Barcelo Dominican Beach Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Barcelo Dominican Beach reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Barcelo Dominican Beach  

Avenida Alemania, El cortecito, Bavaro. Dominican Republic.

"good hotel with good value"
Posted by: micah on Jul 8, 2014
see all reviews

Barcelo Dominican Beach Reviews
Barcelo Dominican Beach Pictures and Information
Barcelo Dominican Beach Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#5
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.2

Based on 31 reviews

Barcelo Dominican Beach Information


The Barceló Dominican Beach Hotel is immersed in the green and freshness of tropical palms, blending perfectly with the surrounding environment to create this paradise with 24 hour all-inclusive services. Located in one of the most beautiful white sand beaches of Bavaro-Punta Cana.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Dominican Beach Reviews

Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 3.2 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  15
Average
  4
Poor
  4
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (19)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (5)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
11 - 20 of 31

"Bad place to stay"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dr. Joseph  on Nov 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Puerto Rico
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
879 people found this review helpful

I'm staying here with my wife. Were do I start... As soon as we got to our room the first thing I see is a roach on top o my mini fridge, it horrified my wife. We tries to forget about that and went the pool while asking for towels I could here one of the staff saying something vulgar sexual in nature about my wife( this staff member likely dosent know that I speak and understand Spanish. And lastly the adult beverages are are local stuff that is barely drinkable and the food is mediocre at beast. This is only day one folks. Do not go here I feel like I have wasted my time and money and I'm already looking for a another resort to stay in an salvage our vacation.

Arrival:
Poor costumer service had to chase someone down for help on arrival.

Rooms:
Motel quality and as stated above questionable cleanliness

Restaurants and Bars:
Please read above

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice surroundings

Other Comments:
Waste of money. With poor customer service

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"best vaca ever "

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  magda  on Oct 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
627 people found this review helpful

In general it was the best vacation ever after one little complication but it was not important. The BEST part is the activity staff at the beach ( to me they were like family) The activities were awsome golf water ballon toss:).

Arrival:
They were very nice and welcoming aka helpful.

Rooms:
rooms depending on where you get it but pretty much good view is okay you see the beach usually.

Restaurants and Bars:
I recommed the ITALIAN just the best cant get better.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach beautiful the sand white as snow good keeping of cleaness as well.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities how i said earlier the BEST part for me awsome people hope they dont change before i go back there for thangsgiving 2011.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"GREAT VACATION"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  chris  on Oct 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
604 people found this review helpful

this was our 3rd time at the barcelo dominican and it was great.We enjoy the resort great ppl great place.the staff couldn't be bettter and the bartenders are the best,very friendly...............and we're going back in 4 weeks resort is beautiful grounds and beach maintained...............

Arrival:
No problem checking in check in at 3 but if early you're banded as a guest and the fun begins!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rooms:
no problem with rooms clean and kept clean the entire stay

Restaurants and Bars:
good food and great service.plenty of each around entire resort

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
always enough chairs for everyone by the pools and beach never too crowded

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
wonderful enterntainment staff plenty to do if thats wat u want

Other Comments:
Love this resort 4 time returner should tell you something

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

""The Good, the Bad and The Ugly"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  .J  on Aug 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
486 people found this review helpful

There are some good things to report about my recent stay at Barcelo's Dominican Beach but I'm afraid the overall tone here is going to be negative.

The Good:

My family and I met some very nice fellow vacationers who came from all parts of the world. We also enjoyed the shows, entertainment begins at 8:30pm with the main show starting at 9:45. The talent works hard and the shows (a different theme every night) are all very engaging. The resort offers various activities for both children and adults, and several generously sized pools dot the facility grounds. The beach is very nice although the experience is somewhat dampered by individual hawkers who are constantly on the prowl trying to sell trinkets and boat rides. I had no problems with checking in or checking out and I found the facility responsive when called upon. The rooms are nice sized, and WIFI is available.

The Bad:

The rooms need work. We needed to change rooms in the middle of our stay due to a bathroom leak. The entrance doors to both rooms were in poor shape. In the first room the bolt lock could not be used because the plate was not installed properly. To fix this problem the plate was removed which resolved part of the problem, but left the door vulnerable to a strong kick break in. In the second room the security bolt was extremely difficult to turn. The bed matresses (both rooms) were old and worn and the television equipment looked to be over 10 years old. Some of the sports eqiupment available for use was in very bad shape, the bikes for riding old and rusted, the pool tables were dilapidated. Barcelo is an all inclusive resort so of course the $64,000 question comes down to the food and drinks. Food is broken into a generic buffet restaurant a snack bar and several specialty restaurants. The restaurants need to be booked in advance and this process is time consuming. The generic buffet offers the three basic meals and needs no reservations. The food is plentiful but pedestrian, conditions are not very sanitary as the restaurant features birds flying overhead, walking on the floor, and in the open air part of the restaurant, pecking at table leftovers. Table servers are slow to respond to requests for beverages (coffee and soda), oftentimes breakfast was more than halfover before coffee arrived at the table. Bartenders are only bartenders in the academic sense, they serve drinks but know little about preparing them and the drinks for the most part are poorly made.

The Ugly:

My wife and I both got sick to our stomachs, battling various digestive issues for more than a week. A 24 hour clinic is available on the premises but it's only opened from 9am to 1pm! My wife had a pair of shoes taken which she only realized after we left.

I would never consider returning to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wow"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Frances  on Jul 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
371 people found this review helpful

I disagree with the reviews I have read reguarding this resort. A friend and I went for a girls vacation in June, 2010. I had one issue with the air in my room not working, but it was fixed the same night of check-in. The people were great, very friendly. Bars and restaurants were great. The beach was beautiful. The vacation was wonderful! As a matter of fact, I am going again in January 2011. Don't believe everything you read!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worst resort ever. Got sick and saw a guest getting robbed in broad day light on the resort's pool!"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jana  on Jul 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
328 people found this review helpful

Please, do not waste your money on this resort. This is by far the worst resort I have ever been to and not to mention the fact that the staff was rude to everybody. My fiancee and I both speak Spanish fluently and were not informed of anything.

Your Arrival:
We checked in at noon and were told that our room was going to be available at 3 pm. So, we go to lunch and come back at 3 and NOTHING. They said that in 10 more minutes would be ready!! One, two hours passed by and after my fiancee argued with the front desk supervisor; we finally got a room at 5 PM. When we got to our room; there were two small twin size beds. We asked to go to another room and were told that this is it!!
So, we had to put the 2 beds together to sleep!!!

Rooms:
The room had no light in the varanda, a leak on top of the toilet and every day around 7am-8 am no hot/warm water to shower.

Restaurants and Bars:
We got sick on the second day from the food and cheap drinks that they served. Were not able to make a reservation because was told that we had to be at 7 am in the main buffett to make a reservation for a restaurant. When I asked for some medication for my upset stomach; they told me to go to the supermarket....

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There were no beach towels for 2 days and we had to use our own stuff. If you want a beach towel, you have to go to the beach at 8 am.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The shows and activities were horrible and basically did not entertain us at all.

Other Comments:
We saw a guest getting robbed in front of us at 3 pm while we were laying down on the resort's beach. Some guy grabbed her purse and just ran.... the resort security ran after him and was able to catch him. He was handcuffed in front of everybody and from that day on I did not take my purse to the beach anymore.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not waste your money .....Terrible service etc."

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  BRENDA  on Jul 9, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
314 people found this review helpful

My sister and I travel to Punta Cana to visit friends regularly. We usually stay at the Occidental, which is wonderful, clean and freindly. This time we decided to try somewhere new. What a mistake! Everything was terrible. There were always people at the service desk complaining about one thing or another! The whole week we were there the sheets on our bed were NEVER changed, the soaps were never replenished, we had to track down maids for bathroom towels everyday! They only have two bars and the one closes at 6pm. The other is in the lobby and you have to wait in line to get served! They never seemed to have vodka, orange juice or water. If you ask for a drink and they don't have the mix they make up their own drink and don't even tell you. The service (bar tenders) were not friendly at all! The management never took anything seriously, when you complain they have a grin on their face and nothing is ever done. They had no control over the teenagers staying there. They could do anything they wanted, evern streak and rip each other's bikini tops off, at the family pool. Oh ya they never seemed to have beach towels at the beach when you asked for one. The food was very bland and not much selection. The flies and birds were landing on the food in the restaurant! No wonder people were getting sick! It was terrible!!!

Your Arrival:
At arrival they wanted so much ID even though I had my reservation number and everything. They were not friendly by any means. When one of our keys stopped working I went back down to the front desk and they said....what happened to it? What did you do, why isn't it working? Not friendly. I said I don't know it's just not working. It seemed that everything you tried to do or accomplish was a bother to them! I hated it!

Rooms:
The air conditioning was constently running, thermasta didn't work. You either had to have it freezing in the room or hot! The tv remote didn't include batteries so we couldn't use it. The bathrooms never got cleaned properly, soaps and towels never replenished. The fridge never restocked with water etc unless you took it off the maids cart, in the hallway yourself!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was terrible. Very bland. Everything tasted the same. Not much selection. When I wasn't feeling well I wanted to take my breakfast to my room. They told me I couldn't take the food out unless I went and waited in line at the service desk in the lobby and got a ticket! So stupid!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were not cleaned regularly. They allowed the teenage girls to strip in the pool and tear each others tops off. They had underage kids drunk in the pool everyday! Absoluely no control over this place!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The disco was swarmed with underage drunk teenagers! Felt like we were at a Frat Party!

Other Comments:
PLEASE DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY AT THIS RESORT. GO TO THE OCCIDENTAL!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"So So Resort..."

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Veni  on May 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
296 people found this review helpful

Unless on sale, this resort is not worth paying the full price for.

Your Arrival:
Check-in is at 3PM. We arrived at about 1:30PM and obviously our room was not ready. They gave us our bracelets kept our suitcase safe and we were allowed to roam the grounds or have a late lunch to pass the time. Great service at the reception desk, absolutly no complaints!

Rooms:
I had tears in my eyes when I saw it! Block 7 (room 7101) IS OCEANVIEW! It's a pretty spacious room with a King sized bed. There were some small details that jumped at you though; mattress was a bit worn-out, we kept sinking to one side of the bed. Linens are a bit used and rough, floor tiles are worn and the locks on both the windows and doors have been painted over and again. They work but you got to aply some elbow grease to it.

Restaurants and Bars:
The only restaurants worth eating at were the Spanish and Japanese ŕ la carte, the buffet and the pizza house. I highly recommend eating at the buffet because the food was replenished very often so nothing was left sitting out for too long. The Brazilian ŕ la carte was the worst, the meat were all over cooked. The Bahia restaurant don't have much by way of selection. The bars served up the basics but don't ask for drinks that require a blender (example: mudslide), because none of the bars had any blenders! You'll have to pay for the higher quality drinks because they are not a part of the all-inclusive deals.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Sorry to say, although Punta Cana is renowned for the breath-taking beaches, Barcelo Dominican Beach shamed that ideal. Nothing was clean on that stretch of beach, seaweeds were thick and every where. Vendors were located right there so you couldn't relax without being called on to purchase something and for some reason there were alot of stray dogs running around and peeing everywhere..!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities were buzzing in every corner of the resort. I highly recommend the eveing shows, they are very entertaining and the dancers are all really good. You can see them practicing during the day. The resort occassionally holds a kareoke night which cracks the audiance up! On site disco is very good also, great mix of music to make everyone happy.

Other Comments:
The resort hosted the local University (I guess to celebrate the graduates) and a few days later they hosted a Polytechnic school graduating in tourism. Because of this, the hotel was full capacity and towards the end of our stay, we had to wait in line for everything. You would think the kids would be nice but no, they cut in front of you in the line and were loud. It looks like this resort does this kind of thing often.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pleasently Surprised"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Janet  on Feb 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
259 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Arrived at the resort by midnight (1˝hrs late) to the pleasant surprise of a free upgrade for all of us (8ppl) to Elite Club. Off to block 6 to find our rooms; warning, there are not many lights late at night so be careful and perhaps pack a small flashlight in your carryon.

Rooms:
Block 6, on the beach at the far right hand side of the resort. We had 3 rooms on the 3rd floor and one room on the bottom floor for the group. Good size room, mostly marble and tile; large bathroom with 2 sinks, stand up shower and corner jet tub. King size bed (which was quite comfortable), two night stands, dresser, large closet with bath robes, hangers, ironing board & iron and the electronic safe. Walk down two steps to your TV, (open the cabinet for your fridge and coffee maker), day bed, coffee table and out to the patio with 2 chairs, table and drying rack. We tipped our maid $5 USD per day plus a few gifts and we never wanted to anything (towels, beer, water, pop). Note, if you are bringing gifts for the maid be sure they are small enough for them to hide; if they are caught with anything they can lose their jobs.

Restaurants and Bars:
Here is where we had to make our only complaints. We were not impressed with either of the buffets and only used them for a small breakfast (both serve champagne in the mornings and vodka) or light lunch (there was beach grill and beach restaurant we used). We tried the main buffet for dinner our first night there but never went back. There is a lot of selection for food but the service is non existent. Not that we are picky people by any means but when you wait for utensils, napkins and coffee every morning and they keep walking by you and not paying attention you get a bit ticked off. In our opinion all of the a la carte restaurants were great with the exception of the Italian. The food was very good there but once again they lacked in service. We were sat at a table in the back room due to the number of people (no problem) and then they seemed to forget about us! After we finished our main course we got tired of waiting for dessert or a refill of wine or offer of coffee and left. All of the other restaurants had very attentive service (especially the Mexican and Spanish) and they all deserved the tips we left. There is a small all night pizzeria under the spa (tucked out of the way in the back) should you have late night munchees and they will get you beer and rum if you ask nicely and slip them a couple of bucks!
Bars: Many to choose from; pool, swim up, lobby, sports bar, two on the beach, one by the small quiet pool, and late night at the pizzeria depending on who is working! Remember, a tip to the bartenders (money or otherwise) will also go a long way and be greatly appreciated in more ways than one.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Resort is lush with lots of trees, flowers, vegetation and quite large. There was never a problem getting loungers by any of the three pools or on the beach. The only bar which had a line up was the lobby bar in the evening but you could get a drink at the Sports Bar or the temp set up off to the side if you didn’t want to wait. Coffee Shop is a big hit and a great change from the usual resort choices. There is a small casino if you like to make a “donation”!. If you walk by the pool with the swim up bar look for Sandra in the Cameleon Club kiosk, she is very friendly and speaks Spanish, French and English fluently and loves to chat (and eat Tootsie Rolls)!
Beach, there is not much to say; Punta Cana beaches are beautiful.

Other Comments:
Elite Club: I had read the pros and cons of the “upgrade” before we left so knew a bit of what to expect. Should we choose to return to the resort (which we would for the right price) I would book Elite Club. Your gold bracelet will get you a nice room on the beach, top shelf liquor (which you sign for but are not charged for, this is for them to keep track) should you request it, small bottle of rum and a fruit plate when you arrive, beach towels in your room, free internet, discounts at the spa and water sports.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised by the resort after reading all of the negative reviews; I guess when they say to go with an open mind and your vacation is what you make it they are correct.

If you have any particular questions, you can email me at janferg04@hotmail.com; please put Barcelo Dominican Beach in the subject line

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our Stay at Barcelo Dominican Beach"

Barcelo Dominican Beach
User Rating:  Barcelo Dominican Beach Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy from Philadelphia  on Aug 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2009
281 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 3 - 11, 2009
Pool was green. Hotel charged hotel room for phone calls made thru a calling card and the staff called me a liar.

Rooms:
Room were ok but the mattresses needed replacing.

Restaurants and Bars:
Spanish Restaurant was very good but staff was ignorant. Japanese restuarant was also good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was green and closed for 4 1/2 days but was not closed until it was green for 2 days.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activity staff was very friendly and outgoing.

Other Comments:
We were told that we only needed reservations at the Japanese restaurant and then in the middle of the week they changed it and did not tell anyone so when people showed up for dinner that night without reservations they were turned away.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube