult beverages are are local stuff that is barely drinkable and the food is mediocre at beast. This is only day one folks. Do not go here I feel like I have wasted my time and money and I'm already looking for a another resort to stay in an salvage our vacation.

Arrival:
Poor costumer service had to chase someone down for help on arrival.

Rooms:
Motel quality and as stated above questionable cleanliness

Restaurants and Bars:
Please read above

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice surroundings

Other Comments:
Waste of money. With poor customer service

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst resort ever. Got sick and saw a guest getting robbed in broad day light on the resort's pool!"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jana  on Jul 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
325 people found this review helpful

Please, do not waste your money on this resort. This is by far the worst resort I have ever been to and not to mention the fact that the staff was rude to everybody. My fiancee and I both speak Spanish fluently and were not informed of anything.

Your Arrival:
We checked in at noon and were told that our room was going to be available at 3 pm. So, we go to lunch and come back at 3 and NOTHING. They said that in 10 more minutes would be ready!! One, two hours passed by and after my fiancee argued with the front desk supervisor; we finally got a room at 5 PM. When we got to our room; there were two small twin size beds. We asked to go to another room and were told that this is it!!
So, we had to put the 2 beds together to sleep!!!

Rooms:
The room had no light in the varanda, a leak on top of the toilet and every day around 7am-8 am no hot/warm water to shower.

Restaurants and Bars:
We got sick on the second day from the food and cheap drinks that they served. Were not able to make a reservation because was told that we had to be at 7 am in the main buffett to make a reservation for a restaurant. When I asked for some medication for my upset stomach; they told me to go to the supermarket....

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There were no beach towels for 2 days and we had to use our own stuff. If you want a beach towel, you have to go to the beach at 8 am.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The shows and activities were horrible and basically did not entertain us at all.

Other Comments:
We saw a guest getting robbed in front of us at 3 pm while we were laying down on the resort's beach. Some guy grabbed her purse and just ran.... the resort security ran after him and was able to catch him. He was handcuffed in front of everybody and from that day on I did not take my purse to the beach anymore.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible, bad, really terribly bad."

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jerry  on Dec 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
906 people found this review helpful

Good.. Company that I took with me.

Bad.. Drinks were terribly made by the bartenders. Staff is rude. My friend and I were pulled out of our room by security and were accused of vandalism. We tried to complain to the main desk and ask for a manager but were told to return in the morning, after returning we were told to come back later. The two other friends that traveled with us were on the first floor and their room flooded. When I say flooded I mean it soaked all the clothes they brought. They had to call 5 seperate times before someone came to their room. Once they were at the room all they did was replace the TV in the room, which blew up b/c it was water logged from the roof flooding.

Terrible.. the food. The only meal I enjoyed was at the Japanese steak house, and after I ate there I became incredibly sick for 2+ days. Sanitation in the restaurants is non existant.

Don't ever come to this shit hole.

Restaurants and Bars:
Disgusting.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Terrible.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible!"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on Aug 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
731 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for a week. I knew we were in trouble when I saw our room. Nothing like the pictures,on the web. In need of a complete remodel. Furniture is old and broken down. Beds are awful and pillows are even worse. It's like pulling teeth to get clean towels and toilet paper. Maids just look at you and say"later". Well later never comes. The pools are at least 85 degrees and need to be repainted. The worst and most dangerous thing about this dump is the food safety. There'd are no precautions taken to prevent birds and insects from crawling all over the food. My husband got extremely sick 2 days before we left. Upon returning home he went to the doctor and was diagnosed(after running several tests) with a parasite. The doctor said it was most likely food born. Well no surprise there! Two weeks, two different antibiotics and five hundred dollars later he is finally recovering. I wish I had paid more attention to the negative reviews of this place. This place is a complete dump with unfriendly staff and dangerous food. Please stay somewhere else!

Room Number:
7122

Room Block:
7

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Stay at Barcelo Dominican Beach"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy from Philadelphia  on Aug 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2009
278 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 3 - 11, 2009
Pool was green. Hotel charged hotel room for phone calls made thru a calling card and the staff called me a liar.

Rooms:
Room were ok but the mattresses needed replacing.

Restaurants and Bars:
Spanish Restaurant was very good but staff was ignorant. Japanese restuarant was also good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was green and closed for 4 1/2 days but was not closed until it was green for 2 days.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activity staff was very friendly and outgoing.

Other Comments:
We were told that we only needed reservations at the Japanese restaurant and then in the middle of the week they changed it and did not tell anyone so when people showed up for dinner that night without reservations they were turned away.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

""The Good, the Bad and The Ugly"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  .J  on Aug 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
484 people found this review helpful

There are some good things to report about my recent stay at Barcelo's Dominican Beach but I'm afraid the overall tone here is going to be negative.

The Good:

My family and I met some very nice fellow vacationers who came from all parts of the world. We also enjoyed the shows, entertainment begins at 8:30pm with the main show starting at 9:45. The talent works hard and the shows (a different theme every night) are all very engaging. The resort offers various activities for both children and adults, and several generously sized pools dot the facility grounds. The beach is very nice although the experience is somewhat dampered by individual hawkers who are constantly on the prowl trying to sell trinkets and boat rides. I had no problems with checking in or checking out and I found the facility responsive when called upon. The rooms are nice sized, and WIFI is available.

The Bad:

The rooms need work. We needed to change rooms in the middle of our stay due to a bathroom leak. The entrance doors to both rooms were in poor shape. In the first room the bolt lock could not be used because the plate was not installed properly. To fix this problem the plate was removed which resolved part of the problem, but left the door vulnerable to a strong kick break in. In the second room the security bolt was extremely difficult to turn. The bed matresses (both rooms) were old and worn and the television equipment looked to be over 10 years old. Some of the sports eqiupment available for use was in very bad shape, the bikes for riding old and rusted, the pool tables were dilapidated. Barcelo is an all inclusive resort so of course the $64,000 question comes down to the food and drinks. Food is broken into a generic buffet restaurant a snack bar and several specialty restaurants. The restaurants need to be booked in advance and this process is time consuming. The generic buffet offers the three basic meals and needs no reservations. The food is plentiful but pedestrian, conditions are not very sanitary as the restaurant features birds flying overhead, walking on the floor, and in the open air part of the restaurant, pecking at table leftovers. Table servers are slow to respond to requests for beverages (coffee and soda), oftentimes breakfast was more than halfover before coffee arrived at the table. Bartenders are only bartenders in the academic sense, they serve drinks but know little about preparing them and the drinks for the most part are poorly made.

The Ugly:

My wife and I both got sick to our stomachs, battling various digestive issues for more than a week. A 24 hour clinic is available on the premises but it's only opened from 9am to 1pm! My wife had a pair of shoes taken which she only realized after we left.

I would never consider returning to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sub par"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  jim  on Oct 4, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
389 people found this review helpful

We were impressed with the campus and the lay out of the trees,pools, and landscape etc. we had previous booked a king size bed room with this trip but when we arrived,they put us in a remote area adjacent to an old deserted hotel. the room had paint peeling, hair was on the floor, no pillow cases,twin beds of which we didnt ask for,toilet leaking when flushed. we asked for another better room from tue. on and our request was granted to 10317.the food was ok and the entertainment was good. overall we rate this hotel a 2 out of 5.we would go back to punta cana but in a different hotel

Room Number:
10317

Arrival:
9-24-12

Rooms:
first room bad

Restaurants and Bars:
ok

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
good

Other Comments:
i think the hotel needs to be updated especially the rooms. the picture you see on the internet are the pictures when the place was first opened.?

Photos: http://internet

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Certainly not a 4 star"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  karen  on Nov 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
820 people found this review helpful

The best thing about this trip besides the company was the beach...hardly any one speaks English...super frustating !

Arrival:
Total chaos....rep from Nolitour wasn't there upon arrival..we just followed the leader...sat on a bus outside for over 30 minutes...none of the drivers seemed to know what was going on.

Rooms:
The first of our 3 rooms was nice..but on the 3rd floor...no elevator..due to ankle surgery coming up..we asked to be moved as soon as we got in the room.They did move us shortly after...but to a room (while on the ground floor)that smelled very bad of must and mold. You could tell it was probably the oldest part of the resort.Toilet didn't work (which we called them approx 5 times over the next 1 1/2 days)We were not happy as everytime my husband was hit with Montezumas revenge..we had to call someone and all they did was plunge it...they wouldn't even leave the plunger.
Finally someone from Nolitours seemed to care and we got moved to yet another musty , moldy room....but at least the toilet worked!

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants that you have to reserve with were the best...my husband got very sick after eating fish from the buffet. Nothing to write home about..you have to pay extra to enjoy lobster..not like Mexico where everything was included.
Really upset that all we got was the crappiest liquor they had...i am not a big drinker...but...i know how a margarita is supposed to taste...terrible drinks..couldn't even have Baileys in coffee without paying....cheap cheap cheap

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was good depending on which part you went to...but the vendors that harrass you if you try to walk down the beach was unbelievable...they were literally like vultures..and constant ! I was picking up garbage all the time from the beach....

The toilets were one big virus waiting to happen...you are not allowed to put toilet paper in the toilets..at first i thought this was a joke...but nooooo
Sanitation is not the top priority..or the second for that matter.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Spa was a joke..very beautiful inside...looks the way a Spa should...but wait until you lay down ! I paid for a deep muscle massage...she couldn;t speak English and had no idea how to do a deep tissue massage....it was hot in the room and when i asked or indicated why..she indicated the power was off...they do that to concerve power....??? So , it comes time for my eyebrow wax..and she applies a lotion (which is normal)and then brings out a razor blade!!!!!!!!!I just about freaked..she finally communicated that because they had no power, she had to do it this way..but the power was back on by this time???
Don't book tours until you meet with your Tour agent! And don't believe when they say there are no certin items in the store on the grounds until you look for yourself.
The only really good deal was the internet..the room is very hot but you got alot of minutes for a nominal price and they had WI FI in certain parts of the resort.
I don't recommend the tour that takes you on a motor boat to a floating barge to snorkel and swim with the sharks unless you are in pretty good shape..they took us out on a day when the Ocean was soo rough...and you have to swim from cage to cage...some places dont let you take your own pics and will charge you $30 american for a video or you have no pics...

Other Comments:
Would never go back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would say that this is not a 4 star resort"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rob from Brantford, Ontario  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
266 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 2009
Flew Skyservice out of Toronto. Delayed due to weather and the fact that they were down to one runway. Flight was smooth until Punta Cana when we had to fly around in circles due to a lack of visibility. Eventually the airport was closed and we had to land in Peurto Plata. After an hour or two we got back on the plane and headed for Punta Cana. Skyservice staff were excellent despite the delay. Arrival and check in were uneventful.

Rooms:
We had a room on the fourth floor of Block 3. The room had two double beds and was clean. It was a bit 'tired' and musty but no bugs. We brought Glad plug-ins for the bathroom and main area. (I would stronly suggest this). On the last day I asked my wife what smelled in the room and she said that she had taken out the plug-ins since we were leaving. The door in the bathroom didn't close properly and neither did the main door. We had to be careful to make sure it was closed but we managed just fine. Other reviews report that there were no bottle openers so we brough our own. Our room did have one attached to the side of the dresser. Our maid service was almost non existent. We too left a couple of dollars each day as well as small gifts for the maid. This resulted in NO beer and sometime no water or soft drinks. I had to call twice to guest services to get beer and water delivered. Some days the towels were not replaced despite leaving them in the tub as directed. As indicated by others, there are no face cloths. We brought our own so it wasn't a big deal.

Restaurants and Bars::
We have been to DR four times and this was by far the least enjoyable resort for food. We were fine at breakfast with the omlettes, toast, yogurt etc. We did have some trouble finding something to eat for the other meals but we did not go hungry. We did eat at the pizza shack a few times and found it to be good. They do let the ingredients sit around for quite a while which concerned me a bit but we just had to overlook it. We ate at the Italian, Mexican and Spanish al la carte restaurants. We enjoyed the Mexican the best but the other two were just fine. Lots of complaints about the wine but we always had the red which was fine. The bars were all good and the staff friendly and service good. The lobby bar was nice in the evening and we always tried the 'drink of the day' which was good. Beer on tap is cold and tasty. The tap indicates that it is Presidente but I have my doubts. They really slam the kegs around in the morning when they are being delivered and the result is foamy beer. There is considerable waste which could be easily eliminated by some care on the handling. (not a concern to travellers but the hotel could certainly be more efficient in this area). Pool swim up bar was nice and wasn't too busy at any time while we were there. The coffee house is excellent! We visited daily sometimes a couple times. The ice coffee drinks are fantastic as were the sweets and other specialty coffee's.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach is fantastic. Raked daily which was great especially since there were a ton of smokers there who treated the beach like a giant ashtray. The pools were well maintained and the staff worked hard to keep them debris free every morning. Grounds are very well maintained but overall the resort is old and tired and it shows. This is in no way a reflection of the staff, just the facts. In previous reviews there were comments about sewage smells. This is in fact true. There are several large green metal boxes here and there around the resort. They appear to be resevoirs for run-off or something. We did notice some foul odours here and there but they were hit and miss. After a good rain the smell is more obvious and lingering. Never had any trouble getting loungers at the pool or the beach. If you walk to the beach and decide to go for a walk to the right (south?) you will encounter people that approach you to show you a new hotel. They will give you a real sob story which may include showing you pictures of their children. They will tell you that they get a commission (to feed their kids) to get people to look at the hotel. The guy we met was very skilled in the art of making one feel completely sorry for his situation. I asked specifically if it was a time share and was told 'absolutely not'. Well, guess what....it was. An hour later and two high pressure sales people later we got out of there. Of course, the original contact wouldn't even look at me when I left the property. Just a heads up if you aren't in the market for a time share presentation. We did walk down to the market in the other direction and the vendors were not that pushy. People have complained about them in other reviews but they are friendly and respond well to 'no gracias'. There were no vendors to speak of on the beach in front of the resort. We were bothered more by the hotel photogrophers than anything, but even they were friendly and having fun. The vendors in Peurto Plata are FAR more aggressive and problematic than here.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
We did the half day dune buggy/beach/cave/horseback riding excursion. The equipment is not very well maintained (breaks are a luxury). The guide was pushy and rushed every stop. There were more aggressive vendors at the beach and cave locations. There were vendors right inside the cave! The horseback ride consisted of a walking lap around the pasture (waste of time and money). The animation team at the hotel works hard doing games at the beach and occasionally at the pool. They were fun and not as pushy to get people involved as I have seen at other resorts. The nightly entertainment was good, and again the effort put in by the employees was commendable.

Other Comments::
Overall, I would say that this is not a 4 star resort as it is advertised. The resort is just simply dated and a bit run down. The staff were friendly and they work hard to keep the grounds well kept. We were very unimpressed by the maid service despite the tipping and even a nice note requesting water and beer. (neither of which were left). I met one couple later in the week who indicated that they had not received anything but water in their fridge. They were shocked when I told them that they were supposed to receive 2 beers every day and soft drinks (as per the Barcelo Resorts book in the room). This was a reasonably priced vacation but I would likely not return and would spend the little bit extra to head to a different resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube