Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bayahibe > Bayahibe Hotel Index > Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bayahibe Hotels with Similar Ranking

Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

4.0 based on 4 reviews
Last reviewed May 19, 2014

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

3.9 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed May 1, 2011

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace  

Carretera a Bayahibe, Playa Dominicus, Bayahibe

"Great buffet"
Posted by: basil on May 19, 2014
see all reviews

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Reviews
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Pictures and Information
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Bayahibe Dominican Republic

#4
of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe

User rating 3.4

Based on 5 reviews

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Information


The Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Resort has one of the island's most beautiful white sandy beaches, located on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic facing the gorgeous islands of Saona and Catalina.

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace official website
www.vivaresorts.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Reviews

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Review: 3.4 of 5 5 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  4
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (4)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Family and Kids
Solo
With Group
1 - 5 of 5

"terrible experience!!!"

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  cwh  on May 23, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
458 people found this review helpful

I had never written a review before for any of my vacations, but it was too horrible of an experience that I feel obligated to share my experience with everyone who is considered go to this hotel. We came to La Romana for our honeymoon, I know I shouldn't expect too much from an all-inclusive hotel, but first day after we arrived, the front desk gave us a voucher for two t-shirts for our honeymoon (really? that is it) and an extremely small room that smell very moldy. I can even see ants clawing on the floor. I couldn't stand that moldy smell so I asked them to change it and told them it was my honeymoon that I can't stay in that room for the rest of my days there, they gave us the look like "oh really" like she saw a few couples just like you asking to upgrade their room for faking honeymoon. I want to show her the copy of my marriage certificate in my bag but was disrupted by a lady who also came to complain about her room key for the third time of the day. They finally changed another room for us almost 2 hours later. It was just a lit bit bigger but I was too tired to ask for another change anymore. I do not have much to complain about the food, beach or pools. But if you don't Speak Spanish or Italian, then you will be so disappointed about the service. They can't even make you the right drink. I asked for ice coffee and they didn't know how to make it. I went to get those two honeymoon t-shirts, the guest service gave us only one and said "sorry that was the last one" Are you kidding me? So who is going to wear it? Me or my husband? I rejected the offer and left. They will charge you for using the safe deposit box and during the check out they said they don't have change for us. And ask us to donate the change to charity? I was so angry and asked them to give me back my change they owe me and she gave us a look like we are being so cheap that couldn't even give change to charity. They didn't even know what they did really pi*s me off (we tipped the clean lady 2 dollars every day, tip the taxi driver 10 dollars for every ride, tip few dollars for every tour guys). But we were so angry about the service that didn't want to leave any tips to this hotel. Americans beware of this hotel. You will be treated like cr*p and disrespected. I will go back to La Romana but will never step a foot in that hotel ever again!!

Room Number:
6134

Room Block:
2floor

Arrival:
5/14-2012,not so good

Rooms:
small with moldy smell

Restaurants and Bars:
ok, but staff barely speak English

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Good

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
not too many.

Other Comments:
Don't go to this hotel!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful beach"

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Angie  on Jan 8, 2013  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
259 people found this review helpful

Loved this resort. Best part is the beach. Beautiful gardens. Great layout. You can also use everything at the sister resort which is right beside each other. Very good food. The only thing that we didn't like was the very small pool and no swim up bar.

Room Block:
51

Arrival:
No problems. Quick check in.

Rooms:
Asked for a king size bed which we didn't get...got two queens. Could have changed rooms the next day. But we didn't want to pack up and move. The room was fine.

Restaurants and Bars:
The lobby bar is the best bar. There wasn't enough seating in the lobby to really enjoy the bar. Loved the pizza and the mexican restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool is a disappointment. But loved the beach. We are beach people anyways. The grounds and gardens were beautiful...very well keep.

Other Comments:
Yes i would recomend this hotel to family and friends

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great buffet"

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  basil  on May 19, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Nov, 2013 | Business | With friend
57 people found this review helpful

I was in town for a business trip with a colleague and it was this hotel that caught my eyes from the reviews I read online about it. The place is first of all gorgeous and very beautiful; it is an all inclusive resort where everything was top notch in my opinion. I enjoyed the beautiful beach where I will always go and sit on a lounge chair or sun bed. The buffet offered in this resort was better than most I have come across because even the most picky eater could still find something to eat as they had variety of meals to choose from and their pools where always clean which also tripped me to love the place even more. The room that I stayed in with my colleague was spacious enough and clean. The housekeeping service was great as they did a great job of making sure the rooms were spotless. I took park in the snorkeling and if you eventually find yourself in this resort, I advise you to take the Saona Island day trip. I only had problem with WIFI because I needed to keep in touch with my office but every other thing was great asides that. One tip is that you should try to tip the staff for better attention and helping you finds solution to whatever problem you are having. The staff was great just that they feel a little distant from their clients as I noticed. They are great, caring and professional but they need to be a closer to their clients and smile also. I definitely am going to come back here when next I’m on vacation probably for personal reasons.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Resort For All"

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bev  on Feb 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
711 people found this review helpful


Room Number:
6541

Room Block:
3rd Floor Beach Front

Arrival:
Getting there: Flew direct to LaRomana & 20 minute bus ride. (2 hrs from Punta Cana).

Rooms:
Rooms: Yes, they're dated but were clean and perfectly fine.
Other Reviews I Read: Yes, there were a lot of Europeans. They travel too! Our experience was a lot of French from both Quebec and France but the esential staff did speak many languages, English included.

Restaurants and Bars:
We walked regularly to the various restaurants, buffets, grills, pools and other ammenities shared throughout the entire grounds of both resorts.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Resort: Viva Wyndham is a large resort - 20 mins walk from "Palace" at one end to far end of "Beach" at the other. Palace was smaller & quieter than Beach.

We walked regularly to the various restaurants, buffets, grills, pools and other ammenities shared throughout the entire grounds of both resorts.

Beaches: The beach at "Palace" was without a doubt the better. The water got deep very quickly. I wouldn't say there was much swimming - it was mostly jumping waves and boogie boarding - which was really a lot of fun. There were children in the water with their parents. Disappointed that waves stirred up sand so snorkelling off the beach was poor.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Pro Excursions for a snorkelling trip and eco adventure was the BEST decision. Viva Wyndham have the monopoly on tours. Don't be afraid to research ahead like I did and go off of the resort. PRO Excursions is Canadian owned and operated!!! Definately recommend you Go PRO!

Other Comments:
Only one complaint: One worker's young son hacks into one of the two computers day and evening and then the mouse went on the other one. Staff removed him for a short period but had no issues with him hacking in - afterall, they had our money already, what did they care if we didn't use the minutes. I hope the Managers/Owners read this and take action.

As for the previous complaints I read about - perhaps they had a bad day or a worker did. It was a great resort and I would stay there again. I'd even try out Viva Beach next time and walk to Palace to swim.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Viva Palace report Sept 4th thru 12th, 2010"

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  klattu  on Sep 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
792 people found this review helpful

We were exhausted from so much fun. It only rained the day we left. Sailboats we great, 30 minutes at each turn. Available 9am to 6pm except at sailing classes at about 11am. All the staff were nice, even though we only spoke English, we had no problems.

Food:
Food was great at the buffet for breakfast and lunch. The variety was very good, we have nothing but praise for this setup. Each day when we all set at our table, we would look to see what each of us picked out, we taste tested many items from each of our selections. We went to all the reservation required cafes and the Italian gets or vote as the best.
1. Italian
2. Mexican
3. Café at waters edge
We did not like the Oriental, maybe our taste needs that night were just not in line with the food.
Good thing about the buffet is that it was always available as a backup.
The late night pizza café was tasty too. It opens at 7pm until very late.

Room:
There were no bugs to be seen, I really think they must still use DDT down there, as we did not even see any mosquitoes. I did see the guy on a scooter fogging the streets outside the hotel.
Our room was well cleaned each morning, with towel swans to surprise us upon return, each day different style.
The local iguana was friendly as an old house cat. Immaculate landscaping too.
So many towels each day…maybe the $2 tip we left in room was appreciated more than you think.

Drinks:
Drinks at the poolside bar were nice and convenient, and you could carry drinks to your beach side lounge chair.
September must be an unpopular time, as we had no problems with finding locations on the beach, reservations, taking out the sailboats or waiting in line for most any activity.

Snorkeling:
Snorkling off the beach was fantastic. Bring some bread from breakfast and see the feeding frezy underwater. If you have the need for a camera before your travel, I suggest looking into a waterproof.
We bought a Fuji xp10, and it did so well above and under the water, great special effects too.

Didn’t use the room safe, put valuables in a large suitcase and locked it.

Negatives:
Negatives: Pools close at 6pm. It would have been nice to see an adult only pool open to about 10pm, they probably have reasons based on past history, but the lighted pools sure look inviting after dark.
I did have a little musty smell from the AC, sprayed it with Clorox that we brought with us.
The wifi was about $1 a minute as we paid for 24 hours, but it worked for only the 10 minutes while we were at front desk.

Organized crime:
Organized crime: At the aeroport outside Santo Domingo, the Hertz rental car agency is the practicing scam artist at its worst. How this continues at such a name brand, and in a country that is trying very hard to end corruption? Existing damage was not listed on form as we went to pick up car, I would not sign until all was noted, and at return, they try to say there was more damage than when picked up. 1 hour to get into car after landing, and they pretended not to understand me until I asked to contact the police. There are many other rentals to chose from, at least 6, and there was another at the hotel…. More to it than this, but Hertz has lost us as a customer at all locations. Everywhere else we went, we felt safe. At most all locations for shopping, there were guards in the parking lots. As we drove around the area between Santo Domingo/Bayahide/Porta Cana we enjoyed the freedom of being in our rental car. We never felt unsafe, even at night. We did miss a few turns, but managed to get back on track. There we lots of fuel stops that took both DR $ and USA $. Driving requires being alert and is very active. The motorscooters are everywhere, and they know how to drive. Don’t feel threatened by their passing or getting in front of you at red lights. They speed off way before you will. You passing them again as you reach speed is expected. Tailgating is normal by all. It is to your advantage to have a small car to maneuver thru traffic. Yes we saw a few stray cows and goats, and your windshield will be cleaned at red lights if you are 1st or 2nd in line.
I see much construction on large future highways underway, in a few years driving in DR will be vastly improved. And it looked like a few shopping centers will soon be opening.

We walked to the other resorts nearby, all seemed excellent choices.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube