Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Cabarete > Cabarete Hotel Index > Viva Wyndham Tangerine reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cabarete Hotels with Similar Ranking

Villa Taina

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 22, 2014

Agualina Kite Beach Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 16, 2014

Viva Wyndham Tangerine  

Carretera Sosua-Cabarete

"Just there, nothing special"
Posted by: cindy on May 17, 2014
see all reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Pictures and Information
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Cabarete Dominican Republic

#1
of 32 Hotels in Cabarete

User rating 3.8

Based on 15 reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Information


Vacation? Action? Sports? Fun? Cabarete! Viva Wyndham Tangerine lies in the middle of one of the hottest vacation spots in the Caribbean.

Now included a FREE Kite Surf Introduction lesson as well!

Viva Wyndham Tangerine official website
www.vivaresorts.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.8 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  8
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 15

"Would Not stay again!!!"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  julie  on May 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
676 people found this review helpful

My husband & I stayed here for a week. It was the worst week ever. The hotel is in much need of improvements and a staff change. I am an Hispanic/American and have traveled in the carribean many times and appreciate the culture but this hotel is by far the worst mannered I have ever experienced. Our room didn't get cleaned the first two days (the excuse was we used the do not disturb sign, we didn't do), didn't get enough towels, we didn't have hot water the whole week (we had to call to have someone bleed the pipes in order to have hot water to shower EVERY time), the food was poor quality, no one spoke English, very noisy at night, you couldn't walk on to the beach without being bothered constantly to buy stuff & services, or come out from eating without being asked to buy a membrship to become a Viva member.
We went to this hotel to attend a wedding and we tried to leave after the wedding but the cost was over a $1,000 to change our flights. I asked to meet with the hotel manager for three days & he finally meet with us 5 days later which didn't do us any good. The manger argued with me, indirectly called me a liar, and said to me "I could leave & stay ele where". He also said I could write Wyndam & complain all I desired because they are viva & wyndam is just a partnership. He was arrogant and very argumentive.
I do not expect perfection and I understand everyone's experience is different, and customer service is difficult but this experience was the worst. There were a few others who stayed here wo attended the same wedding & they were not happy with the hotel they left early. We found out later this area is not known for their hotels only if you rent a private villa/condo or own a home there. The wedding location was at Hideaway Beach 3 miles down the road from this hotel. We found out later it was cheaper to rent there and it was much nicer and the food was great (Arsenio).
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hot & Breezy"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda  on Apr 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
423 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
4203

Room Block:
4000 block

Arrival:
We arrived at the resort on March 27, 2012 for one week in a group of 7 ladies. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly, food was OK, had a different variety every night which is always nice. Not a 4 star but very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay, the entertainment crew are amazing.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean and comfortable, nice balconys overlooking the water. No extras in rooms and some of the girls found thier rooms musty smelling.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very nice restaurants and one bar which was packed every night, closed at 12-1am, after that you have to go to the disco to get a drink. Food was great and a different variety every day at the buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is beautiful, grounds very clean and well kept with lots of flora and trees.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The only complaint we had was with Tony Tours. He peddles his tours on the beach and is very insistant. We booked two tours with him on our first day and due to rough water the first tour was cancelled. We waited in the lobby for pick-up for a half hour, no phone call to let us know it was cancelled and we had to have the hotel track him down to find this out. Getting our money back was a problem, he didn't want to give it back and we waited two days after several excuses. The 2nd tour he could do either and we never got our money back for that one, said he'd have it Tuesday and we were leaving on Monday. Be careful with him and I'd suggest you book with the hotel tours instead. Other than that, enjoy!

Other Comments:
If you take humanitarian items keep a watch for the Haitians working there, the work very hard and can use a drink or a few bucks if you can spare it. The schools in Cabarete always need school supplies as well.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just there, nothing special"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  cindy  on May 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
38 people found this review helpful

In as much as I didn't get what I had expected from this all inclusive resort in the Cabarete, I definitely had a great holiday here. I kind of had a bad experience at the Mexican restaurant once, despite the fact that the food took ages to arrive, it wasn't what I ordered but that was the only bad experience I had. Every other thing here was nice and the staff was amazing, very friendly set of people who go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable at all times and every time you ask for their help n anything, they try to help out and solve it for you. They just need to keep their rooms in order before guests arrived and they would be fine. I visited here in April with a friend and I have nothing much to complain about. The main buffet was okay nothing special as I have had better meals in other restaurants but it’s great. The resort was very clean during my stay here and I the gift shops re quite expensive in my opinion. The location is perfect as you can just walk to out to many local shops and buy gifts and souvenirs. The front desk also needs to be more effective and be able to help out guests when they are called on but in general, I had a nice time here as I came with a friend and there was no dull moment. I stay for just four days and if things get better here (I mean rooms, elevators, better front desk service), I would definitely come back next time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not a hotel i would recommend"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  sonya  on Apr 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
734 people found this review helpful

we flew with TMR out of montreal. the flight was o.k. mindya we were in a charter plane so it was very small and not to comfortable. Once we arrived to the airport in DR, things went fairly smooth. Arrived at the hotel at around 1:30am. they gave us a room with a view of the kitchen, so very noisy and not a pleasant view to see in the morning. So once we woke up we asked for a transfer. it took about 5hrs for a transfer but our new room was so much better. the staff at the hotel was great. night entertainment was good. they had daily activities, but couldn't keep up with them. they had beach volleyball at the same time as water volleyball, or bocce ball at the same time at water v-ball. so not to organized on that part. the disco is only from 12-2am. the food was crappy except for our last day, which was mexican night. the always have pasta for lunch and diner, but they should always have atleast 1 sauce that is plain for ppl who don't eat fish or are allergic to it. they had a snack bar open from 11-6 and then 11pm-6am. so if diner wasn't pleasant we had to wait til 11pm to eat. we didn't try the a la cartes restaurant cause once we looked the menu's we weren't to enthust about it. as i was getting my hair braided, there was fleas everywhere on the counter, which wasn't to pleasant to see.
over all it's a hotel that is rated at a 4star. personally i would say it's about a 2.5-3 star.
not a place i will go back to

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An Amazing Week of Waves, Sand, Sun and Showtime!"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christina  on Mar 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
714 people found this review helpful

Viva Wyndham Tangerine was our first experience travelling to an all inclusive and we weren't sure what to expect with the mixed reviews we read online. However we were pleasantly surprised. We loved our room which was very clean and comfortable and had an amazing view. The food was absolutely delicious from the wood fired pizza at the beach cafe, to the variety of foods available at the buffet to the beach side Mexican and Italian a la carte restaurants. The animation team is amazing here. They work so hard to make sure that everyone is having a good time and put on excellent shows every evening. We loved the Grease and Madonna shows especially. This is a smaller resort so there are not a ton of line-ups, it is fairly easy to get a beach lounger and we were able to make dinner reservations for all the time slots we wanted. I would also say it is not a party resort, it would be more family oriented or for people like us who want to have a more quiet, relaxing stay.

Arrival:
Our arrival went smoothly. The front desk staff was extremely courteous and we were able to check-in quickly and efficiently.

Rooms:
Our room was very clean and spacious for the two of us. We had an ocean-view which was well worth the extra money, with a beautiful view and just steps from the beach. Just to clear something up, when looking online I couldn’t figure out if this was the same resort as the Viva Wyndham Tangerine Palace. It is the same resort. We stayed in an ocean-view superior plus room which was actually the Palace building. This was a great location because it is away from the hub of the action so when you want to go to bed all you hear are the ocean's waves. The only problem we had with our room was that occasionally the water in the shower was fairly cool. This didn't happen all the time but it did on occasion. Also our shower door leaked so I had to make sure there was a tool down to catch the water. But to us they were only minor inconveniences.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bar was fairly good service. Try the banana mama but ask for it with rum. Presidente, the local beer, is very smooth and light. We really enjoyed this. Brugel rum was available but you had to request it. The cappuccinos and Irish coffees were delicious. The beach cafe has the best pizza ever as well as excellent burgers and fries. The service even at the buffet was very good with staff coming around and refilling your wine or beer. The food at the buffet was different every day with a mix of local dishes as well as international foods. The Italian restaurant was our favourite a la carte, it was such a romantic setting and the food was excellent. The Mexican restaurant's food was good too but we would say it felt more laid back, the atmosphere was not quite as elegant.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is beautiful, very clean with soft sand and huge crashing waves. You can walk quite a distance on the beach. One plus for us was that you can walk to the charming downtown of Caberete just a few minutes down the beach. Here you find many shops, bars and restaurants.

People around the world come to do wind surfing here and you can lay back in your lounger and watch or give it a try yourself.

The only downside to the beach are the beach vendors. They are there to sell you their merchandise or hair braiding service or even a massage. If you are not interested you just need to give them a firm no and they will usually leave you alone.

Other Comments:
The majority of the staff here are very friendly and work very hard to make sure you are happy. One thing we didn't like were the sales staff. They ask you to go to a presentation about their other resorts and get a “welcome package.” If you are not interested in this you need to be very firm and tell them so. One staff came and sat down while we were having our coffees in the morning by the pool and was really trying to guilt us into it. However we stood our ground and he did leave us alone.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A beautiful hotel with beautiful landscape."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Daniel from Gatineau, Quebec  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
272 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 27 to Feb 3
Was suppose to leave on the 27 of January 09 but got the 24 hour flue that same morning so my wife had to go without me with my sister in law and her brother,they flew with skyservice from Ottawa and told me it was a smooth flight with no delay,I booked a flight with Sunwing leaving the next day on the 28 Jan 09 and the flight and service was ok but I have to say that its the worse meal I ever had on a plane,we had 2 choices of breakfast witch was an egg or french toast and I chose the egg that ended up been a scramble egg on somekind of pastry with a spicy sauce,the lady next to me chose the french toast witch was a toast with a cherry sauce(were is the maple syrop),check in was fast at the hotel

Rooms:
we had a very nice room with a king size bed,no bathtub,only a shower stall,a small fridge,didnt have hot water on most days we were there.

Restaurants and Bars:
there are 3 restaurants,2 a la carte and one is a snack bar during the day and during the night,and you have the buffet in the main building,the food was ok we didnt have mutch to complain about,there is 2 bars and you never have to wait for drinks

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful beach and pool,well maintained,lots of chairs

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
didnt go on any tours because its our 5th time in the DR and done it before but went to cabarete wich is only a short walk from the beach and spent a day to sosua,it cost me $10 Can for taxi to go sosua beach.found the animation team anoying with there immaturity at times but have to admit they gave a good dancing show,found it hard to communicate with them since they can hardly speak english or french

Other Comments:
Its a beautiful hotel with beautiful landscape,wont be going back because cabarete is a windy place and it gets cool around 4 PM because of it but if you dont mind the wind go for it you will like the place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I found the staff to be very professional in all respects."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Apr 1, 2009  >  20 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
512 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Apr 5 - Apr 12
Very smooth, arrived in the evening with another couple, we were the only people on the bus.

Rooms
The room was exceptable, but in any means a superior room. It was clean, don't get me wrong, but felt a little run down. There was no bath, just a swower and the mini fridge did not work. So that the liquids provided were hot. This was rectified with in 24 hours. Don't exspect to put anythig extra in the fridge, because it won't fit.

Restaurants and Bars
We didn't try the reterants, but did use the snack bar on ocasion and the cafateria had a wide selection of foods. Sometimes I didn't regognise some of the dishes, so I didn't touch them. I have been at different locations and had better quality.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Grounds are kept very clean, staff is always fusing to keep things in there place and tidy

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We were thier just to relax, so we didn't take part in the activities so much. We did not go on any tours.

Other Comments
I found the staff to be very professional in all respects, and they went out of thier way to ensure your needs were met. My 3 biggest complaints were, lack of washroom facilities in and arond the bar area. I found that most of the time I had to excuse myself back to our room, which was a long walk under some circumstaces. Times of our travel were horrible, we arrived late in the evening and arrived home at 0300 in the morning. After 3 days of no sleep do to Holy week celebrations. Never go there during Holy week. Theier was a service station accross from reception and the so called music wsa intollerble. Iv'e nerver herd music played so load, even at rock concerts. I couldn't tell if my heart was still beating or not. I will not even consider going back to this location for these reasons.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WOW. WE SPENT TWO WEEKS IN PARADISE"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patty  on May 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
756 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at this resort last part of February and first part of March.....It is a gem of a resort. The location is absolutely perfect and the wonderful people who work here . will make you feel as much at home as a Tim Horton's commercial..They are there to make your stay lovely...you will not be disappointed. We have been to the Dominican for many vacations and this one , a dream.

Your Arrival:
The people at the front desk were just so sweet, Welcomed us , assigned us our room , took us there. showed us where things were on the resort etc. We felt welcome right away and we knew we were in goood hands.. And every day after , we were acknowledged and always asked how everything was..... superb customer service.

Rooms:
Our room was fairly small, but people we were with had a lovely large room with gigantic bathroom...ours was clean. had everything we needed. Eveyrthing worked . The maids were in every day..our bedding changed regularly. bathrooms cleaned spotless everyday. and we had hot , hot water all the time. Lovely little patio and the fridge was stocked everyday. Couldn't ask for more.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main restaurant was very good. Every nite there was something for everyone. The pasta was superb at every meal. Enough salads , lovely bread and most always, chicken , pork or beef. ( beef could be tough though) The waiters constantly filled your water glass. offered you wine. always with a smile and a" How are you "....Hmmmm. such a very nice experience. Tables always kept clean . We enjoyed both specialty restaurants, again, the people made the experience a wonderful one. Great french fries and pizza at the Italian restaurant plus the fact ,that they both overlook the ocean, is a wow.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was great..close to bar. banno's and overlooking the beautiful beach...doesn't get better than that. pool kept at a good temp. not too cold. always enough chairs and enough shade when wanted. Lovely
The Beach.was just perfectly lovely..that blue turquoise just stays in your mind. a little rough and windy so you have to be careful..on a calm day it was great for a swim close to the shore. A lovely long beach to walk. To your right. it will take you to Cabarete, a perfect little Dominican town. with quaint little shops and restaurants along the beach. You can sit and watch the kite and wind surfers all day. very restfull. Walk to your left of the resort for an hour . and take a look at more resorts. homes along the ocean . Very nice. The vendors could be annoying but a firm No thankyou.was usually enough to keep them away.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Every person of the animation team was wonderful. They work so hard, so many activities in the day. all day and then again in the evening. They are worth their weight in gold. and even if you didn't feel like participating . they always made you feel welcome. A salute to them.

Other Comments:
We plan to return next year. Just couldn't pass up another chance at paradse and to share a wonderful experience with the special people in our lives. The wonderful staff of Viva Tangerine made our holiday a perfect one. Thankyou and cheers to you all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hot Hot Hot"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  peter  on Oct 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
721 people found this review helpful

Our first time in the dominican, we had a pleasant surprise when we arrived at our hotel,after along flight we were in need of some refreshments, we were greeted with a complimentary cocktail at reception which was welcomed very much. We were pleased with what we saw with the hotel.

Arrival:
The reception area was very clean and bright,the receptionists were very helpful and good mannered.The bellboy took our cases to the room and was very polite he asked us if the room was to our satisfaction and was we happy with the room.

Rooms:
The room we were shown first of all had no view at all,i went see if we could be moved to a room with a view,they showed us another room overlooking the pool and beach, which we accepted.There was no problem for the staff to do this for us without any fuss.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants and bars were very good, you did have to queue a bit on weekends when there seemed to a lot of locals came for a few days, but overall was pleased with them

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were lovely and well looked after.The pool was a good size and allways cleaned every day.The beach was nice but you were plagued with the looky looky people in the begining,but they became very friendly as the weeks went by

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities in the hotel was varied every day and night The animation team did everything possible to get everyone involved, they worked very hard from early morning till late at night and that was every day and night they liked nothing better than giving everyone a good time and a great laugh.

Other Comments:
will definately be going back in a few years GREAT PLACE

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"When going to a 4* in the Dom Rep for the food you may want to upgrade to a 5*."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rick  on May 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
476 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 29 April
Flew with Sky Service. Same as Air Transat. Packed in like sardines. Very uncomfortable plane ride. The crew worked extremely hard and were very friendly. Short bus ride to resort. Checked in at 11 pm. Very smooth and quick.

Rooms:
Nice room. Spacious and very clean. Nothing overly fancy. Huge bathroom. Nice deck on the 3rd floor. Left the maid a $2 tip each day and got whatever we wanted.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were never really busy. Service was always great. It's amazing how far a small tip each day will go. The a la carte was barely acceptable. The selection and quality were sub par. The two restaurants were the total opposite. If you are going to a 4 star in the Dom Rep for the food you may want to upgrade to a 5 star.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is awesome. Huge with no rocks. Great for those who like to take long walks. This is not the place to go if you are looking to do any snorkelling. It is usually windy on the north side of the Dom Rep and this place was no exception. Great for kite boarding. The waves were also good for boogie boarding. I played volleyball everyday. The grounds were very well kept. The vendors on the beach can be overwhelming at times. If you tell them no they will usually move on though.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment staff worked tirelessly. Those of you who have been down here know what kind of hours these folks work. I did not go see any of the shows in the evening. After 10 or so trips down here they all seem the same. I did go on a snorkelling excursion with some family members. It was $80 per person. We went to a place called Paradise Island. This was definitely not worth the money. There is lots of shopping close to the resort.

Other Comments:
As mentioned earlier, this is our 10th or 11th trip south. This resort is a bottom scale 4 star and is also quite small. I will never fly with Sky Service again. The only reason we went with Sky Service is because we were meeting family members from another part of Canada down there. 4 hours in those seats is too much. West Jet and Air Canada are the way to go. Unless you got this for $1,000/person, or less, I would not recommend this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube