Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Cabarete > Cabarete Hotel Index > Viva Wyndham Tangerine reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cabarete Hotels with Similar Ranking

Villa Taina

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 22, 2014

Agualina Kite Beach Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 16, 2014

Viva Wyndham Tangerine  

Carretera Sosua-Cabarete

"Just there, nothing special"
Posted by: cindy on May 17, 2014
see all reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Pictures and Information
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Cabarete Dominican Republic

#1
of 32 Hotels in Cabarete

User rating 3.8

Based on 15 reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Information


Vacation? Action? Sports? Fun? Cabarete! Viva Wyndham Tangerine lies in the middle of one of the hottest vacation spots in the Caribbean.

Now included a FREE Kite Surf Introduction lesson as well!

Viva Wyndham Tangerine official website
www.vivaresorts.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.8 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  8
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
11 - 15 of 15

"Everything possible was done to make us feel as if we were at home."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lee from Chicago, IL  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2009
906 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 2-9
We just returned from our third stay at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine. As in the past, we had a wonerful time. When we arrived, we were surprised, because the check in desk was swamped. There were about 50 people waiting to check in. Upon talking to others in line, we found out that it was a Dominican holiday, and many Dominicans were coming just for the weekend. Even with all of these people, they checked us in in about 15 minutes. Because the hotel was completely booked, we were given an upgrade to an ocean view room in the main building. Previously, I had always asked to not be in the main building, because I had heard that it was noisy. However, we found that the soundproofing was quite good, and were not disturbed at all.

Rooms:
The room was slightly smaller than the ones in the other buildings, but we found it to be just fine. In other reviews I have read. people have said that the rooms could use some updating. I did not find this to be the case. Also, our maid kept the room immaculate, and was always very cheerful.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate mainly in the buffet, and the food was good, with excellant variety. We ate at the Mexican restaurant, and were not happy with the food. When we were there before, the food in the Mexican restaurant was great. Perhaps they had a new cook.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Cabarete has the most beautiful beach that I have ever seen. In the afternoon the kite surfers come out, and they are really fun to watch. It is a bit windy in Cabarete, so it might not be for everyone.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
It is a 10 minute walk on the beach into town. There are a lot of gift shops there, and we had a one hour message for 800 pesos each. Unlike some countries, it is safe to go into town alone. I also took the guagua (public bus) into Sosua. The cost was 20 pesos, and this is also safe. The people on the bus are a lot of fun, and they are helpful.

Other Comments:
The thing that makes the Viva Wyndham Tangerine my favorite resort of any I have ever stayed at is the staff. When we arrived, the bell boy said to us, "Welcome home". I don't know if he recognized us from when we have been there before, or if this is just his way of welcoming visitors. But, I must say that during our time there, everything possible was done to make us feel as if we were at home. From the groundskeepers to the wait staff to guest services to the animation team, everyone treated us as if we were the most important people they had ever had there. They always had a smile and a kind word. I didn't want to leave, and I cannot wait to get back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"When going to a 4* in the Dom Rep for the food you may want to upgrade to a 5*."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rick  on May 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
488 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 29 April
Flew with Sky Service. Same as Air Transat. Packed in like sardines. Very uncomfortable plane ride. The crew worked extremely hard and were very friendly. Short bus ride to resort. Checked in at 11 pm. Very smooth and quick.

Rooms:
Nice room. Spacious and very clean. Nothing overly fancy. Huge bathroom. Nice deck on the 3rd floor. Left the maid a $2 tip each day and got whatever we wanted.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were never really busy. Service was always great. It's amazing how far a small tip each day will go. The a la carte was barely acceptable. The selection and quality were sub par. The two restaurants were the total opposite. If you are going to a 4 star in the Dom Rep for the food you may want to upgrade to a 5 star.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is awesome. Huge with no rocks. Great for those who like to take long walks. This is not the place to go if you are looking to do any snorkelling. It is usually windy on the north side of the Dom Rep and this place was no exception. Great for kite boarding. The waves were also good for boogie boarding. I played volleyball everyday. The grounds were very well kept. The vendors on the beach can be overwhelming at times. If you tell them no they will usually move on though.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment staff worked tirelessly. Those of you who have been down here know what kind of hours these folks work. I did not go see any of the shows in the evening. After 10 or so trips down here they all seem the same. I did go on a snorkelling excursion with some family members. It was $80 per person. We went to a place called Paradise Island. This was definitely not worth the money. There is lots of shopping close to the resort.

Other Comments:
As mentioned earlier, this is our 10th or 11th trip south. This resort is a bottom scale 4 star and is also quite small. I will never fly with Sky Service again. The only reason we went with Sky Service is because we were meeting family members from another part of Canada down there. 4 hours in those seats is too much. West Jet and Air Canada are the way to go. Unless you got this for $1,000/person, or less, I would not recommend this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I found the staff to be very professional in all respects."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on Apr 1, 2009  >  20 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
526 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Apr 5 - Apr 12
Very smooth, arrived in the evening with another couple, we were the only people on the bus.

Rooms
The room was exceptable, but in any means a superior room. It was clean, don't get me wrong, but felt a little run down. There was no bath, just a swower and the mini fridge did not work. So that the liquids provided were hot. This was rectified with in 24 hours. Don't exspect to put anythig extra in the fridge, because it won't fit.

Restaurants and Bars
We didn't try the reterants, but did use the snack bar on ocasion and the cafateria had a wide selection of foods. Sometimes I didn't regognise some of the dishes, so I didn't touch them. I have been at different locations and had better quality.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Grounds are kept very clean, staff is always fusing to keep things in there place and tidy

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We were thier just to relax, so we didn't take part in the activities so much. We did not go on any tours.

Other Comments
I found the staff to be very professional in all respects, and they went out of thier way to ensure your needs were met. My 3 biggest complaints were, lack of washroom facilities in and arond the bar area. I found that most of the time I had to excuse myself back to our room, which was a long walk under some circumstaces. Times of our travel were horrible, we arrived late in the evening and arrived home at 0300 in the morning. After 3 days of no sleep do to Holy week celebrations. Never go there during Holy week. Theier was a service station accross from reception and the so called music wsa intollerble. Iv'e nerver herd music played so load, even at rock concerts. I couldn't tell if my heart was still beating or not. I will not even consider going back to this location for these reasons.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food was really good with lots to choose from."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.5 of 5

Posted by:  Stacey from Woodstock, Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
287 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 26th - March 3rd
Well we arrived and were met in the lobby with a nice refreshing drink./ Check in was smooth. Amazing that the staff all spoke english very well. We we advised that check in was 3pm so we went and had a few drinks and checked out the resort. At 3pm got our room keys and a bell boy came shortly to bring up our bags

Rooms
Our room was basic and we were ok with that. We spent most of our time out enjoying the Dominican not couped up in our room. We always had enough hot water and fresh towels. We tipped the maid everyday about $1 US and we got new blue beach towels everyday. as well the pop and water was replaced everyday. We had no bugs and no issues with the room at all.

Restaurants and Bars
The food was really good with lots to choose from. Always a pasta bar at lunch and dinner and my husband loved trying the fish dishes and he loved the desserts. We did enjoy a hamburger or two late nite from the sanck bar too.
The drinks are strong at the bar but once you try out a few you'll be sure to find a few you like!The a la cart restaurants did not do much for us...small portions and the staff were so so. To each is own I suppose.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The resort was beautiful....they are always primping the grounds.The pool was very nice and very rarely busy. The hottub was cold so did not go there lol The beach was very nice and you got to watch the kite surfers....very cool! There were venders but you got to know them throughout the week and they knew to leave you alone if you didn't want anything. A simple no goes a long way.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We walked to Cabrete and did some shopping. For sure the best bargins are found in Cabrete at the Liquidation Place. We did the Outback Jungle Safari!!! Very fun and best tour to do by far. YOu get to visit a local home and school and this is a great opportunity to give them gifts if you bring some. Try boogie boarding it is fun If you must keep in touch with the outside world...it is not advertised but there is WIFI capabilities in the main lobby by the Photograher booth. Or you can pay a few dollars for a code from the front desk and use the internet cafe upstairs.

Other Comments
Overall we enjoyed Viva Wyndham Tangerine a lot and met some great people there...including the Animations Staff and friends from Canada we hope to see again soon!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A beautiful hotel with beautiful landscape."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Daniel from Gatineau, Quebec  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
280 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 27 to Feb 3
Was suppose to leave on the 27 of January 09 but got the 24 hour flue that same morning so my wife had to go without me with my sister in law and her brother,they flew with skyservice from Ottawa and told me it was a smooth flight with no delay,I booked a flight with Sunwing leaving the next day on the 28 Jan 09 and the flight and service was ok but I have to say that its the worse meal I ever had on a plane,we had 2 choices of breakfast witch was an egg or french toast and I chose the egg that ended up been a scramble egg on somekind of pastry with a spicy sauce,the lady next to me chose the french toast witch was a toast with a cherry sauce(were is the maple syrop),check in was fast at the hotel

Rooms:
we had a very nice room with a king size bed,no bathtub,only a shower stall,a small fridge,didnt have hot water on most days we were there.

Restaurants and Bars:
there are 3 restaurants,2 a la carte and one is a snack bar during the day and during the night,and you have the buffet in the main building,the food was ok we didnt have mutch to complain about,there is 2 bars and you never have to wait for drinks

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful beach and pool,well maintained,lots of chairs

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
didnt go on any tours because its our 5th time in the DR and done it before but went to cabarete wich is only a short walk from the beach and spent a day to sosua,it cost me $10 Can for taxi to go sosua beach.found the animation team anoying with there immaturity at times but have to admit they gave a good dancing show,found it hard to communicate with them since they can hardly speak english or french

Other Comments:
Its a beautiful hotel with beautiful landscape,wont be going back because cabarete is a windy place and it gets cool around 4 PM because of it but if you dont mind the wind go for it you will like the place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube