Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bayahibe > Bayahibe Hotel Index > Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bayahibe Hotels with Similar Ranking

Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 4, 2014

Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

3.9 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed May 1, 2011

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace

3.4 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed May 19, 2014

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach  

Carretera a Bayahibe, Playa Dominicus, Bayahibe

"Great Place"
Posted by: spooky on May 19, 2014
see all reviews

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Reviews
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Pictures and Information
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Bayahibe Dominican Republic

#5
of 12 Hotels in Bayahibe

User rating 4.0

Based on 4 reviews

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Information


For adults and kids alike, Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach is one resort where fun and action are a way of life and boredom is totally out of the question.

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach official website
www.vivaresorts.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Reviews

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Review: 4.0 of 5 4 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  2
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (3)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 5 of 4

"We had a wonderful diving trip."

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brett  on Sep 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
938 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Sept/08
Felt safe and secure, friendly staff, lots of entertainment, beautiful beaches + pools, big resort but not too huge.

Rooms:
We stayed in the bunglalows and loved it! Very clean, lots of space for myself and my gf.

Restaurants and Bars:
Delicious food, good selection of restaurants in the resort but we also found our favortite place OUTSIDE of the resort. El Cafecito de la Cubana; located on the beach in Bayahibe. We ended up eating there about 3 times in one week:) Highly recommend anyone that goes to Dominicus or Bayahibe to leave the resort and go for lunch or dinner there atleast ONCE!

Other Comments:
I was looking for a dive operatation on the south coast for our annual vacation trip. I found Diving Dominican Republic, contacted them and we had a great experience. I've gone diving in La Romana twice before so I really did not expect much but I was pleasantly surprise. The reef was alive with fish and beautiful corals. I realized that on our previous trips the dive shops didn't care much about showing people around; they just took them to the usual dive spots and that was it.

Vladi runs a small family operation, PADI certified dive boat(which is very imporant to me) he named his boat Sharky. His wife Denise takes care of all the emailing. She was very patient with me and continually kept up with all emails I sent her. She explained all details, suggested dive packages for me and my gf and she kept emailing till we were comfortable with the plan. Everything was catered to us and what we wanted:)

Vladi is an excellent scuba diving instructor who takes his time to set up the dives at the locations he knows are interesting, looking for dive spots where other dives shops don't go. Him or Denise picked us up each day at the hotel and took us to the bay where the boat with all diving equipment was ready for us. After the dives, they took our equipment to their shop, rinsed it and had it ready for the next day diving. On the boat Vlad explained the details of the dive before hand, and then he spent time showing the corals and critters on the reefs that we would have never seen. The dives were not limited at all; we had as much time under water as our air consumption and depth allowed us. He kept us laughing the entire time, there was never rush anywhere, everything was going at our pace. My gf was extremely nervous about diving and Vladi gave her just the attention she needed to keep her calm and enjoy diving again.

There are few places that you can have a qualified, friendly, personal dive guide (along with a nice and comfortable boat), who will discuss your interests and make a dive itinerary just for you. And all this for almost the same price as packing like sardines and going on one of the cattle boats to dive the over used sites.

Conclusion::
We had a wonderful diving trip. It's always fun to go diving, but Diving Dominican Republic made it the perfect experience. It felt like we were diving with old friends instead of hiring a boat and guide. The insights into the local area were spot on and made the experience that much richer. I can't imagine going to the Dominican Republic and diving with anyone else.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing Beach, CLEAN Resort & Rooms, Service & Food could use some "tweaks""

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sue & Roberto  on Mar 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
759 people found this review helpful

Sunsets are magical. Water is warm and on wavy days, fun to play in, no major undertow. You can walk out quite a distance.

Your Arrival:
Sunwing last minute vacation. Amazing flight down, on time and smooth. First impression of the hotel was "wow". It was huge, clean and service at the beginning was amazing. My husband left his carry-on on the bus, Front staff called the next hotel and the driver brought it to the hotel. Check in was quick and simple.No fees for towels or safe.

Rooms:
HOWEVER, we paid for an upgrade to a "superior" room & had the travel agent include "mould allergy" on the reservation. Our room, not superior, had mould growing around the air conditioner and air intake.Upon complaining, we were offered a hut which was smaller, darker and towards the party pool area.We decided to stay because of one shining light, our housekeeper Santa. This woman bleached out everything, did it daily and kept our fridge and room stock with water and pop. NOTE: If you book the superior room, IMMEDIATELY ask for your upgrade (which is not a hut, unless it is oceanview).This was the experience of other Canadians.

Restaurants and Bars:
We reserved with "Beach", which means you can go to any bar, but buffet on the beach is the only one you are allowed to go to. The food is good, neither of us got sick, but was getting to be a little of the same by the end. You can book the La Roca Grill, which is good food (for a Dominican all-inclusive) and the Mexican. We enjoyed the Mexican just a bit more. There are hot dogs/hamburgers/salad/sandwiches offered at 2 of the 4 pool bars, one of those had pizza as well.There are two other a la carte restaurants, one overlooking the ocean & an Oriential for which the Beach guests must pay $10.00 ea.We could not get a reservation, and even though there were rarely more than 10 people, you could not walk and pay the $10.00 without a reservation. This entirely baffled us. Do not drink the red house wine. Everytime I drank it, I got diarrea. Stopped drinking it-diarrea stopped!
Getting coffee in the morning at the buffet was a nightmare 5 out of 7 days.1 morning we waited 1 hour, asking 3 different people.We ended up leaving & getting a coffee at the bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach - utterly amazing. Snorkelling right off the beach.Best part of the vacation :). Not pool people, but three of the four had ocean view. Beautiful. Your choice of three distinct beach areas.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Off Resort: Went to El Mundo Restaurant and Gift Shop - to the left outside the resort. AMAZING polite service and the best grilled shrimp I have ever had. The Gift shop had everything at lower prices than anywhere else and you could still deal. The staff were polite and helpful. There is a small grocery-hardware store on the second street from the hotel that appeared to have many locals in it. Got a large bottle of Lubriderm there and there were many grocery items at a lower price than other stores. Activity: We only did the speedboat half day snorkel-tour to Catalina island for $43.US. This was worth it. Take snacks for your hour at the beach.

Other Comments:
Checkout is at 1:00. Our bus was picking up at 6:40. Because we did not get the superior room AND there was mould, I approached the Sunwing rep to keep our room for the full day without the $25.00 per day PER PERSON charge. We had met another couple who had similar experiences so we offered all four to stay in one of the rooms. The rep was useless, argumentative and bordered on rude, but by standing our ground the hotel manager (very polite & calm gentleman) agreed to let us remain until 5:00pm. Other reviews about the large amount of rude Europeans are exactly correct. The larger percentage butt into lines, smoke and put their butts in the sand. A groundsman walks thru the sand all day with a fishnet device picking up what he can see. PS.My spouse is spanish-speaking, which seemed to be a determent to our service!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I've been down south 25 times, I'd return to this hotel and area of the DR. Good diving experience."

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kathy  on Mar 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
779 people found this review helpful

I was at the Beach part of the hotel, March 1 to the 8, 2010. Got a good last minute deal, under $800. I went with Air Transat, I'd prefer to have gone with West Jet. Their flight times are better. Both fly into La Romana, 30 minutes from the hotel. Stayed in bldg. 32. No complaints. The beach huts or bungalows looked cute but small and dark to me. I go down south primarily to dive and I had a very good experience with Scubafun in Bayahibe. I sent an email to them in advance, heard back almost immediately from John and Ingrid. Made arrangements for them to pick me up in the lobby. This is an excellent dive operation. Check them out. Staff were great, as were the boats and the plan. They'll put as many staff in the water as are needed to ensure people get to dive to their own level. They attracted some excellent divers, over 60 minute dives were happening. It's a pleasure to dive with good, better and best divers. I did 2 dives with the resort dive operation just to test the waters. If you only dive once or twice on a vacation and don't ask for much you can stick with the resort operation. If you want a rich dive experience check out Scubafun. As for the food and the hotel, I liked it all. It's what you make of it. I went horsebackriding in the National Park. Very nice way to spend 3 hrs. I've been down south all over the Caribbean. I'd go back to the area and the resort and I'd dive with Scubafun anytime.

Your Arrival:
No problems. Only 15 or so checked in.

Rooms:
We were in bldg. 32. It was quiet. Staff were attentive to cleaning and making minor repairs. Bungalows looked nice but I expect they were dark and smaller than hotel rooms. A/C worked fine.

Restaurants and Bars:
All good. We paid $10 twice to go to the Palace al la carte restaurant. Just because I like a change from buffet dining. Staff were attentive.

Note to guests, don't take so much...you can always go back for more. The amount of food that people waste is near to being criminal. Please stop it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach, nice swimming. Lovely pools. Grounds are worth a stroll.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Viva diving...it's ok. They limit you to 45 minutes. They are on a schedule. That's not a bad thing but when you have 1200 psi in your tank, it's a sad thing. I really liked Scubafun. They will pick you up, drop you off and keep equipment overnight. I liked strolling around the shops and areas outside the resort. I would like to return to this part of the DR and explore some more. Bayahibe is a nice little town.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great food"

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Angela  on Nov 28, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
544 people found this review helpful

The food was fresh and delicious

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Place"

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  spooky  on May 19, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
66 people found this review helpful

Well, all I can say about this beach resort is it was a great place for to stay when I was on vacation in May and I stayed for 7 days. One thing I loved was how appreciative the staff was especially the house keeper who after giving a dollar or two to her, it goes a long way. The room I stayed in was great, clean and spacious enough for my luggage. The buffet was great, nothing special because I have eaten way better food in other resorts. They have free restaurants and those that will cost you so beware and the free ones include La Roca and 25, at least they are the ones I know. The foods were tasty and the portion was enough to fill you. The pool by La Roca is absolutely gorgeous and the bartenders there were great. The best thing I loved about the beach is that is always clean and you will always get a chair there. They offered entertainment before lunch at the beach side and great audience participation too. I am not going to say I never met rude staff but I met great ones too and they helped make my stay very comfortable. It is a beautiful resort with more friendly staff, great staff, great beach and beautiful and spacious rooms. The rooms had all the basic amenities that you will require to be comfortable; there was air conditioning which I needed most of the time. I will come back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube