VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

Caribe Club Princess

3.5 based on 19 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 27, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)  

White Sand, Carretera Arena Gorda , Bavaro, Punta Cana

"Loved all of it"
Posted by: mariam on May 28, 2014
see all reviews

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Reviews
VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Pictures and Information
VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#6
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.4

Based on 29 reviews

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Information


The VIK hotels group have thought of you when creating environments dedicated to rest, relaxation, enjoyment and dreams, where comfort, simplicity, quality and beautiful scenery are all perfectly combined.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Reviews

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Review: 3.4 of 5 29 reviews
Excellent
  4
Very good
  9
Average
  10
Poor
  5
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (17)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (8)
Solo
1 - 10 of 29

"Loved all of it"

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)
User Rating:  VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  mariam  on May 28, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
51 people found this review helpful

Well, when I saw other people’s reviews who have visited this hotel, I was encouraged to go and see what all the fuzz was all about and when I got there, it was super duper amazing. I had an excellent stay here and one of the best all inclusive hotels I have ever stayed in Punta Cana. I loved the fact that they have a good beach which made my vacation even better and the prices here were very reasonable for such services. This hotel has about 447 rooms and the guests seem to prefer the beach than the pool but for me, I rarely used the pool as well. The room I stayed in was great, it was clean, with all the necessary amenities and the hot water shower was always working. The room was very comfortable for me which was all I needed. Mine had a balcony, mini fridge and a nice bed that is not as hard as those found in some hotels I have been to. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well maintained on a daily basis and so was the room, it was cleaned daily. The staff was amazing and always with smiles whenever they see a guest. The buffet was great and had variety to choose from with different themes and I didn’t need reservations to visit most of the restaurants here. The place is also child friendly in case you are considering bringing your kids, I loved my stay here and I will come back again. It is highly recommended as you will get the best here.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very pleased with my stay at this resort"

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)
User Rating:  VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  francine  on Jan 29, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
265 people found this review helpful

Room spacious and clean
Buffet selection in my experience merits it`s 4 star rating.
Lunch at restaurant near bar very good, there was pizza, hot dog, hamburg, either chicken or pork and pasta, salad and sandwiches available.
Very nice grounds, well kept and maintained. Beach very nice
More than enough chairs for each guest at beach. pool water clear and clean. a lot of chairs available surprisingly.
We had no problems with hot water or toilets whatsoever.
Internet free in lobby and our room was close to main building so we were lucky to get internet in our room not as strong but still good. And, internet may have taken a bit of time to load but was fast enough for my needs.

Also, quiet resort, small, everything is close. Exactly what we were looking for and were not dissappointed.
I`ve travelled over 10 years to the DR and I have been to 5 star resort that did not meet up to this resort.

Room Block:
2

Arrival:
were told to come back after 3 pm but we got our room promptly. We noticed the door would not lock and within 10 minutes, it was fixed. Smiles are kind of few from the staff however it did not hinder the fact that they were helpful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Some people really must enjoy complaining"

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)
User Rating:  VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Heather  on Mar 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
581 people found this review helpful

I was a little worried returning to the VIK for a vacation this year as I had read some negative reviews and was concerned it may not be as nice as when we were there in 2006. It was every bit as delightful as before!

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
Very late (2 am) so no line ups.

Rooms:
Our room was not one of those which have been renovated so it was the same as 6 years ago - clean and perfectly acceptable, but not luxurious. Unfortunately, the beds are very hard.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food at the buffet was fine. You could find something you enjoyed every night. Lunch at the restaurant by the beach was great. Having pizza, fries and BBQ'd burgers always available meant you never had to worry about being hungry!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful!

Other Comments:
I find it hard to understand why some people are so critical. We had a fabulous time and will definitely go back. We have been to other much larger resorts in Punta Cana, but much prefer the VIK.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointed"

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)
User Rating:  VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sherry  on Mar 27, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Party | With Group
505 people found this review helpful

I thought I paid for a renovated Room. I requested a King Size Bed, received two double beds (for my husband and I). Room Air Conditioner did not work. Fan did, thank god. Fridge didn't work properly. I wanted a top floor so they gave me a bottom floor. My requests were completely ignored. The room was bland, all white, nothing like the pictures I saw on the Internet. I would suggest they add a bit of color, even a mirror would be nice. Not a picture on the walls, I felt like I was living in a hospital room for my stay. But it was clean! The Bathroom tiles were broken, no way renovated room.
I was only given one room key, told to follow my husband around therefore only need one key. Are they crazy?
When I finally got two room keys, they changed my room. The keys did not work when I went to my room. A nice gentleman who had our luggage took care of that.

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
Arrived, was checked in quickly but only given one room key. In order to get two, had to change rooms. How ridiculous is that? I cruise all the time, you get one key per person!!

Rooms:
It's clean but very boring. Bland, no pictures on walls, no mirror except in bathroom. Need a full length mirror in every room. Our room was not renovated but I paid for a renovated room. Someone lied to me.
My shelves to keep clothes on consisted of rudementary pieces of wood. I'm a camper so I sucked it up.
Air Conditioning did not work, I was sweating in my room all the time. The fan worked but only one speed so we often woke up freezing. Turn the fan off, you sweat?

The beds were clean, but as hard as sleeping on a large rock. The pillows were fine.
All in all, room very clean thanks to our maid. We tipped her well. She left me nice flowers.
Our friends booked a Oceanview in 4th floor, I really regret not doing that. I did not complain just sucked it up.

Restaurants and Bars:
The a La Cartes -only two. Bars, no brand liquor, that's $6.00 a shot.
I couldn't get one of the bartenders to even smile at me, they ignored me (I'm 52) until I gave them tips. Then they started smiling? That's rude.
They should serve Beer in Larger Cups (Solo Cups). They serve it in small glasses like you would serve a Vodka and Orange. I hardely drank the whole trip.
White Wine was good in A La Cartes

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is beautiful - I loved it. They should have bartenders out and about on the beach and the pool to get you drinks. They would make way more tips. I had to keep getting up and walking to bar.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not much going on. A show at night. Hardley any music? Why not have a Piano Bar in the lobbey playing for a couple of hours in the evening? Where's some music at the beach? I hardley saw people partying? You certainly don't get much in the form of liquor. Small little glasses for beer? are they kidding? They should be serving it in Solo Cups at least.

I saw them playing Volleyball every day and they do have an activities board if you don't like to be bored. I stay on beach.

Other Comments:
Had to pay for my safe. Was not impressed! Then I heard terrible stories about money and phones going missing? Lots of money. Don't bring money! Bring $1.00 bills (US) for tipping. Bring yr Visa. Don't lay money around and or any valuables. I know of someone that stayed in a resort on Bavara Beach last year. The maid stole $700.00 and their phone. They actually tracked the phone to the Maid's residence! But nothing was done. She came back this year to try and find the Maid!

These people should be fired. How dare we come all the way from NS to spend our hard earned money and be treated less than we should be. Are there not laws down there? You can steal and when investigated, it's our word against theirs? That's a tough one but I would think if they have a crime ring going and nothing can be done, you could make a few dollars. I also heard a storey of the maid that watched by mirror someone opening their safe. They got $500.00 after they left the room? How does this happen? This was in another resort not the Vik. But at the Vik, money appears to be going missing plus phones when you read the Trip Advisor Reviews.
I've been on 5 cruises. Nothing has even happened to me, nothing stolen, you set your password for the safe, only you know it. No key

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good Value for the Price"

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)
User Rating:  VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  robert  on Mar 22, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
545 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the VIK for two weeks, March 5 – 19. It was our second visit to this resort. To begin, if you are thinking of choosing the VIK, keep in mind that it is a budget friendly resort. If one understands this, then one will find the resort to be good value for the money. Do not expect five star accommodations, facilities or choices.

The VIK is an older resort; one of the first to open in PC. The rooms are very basic but kept clean. The furniture and beds have never been replaced and show their age. The mattresses are very hard, and I found them to be very uncomfortable. However, the only time I spent in the room was to wash and sleep. The condition of the furniture and bedding didn’t bother me; I just would have preferred a better bed. Building four has been renovated and is more modern, but it’s more expensive. The intention is to eventually renovate all five buildings. We stayed in building five, closest to the beach.

The pool is very large and kept clean. It could use a new coat of paint, but that would mean closing the pool. The beach is, simply put, one of the world’s best - the major reason I choose P.C. for vacation.

As elsewhere in the world, the recession has affected the property. This was most obvious in the quality of the food. It was not bad and there was choice; however, it was better and more varied when we were there in 2009. For example a wide variety of quality cheeses were no longer available. In addition to the buffet, there are two a la carte restaurants – Italian and Sea Food. The Buccanero grill/bar is located between the beach and the pool. It’s a great spot for lunch. A small buffet is set at lunch hour and pizza, burgers, hot dogs, chicken and pork chops are available until late in the afternoon. In addition there is another beach bar.

The nightly entertainment is typical of any all-inclusive resort. Some shows were good; others were not. In the evening, most activity took place in and around the reception area. Its comparative smallness is conducive to meeting people. Striking up a conversation was very easy, and we made several new and interesting friends. I like that the VIK is built to a human scale and is not a mega resort.

All staff were very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Few of us have any sense of how hard these people work both directly with the guests and behind the scenes to make these resorts function.

Even though it has a four star rating, it would not compare too well to other more expensive and newer four star resorts. For example the two more costly neighboring four star resorts, the Caribe Club/Tropical Princess and the Ocean Sand/Blue, have superior accommodations and facilities.

All told, we enjoyed our time at the VIK. It is unpretentious and gives good value for your money. If you select the VIK be aware of what you’re getting, and you won’t be disappointed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Try another resort"

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)
User Rating:  VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leah MacLeod  on Mar 10, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
501 people found this review helpful

Just returned from a week at the VIK Arena Blanca. It is definitely not a 4 star resort as they bill themselves! The rooms were uncomfortable. The food was so-so. The food in the specialty restaurants was cold when it was served, and the buffet had little variety.

The pool was nice and the beach was lovely. There was, however, no drink service at the pool or beach. That would have been a big plus.

After talking to fellow guests who had stayed in several different resorts over the years, I am convinced I could have found a better resort for the same price. My advice-keep looking for a different resort. The Dominican beaches are well worth visiting.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good value for your money"

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)
User Rating:  VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  gary  on Feb 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
534 people found this review helpful

Spent 8 days at the vic arena blanca, our first trip to punta cana and really enjoyed it.

Room Number:
5011

Room Block:
5

Arrival:
Late arrival, like 2:00 am so check in went well.....there was a bar still open with some food available as well wich was nice.
A security guard carried my wife's luggage right to our room, opened the door for us turned on the lights and air. Comunication was some what difficult but he even resorted to writting on his hand to explain things to us.
Small resort which was very nice,everything is walking distance and cozy.

Rooms:
getting to our room at 5:30 am tired and into a room that felt a little muggy and had an musty smell to it did not impress the wife to much; but keep in mind that with mid thirties humidex with the air off to conserve energy, it should be expected.The next morning things were much better, the air could have been cooler but we were never hot at any time day or night in our room.We were on 1 st floor beach front 56 steps to the beach,I did not see any signs of mold nor one bug at anytime during our stay, room was cleaned every day and a small gift to the cleaning staff was greatly appreciated.They fumagated once during our stay which should be expected in that kind of climate.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was amazing,huge variety, buffet's were better than the alacartes so if you don't feel like dressing up dont bother.No complaints on the bars what so ever, hey it's free..if you cant walk two minutes to get yourself a drink at any one of the 4 - 5 bars then maybe you should look into an old age home...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
we booked a trip to the Dominican for the beach and no regrets what so ever.....spent zero time at the pool even though it looked very nice and a lot of people did spend most of there time there it was not for us...we have a pool at home so we spent all of our time there....truely amazing....
grounds are well taken care of and should you get a craving for some fresh coconut or a drink cocnut juice the grounds keepers were more than willing to fix you up...

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The usual activities and excursions if you like to that kinf of stuff.
I would highly recomend the spa....these lady's have amazing hands.

Other Comments:
Being our first trip it leaves us nothing to compare to but have read tons of reviews on differant resorts and we must keep in mind that we are visiting their country and should expect some comunication barriers and different living conditions, and if you have the expectation of being treated like royalty and to have somebody jump every time you snap your finger, like so many do, then triple your budget and see if it gets better.These people work there butts off for poverty wages and could only dream of taking a holiday visit another country.
I would recomend the Vic Arena Blanca and would return in a heart beat.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fab holiday"

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)
User Rating:  VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  TRACEY  on Jul 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
717 people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 weeks in may 2011 and had an amazing time. it was our first time to the caribbean and would definately go back but i would,nt stay at the vic again as i like to go to different resorts and would like to go to the north of the island.

Room Number:
4024

Room Block:
4

Arrival:
great, quickly got sorted out in reception with all inclusive bands and a bell boy was waiting to take our cases

Rooms:
basic but clean

Restaurants and Bars:
amazing food, plenty of bars

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
stunning pool, beach and grounds nice size not to big everything in walking distance

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
maybe could have been more activities

Other Comments:
we loved the holiday

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutely horrible!! Avoid at all costs!"

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)
User Rating:  VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandy  on Jun 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
824 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
3021

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
From day one, we had nothing but problems. Even at check-in, we were told that they did not have our reservation. After a few minutes of searching, they found the reservation, although they had spelled the name wrong. From there, we were given blue wrist bands which we were told we had to keep on for the entire stay, but were never told why. A very brief overview of the layout was explained, but it seemed that they didn't care we were there and weren't even welcomed. We were checked in by Johan who was very rude. He even laughed at us when we asked him questions. No one on the staff wanted to help us. We were either made fun of or ignored completely.

Rooms:
Once we got to the room in Building 3, we were even more disappointed. It was wet and smelled of mold and mildew. However, we figured that since it was so humid we should expect it. Beware...the mildew, musty smell never goes away and your room is never fully dry. There are spiders all over the room.On the 4th day, we noticed a piece of paper slipped under our door informing us that the next day our room would be fumigated!! This was when we snapped. We went to guest services politely explaining all of our problems and were directed to the night manager, Ricardo, who could have cared less that our stay was less then perfect. He did call the cleaning staff to tell them to bring us new bedding, towels, etc. We were also told that their washing machine was broken as well. Which means, NO ONE at the resort was getting clean linens, and they had no time frame on when they would have a new one. After returning to the room, our "new" linens were still stained. Upon telling him about the bugs and spiders all over the room, his response was "This is a tropical climate, you should expect to have bugs in your room."

Restaurants and Bars:
The beer is watered down, their version of orange juice is really something that tastes like watered down Tang, the meat in the Italian restaurant tastes like taco meat (which also gave my fiance' diarrhea later that evening).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
you are constantly harrassed by people wanting to sell you a timeshare to their sister club, Cayena Beach. Relaxing afternoons at the beach are not possible for this very reason. It seems every 10 minutes someone wants to sell you either the timeshare or an excursion. (Avoid Pedro; he doesn't give up.) I finally had to resort to being rude and telling them to leave us alone for them to finally get the hint. The beach itself is gorgeous, though.

Other Comments:
The last day of our trip, we were called to set up a time for them to pick up our luggage to take to the lobby. No one showed up at our scheduled time. We waited for 10 minutes, then finally decided to take the luggage ourselves. No one at check-out asked us if we enjoyed our stay. In fact, it seemed like they wanted us out of there ASAP.
The ONLY saving grace for the resort is the fact that the beach is beautiful and one gentleman named Eddie in the "El Bucanero" restaurant that is friendly, kind, and helpful, and who truely wanted to make sure your needs were met.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Don't want to go back"

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)
User Rating:  VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tami  on Jun 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
731 people found this review helpful

This resort should be a 3* instead of 4* like it shows on the hotel name. The room was small the bed sheet had a weird odor. Also the beach towels had the same odor. The bathroom was so small that after taking a shower, water was everywhere. There was only one mirror in the bathroom, so if my bf was shaving, then I could not do my hair, which frustrated for me. My friend's room didn't have the TV remote control , we asked the front desk so many times that we finally gave up. And until the end of our stay, there was no sight of the remote control.The housekeeping forgot to give us clean towels a few times that we need to call the front desk. We had to pay to use the safe in the room.
This resort only has 2 a la carte restaurants, not 4 like it stated in the hotel description. And the food was plain boring, just like the buffet food with a bit of decoration. My plate was cold when it arrived and my stomach got upset afterwards.

The buffet is pretty good but the dinning room has no AC.I dont think the staff did a good job in keeping the dairy products cold. The butter we got for our toast were melting and no ice were filling up the keep it cold. My friend's stomach got upset after each meals.Im glad that she didn't get food poisoining. I think the fact that there was no AC and the food was left unattended make my friend's stomach upset.
This resort is for old people and families. There is not much activities going on during the daytime at the pool.it's dead quiet. And the disco club is nearly empty.
I will never go back to this resort. And it is not the place that I would recommend to my friends.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube