Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Playa Dorada > Playa Dorada Hotel Index > Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Playa Dorada Hotels with Similar Ranking

Holiday Village Golden Beach

4.7 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 1, 2009

The Puerto Plata Village Caribbean Resort & Beach Club

4.6 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

BlueBay Villas Doradas

4.1 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 27, 2014

Gran Ventana Beach Resort

3.9 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 9, 2013

Occidental Caribbean Village Club on the Green

3.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 10, 2014

Barcelo Puerto Plata

2.6 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada  

Playa Dorada, Puerto Plata

"Terrible"
Posted by: Phaedrea on Aug 15, 2010
see all reviews

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada Reviews
Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada Pictures and Information
Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada Playa Dorada Dominican Republic

#11
of 17 Hotels in Playa Dorada

User rating 1.3

Based on 3 reviews

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada Information


The Viva Windham Playa Dorada is beautifully appointed with exteriors and interiors reflecting the Caribbean-style architecture and design found throughout the Dominican Republic.

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada official website
www.vivaresorts.com

This Hotel has been closed.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada Reviews

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada Review: 1.3 of 5 3 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  0
Average
  0
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (3)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 3 of 3

"Terrible"

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Phaedrea  on Aug 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
684 people found this review helpful

Public Service Announcment!! Please save ur hard earned $$ and do not go to this resort. It appears there has been a change in management and everything has fell off. The lobbby area chair covers are falling apart. The staff was not friendly and appeared o be annoyed by our arrival. I went down to tthe lobby 2 days during our stay to see how staff responded to other guest that arrived:it wasn't just us. The room we got(3106)was terrible: toilet, shower, ac didn't work. It wasn't even clean. 2nd one not clean either. Roaches and other insects found in room. Food was poor and made several guest including myself sick. Entertainment was poor. Everything had a fee, nothing was inclusive. Surrounding area also ran down. Please value ur $.

Arrival:
I was floored by the unkept appearance of the front lobby. The chair covers were white. So, it made it very easy to see all the filth. The covers were torn up and falling off the chairs.The front check in staff was very unpleasant (as indicated above it was not just us..they were unfriendly to all the guest that came in, if they distrubed them from doing something).It took the staff (3 people) 25 minutes to use their computer system to locate our reservation. Even though we called 4 hours ahead of time bc we drove from Santo Domingo and they found it before.

Rooms:
We had room 3106 1st: the room had a funny mold dew odor (we found it later on the ceiling and around the ac vent). The tub level to spot the water from being retained won't release so the tub kept filling up when we took our showers. The resort charged a fee for the lock box (not mention before). The arrival tray of fruits were spoiled. The toilet continued to run after each flush (u had to play with the level inside the top of the toilet to get it to stop). The ac unit didn't work and caused a lot of dew to settle on our clothes and other belongings.
2nd room: 4210: floor and tub was filth. Bathroom ceiling in need of repairs. Roaches and other insects found inside bathroom several times during the week.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was full of low quality foods. Mystery meats and sauces. Several quest including myself were made sick from the buffet foods.

Ibiza Beach a la carta: average but a lot better than the buffet. We had to spend additional $ daily to eat outside the resort to avoid gettng sick again..hint,hint!

Observed the staff and their friends eating at all the restaurants and bars. I don't drink but I was informed that they keep all the name brand (Brugal,etc) out of view so they can give it to their co-workers. I did see this twice after I was told the above and the co-workers were still working..lol!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Patio furniture was not kept clean. Locals constantly allowed to harrass you to purchase cheap items as you attempt to relax at the beach! Everyone has an angle. Even the resort staff attempts to do side job hustles while your out by the beach because they cannot be heard by their co-workers as easy.

The pool deck was constantly filled with used plastic cups and papers (napkins and straw wrapers).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The nightly entertainment consist of terrible amatuer shows. A lot of the staff is out of shape and cannot keep up (in synch). The DJ(s) cannot do their jobs at the disco everyone just stands around because the musc is out dated and not in synch with the crowd.

The gym is keep at about 80 degrees and u feel like ur in a sauna! The equipment is out dated and falling apart.

The tour of the area is terrible because there really isn't anything to see except the island as you ride to the top of the mountain on the cable car. The Brugal factory tour is not a tour at all. You cannot go inside..just another way to get a tip to tell u things u can get from a quick internt search. Not worth spending the $ on.

Other Comments:
This resort is for the local people in that part of the island. It is falling apart and it appears that the owners are just trying to get the last bit of $$ they can before it goes into foreclosure like sooo many of the others in that part of the island.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do Not Stay Here"

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  annna  on Mar 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
724 people found this review helpful

We stay at the Viva Wyndham on Feb 6, 2010. They only had two rooms available on the ground floor. Do not stay on the ground floor we had a cockroche in our room and bed bugs in our bed. They were full when we got there at 10:30p.m. We brought our kids there as well did not sleep at all until they try to move us. The next day we talk to the front desk which we were promise the 3rd floor room side by side. But it never happen they gave my husband and son a key to the rooms on the second floor they told them they were empty. Well my husband and son went to open one room and there was a couple in bed. There was a lot of screeming for 3 hours or longer at the front desk. They do not care about you so please do your self a favour do not stay here there is nothing for the kids to do. My kids were bored.

Your Arrival:
Do not care about you or were you sleep hotel over book thanks to nolitours and sell off vacation. They just take your money and do not care about you. When you get down to Puerto Plata watch out they may run out of rooms even if you book.

Rooms:
cockroches and damp bed bugs dirty rooms do not stay here

Restaurants and Bars:
its o.k.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach to fare 10 minute walk. You could not go in the water to much sea weed
all over the beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
nothing bored

Other Comments:
If you are even going to attempt this place watch out terrible resort not clean at all they do not care about you my kids were bored. 10 minute walk to the beach. bugs every where. Watch out for sell off vacation they will take your money and not care about you even nolitours. WATCH OUT

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"smokers heaven"

Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Playa Dorada Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Feb 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
716 people found this review helpful

The Viva Windham is a somkers heaven on the beach at the pool almost anywere their are somkers that do not care about non smokers just one area with no somking awllowed that was the dinning room for all meals but if the windows were open the smoke comes rigth in it is sick to smell it when you are trying to eat, the beach bar lunch area is nonsmoking but agian the smokers cannot read they smoked their the staff did not tell them to stop they just watched even if you told a staff person, the beach is litter with butts from smokers who do not clean up their butts after smoking again that is sick when you are walking and their are butts in the sand where kids are playing and swiming, the beach is good if you like waves the water is warm and the sand is nice their is good shade to relax but you must get their early to get a spot one thing i did not like was some comes down to the beach puts a towel on the lounge chair and comes back later in the day holding their spot and also they take two lounge chairs one in the shade and one in the sun lots of the lounge chairs are old and need to be replaced,at nigth the sun goes down at 6:30 pm and the pool is closed at 6pm their is a hot tub but it is bad only part full of warm water bleow the jets and in bad need of cleaning, the nigth time the entertainment is super loud if you have a room close to the disco the windows rattle and it is hard to sleep it goes on sometimes till 3 or 4 am agian not good for kids trying to sleep, the food was so so the beef is like eating shoe leather the pork for some was good and the chicken was ok the vegtables are are good lots of spice,it woul be nice to see no smoking area by the pool and no smoking on the beach it needs lots of work to bring this place back to shape and do not go with any one on the beach to look at their hotel it is a vaction club.

Your Arrival:
are arrival was good we tipped the porter to put the suitcase on the bus the front desk staff are good but the safe their is a charge 16 us a week the web site says its free but they said they just changed it in jan 2010 and have not updated their web site.

Rooms:
Are room was super clean but we changed room due to the noise from the disco and a leaking ac drain into the bathroom,and some info about the bathroom when you use the toilet on paper is awolled to be flused away itgoes in to the waste basket and the maid cleans it up the next day if you flush it the toilet gets pluged up the best room is to get a jr site the other room is super small.

Restaurants and Bars:
their is only two restaurants the bamboo and isszes beach bar the bamboo is ok the beach one is so so their are only two bars one by the pool and the beach bar drinks are ok but a think they water them down.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is about 5 min walk past a swamp area that stinkes when the water is low in it the beach is good sometimes lots of seaweed and grabage at times on the beach and it takes them a long time to clean it up the waves can be high and fast. the brigth spot was the pool was clean and not to deep about 4ft3inchs at the deep spot lots of sun and some shade the grounds were great well taking care of lots of trees and plants.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the activities were ok at the resort and off was great to good to the water falls just make sure it is not going to rain or it is raining because the water fall park is closed it must be a good day so the water in the falls is not to fast try all 7 falls it is a bast do go if you do not like deep water they give you life jacket and helment and you must have good water shoes or you can rental them but try not to they are hard on the feet and heals

Other Comments:
I would not recommend this resort to any one it need lots of work and it is not on the beach its a short walk to the beach past a swamp.
this is a two star place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube