Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Cabarete > Cabarete Hotel Index > Viva Wyndham Tangerine reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cabarete Hotels with Similar Ranking

Villa Taina

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 22, 2014

Agualina Kite Beach Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 16, 2014

Viva Wyndham Tangerine  

Carretera Sosua-Cabarete

"Just there, nothing special"
Posted by: cindy on May 17, 2014
see all reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Pictures and Information
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Cabarete Dominican Republic

#1
of 32 Hotels in Cabarete

User rating 3.8

Based on 15 reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Information


Vacation? Action? Sports? Fun? Cabarete! Viva Wyndham Tangerine lies in the middle of one of the hottest vacation spots in the Caribbean.

Now included a FREE Kite Surf Introduction lesson as well!

Viva Wyndham Tangerine official website
www.vivaresorts.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.8 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  8
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
11 - 15 of 15

"Great Place"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brandy  on Mar 20, 2012  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1675 people found this review helpful

I have seen some negative reviews on this resort and i honestly don't know if these people were at the same resort as i was. I loved this place and can't wait to go back. The staff were very friendly and the entertainment was amazing specially the Michael Jackson show. They always had tons of activities going on at the resort and on the beach. It is right on the beach as well which i love. The waves can be a bit brutal and i was taken down a few times but it is the Kite Surfing Capital of the D.R. so it's obviously expected. Our room was nice and clean good enough for me to sleep in.

Arrival:
When we arrived we were greated and taken right to our room no delays. We also met a Rep from times shares right away who was very nice to us showed us around and such but the minute we told him we weren't interested he never so much as looked at us again the whole trip.

Rooms:
Roomy and cleaned daily. Bathroom has a stand up shower and toilet and bidet and very spacious. Mini friidge was stocked daily and we had a little patio which was nice to sit at night.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants were great always a selections to choose froma nd i am a very picky eater and i never went hungry and if you couldn't find something in the buffet area the snack bar was always open and their french fries and burgers and pizza were exceptional.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was huge and never too busy in the pool on the other hand it was tough getting a lounger on the pool deck. The beach it was never an issue finding a lounger and the sand was super hot and the water was nice and warm except one or two days. There is a few sea urchants lerking about on the bottom of the ocean so i suggest water shoes because i stepped on one and had to visit the doctor. Paid 80.00 and he didn't even remove the spine i went back to my room and did it myself. lol . No biggie. The vendors are there yes but a siple no thank you and they leave you alone. I might suggest boogie boarding on the beach i was three guys do it one day i was there and i was hilarious to watch they started out close together but when the wave hit they strung out all along the beach. We missed the beach party we were leaving the night they were having it but they were setting up when we were leaving and it looked like it would of been a great time.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was always activities going on weather it be on the beach or by the pool side. The entertainment staff were great in speaking with everyone not just cute single females or people who have been there for the past 2 weeks.

Other Comments:
I love this resort i just find that the pool and buffet and entertainment area and beach are so far away from the lobby our room however was situated right in the middle between both areas so that was great. we didn't have and ocean viwe room or anything like that but if i had of know i would of paid the extra to get one the view would of been amazing. The computer room was always packed with teenagers facebooking and wouldn't give up a computer just for a few minutes which was annoying. Met a lot of great people and had a blast. Vacations no matter where you go are what you make of them. I swear some people think they are royalty when they go to places like this. These people work long hours and work hard they deserve respect as well. They are no less then we are. I would love nothing more than to be able to be like them in a sense that they have no idea what it's like to have power 24 hours a day or have the luxuries we have day in and day out. Treat them with respect and dignity.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The food was really good with lots to choose from."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Stacey from Woodstock, Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
685 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 26th - March 3rd
Well we arrived and were met in the lobby with a nice refreshing drink./ Check in was smooth. Amazing that the staff all spoke english very well. We we advised that check in was 3pm so we went and had a few drinks and checked out the resort. At 3pm got our room keys and a bell boy came shortly to bring up our bags

Rooms
Our room was basic and we were ok with that. We spent most of our time out enjoying the Dominican not couped up in our room. We always had enough hot water and fresh towels. We tipped the maid everyday about $1 US and we got new blue beach towels everyday. as well the pop and water was replaced everyday. We had no bugs and no issues with the room at all.

Restaurants and Bars
The food was really good with lots to choose from. Always a pasta bar at lunch and dinner and my husband loved trying the fish dishes and he loved the desserts. We did enjoy a hamburger or two late nite from the sanck bar too.
The drinks are strong at the bar but once you try out a few you'll be sure to find a few you like!The a la cart restaurants did not do much for us...small portions and the staff were so so. To each is own I suppose.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
The resort was beautiful....they are always primping the grounds.The pool was very nice and very rarely busy. The hottub was cold so did not go there lol The beach was very nice and you got to watch the kite surfers....very cool! There were venders but you got to know them throughout the week and they knew to leave you alone if you didn't want anything. A simple no goes a long way.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
We walked to Cabrete and did some shopping. For sure the best bargins are found in Cabrete at the Liquidation Place. We did the Outback Jungle Safari!!! Very fun and best tour to do by far. YOu get to visit a local home and school and this is a great opportunity to give them gifts if you bring some. Try boogie boarding it is fun If you must keep in touch with the outside world...it is not advertised but there is WIFI capabilities in the main lobby by the Photograher booth. Or you can pay a few dollars for a code from the front desk and use the internet cafe upstairs.

Other Comments
Overall we enjoyed Viva Wyndham Tangerine a lot and met some great people there...including the Animations Staff and friends from Canada we hope to see again soon!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We really enjoyed ourselves"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kewl  on Apr 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
1919 people found this review helpful

We had a great time.
Spent 1 week as a family with 2 small kids

1) prebooked taxi to pick us up from the airport to the hotel with fivestardr@hotmail.com that took us comfortably on the half hour trip to the hotel.
2) Check in was quick- nice simple clean rooms - clean bathrooms - everything worked - hot water, mini fridge - plenty of bath towels etc. etc. rooms were cleaned and made up daily - nice towel art - friendly housekeeping staff - thank you Felicia - you did a great job with our room..
2) Nice food - buffets were large and had sufficient variety to prevent monotony. different nites - different themes - oriental, italian, mexican, dominican, french etc. etc. the mexican ala carte was nice...
3) no bar in the pool..but by the poolside.. service was usually quick - Louis was surly - but the others were great - especially Victoria.
4) Animacion - the entertainment team - God its good to be young - sparkly, friendly, talented and sexy and apparently no need for sleep - they device games and activities all throught out the day to keep you entertained. pool side games, in the pool games, beach side games, dance lessons etc. etc. on nights with the disco - they dance with you into the wee hours of the morning...and then they are up and bounding a mere couple of hours later again. And their shows at night are fun and energetic.Be ready to do fun but embarrassing stuff if you are asked to participate...they also man the kids play area and watch the small kids during the day - nice.Hola Junior,Elesa, Chris etc. etc.
5) Nice beach - its a public beach - stray dogs and beach vendors abound - shoo the dogs away - politely decline the vendors....or bargain with them...and you will have no issues - the sea is a little rough, the waves are strong, it can get a little windy - yet lots of fun - beautiful ocean - kids can play on the beach - supervised - lots of kite servers - fascinating to watch them
6) Short walk on the beach to cabarate - quaint restaurants and bars - overpriced tourist shops. Tip - do your Internet browsing at Cabarate - much cheaper that at the hotel - but check out the shop in the hotel- better quality and similar prices on some stuff !!!

We had a great time - we were never bored or hungry. Perfect for a week's getaway.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Everything possible was done to make us feel as if we were at home."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lee from Chicago, IL  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2009
1322 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 2-9
We just returned from our third stay at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine. As in the past, we had a wonerful time. When we arrived, we were surprised, because the check in desk was swamped. There were about 50 people waiting to check in. Upon talking to others in line, we found out that it was a Dominican holiday, and many Dominicans were coming just for the weekend. Even with all of these people, they checked us in in about 15 minutes. Because the hotel was completely booked, we were given an upgrade to an ocean view room in the main building. Previously, I had always asked to not be in the main building, because I had heard that it was noisy. However, we found that the soundproofing was quite good, and were not disturbed at all.

Rooms:
The room was slightly smaller than the ones in the other buildings, but we found it to be just fine. In other reviews I have read. people have said that the rooms could use some updating. I did not find this to be the case. Also, our maid kept the room immaculate, and was always very cheerful.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate mainly in the buffet, and the food was good, with excellant variety. We ate at the Mexican restaurant, and were not happy with the food. When we were there before, the food in the Mexican restaurant was great. Perhaps they had a new cook.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Cabarete has the most beautiful beach that I have ever seen. In the afternoon the kite surfers come out, and they are really fun to watch. It is a bit windy in Cabarete, so it might not be for everyone.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
It is a 10 minute walk on the beach into town. There are a lot of gift shops there, and we had a one hour message for 800 pesos each. Unlike some countries, it is safe to go into town alone. I also took the guagua (public bus) into Sosua. The cost was 20 pesos, and this is also safe. The people on the bus are a lot of fun, and they are helpful.

Other Comments:
The thing that makes the Viva Wyndham Tangerine my favorite resort of any I have ever stayed at is the staff. When we arrived, the bell boy said to us, "Welcome home". I don't know if he recognized us from when we have been there before, or if this is just his way of welcoming visitors. But, I must say that during our time there, everything possible was done to make us feel as if we were at home. From the groundskeepers to the wait staff to guest services to the animation team, everyone treated us as if we were the most important people they had ever had there. They always had a smile and a kind word. I didn't want to leave, and I cannot wait to get back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"una de mis mejores vacasines."

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  mario  on Sep 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Party | With Spouse/Partner
2029 people found this review helpful

Sin duda entre tantos paises que e viajado un pais con tanta pobresa fue quien me dio una de las mejores vacasiones q e tenido.

Arrival:
A mi llegada me esperaban en el aereopuerto de Puerto Plata para trasladarme al hotel,el chofer muy amable me esplico q seria unos 30 minutos de el Aereopurto al hotel.El tiempo paso rapido mientras me esplicaba cada detalle de la ciudad.Al llegar al hotel me dieron el numero de mi cuarto y una copa de unjugo de frutas frescas.

Rooms:
El hotel es grande nuentro cuarto estaba en el area de la piscina y la playa,el cuarto muy limpio y acojedor,todos los dias te limpian el cuarto y ponen toallas limpias.

Restaurants and Bars:
Tienen un buffet todos los dias la comida es diferente dependiendo de el pais que ellos dediquen la comida,hay un restaurante italiano y otro mexicanos a los cuales tienes que reserbar para poder comer aunque es gratis,el Italiano no tienen mucha bariedad no me gusto,el mexicano muy buena comida.

El Bar tienen muchos tragos todos muy buenos.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
La playa muy limpia al igual q la piscina,lo unico malo de la playa es que pasan cada 5 segundos personas tratando de benderte cosas y no te dejan descansar,pero si no les prestas atencion ellos te dejan tranquilo.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Todos los dias en la manana,la tarde y la noche tienen actividades y Show,los chicos q el grupo de animasion son muy tratable sy respetuosos aunque a mi penultimo dia los cambiaron casi todos y dejaron solo 3 de ellos,yo fuy muy afortunado comparti con personas de diferentes paises muy tratables y buenas personas con muchos de ellos intercambiamos telefonos ya nos estamos comunicandonos.

Other Comments:
Este lugar conquisto mi corazon,confio en Dios pronto pueda regresar y vivir nuevas esperiencias.

Mil gracias Republica Dominicana.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube