Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Punta Cana-Bavaro > Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotel Index > Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Punta Cana-Bavaro Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sivory Punta Cana Boutique

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Club Med

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 23, 2011

Bahia Principe Esmeralda

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 8, 2014

VIK Hotel Cayena Beach

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 29, 2014

Caleton Club & Villas

5.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 20, 2014

Riu Palace Bavaro

4.7 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 25, 2014

Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa  

Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana

"Don't listen to bad reviews!"
Posted by: Sandra  on Feb 27, 2013
see all reviews

Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Reviews
Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Pictures and Information
Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Punta Cana-Bavaro Dominican Republic

#13
of 78 Hotels in Punta Cana-Bavaro

User rating 3.8

Based on 37 reviews

Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Information


In the Natura Park Hacienda Style, ecological architecture takes advantage of the natural resources of the area and provides a feeling of freshness and comfort.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Reviews

Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Review: 3.8 of 5 37 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  18
Average
  9
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (25)
Party (1)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (5)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (9)
Solo
31 - 37 of 37

"Nice hotel for the price we paid."

Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Lindsay from Saskatchewan  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
197 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Fairly smooth check-in. There were a few other couples who were checking in at the same time, so the desk clerk made a group announcement as not not repeat herself then handed us an envelope with our necessary items, pretty self explanatory. Only complaint is that we were told to come back the next day for our safe locks because they had ran out.

Rooms:
I had emailed the resort the week before (use the email from the hotel website because the one listed under "resort contact" on this website is wrong) to ask for a specific location and we got it right by the beach (building 7) however we asked for a king size bed and got two twin beds, not exactly romantic but location was great. About the room: Toilet stopped working everyday but we managed to fix it ourselves, lots of ants in the room so keep items off the floor, fridge never worked at all but we were close to the bar! Linens were always clean and the maid did a good job of keeping things tidy. Ask for extra water each day as we found out two bottles were not sufficient. A/C not terribly cool but if you keep the fan going it is comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars were good, best bar was by the beach, over-looking the pool. It had the best views and fastest service. Bar inside hotel was always packed so wait time was lengthy. Best frozen drinks were at the bar in the entertainment area, but only open at night. Food was so-so, beef was always good though. Best a la carte was the steak house, but if we want cooked steak ask for well done as i asked for medium well and received rare. I recommend eating breakfast at the main buffet, as the one by the beach had only a few select items.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach, be sure to walk past the hotel grounds to the left as there are no other hotels, plus water has less weeds.
Groundskeepers deserve a pat on the back, always working hard and very friendly. Water in the pool was cooler, but not uncomfortably cold. Be sure to get up early to reserve seats on the beach, they go quickly. We brought our own beach towels from home to make them more identifiable. Overall beautiful grounds.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We walked about 10-15 min outside the resort (its safe) to a shopping/market area. Be sure to haggle as the shops have a lot of the same items, so you may be able to get a cheaper price at another shop. They accept pesos and us dollars and have a calculator ready. Make sure you know what exchange rate they are using because they try to confuse you and possibly rip you off. We challenged quite a few sales people.
We did two excursions: Outback Jungle Safari , well worth the money,it was a great tour and our guide Franklin was great. Bring money along to buy things along the way. The other tour was Reef explorer. Again great tour, but a little over priced. It was nice because we were able to snorkel at our own pace and not feel pressured for time.

Other Comments:
Overall, nice hotel for the price we paid and great location, but room and food were not 4 star. I would consider staying here again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Except for the ants in the bathroom, we had an amazing time there!"

Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Allison from Kitchener  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
210 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 23 - 30
The room was not ready when we arrived, but we went to the bar and had a drink, went to the buffet and had some lunch and wandered around the property until they were ready. Not a huge deal really!

Rooms:
The room was very nice and clean! We left little goodies for the maids, and seemed to get fresh towels and extra water every day! We had a slight ant issue the first night, and in the bathroom the entire week, but it is an eco resort!

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet had great variety and it was all really good! We both found lots to eat every day! No stomach issues or sickness at all. They had purified water on the tables each day. They could have cleared the tables a bit faster, but as we were told on the bus ride in, you run on "Dominican time".

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is cleared all day of the seaweed that washes in. Beautiful trees and huts. Just make sure you get up early to save your beach chair! The pool would have gotten more use if it was heated, but otherwise no complaints. Grounds are just gorgeous! We have some amazing pictures!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did the Dune Buggies (the ride there seemed to take forever - but it was completely worth it!) and we also swam with the dolphins (this excursion is close to the resort - and is very fun!)Both were a little pricey once they got converted to Canadian dollars, but its not like we go on vacation all the time so why not?

Other Comments:
Except for the ants in the bathroom, we had an amazing time there! The food, grounds and staff were all excellent. Vendors come to the resort to sell goods in case you dont want to head to the market. We would recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Such a tranquil, beautiful resort deserves more attention to room issues."

Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Joe from Boston  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Feb, 2009
204 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
The flight to Punta Cana and the arrival was effortless...we had a quick and efficient check-in...we came independantly so we were the only guests checking in at this time

Rooms:
WELL...the room itself was fine...comparable to others we have had in our many trips to DR...but...ur toilet stopped working three times and required repeated visits to fix...our refrigerator in the room managed to keep drinks at room temperature...the sliding bathroom door did not slide closed....finally repaired on day 11 of a 14 day stay...the TV worked fine for three days and we experienced an extremely snowy and troubled picture for the remaindr of our stay...we ere told there were cable problems...housekeeping didn't bring towels in a timely manner...two days we received them while we were at dinner...dried off with beach towels!

Restaurants and Bars:
the food was ok....what we usually expect at AI's....but the restaurant wasn't up and running at 7 in the AM....usually had to wait for staff to get to stations and for hot food to come out if you were there before 7:15....we found luch to be better at the main buffet versus the beach one...Italian Restaurant was POOR....Fish was better...Steak was good for or first visit...not good for our second...ars everywhere needed more staff...the beach bar consistently nad a long line between 4 and 6 when people started leaving the beach and heading for the bar....there was only 1 bartender during peak times...and just no bakup for the person...oftentimes the bartender left the bar to get replacement stock...dining room staff was hot and cold as well...loved Rosa, server in the main bar however...consistently good service from her

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool is small but don't go to DR for pools....beach was good...nice place to walk the beach although there was a couple of robberies at the far end of the beach despite police presence...THE GROUNDS are specacular...the best we.ve seen, the plants, the birds, the lagoons, and the groundskeepers care were all outstanding...it is the major attraction of this resort and my ambivalence concerning not recommending the resort or returning to it

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went parasailing and took out the cat...both were great.....had to get in line early to reserve the cat and you had to get down to the beach before 7 to put something on a chaise if you wanted a palapa and shade...a staff member also approached us and told us for $ he would reserve a palapa for us...didn't accept but many did and as a result many palapas went early...hope mgmt stops ths practice.

Other Comments:
I hate to sound like I didn't enjoy the two weeks..I had a good time despite the conerns and problems cited...such a tranquil, beautiful resort deserves more attention to room issues, old and tired fixtures and appliances, and responding to calls for repairs...in addition the staffing issues are easily solved...hopefully the whole staff and operation will come up to the high standanrds of the grounds crew who should be proud of creating a DR paradise.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would not suggest taking kids under the age of 5."

Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Doug from Toronto  on Jan 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
186 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 2009
We went to Punta Cana in January 2009 and stayed at Natura Park. We are a family of four with two kids under 3. As a traveller myself, I have seen about 50% of the islands in the Caribbean. This is a good resort for the money and we would return when the kids are older. I would not suggest taking kids under the age of 5. The resort is great for couples, older kids and retired people who are mobile.

Rooms:
The rooms were very nice and a good size. We always had beer and water bottles in our room.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was great with a good selection. The drinks were good. The hours of the main buffet were excellent when open. We did not make it to the steak house but heard great reviews about it from everyone. The pool bar was a nice touch and the bartender lady was the nicest in the resort. The staff here is top notch.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were very nice, but very cold. The beach was great.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Internet was $3 for 15 minutes. The scuba diving wasn't great, but the prices were reasonable for what you got.

Other Comments:
The TV went out one night which isn't a big deal for a couple or single, but with a two year-old it can become an issue. The bars and food places did not always open on time. The flight home was the worst in the last five years for me. The flight was 90 minutes late and then we had to wait on people in immigration. There was no movie on a 4 hour flight from Skyservice. There was no elevator from the main lobby to the ground floor which was a huge hassle for our stroller.

Overall, we would return and the 4 star rating seems correct.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Outback Jungle Safari is the best."

Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jason & Cindy from Airdrie  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
181 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan/5/09 - Jan/12/09
The arrival was a gong show at the resort. the did not have our reservations from signature. Was supposed to get a ocienview suit for or honeymoon, but end up with a room with 2 single beds. (ya not cool for a honeymoon) Our rep was useless, as a few people said , they were more interested in selling you tours instead of helping you with your problems.

Rooms:
Room was very clean, a/c worked great, fridge kinda sucked and we only had 2 single beds.

Restaurants and Bars:
Really didn't care for the food that much, but whatever ! not a big deal.. bars are a little understaffed but they try there hardest.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
THE POOL is kinda small but the grounds and beach make up for it. It is beutiful!!!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
EVERYTHING WAS AWSOME the Outback Jungle Safari Outback Jungle Safari is the best.. PLEASE DONT TAKE ANY OTHER TOUR GUID OTHER THAN THE OUTBACK SAFARI. there colours are orange and black. They are awesome, I am not big on history to much, but it was incredible to learn about the country from "jose" This tour outfit treated us very well and we had so much fun and CHEAPY CHEAPY ! Debbies d/r has the logo on there page. We also went on the party boat to go swim with sharks and sting rays (dont worry sharks have no teeth and rays have no stingers. This was also a great time. They even had a clown for babysitting on board.. We also did the dune buggies and atv's also an awesome time and everything was...CHEAPY CHEAPY.. There is a guy in the resort that sells tours down near the towel shack, his name is edwardo, ask for him , he is a great guy, and cheaper than the tour operators like signature or sunwing..

Other Comments:
All IN all the first day wasn't good about the check in. However we had a fantastic time everywhere there. all the hotel staff were great and all the locals. We had such a good time we booked another one there feb/23/09 32 MORE SLLEPS ! WOO HOO.. WARNING!!!!!! WE LIKE GOING TO THE CASINO 2 DOORS DOWN AT THE GRAND OASIS. THEY GIVE YOU 1 $25 DOLLAR CHIPS WHEN U WALK AND ESCORT U TO A TABLE CALLED CARRIBEAN ROULETTE OR SOMTHING LIKE THAT, ANYWAY YOU HAVE TO ADD UP POINTS AND THEY MAKE IT LOOK SWEET... WELL ITS NOT, MY WIFE AND I DUMPED $600.00 IN 40 MINUTES.. STAY AWAY.....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great memories."

Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Keith  on Jan 1, 2009  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
176 people found this review helpful

Blau Natura Park Resort/Sunquest Vacations/Skyservice Airlines
Trip date 2008/12/20 – 2008/12/27

Interesting to read BobFromCanada’s summary – there are some similar observations - and it becomes evident that Blau doesn’t really follow up on customer suggestions.

This was our first time to DR and thus to Natura Park. We selected Natura based largely on Debbie’s reviews and input from other sites. Overall we were quite happy and came away with many incredible memories.

Sunquest: We were met at the airport – lost luggage sorted out – and led to a bus for transfer to Natura. We received an invite for an orientation session which we attended the following morning. Boris gave us some tips on avoiding stomach/intestine upset (ie minimize conconut based drinks like the pina colada) and reminded us to check in on departure time. The rest of the time he spent trying to sell trips which seemed to be the real focus on his job. Boris wasn’t any help in getting the luggage problem resolved and said he couldn’t do anything for me. He placed one call after I insisted he try to help but said he did not get an answer. I approached the hotel staff and they were very prompt and efficient at finding our lost luggage and were always able to get answers to their phone calls. I also tried to book upgrades for flights through Boris but he said to do that at the airport and that he couldn’t help me. Skyservice was fine on the way down and back. No delays and the flight attendants were OK. They lost one of our bags for a day and our Sunquest rep was not helpful but the hotel really stepped up and helped out nicely. (3 bags lost in total from our flight)

Pick up/Arrival: Our group was a bit late for the bus as we had to fill in a lost baggage form. About a 20 minute ride to the hotel with a brief introduction by our host who was more interested in reminding us that they get paid next to nothing and so tips would be appreciated (a great start to an “all expense” paid trip ?. Not the typical welcoming party seen at other hotels but directed to the front desk and the sign in process was quite prompt and professional. Instructions re keys, safe and towel cards were thorough. Taken to our rooms and baggage arrived promptly.

Rooms: We had 5 rooms on ground level midway between the beach and main complex. Our travel agent asked for 2nd or 3rd level rooms as we had several girls with us and did not want ground level for security reasons but the hotel does not seem to review travel agent remarks so take anything suggested or promised by your travel agent with a grain of salt. Rooms were clean but rather dated. Beds are small and hard (can't fit 2 adults on one bed comfortably) and the AC just gets by (it was only 82 outside so not sure what they could do in the summer heat). Across the 5 room there was a wide variety of TV quality (same model) ranging from being non- operational/hazy screen to very crisp. We didn’t really care as we were there to enjoy the beach not TV (fun to see how much snow is piling up at home tho)! The sliding wood doors in all our bathrooms worked poorly and required some wrestling to get them to work. We had a board from the bathroom ceiling fall down while "in use" :) which was rather an exciting experience. Any fixes requested were promptly acted upon throughout the week with the exception of light bulbs for in-room lights and hallways. We asked to be moved to a higher level but was told the property was sold out even though the restaurant manager pointed out to me that ½ the restaurant was closed as the hotel wasn’t full ? … nonetheless the lower level was much more convenient so glad they left us there. There were sticks jammed in the power slot so the AC kept running all the time which was necessary to keep the room comfortable. The hair dryer is useless unless you have hair like mine … all 12 of them. They must be 20 years old and barely blowing.

Excursions: We skipped the formal tours as they seemed quite expensive and time consuming. After chatting with some local guys selling tours on the beach we hired Candy to take us on a snorkelling trip for a fraction of the price, for a longer period of time and with a great guide called Dominique. Note that snorkelling off the beach is poor quality. Further out there is some colour to the coral and the fish are more numerable and diverse. Reefs in Bermuda, Jamaica and Belize are much better. We did one snorkelling tour with the resort staff but their idea was to jump overboard with a ton of bread and watch fish swarm you. We preferred Dominique’s approach where he pointed out coral and fish in their natural habitat.

Animation /Entertainment: poorest quality of any resort we have visited. The kids based events were OK but well below what we have seen as a standard. The adult shows were quite adult oriented in some cases. The lady doing the pool exercises was quite good and pleasant. Main entertainment guy (rides a noisy motorbike) was very rude to our girls (ages 14 - 19) and physically yanked them off the volleyball court so he could put guys allowing his team could win. I indicated what would happen to them if he ever touched them again and he seemed to get the picture. His other 2 team members seemed to be more interested in the activities and more polite. He promised 2 of our teens a prize of rum for winning the Olympics and each night he would say “I will have it tomorrow”. On the last night he said he wasn’t going to give it to them. The following morning I informed the guest service staff person of the situation and she contacted the Animation Manager who promptly gave us 2 bottles and apologized. Best solution would be to get someone in that cares about their job and the guests. Beach volleyball court is really nasty and well off the main beach … surrounded by vines and undergrowth and a garbage pile … good place to wreck your feet every time a ball needed to be retrieved.

CAUTION!!! - seems like some of the staff live on site in dorms and the male staff “after hours” activities was focused on mixing it up with female visitors.

Beach is the BEST and absolutely amazing!! Incredible sand! Get out early and book your beach loungers. Good mix of palms, huts and open beach. Definitely the highlight of this property! Pool was fine but we didn’t use it much other than for the complimentary scuba lesson and one water polo game. Beach bathroom: speaking mainly for the men as I didn’t tour the ladies. The men’s was always disgusting with urinals overflowing. I noticed other reports about the same thing. They need to get this fixed as the germ count is off the charts. Walked in a couple of times and walked back out. Nasty.

Nature: The Natura name is well deserved as this is no concrete jungle like a lot of resorts. Ponds and trees and animals of many sorts are throughout the property. Creates a very serene setting. Other properties we walked through were tile and concrete and mega pools with no trees or vegetation around. The natural setting and beach were two home runs.

Bars: Main bar was always well staffed and prompt. The bars close to the beach were a little hit and miss in terms of quality and consistency of drinks and service. Swim up bar was cool and not a place to stay. Food: Overall quite good with typical resort scenario where some types of food, plates and cutlery running out but hey it is the Carribean man so just wait or come back the next day. Some people got really stressed ? over the outages and change in menu but at least there was food. Omelettes by Andrea were to die for … smoothies YUM … the Christmas eve buffet and experience was top notch. Turkey, seafood, pork was all incredible. Staff were clean and professional and service was really good 95% of the time. The beach restaurant was good too and the patio bbq’s were fantastic … Seafood restaurant was Good, Steak restaurant was Good and the tenderloin was fabulous. The french onion soup was uggg (a square of unmelted processed cheese and thick slice of bread) … the dessert in both rather uninspiring and limited (ie 1 piece of chocolate cake for our chocoholic gang so they just went to the buffet for dessert). Must be a lack of food warmers as food like the wings were always lukewarm at best.

Overall:
1. Good staff
2. Good food
3. Reasonable rooms
4. Only 1 person sick out of 11
5. Great memories
6. Worth going back to?? Sure but we don’t return to the same place as there are too many islands to visit and explore

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I really liked the rooms as they were a little dated."

Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa
User Rating:  Natura Park Beach Eco-Resort & Spa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  William from Norfolk, NY  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
171 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 10 - 17
Front Desk was very helpful, even though we had arrived early 12:00 pm they had us leave our bags an go for a drink and view the grounds. As this was our 6th time in DR we were very comfortable leaving our belongings.

Rooms:
I really liked the rooms as they were a little dated, I hope this never changes as if I wanted cold,, star trek rms ,,I will go to NYC. Anyways the cleaning staff just did a great job. We always leave 2 dollors a day on the bed (they will not touch if you leave it anyplace else) which the ladys really need.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants, The first part of the week we were really upset as there were never any tables cleared, coffie, at the buffets but middle of the week we were asked to fill out a survay card and we did, service was good the rest of the week. Food was good at buffets. The Italion was very poor Steak House was good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The best beaches, Pool was good but very cold which I don`t understand other than they chill the water to preserve the chemicals. This stopped alot of people from swimming alot. Sounds nuts but I have done polar bear dips in the ST Lawrence river in Jan and the water was warmer. They need to look into this as swimming is a big part of a winter vacation.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
As far as Iam concerned the shows were the best in the DR. These people work hard to put this on. Day activities around pool were good. Did 2 tours the trip to the stingray pen was not worth it as you only go out 1 mile then come back and stand on a sandbar,to expensive for what you get. The other trip was the Outback Jungle Safari which was great only it took us 2 hrs to get there.

Other Comments:
I would book this motel again
bill832@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube