Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Cabarete > Cabarete Hotel Index > Viva Wyndham Tangerine reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cabarete Hotels with Similar Ranking

Villa Taina

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 22, 2014

Agualina Kite Beach Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 16, 2014

Viva Wyndham Tangerine  

Carretera Sosua-Cabarete

"Just there, nothing special"
Posted by: cindy on May 17, 2014
see all reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Pictures and Information
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Cabarete Dominican Republic

#1
of 32 Hotels in Cabarete

User rating 3.8

Based on 15 reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Information


Vacation? Action? Sports? Fun? Cabarete! Viva Wyndham Tangerine lies in the middle of one of the hottest vacation spots in the Caribbean.

Now included a FREE Kite Surf Introduction lesson as well!

Viva Wyndham Tangerine official website
www.vivaresorts.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.8 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  8
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 15

"Just there, nothing special"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  cindy  on May 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
79 people found this review helpful

In as much as I didn't get what I had expected from this all inclusive resort in the Cabarete, I definitely had a great holiday here. I kind of had a bad experience at the Mexican restaurant once, despite the fact that the food took ages to arrive, it wasn't what I ordered but that was the only bad experience I had. Every other thing here was nice and the staff was amazing, very friendly set of people who go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable at all times and every time you ask for their help n anything, they try to help out and solve it for you. They just need to keep their rooms in order before guests arrived and they would be fine. I visited here in April with a friend and I have nothing much to complain about. The main buffet was okay nothing special as I have had better meals in other restaurants but it’s great. The resort was very clean during my stay here and I the gift shops re quite expensive in my opinion. The location is perfect as you can just walk to out to many local shops and buy gifts and souvenirs. The front desk also needs to be more effective and be able to help out guests when they are called on but in general, I had a nice time here as I came with a friend and there was no dull moment. I stay for just four days and if things get better here (I mean rooms, elevators, better front desk service), I would definitely come back next time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hot & Breezy"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda  on Apr 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
473 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
4203

Room Block:
4000 block

Arrival:
We arrived at the resort on March 27, 2012 for one week in a group of 7 ladies. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly, food was OK, had a different variety every night which is always nice. Not a 4 star but very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay, the entertainment crew are amazing.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean and comfortable, nice balconys overlooking the water. No extras in rooms and some of the girls found thier rooms musty smelling.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very nice restaurants and one bar which was packed every night, closed at 12-1am, after that you have to go to the disco to get a drink. Food was great and a different variety every day at the buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is beautiful, grounds very clean and well kept with lots of flora and trees.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The only complaint we had was with Tony Tours. He peddles his tours on the beach and is very insistant. We booked two tours with him on our first day and due to rough water the first tour was cancelled. We waited in the lobby for pick-up for a half hour, no phone call to let us know it was cancelled and we had to have the hotel track him down to find this out. Getting our money back was a problem, he didn't want to give it back and we waited two days after several excuses. The 2nd tour he could do either and we never got our money back for that one, said he'd have it Tuesday and we were leaving on Monday. Be careful with him and I'd suggest you book with the hotel tours instead. Other than that, enjoy!

Other Comments:
If you take humanitarian items keep a watch for the Haitians working there, the work very hard and can use a drink or a few bucks if you can spare it. The schools in Cabarete always need school supplies as well.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Place"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brandy  on Mar 20, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
513 people found this review helpful

I have seen some negative reviews on this resort and i honestly don't know if these people were at the same resort as i was. I loved this place and can't wait to go back. The staff were very friendly and the entertainment was amazing specially the Michael Jackson show. They always had tons of activities going on at the resort and on the beach. It is right on the beach as well which i love. The waves can be a bit brutal and i was taken down a few times but it is the Kite Surfing Capital of the D.R. so it's obviously expected. Our room was nice and clean good enough for me to sleep in.

Arrival:
When we arrived we were greated and taken right to our room no delays. We also met a Rep from times shares right away who was very nice to us showed us around and such but the minute we told him we weren't interested he never so much as looked at us again the whole trip.

Rooms:
Roomy and cleaned daily. Bathroom has a stand up shower and toilet and bidet and very spacious. Mini friidge was stocked daily and we had a little patio which was nice to sit at night.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants were great always a selections to choose froma nd i am a very picky eater and i never went hungry and if you couldn't find something in the buffet area the snack bar was always open and their french fries and burgers and pizza were exceptional.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was huge and never too busy in the pool on the other hand it was tough getting a lounger on the pool deck. The beach it was never an issue finding a lounger and the sand was super hot and the water was nice and warm except one or two days. There is a few sea urchants lerking about on the bottom of the ocean so i suggest water shoes because i stepped on one and had to visit the doctor. Paid 80.00 and he didn't even remove the spine i went back to my room and did it myself. lol . No biggie. The vendors are there yes but a siple no thank you and they leave you alone. I might suggest boogie boarding on the beach i was three guys do it one day i was there and i was hilarious to watch they started out close together but when the wave hit they strung out all along the beach. We missed the beach party we were leaving the night they were having it but they were setting up when we were leaving and it looked like it would of been a great time.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was always activities going on weather it be on the beach or by the pool side. The entertainment staff were great in speaking with everyone not just cute single females or people who have been there for the past 2 weeks.

Other Comments:
I love this resort i just find that the pool and buffet and entertainment area and beach are so far away from the lobby our room however was situated right in the middle between both areas so that was great. we didn't have and ocean viwe room or anything like that but if i had of know i would of paid the extra to get one the view would of been amazing. The computer room was always packed with teenagers facebooking and wouldn't give up a computer just for a few minutes which was annoying. Met a lot of great people and had a blast. Vacations no matter where you go are what you make of them. I swear some people think they are royalty when they go to places like this. These people work long hours and work hard they deserve respect as well. They are no less then we are. I would love nothing more than to be able to be like them in a sense that they have no idea what it's like to have power 24 hours a day or have the luxuries we have day in and day out. Treat them with respect and dignity.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would Not stay again!!!"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  julie  on May 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
723 people found this review helpful

My husband & I stayed here for a week. It was the worst week ever. The hotel is in much need of improvements and a staff change. I am an Hispanic/American and have traveled in the carribean many times and appreciate the culture but this hotel is by far the worst mannered I have ever experienced. Our room didn't get cleaned the first two days (the excuse was we used the do not disturb sign, we didn't do), didn't get enough towels, we didn't have hot water the whole week (we had to call to have someone bleed the pipes in order to have hot water to shower EVERY time), the food was poor quality, no one spoke English, very noisy at night, you couldn't walk on to the beach without being bothered constantly to buy stuff & services, or come out from eating without being asked to buy a membrship to become a Viva member.
We went to this hotel to attend a wedding and we tried to leave after the wedding but the cost was over a $1,000 to change our flights. I asked to meet with the hotel manager for three days & he finally meet with us 5 days later which didn't do us any good. The manger argued with me, indirectly called me a liar, and said to me "I could leave & stay ele where". He also said I could write Wyndam & complain all I desired because they are viva & wyndam is just a partnership. He was arrogant and very argumentive.
I do not expect perfection and I understand everyone's experience is different, and customer service is difficult but this experience was the worst. There were a few others who stayed here wo attended the same wedding & they were not happy with the hotel they left early. We found out later this area is not known for their hotels only if you rent a private villa/condo or own a home there. The wedding location was at Hideaway Beach 3 miles down the road from this hotel. We found out later it was cheaper to rent there and it was much nicer and the food was great (Arsenio).
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An Amazing Week of Waves, Sand, Sun and Showtime!"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christina  on Mar 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
761 people found this review helpful

Viva Wyndham Tangerine was our first experience travelling to an all inclusive and we weren't sure what to expect with the mixed reviews we read online. However we were pleasantly surprised. We loved our room which was very clean and comfortable and had an amazing view. The food was absolutely delicious from the wood fired pizza at the beach cafe, to the variety of foods available at the buffet to the beach side Mexican and Italian a la carte restaurants. The animation team is amazing here. They work so hard to make sure that everyone is having a good time and put on excellent shows every evening. We loved the Grease and Madonna shows especially. This is a smaller resort so there are not a ton of line-ups, it is fairly easy to get a beach lounger and we were able to make dinner reservations for all the time slots we wanted. I would also say it is not a party resort, it would be more family oriented or for people like us who want to have a more quiet, relaxing stay.

Arrival:
Our arrival went smoothly. The front desk staff was extremely courteous and we were able to check-in quickly and efficiently.

Rooms:
Our room was very clean and spacious for the two of us. We had an ocean-view which was well worth the extra money, with a beautiful view and just steps from the beach. Just to clear something up, when looking online I couldn’t figure out if this was the same resort as the Viva Wyndham Tangerine Palace. It is the same resort. We stayed in an ocean-view superior plus room which was actually the Palace building. This was a great location because it is away from the hub of the action so when you want to go to bed all you hear are the ocean's waves. The only problem we had with our room was that occasionally the water in the shower was fairly cool. This didn't happen all the time but it did on occasion. Also our shower door leaked so I had to make sure there was a tool down to catch the water. But to us they were only minor inconveniences.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bar was fairly good service. Try the banana mama but ask for it with rum. Presidente, the local beer, is very smooth and light. We really enjoyed this. Brugel rum was available but you had to request it. The cappuccinos and Irish coffees were delicious. The beach cafe has the best pizza ever as well as excellent burgers and fries. The service even at the buffet was very good with staff coming around and refilling your wine or beer. The food at the buffet was different every day with a mix of local dishes as well as international foods. The Italian restaurant was our favourite a la carte, it was such a romantic setting and the food was excellent. The Mexican restaurant's food was good too but we would say it felt more laid back, the atmosphere was not quite as elegant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is beautiful, very clean with soft sand and huge crashing waves. You can walk quite a distance on the beach. One plus for us was that you can walk to the charming downtown of Caberete just a few minutes down the beach. Here you find many shops, bars and restaurants.

People around the world come to do wind surfing here and you can lay back in your lounger and watch or give it a try yourself.

The only downside to the beach are the beach vendors. They are there to sell you their merchandise or hair braiding service or even a massage. If you are not interested you just need to give them a firm no and they will usually leave you alone.

Other Comments:
The majority of the staff here are very friendly and work very hard to make sure you are happy. One thing we didn't like were the sales staff. They ask you to go to a presentation about their other resorts and get a “welcome package.” If you are not interested in this you need to be very firm and tell them so. One staff came and sat down while we were having our coffees in the morning by the pool and was really trying to guilt us into it. However we stood our ground and he did leave us alone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hot Hot Hot"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  peter  on Oct 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
772 people found this review helpful

Our first time in the dominican, we had a pleasant surprise when we arrived at our hotel,after along flight we were in need of some refreshments, we were greeted with a complimentary cocktail at reception which was welcomed very much. We were pleased with what we saw with the hotel.

Arrival:
The reception area was very clean and bright,the receptionists were very helpful and good mannered.The bellboy took our cases to the room and was very polite he asked us if the room was to our satisfaction and was we happy with the room.

Rooms:
The room we were shown first of all had no view at all,i went see if we could be moved to a room with a view,they showed us another room overlooking the pool and beach, which we accepted.There was no problem for the staff to do this for us without any fuss.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants and bars were very good, you did have to queue a bit on weekends when there seemed to a lot of locals came for a few days, but overall was pleased with them

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were lovely and well looked after.The pool was a good size and allways cleaned every day.The beach was nice but you were plagued with the looky looky people in the begining,but they became very friendly as the weeks went by

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities in the hotel was varied every day and night The animation team did everything possible to get everyone involved, they worked very hard from early morning till late at night and that was every day and night they liked nothing better than giving everyone a good time and a great laugh.

Other Comments:
will definately be going back in a few years GREAT PLACE

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"una de mis mejores vacasines."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  mario  on Sep 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Party | With Spouse/Partner
777 people found this review helpful

Sin duda entre tantos paises que e viajado un pais con tanta pobresa fue quien me dio una de las mejores vacasiones q e tenido.

Arrival:
A mi llegada me esperaban en el aereopuerto de Puerto Plata para trasladarme al hotel,el chofer muy amable me esplico q seria unos 30 minutos de el Aereopurto al hotel.El tiempo paso rapido mientras me esplicaba cada detalle de la ciudad.Al llegar al hotel me dieron el numero de mi cuarto y una copa de unjugo de frutas frescas.

Rooms:
El hotel es grande nuentro cuarto estaba en el area de la piscina y la playa,el cuarto muy limpio y acojedor,todos los dias te limpian el cuarto y ponen toallas limpias.

Restaurants and Bars:
Tienen un buffet todos los dias la comida es diferente dependiendo de el pais que ellos dediquen la comida,hay un restaurante italiano y otro mexicanos a los cuales tienes que reserbar para poder comer aunque es gratis,el Italiano no tienen mucha bariedad no me gusto,el mexicano muy buena comida.

El Bar tienen muchos tragos todos muy buenos.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
La playa muy limpia al igual q la piscina,lo unico malo de la playa es que pasan cada 5 segundos personas tratando de benderte cosas y no te dejan descansar,pero si no les prestas atencion ellos te dejan tranquilo.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Todos los dias en la manana,la tarde y la noche tienen actividades y Show,los chicos q el grupo de animasion son muy tratable sy respetuosos aunque a mi penultimo dia los cambiaron casi todos y dejaron solo 3 de ellos,yo fuy muy afortunado comparti con personas de diferentes paises muy tratables y buenas personas con muchos de ellos intercambiamos telefonos ya nos estamos comunicandonos.

Other Comments:
Este lugar conquisto mi corazon,confio en Dios pronto pueda regresar y vivir nuevas esperiencias.

Mil gracias Republica Dominicana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WOW. WE SPENT TWO WEEKS IN PARADISE"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patty  on May 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
799 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at this resort last part of February and first part of March.....It is a gem of a resort. The location is absolutely perfect and the wonderful people who work here . will make you feel as much at home as a Tim Horton's commercial..They are there to make your stay lovely...you will not be disappointed. We have been to the Dominican for many vacations and this one , a dream.

Your Arrival:
The people at the front desk were just so sweet, Welcomed us , assigned us our room , took us there. showed us where things were on the resort etc. We felt welcome right away and we knew we were in goood hands.. And every day after , we were acknowledged and always asked how everything was..... superb customer service.

Rooms:
Our room was fairly small, but people we were with had a lovely large room with gigantic bathroom...ours was clean. had everything we needed. Eveyrthing worked . The maids were in every day..our bedding changed regularly. bathrooms cleaned spotless everyday. and we had hot , hot water all the time. Lovely little patio and the fridge was stocked everyday. Couldn't ask for more.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main restaurant was very good. Every nite there was something for everyone. The pasta was superb at every meal. Enough salads , lovely bread and most always, chicken , pork or beef. ( beef could be tough though) The waiters constantly filled your water glass. offered you wine. always with a smile and a" How are you "....Hmmmm. such a very nice experience. Tables always kept clean . We enjoyed both specialty restaurants, again, the people made the experience a wonderful one. Great french fries and pizza at the Italian restaurant plus the fact ,that they both overlook the ocean, is a wow.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was great..close to bar. banno's and overlooking the beautiful beach...doesn't get better than that. pool kept at a good temp. not too cold. always enough chairs and enough shade when wanted. Lovely
The Beach.was just perfectly lovely..that blue turquoise just stays in your mind. a little rough and windy so you have to be careful..on a calm day it was great for a swim close to the shore. A lovely long beach to walk. To your right. it will take you to Cabarete, a perfect little Dominican town. with quaint little shops and restaurants along the beach. You can sit and watch the kite and wind surfers all day. very restfull. Walk to your left of the resort for an hour . and take a look at more resorts. homes along the ocean . Very nice. The vendors could be annoying but a firm No thankyou.was usually enough to keep them away.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Every person of the animation team was wonderful. They work so hard, so many activities in the day. all day and then again in the evening. They are worth their weight in gold. and even if you didn't feel like participating . they always made you feel welcome. A salute to them.

Other Comments:
We plan to return next year. Just couldn't pass up another chance at paradse and to share a wonderful experience with the special people in our lives. The wonderful staff of Viva Tangerine made our holiday a perfect one. Thankyou and cheers to you all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not a hotel i would recommend"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  sonya  on Apr 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
778 people found this review helpful

we flew with TMR out of montreal. the flight was o.k. mindya we were in a charter plane so it was very small and not to comfortable. Once we arrived to the airport in DR, things went fairly smooth. Arrived at the hotel at around 1:30am. they gave us a room with a view of the kitchen, so very noisy and not a pleasant view to see in the morning. So once we woke up we asked for a transfer. it took about 5hrs for a transfer but our new room was so much better. the staff at the hotel was great. night entertainment was good. they had daily activities, but couldn't keep up with them. they had beach volleyball at the same time as water volleyball, or bocce ball at the same time at water v-ball. so not to organized on that part. the disco is only from 12-2am. the food was crappy except for our last day, which was mexican night. the always have pasta for lunch and diner, but they should always have atleast 1 sauce that is plain for ppl who don't eat fish or are allergic to it. they had a snack bar open from 11-6 and then 11pm-6am. so if diner wasn't pleasant we had to wait til 11pm to eat. we didn't try the a la cartes restaurant cause once we looked the menu's we weren't to enthust about it. as i was getting my hair braided, there was fleas everywhere on the counter, which wasn't to pleasant to see.
over all it's a hotel that is rated at a 4star. personally i would say it's about a 2.5-3 star.
not a place i will go back to

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We really enjoyed ourselves"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kewl  on Apr 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
772 people found this review helpful

We had a great time.
Spent 1 week as a family with 2 small kids

1) prebooked taxi to pick us up from the airport to the hotel with fivestardr@hotmail.com that took us comfortably on the half hour trip to the hotel.
2) Check in was quick- nice simple clean rooms - clean bathrooms - everything worked - hot water, mini fridge - plenty of bath towels etc. etc. rooms were cleaned and made up daily - nice towel art - friendly housekeeping staff - thank you Felicia - you did a great job with our room..
2) Nice food - buffets were large and had sufficient variety to prevent monotony. different nites - different themes - oriental, italian, mexican, dominican, french etc. etc. the mexican ala carte was nice...
3) no bar in the pool..but by the poolside.. service was usually quick - Louis was surly - but the others were great - especially Victoria.
4) Animacion - the entertainment team - God its good to be young - sparkly, friendly, talented and sexy and apparently no need for sleep - they device games and activities all throught out the day to keep you entertained. pool side games, in the pool games, beach side games, dance lessons etc. etc. on nights with the disco - they dance with you into the wee hours of the morning...and then they are up and bounding a mere couple of hours later again. And their shows at night are fun and energetic.Be ready to do fun but embarrassing stuff if you are asked to participate...they also man the kids play area and watch the small kids during the day - nice.Hola Junior,Elesa, Chris etc. etc.
5) Nice beach - its a public beach - stray dogs and beach vendors abound - shoo the dogs away - politely decline the vendors....or bargain with them...and you will have no issues - the sea is a little rough, the waves are strong, it can get a little windy - yet lots of fun - beautiful ocean - kids can play on the beach - supervised - lots of kite servers - fascinating to watch them
6) Short walk on the beach to cabarate - quaint restaurants and bars - overpriced tourist shops. Tip - do your Internet browsing at Cabarate - much cheaper that at the hotel - but check out the shop in the hotel- better quality and similar prices on some stuff !!!

We had a great time - we were never bored or hungry. Perfect for a week's getaway.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube