Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Cabarete > Cabarete Hotel Index > Viva Wyndham Tangerine reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cabarete Hotels with Similar Ranking

Villa Taina

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed May 22, 2014

Agualina Kite Beach Resort

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed May 16, 2014

Viva Wyndham Tangerine  

Carretera Sosua-Cabarete

"Just there, nothing special"
Posted by: cindy on May 17, 2014
see all reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Pictures and Information
Viva Wyndham Tangerine Cabarete Dominican Republic

#1
of 32 Hotels in Cabarete

User rating 3.8

Based on 15 reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Information


Vacation? Action? Sports? Fun? Cabarete! Viva Wyndham Tangerine lies in the middle of one of the hottest vacation spots in the Caribbean.

Now included a FREE Kite Surf Introduction lesson as well!

Viva Wyndham Tangerine official website
www.vivaresorts.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.8 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  8
Average
  3
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (8)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
11 - 15 of 15

"WOW. WE SPENT TWO WEEKS IN PARADISE"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Patty  on May 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1979 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at this resort last part of February and first part of March.....It is a gem of a resort. The location is absolutely perfect and the wonderful people who work here . will make you feel as much at home as a Tim Horton's commercial..They are there to make your stay lovely...you will not be disappointed. We have been to the Dominican for many vacations and this one , a dream.

Your Arrival:
The people at the front desk were just so sweet, Welcomed us , assigned us our room , took us there. showed us where things were on the resort etc. We felt welcome right away and we knew we were in goood hands.. And every day after , we were acknowledged and always asked how everything was..... superb customer service.

Rooms:
Our room was fairly small, but people we were with had a lovely large room with gigantic bathroom...ours was clean. had everything we needed. Eveyrthing worked . The maids were in every day..our bedding changed regularly. bathrooms cleaned spotless everyday. and we had hot , hot water all the time. Lovely little patio and the fridge was stocked everyday. Couldn't ask for more.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main restaurant was very good. Every nite there was something for everyone. The pasta was superb at every meal. Enough salads , lovely bread and most always, chicken , pork or beef. ( beef could be tough though) The waiters constantly filled your water glass. offered you wine. always with a smile and a" How are you "....Hmmmm. such a very nice experience. Tables always kept clean . We enjoyed both specialty restaurants, again, the people made the experience a wonderful one. Great french fries and pizza at the Italian restaurant plus the fact ,that they both overlook the ocean, is a wow.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was great..close to bar. banno's and overlooking the beautiful beach...doesn't get better than that. pool kept at a good temp. not too cold. always enough chairs and enough shade when wanted. Lovely
The Beach.was just perfectly lovely..that blue turquoise just stays in your mind. a little rough and windy so you have to be careful..on a calm day it was great for a swim close to the shore. A lovely long beach to walk. To your right. it will take you to Cabarete, a perfect little Dominican town. with quaint little shops and restaurants along the beach. You can sit and watch the kite and wind surfers all day. very restfull. Walk to your left of the resort for an hour . and take a look at more resorts. homes along the ocean . Very nice. The vendors could be annoying but a firm No thankyou.was usually enough to keep them away.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Every person of the animation team was wonderful. They work so hard, so many activities in the day. all day and then again in the evening. They are worth their weight in gold. and even if you didn't feel like participating . they always made you feel welcome. A salute to them.

Other Comments:
We plan to return next year. Just couldn't pass up another chance at paradse and to share a wonderful experience with the special people in our lives. The wonderful staff of Viva Tangerine made our holiday a perfect one. Thankyou and cheers to you all.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hot & Breezy"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brenda  on Apr 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
1712 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
4203

Room Block:
4000 block

Arrival:
We arrived at the resort on March 27, 2012 for one week in a group of 7 ladies. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly, food was OK, had a different variety every night which is always nice. Not a 4 star but very comfortable and we enjoyed our stay, the entertainment crew are amazing.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean and comfortable, nice balconys overlooking the water. No extras in rooms and some of the girls found thier rooms musty smelling.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very nice restaurants and one bar which was packed every night, closed at 12-1am, after that you have to go to the disco to get a drink. Food was great and a different variety every day at the buffet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is beautiful, grounds very clean and well kept with lots of flora and trees.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The only complaint we had was with Tony Tours. He peddles his tours on the beach and is very insistant. We booked two tours with him on our first day and due to rough water the first tour was cancelled. We waited in the lobby for pick-up for a half hour, no phone call to let us know it was cancelled and we had to have the hotel track him down to find this out. Getting our money back was a problem, he didn't want to give it back and we waited two days after several excuses. The 2nd tour he could do either and we never got our money back for that one, said he'd have it Tuesday and we were leaving on Monday. Be careful with him and I'd suggest you book with the hotel tours instead. Other than that, enjoy!

Other Comments:
If you take humanitarian items keep a watch for the Haitians working there, the work very hard and can use a drink or a few bucks if you can spare it. The schools in Cabarete always need school supplies as well.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just there, nothing special"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  cindy  on May 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
1170 people found this review helpful

In as much as I didn't get what I had expected from this all inclusive resort in the Cabarete, I definitely had a great holiday here. I kind of had a bad experience at the Mexican restaurant once, despite the fact that the food took ages to arrive, it wasn't what I ordered but that was the only bad experience I had. Every other thing here was nice and the staff was amazing, very friendly set of people who go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable at all times and every time you ask for their help n anything, they try to help out and solve it for you. They just need to keep their rooms in order before guests arrived and they would be fine. I visited here in April with a friend and I have nothing much to complain about. The main buffet was okay nothing special as I have had better meals in other restaurants but it’s great. The resort was very clean during my stay here and I the gift shops re quite expensive in my opinion. The location is perfect as you can just walk to out to many local shops and buy gifts and souvenirs. The front desk also needs to be more effective and be able to help out guests when they are called on but in general, I had a nice time here as I came with a friend and there was no dull moment. I stay for just four days and if things get better here (I mean rooms, elevators, better front desk service), I would definitely come back next time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"not a hotel i would recommend"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  sonya  on Apr 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
1967 people found this review helpful

we flew with TMR out of montreal. the flight was o.k. mindya we were in a charter plane so it was very small and not to comfortable. Once we arrived to the airport in DR, things went fairly smooth. Arrived at the hotel at around 1:30am. they gave us a room with a view of the kitchen, so very noisy and not a pleasant view to see in the morning. So once we woke up we asked for a transfer. it took about 5hrs for a transfer but our new room was so much better. the staff at the hotel was great. night entertainment was good. they had daily activities, but couldn't keep up with them. they had beach volleyball at the same time as water volleyball, or bocce ball at the same time at water v-ball. so not to organized on that part. the disco is only from 12-2am. the food was crappy except for our last day, which was mexican night. the always have pasta for lunch and diner, but they should always have atleast 1 sauce that is plain for ppl who don't eat fish or are allergic to it. they had a snack bar open from 11-6 and then 11pm-6am. so if diner wasn't pleasant we had to wait til 11pm to eat. we didn't try the a la cartes restaurant cause once we looked the menu's we weren't to enthust about it. as i was getting my hair braided, there was fleas everywhere on the counter, which wasn't to pleasant to see.
over all it's a hotel that is rated at a 4star. personally i would say it's about a 2.5-3 star.
not a place i will go back to

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would Not stay again!!!"

Viva Wyndham Tangerine
User Rating:  Viva Wyndham Tangerine Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  julie  on May 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: May, 2011 | Wedding | With Spouse/Partner
1909 people found this review helpful

My husband & I stayed here for a week. It was the worst week ever. The hotel is in much need of improvements and a staff change. I am an Hispanic/American and have traveled in the carribean many times and appreciate the culture but this hotel is by far the worst mannered I have ever experienced. Our room didn't get cleaned the first two days (the excuse was we used the do not disturb sign, we didn't do), didn't get enough towels, we didn't have hot water the whole week (we had to call to have someone bleed the pipes in order to have hot water to shower EVERY time), the food was poor quality, no one spoke English, very noisy at night, you couldn't walk on to the beach without being bothered constantly to buy stuff & services, or come out from eating without being asked to buy a membrship to become a Viva member.
We went to this hotel to attend a wedding and we tried to leave after the wedding but the cost was over a $1,000 to change our flights. I asked to meet with the hotel manager for three days & he finally meet with us 5 days later which didn't do us any good. The manger argued with me, indirectly called me a liar, and said to me "I could leave & stay ele where". He also said I could write Wyndam & complain all I desired because they are viva & wyndam is just a partnership. He was arrogant and very argumentive.
I do not expect perfection and I understand everyone's experience is different, and customer service is difficult but this experience was the worst. There were a few others who stayed here wo attended the same wedding & they were not happy with the hotel they left early. We found out later this area is not known for their hotels only if you rent a private villa/condo or own a home there. The wedding location was at Hideaway Beach 3 miles down the road from this hotel. We found out later it was cheaper to rent there and it was much nicer and the food was great (Arsenio).
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube