Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Cabarete > Cabarete Hotel Index > Viva Wyndham Tangerine reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cabarete Hotels with Similar Ranking

Villa Taina

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 22, 2014

Agualina Kite Beach Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 16, 2014

Viva Wyndham Tangerine  

Carretera Sosua-Cabarete

"Just there, nothing special"
Posted by: cindy on May 17, 2014
see all reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Pictures and Information
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Cabarete Dominican Republic

#1
of 32 Hotels in Cabarete

User rating 3.8

Based on 15 reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Information


Vacation? Action? Sports? Fun? Cabarete! Viva Wyndham Tangerine lies in the middle of one of the hottest vacation spots in the Caribbean.

Now included a FREE Kite Surf Introduction lesson as well!

Viva Wyndham Tangerine official website
www.vivaresorts.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.8 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  8
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 15

"A beautiful hotel with beautiful landscape."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Daniel from Gatineau, Quebec  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
276 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 27 to Feb 3
Was suppose to leave on the 27 of January 09 but got the 24 hour flue that same morning so my wife had to go without me with my sister in law and her brother,they flew with skyservice from Ottawa and told me it was a smooth flight with no delay,I booked a flight with Sunwing leaving the next day on the 28 Jan 09 and the flight and service was ok but I have to say that its the worse meal I ever had on a plane,we had 2 choices of breakfast witch was an egg or french toast and I chose the egg that ended up been a scramble egg on somekind of pastry with a spicy sauce,the lady next to me chose the french toast witch was a toast with a cherry sauce(were is the maple syrop),check in was fast at the hotel

Rooms:
we had a very nice room with a king size bed,no bathtub,only a shower stall,a small fridge,didnt have hot water on most days we were there.

Restaurants and Bars:
there are 3 restaurants,2 a la carte and one is a snack bar during the day and during the night,and you have the buffet in the main building,the food was ok we didnt have mutch to complain about,there is 2 bars and you never have to wait for drinks

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful beach and pool,well maintained,lots of chairs

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
didnt go on any tours because its our 5th time in the DR and done it before but went to cabarete wich is only a short walk from the beach and spent a day to sosua,it cost me $10 Can for taxi to go sosua beach.found the animation team anoying with there immaturity at times but have to admit they gave a good dancing show,found it hard to communicate with them since they can hardly speak english or french

Other Comments:
Its a beautiful hotel with beautiful landscape,wont be going back because cabarete is a windy place and it gets cool around 4 PM because of it but if you dont mind the wind go for it you will like the place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food was really good with lots to choose from."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Stacey from Woodstock, Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
283 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 26th - March 3rd
Well we arrived and were met in the lobby with a nice refreshing drink./ Check in was smooth. Amazing that the staff all spoke english very well. We we advised that check in was 3pm so we went and had a few drinks and checked out the resort. At 3pm got our room keys and a bell boy came shortly to bring up our bags

Rooms
Our room was basic and we were ok with that. We spent most of our time out enjoying the Dominican not couped up in our room. We always had enough hot water and fresh towels. We tipped the maid everyday about $1 US and we got new blue beach towels everyday. as well the pop and water was replaced everyday. We had no bugs and no issues with the room at all.

Restaurants and Bars
The food was really good with lots to choose from. Always a pasta bar at lunch and dinner and my husband loved trying the fish dishes and he loved the desserts. We did enjoy a hamburger or two late nite from the sanck bar too.
The drinks are strong at the bar but once you try out a few you'll be sure to find a few you like!The a la cart restaurants did not do much for us...small portions and the staff were so so. To each is own I suppose.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The resort was beautiful....they are always primping the grounds.The pool was very nice and very rarely busy. The hottub was cold so did not go there lol The beach was very nice and you got to watch the kite surfers....very cool! There were venders but you got to know them throughout the week and they knew to leave you alone if you didn't want anything. A simple no goes a long way.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We walked to Cabrete and did some shopping. For sure the best bargins are found in Cabrete at the Liquidation Place. We did the Outback Jungle Safari!!! Very fun and best tour to do by far. YOu get to visit a local home and school and this is a great opportunity to give them gifts if you bring some. Try boogie boarding it is fun If you must keep in touch with the outside world...it is not advertised but there is WIFI capabilities in the main lobby by the Photograher booth. Or you can pay a few dollars for a code from the front desk and use the internet cafe upstairs.

Other Comments
Overall we enjoyed Viva Wyndham Tangerine a lot and met some great people there...including the Animations Staff and friends from Canada we hope to see again soon!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I found the staff to be very professional in all respects."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Apr 1, 2009  >  20 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
519 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Apr 5 - Apr 12
Very smooth, arrived in the evening with another couple, we were the only people on the bus.

Rooms
The room was exceptable, but in any means a superior room. It was clean, don't get me wrong, but felt a little run down. There was no bath, just a swower and the mini fridge did not work. So that the liquids provided were hot. This was rectified with in 24 hours. Don't exspect to put anythig extra in the fridge, because it won't fit.

Restaurants and Bars
We didn't try the reterants, but did use the snack bar on ocasion and the cafateria had a wide selection of foods. Sometimes I didn't regognise some of the dishes, so I didn't touch them. I have been at different locations and had better quality.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Grounds are kept very clean, staff is always fusing to keep things in there place and tidy

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We were thier just to relax, so we didn't take part in the activities so much. We did not go on any tours.

Other Comments
I found the staff to be very professional in all respects, and they went out of thier way to ensure your needs were met. My 3 biggest complaints were, lack of washroom facilities in and arond the bar area. I found that most of the time I had to excuse myself back to our room, which was a long walk under some circumstaces. Times of our travel were horrible, we arrived late in the evening and arrived home at 0300 in the morning. After 3 days of no sleep do to Holy week celebrations. Never go there during Holy week. Theier was a service station accross from reception and the so called music wsa intollerble. Iv'e nerver herd music played so load, even at rock concerts. I couldn't tell if my heart was still beating or not. I will not even consider going back to this location for these reasons.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Everything possible was done to make us feel as if we were at home."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lee from Chicago, IL  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2009
895 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 2-9
We just returned from our third stay at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine. As in the past, we had a wonerful time. When we arrived, we were surprised, because the check in desk was swamped. There were about 50 people waiting to check in. Upon talking to others in line, we found out that it was a Dominican holiday, and many Dominicans were coming just for the weekend. Even with all of these people, they checked us in in about 15 minutes. Because the hotel was completely booked, we were given an upgrade to an ocean view room in the main building. Previously, I had always asked to not be in the main building, because I had heard that it was noisy. However, we found that the soundproofing was quite good, and were not disturbed at all.

Rooms:
The room was slightly smaller than the ones in the other buildings, but we found it to be just fine. In other reviews I have read. people have said that the rooms could use some updating. I did not find this to be the case. Also, our maid kept the room immaculate, and was always very cheerful.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate mainly in the buffet, and the food was good, with excellant variety. We ate at the Mexican restaurant, and were not happy with the food. When we were there before, the food in the Mexican restaurant was great. Perhaps they had a new cook.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Cabarete has the most beautiful beach that I have ever seen. In the afternoon the kite surfers come out, and they are really fun to watch. It is a bit windy in Cabarete, so it might not be for everyone.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
It is a 10 minute walk on the beach into town. There are a lot of gift shops there, and we had a one hour message for 800 pesos each. Unlike some countries, it is safe to go into town alone. I also took the guagua (public bus) into Sosua. The cost was 20 pesos, and this is also safe. The people on the bus are a lot of fun, and they are helpful.

Other Comments:
The thing that makes the Viva Wyndham Tangerine my favorite resort of any I have ever stayed at is the staff. When we arrived, the bell boy said to us, "Welcome home". I don't know if he recognized us from when we have been there before, or if this is just his way of welcoming visitors. But, I must say that during our time there, everything possible was done to make us feel as if we were at home. From the groundskeepers to the wait staff to guest services to the animation team, everyone treated us as if we were the most important people they had ever had there. They always had a smile and a kind word. I didn't want to leave, and I cannot wait to get back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"When going to a 4* in the Dom Rep for the food you may want to upgrade to a 5*."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rick  on May 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
483 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 29 April
Flew with Sky Service. Same as Air Transat. Packed in like sardines. Very uncomfortable plane ride. The crew worked extremely hard and were very friendly. Short bus ride to resort. Checked in at 11 pm. Very smooth and quick.

Rooms:
Nice room. Spacious and very clean. Nothing overly fancy. Huge bathroom. Nice deck on the 3rd floor. Left the maid a $2 tip each day and got whatever we wanted.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were never really busy. Service was always great. It's amazing how far a small tip each day will go. The a la carte was barely acceptable. The selection and quality were sub par. The two restaurants were the total opposite. If you are going to a 4 star in the Dom Rep for the food you may want to upgrade to a 5 star.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is awesome. Huge with no rocks. Great for those who like to take long walks. This is not the place to go if you are looking to do any snorkelling. It is usually windy on the north side of the Dom Rep and this place was no exception. Great for kite boarding. The waves were also good for boogie boarding. I played volleyball everyday. The grounds were very well kept. The vendors on the beach can be overwhelming at times. If you tell them no they will usually move on though.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment staff worked tirelessly. Those of you who have been down here know what kind of hours these folks work. I did not go see any of the shows in the evening. After 10 or so trips down here they all seem the same. I did go on a snorkelling excursion with some family members. It was $80 per person. We went to a place called Paradise Island. This was definitely not worth the money. There is lots of shopping close to the resort.

Other Comments:
As mentioned earlier, this is our 10th or 11th trip south. This resort is a bottom scale 4 star and is also quite small. I will never fly with Sky Service again. The only reason we went with Sky Service is because we were meeting family members from another part of Canada down there. 4 hours in those seats is too much. West Jet and Air Canada are the way to go. Unless you got this for $1,000/person, or less, I would not recommend this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We really enjoyed ourselves"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kewl  on Apr 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
751 people found this review helpful

We had a great time.
Spent 1 week as a family with 2 small kids

1) prebooked taxi to pick us up from the airport to the hotel with fivestardr@hotmail.com that took us comfortably on the half hour trip to the hotel.
2) Check in was quick- nice simple clean rooms - clean bathrooms - everything worked - hot water, mini fridge - plenty of bath towels etc. etc. rooms were cleaned and made up daily - nice towel art - friendly housekeeping staff - thank you Felicia - you did a great job with our room..
2) Nice food - buffets were large and had sufficient variety to prevent monotony. different nites - different themes - oriental, italian, mexican, dominican, french etc. etc. the mexican ala carte was nice...
3) no bar in the pool..but by the poolside.. service was usually quick - Louis was surly - but the others were great - especially Victoria.
4) Animacion - the entertainment team - God its good to be young - sparkly, friendly, talented and sexy and apparently no need for sleep - they device games and activities all throught out the day to keep you entertained. pool side games, in the pool games, beach side games, dance lessons etc. etc. on nights with the disco - they dance with you into the wee hours of the morning...and then they are up and bounding a mere couple of hours later again. And their shows at night are fun and energetic.Be ready to do fun but embarrassing stuff if you are asked to participate...they also man the kids play area and watch the small kids during the day - nice.Hola Junior,Elesa, Chris etc. etc.
5) Nice beach - its a public beach - stray dogs and beach vendors abound - shoo the dogs away - politely decline the vendors....or bargain with them...and you will have no issues - the sea is a little rough, the waves are strong, it can get a little windy - yet lots of fun - beautiful ocean - kids can play on the beach - supervised - lots of kite servers - fascinating to watch them
6) Short walk on the beach to cabarate - quaint restaurants and bars - overpriced tourist shops. Tip - do your Internet browsing at Cabarate - much cheaper that at the hotel - but check out the shop in the hotel- better quality and similar prices on some stuff !!!

We had a great time - we were never bored or hungry. Perfect for a week's getaway.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not a hotel i would recommend"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  sonya  on Apr 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
759 people found this review helpful

we flew with TMR out of montreal. the flight was o.k. mindya we were in a charter plane so it was very small and not to comfortable. Once we arrived to the airport in DR, things went fairly smooth. Arrived at the hotel at around 1:30am. they gave us a room with a view of the kitchen, so very noisy and not a pleasant view to see in the morning. So once we woke up we asked for a transfer. it took about 5hrs for a transfer but our new room was so much better. the staff at the hotel was great. night entertainment was good. they had daily activities, but couldn't keep up with them. they had beach volleyball at the same time as water volleyball, or bocce ball at the same time at water v-ball. so not to organized on that part. the disco is only from 12-2am. the food was crappy except for our last day, which was mexican night. the always have pasta for lunch and diner, but they should always have atleast 1 sauce that is plain for ppl who don't eat fish or are allergic to it. they had a snack bar open from 11-6 and then 11pm-6am. so if diner wasn't pleasant we had to wait til 11pm to eat. we didn't try the a la cartes restaurant cause once we looked the menu's we weren't to enthust about it. as i was getting my hair braided, there was fleas everywhere on the counter, which wasn't to pleasant to see.
over all it's a hotel that is rated at a 4star. personally i would say it's about a 2.5-3 star.
not a place i will go back to

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WOW. WE SPENT TWO WEEKS IN PARADISE"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patty  on May 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
779 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at this resort last part of February and first part of March.....It is a gem of a resort. The location is absolutely perfect and the wonderful people who work here . will make you feel as much at home as a Tim Horton's commercial..They are there to make your stay lovely...you will not be disappointed. We have been to the Dominican for many vacations and this one , a dream.

Your Arrival:
The people at the front desk were just so sweet, Welcomed us , assigned us our room , took us there. showed us where things were on the resort etc. We felt welcome right away and we knew we were in goood hands.. And every day after , we were acknowledged and always asked how everything was..... superb customer service.

Rooms:
Our room was fairly small, but people we were with had a lovely large room with gigantic bathroom...ours was clean. had everything we needed. Eveyrthing worked . The maids were in every day..our bedding changed regularly. bathrooms cleaned spotless everyday. and we had hot , hot water all the time. Lovely little patio and the fridge was stocked everyday. Couldn't ask for more.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main restaurant was very good. Every nite there was something for everyone. The pasta was superb at every meal. Enough salads , lovely bread and most always, chicken , pork or beef. ( beef could be tough though) The waiters constantly filled your water glass. offered you wine. always with a smile and a" How are you "....Hmmmm. such a very nice experience. Tables always kept clean . We enjoyed both specialty restaurants, again, the people made the experience a wonderful one. Great french fries and pizza at the Italian restaurant plus the fact ,that they both overlook the ocean, is a wow.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was great..close to bar. banno's and overlooking the beautiful beach...doesn't get better than that. pool kept at a good temp. not too cold. always enough chairs and enough shade when wanted. Lovely
The Beach.was just perfectly lovely..that blue turquoise just stays in your mind. a little rough and windy so you have to be careful..on a calm day it was great for a swim close to the shore. A lovely long beach to walk. To your right. it will take you to Cabarete, a perfect little Dominican town. with quaint little shops and restaurants along the beach. You can sit and watch the kite and wind surfers all day. very restfull. Walk to your left of the resort for an hour . and take a look at more resorts. homes along the ocean . Very nice. The vendors could be annoying but a firm No thankyou.was usually enough to keep them away.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Every person of the animation team was wonderful. They work so hard, so many activities in the day. all day and then again in the evening. They are worth their weight in gold. and even if you didn't feel like participating . they always made you feel welcome. A salute to them.

Other Comments:
We plan to return next year. Just couldn't pass up another chance at paradse and to share a wonderful experience with the special people in our lives. The wonderful staff of Viva Tangerine made our holiday a perfect one. Thankyou and cheers to you all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"una de mis mejores vacasines."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  mario  on Sep 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Party | With Spouse/Partner
756 people found this review helpful

Sin duda entre tantos paises que e viajado un pais con tanta pobresa fue quien me dio una de las mejores vacasiones q e tenido.

Arrival:
A mi llegada me esperaban en el aereopuerto de Puerto Plata para trasladarme al hotel,el chofer muy amable me esplico q seria unos 30 minutos de el Aereopurto al hotel.El tiempo paso rapido mientras me esplicaba cada detalle de la ciudad.Al llegar al hotel me dieron el numero de mi cuarto y una copa de unjugo de frutas frescas.

Rooms:
El hotel es grande nuentro cuarto estaba en el area de la piscina y la playa,el cuarto muy limpio y acojedor,todos los dias te limpian el cuarto y ponen toallas limpias.

Restaurants and Bars:
Tienen un buffet todos los dias la comida es diferente dependiendo de el pais que ellos dediquen la comida,hay un restaurante italiano y otro mexicanos a los cuales tienes que reserbar para poder comer aunque es gratis,el Italiano no tienen mucha bariedad no me gusto,el mexicano muy buena comida.

El Bar tienen muchos tragos todos muy buenos.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
La playa muy limpia al igual q la piscina,lo unico malo de la playa es que pasan cada 5 segundos personas tratando de benderte cosas y no te dejan descansar,pero si no les prestas atencion ellos te dejan tranquilo.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Todos los dias en la manana,la tarde y la noche tienen actividades y Show,los chicos q el grupo de animasion son muy tratable sy respetuosos aunque a mi penultimo dia los cambiaron casi todos y dejaron solo 3 de ellos,yo fuy muy afortunado comparti con personas de diferentes paises muy tratables y buenas personas con muchos de ellos intercambiamos telefonos ya nos estamos comunicandonos.

Other Comments:
Este lugar conquisto mi corazon,confio en Dios pronto pueda regresar y vivir nuevas esperiencias.

Mil gracias Republica Dominicana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hot Hot Hot"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  peter  on Oct 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
749 people found this review helpful

Our first time in the dominican, we had a pleasant surprise when we arrived at our hotel,after along flight we were in need of some refreshments, we were greeted with a complimentary cocktail at reception which was welcomed very much. We were pleased with what we saw with the hotel.

Arrival:
The reception area was very clean and bright,the receptionists were very helpful and good mannered.The bellboy took our cases to the room and was very polite he asked us if the room was to our satisfaction and was we happy with the room.

Rooms:
The room we were shown first of all had no view at all,i went see if we could be moved to a room with a view,they showed us another room overlooking the pool and beach, which we accepted.There was no problem for the staff to do this for us without any fuss.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants and bars were very good, you did have to queue a bit on weekends when there seemed to a lot of locals came for a few days, but overall was pleased with them

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were lovely and well looked after.The pool was a good size and allways cleaned every day.The beach was nice but you were plagued with the looky looky people in the begining,but they became very friendly as the weeks went by

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities in the hotel was varied every day and night The animation team did everything possible to get everyone involved, they worked very hard from early morning till late at night and that was every day and night they liked nothing better than giving everyone a good time and a great laugh.

Other Comments:
will definately be going back in a few years GREAT PLACE

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube