Caribe Club Princess Reviews

Home page > Dominican Republic > Bavaro Beach > Bavaro Beach Hotel Index > Caribe Club Princess reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Bavaro Beach Hotels with Similar Ranking

Barcelo Punta Cana.

4.0 based on 48 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 9, 2014

VIK hotel Arena Blanca (LTI Beach Resort Punta Cana)

3.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed May 28, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach

3.2 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 8, 2014

Grand Paradise Bavaro Resorts

3.1 based on 69 reviews
Last reviewed May 3, 2013

IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA

2.9 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2014

Barcelo Bavaro Casino

1.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 17, 2011

Caribe Club Princess  

Playa Bavaro, Dominican Republic

"i had a good time"
Posted by: frosh on Jun 27, 2014
see all reviews

Caribe Club Princess Reviews
Caribe Club Princess Pictures and Information
Caribe Club Princess Bavaro Beach Dominican Republic

#11
of 29 Hotels in Bavaro Beach

User rating 3.5

Based on 19 reviews

Caribe Club Princess Information


Hotel-DominicanRepublic.com offers you exclusive discounts on hotelCaribe Club Princess in Punta Cana, with maps, photos and hotel Caribe Club Princess information.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Caribe Club Princess Reviews

Caribe Club Princess Review: 3.5 of 5 19 reviews
Excellent
  2
Very good
  10
Average
  3
Poor
  3
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (14)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (3)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 19

"No hot water"

Caribe Club Princess
User Rating:  Caribe Club Princess Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Diana  on Jun 27, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Wedding | Family and Kids
488 people found this review helpful

We did have a beautiful wedding here, but the service to rooms was terrible.
Our guests in the one building were having trouble getting hot water or no water at all for the entire trip. We had two couples that purchased the most expensive rooms and could not use the luxury spa bath. One was the honeymoon suite and the other was the royal suite, which they paid extra to have.
The management kept telling that the problem was fixed, but it never was.
Everyone's excuse for this was that in these countries you may find their upkeep is not up to our standards!!!
All we wanted was to have a steady stream of hot water to relax in when the day was done.
I do not recommend this resort to any one, we will never go back!!!!!!
There are better resorts down in the Dominican, because we have been before.

Dissapointed from Ontario

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were good, if you could get a reservation.
Getting a reservation was not easy, they did not keep all their restaurants open at the same time. Only half of them were open at a time.
You were better off to go the buffet where the food wasn't too bad and open for all meals and patrons.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was not bad, but they need to keep it more clean. There was always drink bottle, straws, butts and sometimes glass all over. Not a good place for a toddler to spend an afternoon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"worst holiday ever"

Caribe Club Princess
User Rating:  Caribe Club Princess Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  julie  on Aug 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
842 people found this review helpful

On arrival following the worst flight ever in a tropical storm which lasted almost the first week of our holiday. We arrived late afternoon 3 adults to find only one bed in our room. We complained to reception another bed was brought up to the room after the second complaint and 4 hours later. Three days into the second week i got food poisioning which i am still suffering the after effects of. This was the worst holiday i have ever had the place is dirty and the people are constntly asking for tips. Not recomended Julie

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on a trip to Saona Island which was booked through thomsons, we were sold a DVD from the trip of the whole trip costing 40 dollers well they only gave us the wrong DVD we werent even on it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Hotel,but lots of little problems"

Caribe Club Princess
User Rating:  Caribe Club Princess Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brent  on Dec 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
298 people found this review helpful

I went with my whole family,8 in total.Ihave enjoyed flying with sunwing to Cuba,and this flight was fine too.Just be aware that it's 10dollars U.S. to get in at the airport,and 20 to get out,from whatI understand this is only with sunwing.

Arrival:
We had requested 3 ground floor rooms,hoping they where close together.Told we had 3 third floor rooms I asked if they could help us out.Told no,them maybe,then come back at 3pm.When we returned,yes they had 3 ground floor rooms for us.Nice ride to our rooms,friendly and helpfull bellboys.

Rooms:
Our rooms where close together.Mine I shared with my 2 sons.The view was to the back of the hotel,room 1048.It looked out through some well kept gardens,onto a pathway,then to a fence to the next resort.After the first night we realized a few things.The first is that the pathway was a service road to the bar/kitchen by the beach.Small trucks,and staff travelled the path all hours.The beeping of horns and conversations of staff as they came to and fro can be heard day and as late as midnight.The path also tapers inwards to the rooms as it heads down.So it was maybe 8 feet from our room,but only a foot or two from the room my parents had.The second is that the resort we looked onto from our ground floor balcony was under construction.Very noisy.Saws cutting metal,drills,hammering,you name it.The work doesn't stop at all as far as I noticed.One o clock in the morning I could still hear it.The third thing was the music at night.The resort 2 or 3 over has a stage set up down on the beach,and at night have bands,and dj's playing music.Other nights the shows,or beach parties are run by the main pool,that is just the other side of the hotel we where in.Don't stay in this hotel if you are looking for any kind of rest.The forth thing was the banging air conditioner.It took 2 days and many threats of needing a new room before anyone came and fixed it.Wich they did just fine when they showed up.
The fifth is the design of the hallways.They are large,tiled,and have sitting areas throughout with nice gardens.Unfortunatly the noise echoes up and down,day and night.We had large parties of people sitting in these areas talking and laughing when they would come back from the disco,or beach parties.
I have never travelled to expensive resorts,and just enjoy the fact I can take my kids away once a year somewhere warm,and realaxing.So I'm willing to accept lower standards then some.So please don't think I'm overeacting.
After 3 days of noise,and lack of sleep,we requested of our sunwing rep that they move us to any rooms that where on the other side of the hotel.This was done at 9am.After the usual,we have no rooms,maybe we have rooms,yes we have 3 rooms on the other side,we where told to call for the bellboy at 2pm to be shown the rooms.Only 2 rooms where on the other side,the third was directly overtop my own.Of the two,one had the rattling air conditioner,and the third he couldn't get the air conditioner to work.After an hour of miscomunication we gave up and decided to make the best of what we had.I have to say that the language barier was huge.Almost no one could speek english.I had to talk with the bellboy,the front desk,and a boss that was eating dinner most of the time,and I hate to say it but I can't help but feel that they where being much more difficult than needed.It was a very unpleasent experience.

Restaurants and Bars:
Sickness!!!Of the 8 , 5 of us got the stomich bug.My youngest son,and myself brought it home,and I'm just finishing the antibiotics as i write.I know it's common,and I have had it in Cuba as well.I'm mentioning it because I see from a lot of other posts that we aren't the only ones.
I thought the buffet,and the 4 a lacarts where great.Service,staff,and selection.The Bavarian was a lot of fun.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools where really nice,lots of seats,and wonderfully well kept grounds.I have read how wonderfull others have found the beach so I'm kind of worried to say this.The garbage was disgusting.Plastic bags,garbage bags,and even some small packages of liquid bleach.Having garbage wrapping around my feet,or diving into it was the worst Ive ever seen.And it was there all week.Then there was the oil.The third day we noticed it while swimming.Huge oil slicks heading out into the ocean.A lot didn't notice it,and I saw people swimming in it,others did and would scramble out.I asked one of the employees,and he looked at me like I was crazy.The second last day My kids and my niece went out paresailing.Standing on shore I could see the oil slicks and pointed it out to another hotel employee.After trying not to see it he told me that it was from the boats.When my kids came in they told me that out past the beach where they where paresailing the water is covered in oil.The couple before them came down,and where draged right through a huge patch of it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The dune buggy ride was fun,but was done mostly through agrigultural areas.The mud you end up getting covered in is run off from cow and pig manure.It smells horrible.They almost insist you wear a bandana over your mouth and nose to prevent it getting into you.

Other Comments:
The grounds are the nicest Ive ever seen,and it's great to just wander around enjoying the scenery.I really want to say I enjoyed this trip,but just can't.The other hotel thats part of this one would likely be nicer,but you still use all the same restaurants.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I spent a lot of my vacation in tears."

Caribe Club Princess
User Rating:  Caribe Club Princess Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Deborah from Decatur, IL  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2009
249 people found this review helpful

Arrival
First of all when we got to Punta Cana and drove through the gates of this hotel we were excited about how pretty it was. Well, beauty is only skin deep. When we checked in, they did not have the information about the $400 upgrade for VIP, so we were put into a regular room. The rep from our tour group was to talk to us the next morning. When we reached our room, a good half mile from the front desk, it was ice cold. Two lamps did not work, the remote control did not work, nor were there any alarm clocks. We had virtually no idea what time it was the whole time we were there unless we used our cell phones. The only light source we had was from a ceiling fan, but in order to use it, we had no way of turning off the fan, because the pull cord was missing. We could not adjust the air conditioner, or turn on the heat, for some reason, they must not allow people to do this, because the thermostat had no response to our adjustments. The water in the shower was ICE cold and there was NO WATER PRESSURE whatsoever. The reason we purchased the VIP package was because I had called the hotel and said I wanted a jacuzzi room, and whoever I talked to, told me the VIP rooms had jacuzzis. Well, with the water pressure as it was, it would have been absurd to fill a jacuzzi anyway. The hairdryer had only one setting, low. We talked to the concierge about the remote control, he told us. "You are VIP, you just call... we come take care of you" Two days later we received our working remote.

The next morning, we voiced our concerns with our rep, had to sit for almost two hours while he sorted it out, even though we had all of our papers which stated "VIP" quite plainly, the hotel was denying it. We were handed the correct tags, internet, meal, massage and watersports coupons, but did not receive the rum or cigars.

There were never any watersports available, never any snorkles or parasailers. Who wants to use the internet on vacation anyway? The first full day we spent there, we were locked out of our room for nearly an hour, because our key did not work. We lost electricity and the ceiling in our bathroom was dripping on us. It took four phone calls to various people there before anyone came out to fix it. We had to get ready for our dinner with water dripping on our heads. My boyfriends eye was nearly swollen shut from a bug bite he received while sleeping on the first night. I had a bite above my eye, and two on my arm. He had three on his. Our room was full of mosquitos and ants. If you sat down a soda for five minutes, you had to look in it to make sure it wasn't ant infested. The buffet food is absolutely horrible. I never once saw chicken, and the only time I ever saw beef was "head". You could order a cheeseburger from room service, but it took two hours to get there and was cold and disgusting.

We continued to ask about the rum, the cigars, and oh, don't forget the bathrobes we were to have received in our room, which would have been nice coming out of a freezing cold shower and into a freezing cold room. In all, we probably made six phone calls, and stopped at the front desk four times, asked the concierge twice about the rum and cigars, everyone just wrote it down on a piece of paper. Nobody ever did anything about it.

You couldn't swim at night if you wanted to, they turn off all the lights surrrounding the pool and on the beach. Which was actually fine, because this hotel boasts that they have several jacuzzis, but we never did find one that was heated. All the water in the jacuzzis was as cold as the pool, which was too cold to enter.

Nobody seemed to know anything about anything. I think that sometimes they just pretend to not understand so they don't have to deal with you.

On our last day, I went again to Guest Services, which had a very surprisingly long line, each and every time we were there. (obviously there were LOTS of complaints). I told the gal at the desk that we were leaving and would like to get the rum and cigars, she told me that her supervisor had taken it to our room the day before. I informed them that we had not received it, I wanted someone to come to our room, and show me that it was there. She said it was "Impossible. My Supervisor is very very busy right now, and she is very good about doing what she says" She ended up getting the supervisor on the phone, but the "good supervisor" would not talk to me. I was basically called a liar. I never did receive the rum or the cigars. We don't smoke, and we don't drink, but I feel like I paid $400 for the rum and cigars, because that was the price of the room upgrade for what I believed would have a jacuzzi and did not. We did not use the other coupons, with the exception of the meal ticket. Which, when we showed up at the steak restaurant, we only had our ticket, not the paper it was stapled to, and my boyfriend had to walk all the way back to the room to get it. I watched this happen to two other people while I was waiting on him. The steak was edible, but a dollar menu cheeseburger from McDonalds is better, especially since we had to wait two hours to get it.

The day we were to leave, the bellboy put us on the wrong bus, and we ended up having to pay another 30 for the ride while we were on it, even though we had already paid. If we hadn't had the money, I imagine we would have been dropped off in the middle of one of the scary neighborhoods we drove through.

At the airport back in the states, my boyfriend and I both noticed a bunch of itchy bumps on our genital areas. Apparently whatever bugs bit our faces and our arms were crawling all over our most private parts while we were sleeping. I feel absolutely violated and disgusted by this fact. I am so disturbed, I can't even sleep at night due to the itch and the emotional aspects of this. Just imagine yourself. We don't even know if it was ants crawling on us, or some other type of bug.

This hotel was supposed to be all inclusive, but unless you flashed cash, nobody could understand a word you say. But once they see the money, they are all fluent in french and english.

The only nice thing I have to say about this trip was our dune buggy excursion. We booked it by the hotel, it was only $130 for both of us, and took us away from the hotel for about four hours. We rode dune buggies in town, on the beach, on on muddy paths, (you could avoid the muddy puddles if you wanted) we swam in a cave, on the beach, and visited a banana plantation. It was absolutely awesome. Only downfall were the kids begging. Of course, they had their little shops and jewelry stands set up at each pit stop, but the guy who booked our trip had already warned us of this. They went out of their way to get us coffee when we got there, all they had were sodas and beers, which they offered at no charge to all of us. They also offered us ice cold bottled waters during the excursion as well. This was a lot of fun and I recommend it to anyone. It was called Rancho Xtreme.

All in All, I spent a lot of my vacation in tears, even when we got back to the states, since that is when we discovered that we weren't only bringing back souveniers, but also some creepy crawly bites as well. Disgusting.

I am so glad to be home and I really ask that anyone think twice before booking at this hotel!! The bad thing about all this, is that I probably forgot to even mention everything bad here.... In the states, this hotel would have been shut down from lawsuits.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Regular"

Caribe Club Princess
User Rating:  Caribe Club Princess Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jorge  on Dec 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
663 people found this review helpful

Deben mejorar el mobiliario y camas

Room Number:
108

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great value, good time....but we won't be back"

Caribe Club Princess
User Rating:  Caribe Club Princess Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  David & Janet  on Apr 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
881 people found this review helpful

We had a great week at The Caribe Club Princess in Punta Cana from April 2 to 9, 2010. Janet and I are experienced travelers to resorts throughout the Dominican Republic, Cuba, Mexico, and Jamaica

Your Arrival:
We booked our trip and flew from Moncton NB with Sunwing. We were wary of the excess baggage charges of $20 per kilo so we packed light. We were surprised when they weighed our carry on bag as well, so the total allowed weight was 25 kg per person including the carry on.

Our flight was over an hour late leaving Moncton but we made up some time in the air. As usual, the seats on the flight were uncomfortable but the Sunwing in flight service was very good. We paid for our tourist card on arrival and quickly cleared customs. Although it was Good Friday, the bar at the bus pick up point was open and we grabbed a few ice cold El Presidentes for the bus ride to our resort. It took about 45 minutes to get to the resort which included one stop and check in was quick

Rooms:
We had booked the Caribe Club VIP package and we were assigned room 2207 in the Coralillo Building. We were right down near the beach with a view of the activity pool with the swim up bar. A downside to this was that the activity staff became very loud at the pool around 4:00 in the afternoon and this transmitted directly into our room. The Caribe Club VIP package included a bottle of rum, a 20 minute massage, 1 hour internet access (which we didnít use), and 3 Dominican cigars. We also got a bottle of rum from the Sunwing rep. The VIP package also gave us access to premium drinks and we were able to get sometimes cold bottles of El Presidente or Miller MGD at the bars.

Our room was large, and had a king sized bed with a separate seating area and pull out couch on a lower level. The bed was firm and we could have used a few more pillows. We had a robes and slippers for use while in our room. Toiletries were provided initially and we brought facecloths with us. We never ran short of towels or hot water while we were there. However, the water was off throughout the whole resort on our last night and that was very inconvenient especially when using the washrooms.

The mini bar fridge in the room was stocked daily with water, soft drinks and beer. We left a tip and a note for the maid each day and got pretty much what we wanted. We initially found the coffee maker didnít work, and after three tries we quickly got one that would. However, it took about 30 minutes to brew a small pot of coffee. Although coffee and whitener were provided, we brought our own Timís coffee and whitener with us. The TV had a good selection of satellite channels in multiple languages and we managed to catch American Idol. The room safe was provided at no additional charge and there was a clock radio in the room. We found our room to be freezing for the first few days until we figured out how to use the AC controls. Just set it on low with the thermostat at 24.

Restaurants and Bars:
We were able to book the a la carte restaurants at concierge desk in our building, but you could only book 2 days in advance which was a pain. We had supper at the Brazilian, Italian, Mexican, and Chinese restaurants and found the food and service to be very good. The Caribe Club VIP package also gave us a meal at the La Cava restaurant which is not part of the all inclusive plan. We had one of our best meals ever at the La Cava Ė excellent food and great service. There is a dress code requiring long pants for men at the a la carte restaurants but it wasnít strictly enforced.

We usually had breakfast at the Huguero buffet where they made very good omelets. We had lunch at one of the beach bars where they had small buffets set up with hot dogs, burgers, chicken and pizza which were all very good. They had a BBQ set up along the beach but we found the line ups long so we didnít try it. We ate supper at the buffet on our last night and found it very disappointing in both quality and variety. We considered ourselves very fortunate that we didnít have to eat at the buffet all week.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The weather was pretty good during our week although it did rain just about every day at some point. It rained all afternoon on one day so we took a walk down the beach about 20 minutes to the venderís huts. There we found the usual fare and enjoyed haggling with the locals and bought some tee shirts and smokes. The venders were on the resort a couple of nights, and we found it intimidating as you had to walk through a gauntlet of them to get to the restaurants.

We found the resort to be very crowded the first few days probably due to the Easter holiday weekend. There seemed to be a lot of Dominicans on the resort on Easter Sunday. It was very difficult to find a chair anywhere as a lot of people got up very early and put their towels out on chairs. But this improved after the weekend and by Tuesday things were more manageable.

This resort is on the famous Bavaro Beach and it is truly the best of anywhere that we have been in the Caribbean. The beach is clean with fine white sand. There are plenty of huts on the beach for shade, but you must get down there early to get a place with some shade. The water is very warm and there is a buoyed area for swimming but no lifeguards. Janet figured there was a lot of seaweed in the water, but I didnít think it was too bad. Venders roam the beach, but are really not much of a bother

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The brochures show two resorts, the Caribe Club Princess and the Tropical Princess. However, they are in fact one and the same. People from both freely mingle throughout all the facilities. We met people who were staying in both ďsidesĒ and the only differences we could surmise was maybe the quality of the rooms and access to the a la carte restaurants. The complex is very compact and everything is close. However, it does take about 10 minutes to walk from the beach back to the lobby. The road passes through a mangrove swamp/ garden area where there are all kinds of interesting plant and animal life. There are some shops located near the lobby with the usual high prices. We went to a couple of shows at the theatre near the lobby and it was the usual lip sync stuff by the activities staff.

Other Comments:
The Caribe Club Princess is absolutely NOT a 4.5 star resort. However, with the VIP package upgrade it does make 4 stars in our books. The bars are definitely lacking at this complex and there arenít a lot of options of things to do in the evening. The lobby bar is a very nice facility and the table service is good. However, the chairs are uncomfortable and there could be a little entertainment offered like a piano or guitar player. A sports bar with pool tables, cards, darts and the like was sorely missed. The bathrooms on this resort are not up to par as they are small and there arenít enough of them. They also seem to have trouble keeping them clean. But it is very good value for the money if you are paying in the $1,000 range.

Other than that, we had a pretty good time. We got all tanned up, met some great people and had a few laughs. Unfortunately, we both caught a stomach bug while we were there and we needed medical attention when we got home. You need to be VERY CAREFUL in the Dominican Republic since the water is not purified. We thought we were careful and we did not over indulge in the food or drink. But since we still got sick, it is very doubtful that we will return to the Dominican Republic.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The good the bad and the ugly"

Caribe Club Princess
User Rating:  Caribe Club Princess Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Hlywud  on Jan 31, 2010  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
395 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
Arrival was 50 minutes by bus from the airport, we had only one stop at the Bavaro Princess which delayed us approximately 10 minutes.
Check in was quite quick, room keys, remote control and safe lock given to us and they called to see if our room was ready, we had to wait 15 minutes for room to be finished. Our luggage was tagged and delivered to our room quite promptly.
Our wait in the lobby was short and sweet, we were presented with a cool rum punch and then went for a cold Presidente beer while we waited, when our room was ready they notified us and we were off on the shuttle to our building.

Rooms:
We were in the Cayena Building on the 3rd floor with a view overlooking the interior courtyard. Room was clean, cool and comfortable, they only problem was there was only a shower and NO bathtub. My better half likes to lounge in the tub and hates showers. We did have a couple of issues with the room keys becoming deactivated and it took a 10 minute walk to main lobby to get them reprogrammed. Keys by the way are not a magnetic slot type but a speedpass type that you just pass over the lock and it opens.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lobby Bar was situated on the north side of the lobby and had table service available.
Two beach bars were available, one was attached to the Brazilian restaurant on the North side of the resort and the other on the South side attached to the Seafood Restaurant.
There was a swimup bar at the main pool but no bar at the quiet pool on the Tropical side, here you had to walk to the north beach bar.
There were 2 restaurants that were a pay for use "La Cava" and "El Pescador" which we never bothered to use, we did not upgrade to VIP and were told these has a $25US surcharge. "El Pescador" was on the south side and had the beach bar attached to it and was available for lunch and afternoon snacks.
The main buffet "El Higuero" was opened from 6 am for the early risers, available for lunch around noon and supper at 6:30 pm. It was a typical resort style buffet with a smoking and non smoking area, a decent selection of items and three cooking stations available so there was no reason to go hungry but we found that the food was never very hot. The omellette station was the slowest I have ever seen at any resort.
Service was hit and miss, in the mornings it took quite awhile to get served a coffee but in the evenings your wine glass was never empty.
There were 4 other a la cartes available.....Mexican which we did not go to, "Mamma Mia" (Italian), which had a nice assortment on the menu, very good table service and an excellent meal provided, "Shagan" (Chinese), which also had a nice selection on the menu and a very good meal served that was enjoyed by all of our group. "El Rodizoro" (Brazilian)which is a typical Brazilian rotisserie meat lovers restaurant, in fact it was so good we attended twice.
Service here was excellent.
There is also "La Creperie" available for crepes and ice cream from 1:30 to 6:30 daily, we attended it one afternoon for a quick snack, very nice change.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach, there is nothing bad to say about this stretch of Bavaro Beach, very wide and soft white sand, adequate number of shade palapa's and lots of chairs available. Some chairs were broken so occasionally you had to look for one with a working back.
Grounds were quite nice, the flora and ponds were decently maintained. There is a large mangrove swamp area between the lobby and the resort buildings. This area had an occasional smell of sewage.
One thing that was really lacking was maintenance on the roadways and walkways, there were lots of large cracks and chunks of concrete missing.This is an accident waiting to happen, ladies be careful especially those who wear any type of heels in the evening.
We did not use the quiet pool situated on the north side of the Corallia building but did walk over for a look see.
The pool between the Corallia and the Cayena building was quite large, had a walk in area which was great for kids, small swimup bar and a large activity area closer to the beach, water was very cold, pool was cleaned everyday meticullously by Roberto. Although it was getting very well worn around the edges and could use maintenance and painting of the deck and edging.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Beach activities were held every morning by the Animation team and again in the afternoon at the pool, many seem to enjoy these.
The Animation team performed each evening at the main theater off the lobby, we went 2 nights and were disappointed at the how poor the perfomances were.

Other Comments:
The resort had a mosquito spraying program in effect which obviously was working as our group of 10 had from none to 2 bites all week. The problem with the fogging by the staff (who wore breathing masks)was the time they did it, late afternoon with hundreds of tourists in and around the courtyard and pools that were blanketted with a layer of grey fog containing who knows what chemicals, in my opinion this should have been done late at night or very early morning.

One other program which should be put in place is rodent control if not already being done, as we did see 2 rather large cousins of Mickey Mouse, but did not get an picture, they moved very quickly.

Photos: http://www.worldisround.com/articles/357663/index.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Avoid certain rooms"

Caribe Club Princess
User Rating:  Caribe Club Princess Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Dec 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
848 people found this review helpful

Family vacation: teens and adults
Beautiful grounds, lots of hot water, good variety of food and a la cartes (six of eight had tummy upsets - two on medication back at home), lovely beach and pools, clean
Don't go if you want a good night's sleep. Our rooms were on the back facing another hotel where there was constuction all night long, a service driveway with horns honking and motors running, workers walking by within four feet of our patio, and very loud music until all hours of the night. Plus sounds in the hallway echoed all night long. A couple of nights gangs of guests roamed the halls until 3:00am.
Would not return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Carribe Club Princess"

Caribe Club Princess
User Rating:  Caribe Club Princess Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  bert  on Mar 2, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
768 people found this review helpful

We arrived at the Caribe Club Princess on 13/02/10,We had concerns about reviews we had read before we left. But where pleasantly supprised during our stay that the resort had made changes for the better,Check in was quick.Before heading to our room we went to the lobby bar where we had our 1st encounter with Obama(great guy)one of the bartenders of the lobby bar later at night we met Winston and the others.
We got the the room 1312 and our friends at 1306 the rooms where not like we where used to at the Riu bamboo or the Bahia Principe but acceptable.
The Caribe Club Princess is defenitly worth going to.

Your Arrival:
Our arrival was good and the check in fast,After checking in we headed accross the lobby to the bar where we met Obama who made us feel right at home,And somehowe we knew that this was the start of a great vacation

Rooms:
The rooms where comfortible but very basic and not enough drawers for my wife's liking,she didn't like the fact that there was not a iron or coffee machine in the room , you could order them form the lobby but where only allowed 1 hour for each item.
The cleaning staff is also great.

Thanks Reina for cleaning our room every day

Because of the size and shape of the buiding you will hear some of the young people come home at 4 or 5 in the morning, and the odd door slamming, other then that no noise polution at all.

Restaurants and Bars:
The first night we had the buffet simply because we had not had a chance to make reservations but the 2nd night we went to Mama Mia and enjoyed it very much the portions are big, and no one in our group could finish it.
The following night we went to the Mexican and once again great food.
The next night was the Dominican and only 2 out of 4 realy enjoyd their meal.
The night after that was the Chinese and again every one enjoyed their meal.
The next night was the Brazilian and all of us voted that one as the best restaurant in the resort.There are only 2 seatings per night 6.30 and 8.30 and there are 7 courses, Salad bar, chicken,Sausage,ribs,fish,turkey,beef and they are served fast.
Not to forget the breakfast buffet which was also excelent

Our main bar was the beach bar on the princess side and we had a blast with Osvaldo ,Jose DeLa paz, ,Jose,and all the others.
Thanks guys you made us feel special

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We have traveled to many different resorts and seen a lot of the Dominican Republic this resort had very few people cleaning arround the pool and on the beach.
But i cannot believe what the guest throw on the ground instead of throwing it in the garbage bins.
I takes very little effort to have a plastic cup where you can put in sigarette butts and when going to the room deposit the cup in the garbage bins together with the straws and paper/styrofoam plates

The few vendors on the beach are friendly and not pushy at all ,Then we met Miguel who gave us a lot of entertainment during our stay.

Thanks Miguel

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities are the usual animation team that you find in every resort and they are doing a great job and are also super friendly.
Thank you Dahlia for your wonderfull smile

Other Comments:
I have something to say to our NOT so friendly french speaking Canadians.
I understand that you do not speak english i don't speak french,This does not mean that when some one greets you in the morning with either,"goodmorning" "Gutenmorgen" "Buenos Diaz" "Goede Morgen"or whatever other language that you have to look at them as dirt and not reply.
We greet you like we do every one else, we are not telling you to drop dead
Just reply and maybe on day we might like you again

Photos: http://www.bertvanderhulst.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great hotel"

Caribe Club Princess
User Rating:  Caribe Club Princess Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  richard  on Jan 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
848 people found this review helpful

my family and i have stayed at this hotel 2 times in the past and have felt it is a great hotel..remember you are on vacation ,things happen out of the ordinary, run with it .think before you speak and enjoy surroundings and the resort .will go back , bavaro beach rocks

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube